Single Sisters Speak Out

The Modern Life of the Single Sister

The Great Hat Trick December 8, 2008

Filed under: Dating — Sunny @ 11:59 pm

Take a look at this picture.  Now people can say what they want to say about his s3xuality but Neyo is a nice looking man. 

He’s playing a trick on me though, one that’s been played on me at least twice in my lifetime. 

Can you guess what it is?

He’s wearing a hat!!!!  And boy, oh boy, what is that hat hiding underneath?  BAM!

 

He looks like an entirely different person with the hat off. 

Both men that hoodwinked me were initially some fiiiinnnne looking brothas.  I was amped off appearance alone.  LOL.

Upon meeting one of the guys after the club, he had a head shaped like a football.  I wanted to shout out heeeeeeeyyyy Arnold.  (If you’ve never seen the show, you won’t get it.)  Why oh why didn’t he keep the daggone hat on? 

LOL.  My point is, we all have our tricks.  You’ve got to accentuate the positives.  I’m a woman and I have tricks (pixie dust workcite: Comeback) to make my body look Tyra Banks perfect, but I refuse to broadcast them here  (*** insert evil sorcerer laugh ***).

What about you, have you ever been fooled?  Share with the class.

 

91 Responses to “The Great Hat Trick”

  1. Britt Says:

    LMAO @ Hey Arnold. Still laughing … still laughing. I am sure I have been tricked looks wise but don’t remember. I know I have been tricked financially. Mr. Drink Sponsor aka Buy The Bar Out becomes Mr. Broke A@# after a date or two. LOL.

  2. Ha! See Britt… at least you get a drink. These ninjas don’t buy drinks were I live… LOL!

  3. AnitraClark Says:

    wow @ ne-yo I never did think he was cute but dizam!

    musiq soulchilds got a lazy eye, and he always wears glasses yup.

    have I been tricked before?? hmmmm im sure I have its just to early to think lol

  4. LMAO. Musiq shole does have a lazy eye but I think he’s the cutest….

  5. thecomebackgirl Says:

    fooled???? its really hard to fool me…

    with that said…yes i have. but i cant remember either LOL..imma have to deeply gather and recollect.

  6. 80's Baby Says:

    @Nick…. Musiq has a cd coming out today too….

    But anyhow yes the hat trick is the absolute worst… It’s a guy where I live who’s been receeding for years. Anywho me and my girls were with him and a couple of his friends and we heard him say you know I can just style my hair in soooo many ways….. He said this at least about 4 years ago and we still crack up about it to this day. Because at the time it had receeded but he was still holding on to it… Don’t get me wrong yes it was a good texture but still let it go!! Quit holding on to it……. Let me see what’s underneath there. 😉

  7. LMAO @ comeback and the rest of you non memory having ladies this mern. Come back with these stories!!! LOL.

    80s: ” we heard him say you know I can just style my hair in soooo many ways”

    I am cracking up. WTF? Never hold on to the receding line… just go bald!!! It’s a lot better.

    Girl, I had no clue… I will be going to Target to get it. Good Lookin out chica.

  8. cuzzo Says:

    I have a great trick…it’s called a wig. I don’t think I’ve been tricked. You can’t capture all of a person upon first meeting. I start picking ppl apart after a while.

    Head checklist:
    Overall Shape
    dents
    bumpy sh!t on the back of his neck
    Receding hairline
    nicks in his haircut (like premanent bald spots)
    bruises

  9. Jada Says:

    Same thing with the receding hairline. This guy used to wear a ball cap all the time. I was a bit shocked when he took it off to discover his hairline making a dash to the back of his head. I was especially shocked since he was younger than me and I was about 23 or 24 at the time. I can say it wasn’t as bad as what Ne-Yo got going though. To that I say…shave or keep the hat on Boo.

    LMBO @ Heyyy Arnold

  10. “making a dash to the back of his head”

    @Jada: I’m dead at making a dash.

    “nicks in his haircut (like premanent bald spots)”

    @cuzzo: yes, yes girl. I have began to notice this too!

  11. slimjackson Says:

    I’m curious. Do people really screen dudes out based on this stuff even if his swagger is mean?

  12. @Slim. I have to see the total package. I’m not gonna lie. Looks matter to me. I’m not saying he has to look like a model, but the receding hairline with the ponytail or the DC fade is NOT the bizness.

    Swagger can make an unfine man s3xier. Or turn a cute man into Morris Chesnut (oh don’t get me started on him!)

