Single Sisters Speak Out

The Modern Life of the Single Sister

Black Issues November 14, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — cuzzo @ 12:00 am
Holla Holla Holla

Holla Holla Holla

I was listening to Kanye West’s, Crack Music, this morning. Which got me to thinking…what are the big issues in the black community today? Are they the same as twenty years ago? It seems like every once in a while someone does a report on AIDS in the black community. Or maybe I haven’t been paying that much attention. Are there any updates? Or are we still dying rapidly because of this?  

I swear I’m in my own little bubble. So people, what are the issues we are facing today? I’m talking here in the U.S. – I don’t wanna get all worldly just yet.

 

12 Responses to “Black Issues”

  1. thecomebackgirl Says:

    Good post Cuzzo. I honestly don’t like to think about it like this. Sure AIDs is prolly at a epidemic levels within our community. I’m also sure when stuff like those jobless numbers hit the street, we are disproportiontely affected. Im not sure where that discussion gets us.

    my thoughts to your question and then to what I wrote above goes usually to service and what i can personally do to help. I think I wanna write about this next week.

  2. 80's Baby Says:

    I think one that too many people don’t focus on is we’re losing our kids….I don’t know but these kids are a new breed and it’s like they don’t have any hope or aspirations…… My sister is a kindergarten teacher and she said this lil boy in her class said that he wanted to be a dope boy when he grew up…… Like seriously, a dope boy. I couldn’t believe this. Why does a kindergartner even know about a dope boy? But I’m hoping that with our new President-Elect our kids will be able to dream again and want to actually be something positive once they get older……

  3. thecomebackgirl Says:

    “Like seriously, a dope boy. I couldn’t believe this. Why does a kindergartner even know about a dope boy? But I’m hoping that with our new President-Elect our kids will be able to dream again and want to actually be something positive once they get older……”

    this is REALLY REALLY sad..where are his parents i wonder? your sister should try and get some local positive black men (ie black man positive coalition or even a local frat chapter) to witness to these little boys on the possibilities.

  4. cuzzo Says:

    @80’s

    But where did he get that from? His environment. See, this is why I can’t be a teacher. I can’t stand kids! I’d wanna beat him for saying some dumb sh!t like that.

    I declare we start beating kids in school again. It takes a village…not a government.

    I’m scared for my child. I can raise him up right in the household then he’s gotta go to school and sit next to this dummy talking about dope-boys. *smh*

  5. 80's Baby Says:

    The situation is sad… Because this little boy is TERRIBLE….She said he act like he’s going to throw chairs at her and her assistant, he has threatened to kill her, he be stealing, told another lil girl in the class I want to have sex with you….This little boy has been suspended like 6 times already. She pretty much call his mom every day and his mom is nonchalant like I’m tryin’….My sister asked how did she discipline him and she said she put him in the corner…. (this lil boy need to get BEAT) But the situation is sad because if my sister say she gonna call his mom he’ll be like “my momma don’t care about me”…… And the school started wearing uniforms this year… Ummm it’s November and the lil boy has yet to show up in a uniform……But when he said he wanted to be a dope boy all the other lil kids was like what’s that……It’s a shame…. and I am definitely SMDH

  6. thecomebackgirl Says:

    “And the school started wearing uniforms this year… Ummm it’s November and the lil boy has yet to show up in a uniform……But when he said he wanted to be a dope boy all the other lil kids was like what’s that……It’s a shame…. and I am definitely SMDH

    this is sad. why can’t the school buy him some. And maybe keep it there for him to change. In my opinion he could come in off the street actin crazy, but once he sat his little @zz at the desk he would have to act right. And the mom is TOTALLY resp. Why is he even having convos about sex in kindergarten i dont get that at all. this is depressing me on feel good Friday LOL…

  7. cuzzo Says:

    @Comeback

    “And the mom is TOTALLY resp”

    this is the kinda mom that just doesn’t have time for her kid. maybe not by choice. we’ve heard it time and time again…single moms, no help, working 2 and 3 jobs to keep the lights on. this is what he see’s…her struggle…this is why he wants to sell.

  8. 80's Baby Says:

    “why can’t the school buy him some”

    @ comeback… He comes to school with namebrand clothes.. The mom claims that she don’t have the money. But to me it just seems like a copout because she don’t want to buy the uniform.

    “this is the kinda mom that just doesn’t have time for her kid. maybe not by choice.”

    @ cuzzo..
    And see I don’t know about this because another teacher googled the child’s name and an older man with the same name popped up with all kind of criminal offenses. So they’re connecting the dots and are assuming that this is this child’s father…. So it’s possible that his environment is causing him to act like this. Not even seeing his mom struggle but obviously having a father who thought it was cool to be a criminal and could have passed it on to his child.

    But my sister is sooooo frustrated because the prinicipal is looking at her for some solutions. And as a teacher I think she’s accountable but only to a certain extent….It’s not fair to her other students if she’s having to deal with his discipline problems all day….. But this child definitely needs some help!!!!!

  9. thecomebackgirl Says:

    yeah the mama is dead @zz wrong. and all those little sex!ual convos he’s learning AT HOME is coming from her and the tv. I would kind of embarrass the mama a little maybe put a tape recorder on the kids desk. And make her come in with the staff and play it back.

    let her feel some of the disdain that other people would have just looking at her..listening to her son. Sometimes people need to have their @zz on front street to feel a little pain.

  10. Humble One Says:

    I think the main issue with black folks is self accountability, lack of sense of self, and therapy for ptsd (post traumatic slave syndrome).

  11. Junior Says:

    I think education is the biggest issue facing the black community. I think so many of our problems could be solved if we had some sense. I mean in 2004 we spent 7 times as much on defense spending as education. I don’t know, that seems like a bit of a priority mix up if you ask me. I agree with Humble one as well, and I think that would help solve some of those problems as well, as they will believe in themselves.

  12. Eb Says:

    black women… make up something like 85% of all NEW aids cases… so its not looking to good for the sistas…

    now I think in the black community more than ever is how women are making more than men… black men have a problem with the term independent black woman and the fact that women these days are taking care of their own and making more than men…


Leave a Reply

