Single Sisters Speak Out

The Modern Life of the Single Sister

Stereotype Much? October 22, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — FlawedBeauty @ 1:02 am

Since we all know how much McCain, Palin and all the honest true Americans Republicans love Barack Obama what’s there to make of this:

When I first saw this it was like five o’ clock in the morning I kinda couldn’t believe it. Since Headlines plays circular stories I waited around to see it again. When I saw it I was shocked and appalled. The lady who put it out, Diane Fedele, is the President of the Chaffey Community Republican Women. She claims to see no correlation between the foods portrayed and the Black community. When her husband was questioned about it he claimed that he didn’t know these were stereotypes either. When the news correspondent let me know they were he accused her of making it up.

I personally think it is sheer ignorance to say anything like this in 2008 and then plead oh I didn’t know. It’s kinda like that whole ditzy super smart soccer/hockey mom thing. How about that a $3 bill? I think this speaks to all that is wrong with America today. There is just not enough racial tolerance.

Just my interpretation. And yours?

 

15 Responses to “Stereotype Much?”

  1. “How about that a $3 bill?”

    Girl, I lost it here. LMAO.

    I can’t stand when people feign ignorance… if you are alive, you KNOW what is a stereotypical reference….

    For me, there are a few words of phrases that the “others can use, that give me chills, including:
    “watermelon,” “monkey,” “ghetto,” “nappy.” Oh and Monday at school, I heard these words, “I don’t mean to be rascist, BUT…..”

  2. I didn’t know this chick claimed she didn’t know what she was doing.

    Someone go slap the sh*t out of her … please.

  3. thecomebackgirl Says:

    This is how ingrained racism is. You automatically associate watermelon to the black community. When it comes to food we’re a monolith forget about other communities within the black community as a whole. Its some health nuts over here in DC founding one of the first vegitarian black restaurants in the nation…why didn’t she put meatless lasagne up there. She aint. why? because the other slave type symbols that go back to the early parts of 1900 is what she’s hung up on.

    not the real us.

  4. thecomebackgirl Says:

    “slave type symbols that go back to the early parts of 1900”

    to the EBP..i know slavery was not in the early 1900…im just being sarcastic. it was hundreds and hundred’s of years ago like W said in regards to the Adams’ (father son legacy)

  5. “it was hundreds and hundred’s of years ago like W said in regards to the Adams’ (father son legacy)”

    Comeback, I’ve GOT to see this movie you keep quoting.

  6. Teacia Says:

    And this is why I can’t wait for this damn election to be over…so these folks can finally see that we’re actually better than them at EVERYHING!

  7. Junior Says:

    I think it just goes to show that “racism is still alive, they just be concealing it.” I actually think that its worse that she did it and now is trying to feign ignorance. Although I hate to see it, I can appreciate the old coots in places like Ohio, and West Virginia who don’t hide the fact that they don’t want a black man to represent the country, even if he is arguably the best suited.

    I guess I would at least deal with the Devil I do know, as opposed to the devil I don’t now.

  8. Peyso Says:

    I was thinking the same thing, I have no problem with ppl who have the balls to be openly racist. I somehow respect them. Its the subtle rascist, that smile in your face and the people who say very ignorant, rascist things and then try to say they didnt mean it that bother me

  9. Jaclynn Says:

    I agree with Jr. and Peyso. I went to school with a lot of people who had the Confederate flag on their car and a lot of people who simply couldn’t believe that people could be so outwardly racist.

    I think this show of ignorance makes Republicans look even worse and have pushed Obama even further in the White House.

  10. thecomebackgirl Says:

    @ Nick i wish more people would see the movie. It is DEEPLY affecting. I usually don’t take movies home with me and marinate on them and add them to my everyday conversations..this is one. Plus i love dark comedy/satire. shyt thats absurd. funny and life changing all at the same time.

    the movie did show a lot of restraint. it wasn’t like in your face disrespectful. it still showed a little “pull back” even a little respect. Very measured. It towed the line. Walked it. real graceful like.

    oliver stone gets mad props from me.

  11. nickisunshine Says:

    “Plus i love dark comedy/satire. shyt thats absurd. funny and life changing all at the same time.” “Very measured. It towed the line. Walked it. real graceful like.”

    And I do know a thing or two about grace. LOL, I really don’t. Anywho, Comeback it sounds really interesting. I’m going to check it out in two weeks… unfortunately, I’m stuck in, writing a paper that I was given the FIRST day of school, the entire weekend coming up. LOL. I proscrastinate.

  12. Humble_One Says:

    “The lady who put it out, Diane Fedele, is the President of the Chaffey Community Republican Women. She claims to see no correlation between the foods portrayed and the Black community. When her husband was questioned about it he claimed that he didn’t know these were stereotypes either.”

    Bulls**t. So out of all the things you could associate with a black man it just so happens to be food stamps, chicken, ribs, watermelon, and Kool-Aid. This is the type of racism I prefer to deal with. It’s too bad these type of people are slowly dying off. Now we have the closet racist or the racist that don’t know they are racist.

  13. Lottie Says:

    This is absurd! It’s bad enough that they did this, but then they pretend they didn’t know… Bull! Of all the food items in the world, those four were no coincidence. I saw a reporter asking random McCain supporters on the street, and they acted like they didn’t know too. I kept asking the TV, “What cave have you been living in then?”

    Stupidity breeds stupidity, I guess.

    Nice blog!

  14. QB Says:

    ” if you are alive, you KNOW what is a stereotypical reference….”

    Nicki my moms tried to tell me yesterday she wouldnt have known that these things were racial stereotypes… yup. sad.

    “I went to school with a lot of people who had the Confederate flag on their car”

    Jac I ever tell you about the time I went to a wedding and there was a Confederate flag hanging at the church?

  15. @QB: LOl. NOT the feigning ignorance roll. Girl, I’m so shocked at people acting like this!

    NOT the confederate flag in the church! I wonder what would happen if some blacks came in.


Leave a Reply