  13. cuzzo Says:

    @slimJ

    yes! swag can carry you but so far, eventually u gotta sit and look at each other. i mean really look.

    when ya’ll watchin tv…ain’t no room for swaggin.

  14. Swagger can make an unfine man s3xier. Or turn a cute man into Morris Chesnut (oh don’t get me started on him!)

    You are so right Nick!

    Jay-Z is not at alllllll cute, but it is something about that man’s swagger that makes me wanna drank his bath water!

  15. 80's Baby Says:

    Do people really screen dudes out based on this stuff even if his swagger is mean?

    @ slim…. You gotta think that some of this stuff is genetics…. Lol…And I don’t want no baby coming out the womb with no receeding hair line…. LOL

  16. Jay Z can GET IT!

    I dated a man… who wore a hat all the time! We were in college, very tall guy so I never really paid attention to his face anyway.

    Anyt-who… one day went to his dorm room, and he removed the hat. He had the worst cross eyes I’d ever seen!

    It threw me for a loop, you don’t go surprising a gal like that… but I stuck around.

    I kept talking to him.

    Until he tried me… I was still a V. He WAS not gonna take it.

  17. Tonja Says:

    Long time lurker…popping out of woodwork.

    LOL @ Hey Arnold! Great times.

    My favorite example of the Hat Trick is LL Cool J. Now, mind you, the differences between hat and no-hat aren’t as extreme with LL as it is with Ne “You’ll never finnnnd…your hairline” Yo, but with that hat, WOW. Without the hat. Meh. Still cute, but meh. I remember how disappointed I was when I saw Halloween H20.

    That Hat Trick is a trip! A good chunk of men can tip that hat to the side and become foine.

  18. Hey hey Tonja… thanks for showing your face chica! And feel free to chime in anytime.

    YES. Yes. LL. Like you said… it’s not a bid diff as far a looks, but when he puts on a hat, it transforms him. Yes it does.

  19. Jac Says:

    Welcome Tonja.

    Trying guys.

  20. slimjackson Says:

    “Jay-Z is not at alllllll cute, but it is something about that man’s swagger that makes me wanna drank his bath water!”

    That’s just nasty Holly. Plain oh nasty.

    Wanna go out sometime?lol

  21. Junior Says:

    Man, Cuzzo hit it on the head with you women, WIGS AND WEAVES. Now, let me preface this by saying that I’m a lover of hairstyles short to long and from “tougher than Nigerian Hair” to “straight like Indian Hair”. But the absolute worse is when you meet a girl and she has hair to the middle of the back, and you pick her up two days later for a date and someone has Harry Pottered all of her hair away.

    Or, the girls who wear masks every day, and you wake up the next day convinced Ashton Kutcher is going to jump out the bathroom because you swear you just woke up in the crying game. At least I had already confirmed that we were the same anatomically…

  22. @Slim- Sure baby ;-)!! Can I call you Slim Jim? SNAP INTO A SLIM JIM!

    But I’m sorry that was the best example I could think of he is sooooooo swaggalicious!

  23. “Anyt-who… one day went to his dorm room, and he removed the hat. He had the worst cross eyes I’d ever seen!”

    Nick I died…. straight murked!!

  24. “someone has Harry Pottered all of her hair away.”

    Still Dead (workcite Nicki)

  25. Holly done said said SNAP INTO A SLIM JIM!!! LOL

    @Jr: LOL. I know women who wear a loooottt of makeup… it’s disgusting…

    Think: I love NEW YORK Tiffany Pollard masks.

  26. Think: I love NEW YORK Tiffany Pollard masks.

    She’s the worst with the makeup and too heavy lash extensions…

  27. Jac Says:

    She looks like a muppet baby. For real.

    Man…I think people always see my natural ass skin. Maybe her’s is eff’ed probably cause of the make up though

  28. I was wondering this with the last date I had. It was more of her dress … but once the coat came off I was like … “damn … have I been bamboozled”.

    Not ready to give up on her though … but it was a bit of a shocker.

  29. “I was wondering this with the last date I had. It was more of her dress … but once the coat came off I was like … “damn … have I been bamboozled”.

    SBM: You are killing me. LOL. I am proud of you for hanging in there!!!!

    @Jac: I’m wondering what she looks like under that crap…. what got me was the aqua blue eye shadow in the morning time. Like seriously, in the morningtime?

  30. I co-sign the wig and weave talk. I love me some short hair and naturals.

    And nothing is worst than when you can tell its a weave. Then you just sit there thinking “I wonder whats under there” … which inevitably leads to a Freudian slip.

