Single Sisters Speak Out

The Modern Life of the Single Sister

Embrace Your Inner N.E.R.D November 30, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Sunny @ 11:59 pm

 

Today’s post, serves as tribute to one of my favorite groups ever, N.E.R.D, (No one Ever Really Dies),  an innovative group comprised of Chad Hugo, Pharrell Williams, and Shay Haley.   After your visit here, stop by WhySo\’s place (I’m thinking he’s going to pay tribute as well.)

Back in 2002,  I worked in the Probate Department of Providian National Bank.  My cute co-worker, Jesse (we crushed on each other) turned me on to all kinds of music because  I had my head buried in  nothing but Jay-Z and Wu Tang.  Anywho, one day, he put a N.E.R.D cd on my desk, “In Search Of . . .”   After listening,  I was hooked immediately.  These guys were so different; a little bit of  hip-hop, rock,  and weird beats  and I loved it.  My favorite song on that CD is Tape You . 

I played this CD out until “Fly or Die” was released in 2004.  This CD is a little more alternative and rock than the first.   My fav songs:  Jump feat. Good CharlotteBreak Out, and Thrasher.  Hell, I really wish I could post the entire cd.  This one is my ABSOLUTE FAV!

N.E.R.D released their third cd earlier this year, called “Seeing Sounds,” which includes Time for Some Action, Sooner or LaterWindows, and Yeah You (about a stalker chick. You’ve got to hear this one!)

I’ve posted a ton of links on here to introduce those who’ve never been exposed.  I hope you like them as much as me.,  if not, slit your wrists post haste.  J/K .  Overall, I hope I’ve turned you on to something new, just as Jesse did for me a while back.  Let me know your thoughts.  Ciao!

 

 

 

13 Responses to “Embrace Your Inner N.E.R.D”

  1. Junior Says:

    I’ve tried, but I’ve been able to only get so far into them, I do remember their old song lap dance, and I did like their new son anti-matter, but after so long, i lose interest.

    Maybe I should give them another listen…but then maybe not haha!

  2. Oh Junior. Give it another good ole college try for me, PALLLEASE!

  3. thecomebackgirl Says:

    i think i was little late to NERD in 2003. But they are one of the only groups where I remember exactly where I was and what I was doing when I first heard lapdance and rockstar.

    I think it was also refreshing to have a group that didn’t really apologize for influences that alot of black people weren’t and still aren’t listening too..devo, pink foyd, queen….

  4. thecomebackgirl Says:

    pink floyd

  5. “I think it was also refreshing to have a group that didn’t really apologize for influences that alot of black people weren’t and still aren’t listening too”

    Yes ma’am! This is why I was inspired to do a tribute.

  6. slimjackson Says:

    I never really got heavy into NERD. Sometimes they seem a little too spaced out to me. I’ma check that video out when I’m not at work though.

  7. Oh Slim. They ARE spaced. That’s part of the charm. LOL. It’s something different. 😉

  8. YEAHS. WINNNNN

    You nailed it on the head. And thanks for the shout!

    I’m posting in a bit. Chea!

  9. thecomebackgirl Says:

    where d hel#l is cuzzo?

  10. jac427 Says:

    Cuzzo is on vacation

  11. kamakula Says:

    I don’t know if I should be admitting this, while I do like a lot of songs from that album, my fav is still lapdance.

  12. Kamakula: I like lapdance too. “Oh baby, u want me?” 😉


Leave a Reply