    “Yeah … that’s cool … I can wig it … err … I mean dig it”

  31. SBM: what happened

    Nic/Jac I am sure she looks a hawt mess remember that pic of Pan Anderson w/o makeup?

  32. “that pic of Pan Anderson w/o makeup?”

    Oh god yes.. she looked like a prune!

    “And nothing is worst than when you can tell its a weave”

    Oooh, she needs to talk to her beautician!

  33. @Holly: I mean … I got over it. I have put her on “alert” … but she is cool, cute, and nice. Can’t go getting dropping people over little stuff.

    Problem is the competition just has a look that I’m in love with. I swear she actually looks like how I envisioned my wife … *slow sigh*

    And New York just takes the attention away from her monkey face by pushing the titties out. She can’t come home to the parents … but she could get it during this recession.

  34. Jac Says:

    SBM-I worry about you

  35. @Jac: Lol … and why is that?

  36. cuzzo Says:

    @SBM

    what was bamboozling about the chick?

  37. cuzzo Says:

    @Junior

    “But the absolute worse is when you meet a girl and she has hair to the middle of the back, and you pick her up two days later for a date and someone has Harry Pottered all of her hair away.”

    dang homey, not two days later.

  38. @Cuzzo: It was mainly what she had on … just seemed out of place for her and considering it was snowing at the time. Also … jacket was cute, classy, and classic … what was under it was … it was … well it just was something very different.

  39. Jac Says:

    U and hitting during the recession…that’s nuts.

  40. “what was under it was … it was … well it just was something very different.”

    I’m cracking up. I need details, SBM

  41. cuzzo Says:

    i know…he being all vague. we not vague around here SBM. we talkin about stuff that makes ppl look good but without it…they a hot mess.

    so what does this dress have to do with that?

  42. I’m not a fan of putting out the personal business into the blog world (I learned my lesson) … but I’ll just say the jeans were high and the top was … uh … I just don’t know how to explain it. Didn’t look bad … just looked like something a 21 year old clearfolk (think about it) would be wearing. And mixed with the jeans … errr.

  43. @Jac: Wooing a fine and classy woman requires time and money … two things that tighten up during a recession.

    “New York” is someone who could catch that “I aint got it” type of love.

    McDonald’s & Magnums … M&Ms anybody?

  44. Jac Says:

    McDonald’s & Magnums … M&Ms anybody?

    I need this copywrited.

    21 year old clearfolk

    Yeah….cancel her

  45. @SBM:oooohhh, she can’t dress very well???? Sometime that can be helped (I’m not up for the challenge but maybe you are….??????)

    “McDonald’s & Magnums … M&Ms anybody?”

    This is classic!!!!

  46. @Jac: Maybe it was laundry day. We’ll see whats good next week.

  47. cuzzo Says:

    wow. could u see how she was dressed when u met her?

  48. McDonald’s & Magnums

    is that what the hoody hoody hoodrats like?

  49. Jac Says:

    SBM-Ok yes an update next week

  50. Jac Says:

    McDonald’s & Magnums

    is that what the hoody hoody hoodrats like?

    I can’t relate to them

  51. I was just twitting about … M&Ms are for everyone. From the board room to the stripper pole.

    I also now have other M’s if McDonald’s isn’t acceptable … this includes Mangos, McCormick’s (In non recessionary times and for those worth it), Murray’s (what ya know about that!), and a couple others that I gotta come back with.

  52. You lost me at McCormicks’ and Murray’s… please ‘spain bc I have no clue what they are!

  53. @Nicki: McCormick and Schmidt … the black boughie seafood restaurant of choice.

    Murray’s is this fake DC Area supermarket that sells nothing but cheap meat and good BBQ sauce. You can get like 50 hamburger patties for like $5 or something crazy like that.

  54. @SBM: ooohhh, thanks for ‘splaining. I need to get out and travel a bit more. 😉

  55. SBM: Thanks not true… butterum it’s McCormick and Schmick’s… I love that place

  56. @Holly: Thanks … I knew I was spelling it wrong but couldn’t motivate myself to take the 8 seconds to google and fix it.

    Listening to Chopped & Screwed R&B and its putting me in a chill and lazy mood …

  57. “i was stuck in the basement sittin on a tricycle girl gettin on my nerves

    goin out of my mind, i thought she was fine, don’t know if her body is hers”

    i won’t go into details, but one of the scariest occurences of my adult life is waking up to a girl – SANS WIG. I had to punch myself in the skull to make me go asleep again, but I couldn’t remove the memory. argh!!!

  58. WhySo did you have a One More Drank moment?

  59. Jac Says:

    Whyso-Dude wow! That’s nuts

  60. Anitra Says:

    “someone has Harry Pottered all of her hair away.”

    this comment killed me

    i did not know yall was over here clowing like this

  61. Humble_One Says:

    men = Great Hat Trick

    women = Great Jeans Trick

    women = Great Bra Trick

    I use to get fooled back in the day by the jeans that added lift and roundness to girls that had flattocks. I use to get fooled by the push up bra too. She takes the bra off and its total disappointment. Same thing when she takes her jeans off and you see her backside in panties – total disappointment.

  62. Jac Says:

    i did not know yall was over here clowing like this

    Mik-of course

  63. Humble_One Says:

    where is my last post?

  64. jac427 Says:

    “flattocks”

    Dead.

  65. @Humble: I completely feel you on the push up bra one. Also great at hiding saggy droopers.

    Bra on … Meagan Goode … Bra off … Oprah

  66. “hiding saggy droopers.

    Bra on … Meagan Goode … Bra off … Oprah”

    Dead.

    @Humble: her backside in panties???? WTF? I cannot…. I cannoooootttt.

    I lost my sh!t at Whyso’s punch in the skull

  67. cuzzo Says:

    yup. us women have a bag full of tricks. all men have is hat and sunglasses.

    fake hair
    fake nails
    fake eyelashes
    heels
    girdles
    push-up bras
    padded bras and other underwear
    booty jeans
    panty hose
    all kinds of make up

  68. jac427 Says:

    @Humble: her backside in panties???? WTF? I cannot…. I cannoooootttt.

    What if you don’t wear panties?

  69. Random: but why do men always say they wear Magnums, but when it comes to the act, SOME don’t or SOME don’t need to wear them?

  70. jac427 Says:

    Cuzzo-I know right…all kinds of creams, lotions…everything. Perfect skin all that jazz.

  71. cuzzo Says:

    is magnum the epitome of condom? magnum xl is for the big guys…but the condom itself…what’s the big deal? they feel special on? does it feel diff from other condoms?

    that’s what i wanna know.

  72. I don’t understand what the big deal is either. Please let us know fellas!

  73. cuzzo Says:

    they don’t have large condoms in any other brand? i mean a good brand, not the ones at the dollar store.

  74. You start talkin about the penti and the men get quiet! WTF?

  75. jac427 Says:

    Cuzzo-I think Durex has a big one too…

    And a man will put regular condoms in a box that say Magnum and be like look what I did

    I need to know about this too!

    Single Sisters Want to Know

  76. thecomebackgirl Says:

    Got DA#mn i missed the whole day overhere.

  77. jac427 Says:

    Comeback:It’s ok…join the afternoon party

  78. LMAO Comebacack!

    You’ve gotta multitask those blogs just like that a$$

  79. thecomebackgirl Says:

    LOL

    “You’ve gotta multitask those blogs just like that a$$”

    imma put that on my to do list

  80. @Nicki: I just needed an M. I could have said TnT for Target and Trojans … but didn’t sounds as hot.

  81. @SBM: No, no.. I wasn’t talking about you. LOL. That just came out of nowhere!

  82. @Comeback: chica I am toggling all daggone day. 😉

  83. jac427 Says:

    imma put that on my to do list

    Thanks comeback-we appreciate it.

    Target and Trojans?

    Ain’t no ho good enough for Target or Trojans….

    Lee’s and Lifestyles

  84. I died at Lee’s chicken Jac!

  85. jac427 Says:

    Nic-I thought no one would know.

  86. Jac, I know ’bout some Lees chica!

  87. iolanda Says:

    lindo,gostoso, espero que ele apareça aqui no Brasil!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    amo ele d+++++++++++++++++
    ne-yo forever!!!!!!!!!!!!
    i love you!!!!!!!!!!!
    kiss
    kiss
    kiss
    kiss

  88. Miss Asm Says:

    I’ve always wondered why Neyo always puts a hat on.. but I dont see what’s the problem here ^^
    None of us is perfect, plus, who know, he could be super Smart xD

    Luv ur muzik and ur voice, go ooon =D

  89. LOL… yes Miss Asm.. he could be very smart. 😉

  90. lizmarys Says:

    Hi neyo i am one of the much girls crazy for you wow…. i love you


Leave a Reply

