Single Sisters Speak Out

The Modern Life of the Single Sister

SSSO Reviews: An NYC Weekend December 16, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — cuzzo @ 12:01 am

So instead of doing a bunch of different reviews, I’ve lumped together a few places I’ve visited in NYC.

Dallas BBQ’s – mmmm mmmm, love their wings! I make it a point to eat at BBQ’s every time I’m back in NY. I took this place for granted while living there. There are none in PA and now, I miss this place. Good cheap food and drinks. This is a place where you can just go and kick it with some friends and pig out. No need to get cute.

Chicken, get yo chicken here! (Kim Parker)

Club H20 (24th Street btwn 5th and 6th Avenue) – So, I went here on a Friday. Good mix of music with various DJ’s – I personally feel any place that plays “dollar wine” is good times all the way. Very NYC in that they held the line (why do places do this?) and the drinks were way too expensive (paid $5 for water and not fancy water, Poland Spring). The ambiance was nice also. There’s just one floor and one bar, a lot of tables and what appeared to be some kinda VIP area behind curtains. It wasn’t overly crowded unless you were on the dance floor. Biggest turn-off: No toilet paper in the bathroom!!! Not even a square to spare. I’d recommend this place on a Friday for people that wanna dance except ladies BYOTP – bring your own toilet paper, yuck! They eventually put more paper in there but c’mon now – that’s NOT a good look. I say recommend on a Friday because one of my friends went the following night (Saturday) and didn’t have a good time. Cost: $20.

Caroline’s Comedy Club – I can’t believe I’d never been here before in all my years of NY living. The name speaks for itself, it’s a comedy club and a very famous one at that. Many of the big names come back here. This is where a lot of the major players got their start. I saw Paul Mooney. His show was looong. He was aight. Not knee-slapping, tearing up funny all the way through. After a while my friend and were kinda like, when is this going to be over? His show reminded me of that old man that just loves to tell stories – he got a million of them.

Aside:

This aint cool.

Can't Touch This.

Apparently I am the only person that feels that this dude was wrong. I have a problem with people from other countires disrespecting MY d@mn president like this. Only WE can do that.  I can say that I was proud of the way the president avoided that shoe on some bob and weave like he was on the basketball court. End Aside.

 

20 Responses to “SSSO Reviews: An NYC Weekend”

  1. Thanks for the review Cuz.. I hear Wendy Williams talking about Carolines on her show a lot.. they hold some kind of comedy event there on Wednesdays (or Thursdays????)

  2. Eb Says:

    Glad you had fun in my city!

  3. Anitra Says:

    Thanks for the review cuzzo!

    I never been to nyc

  4. thecomebackgirl Says:

    Good post..I’ve had BBQ in philly tho.. let me think..

  5. Jada Mwah! Says:

    Great review Cuzzo. Me and my homie was supposed to hit BBQ’s when I was up there a couple weeks ago…but the line was OUT THE DOOR! So we had to pass cause our stomachs were eating our backs by then.

    Sounds like you had fun…NYC is such a dynamic place. As far as that reporter…I can’t even be mad. I’ve been wanting to do a lot more than throw my shoes at Bush for the last 8 yrs.

  6. Teacia Says:

    I’ve never been in NYC to actually be a tourist, was there for a brief moment with an ex for a album release party(VP at Island Def Jam), but the only thing I saw was the airport, his place on Park Ave., some club and then the airport again.

    I really want to go and do the tourist thing, but only during the summer…there’s NO way I’m going up there while it’s cold.

    Oh and W dodged the hell out of those shoes, lol.

  7. cuzzo Says:

    @Eb

    I’m from NYC

    (just hadda let that be known)

    @Comeback Tiffy poo

    No, you never had this BBQ’s in Philly. Trust me – it ain’t here.

    @Jada & Tea
    Now they will make ppl remove their shoes before doing any press conferences with the president.

  8. Jada Mwah! Says:

    @Jada & Tea
    Now they will make ppl remove their shoes before doing any press conferences with the president.

    I figured as much…but they prolly shoulda been doing that anyway when they thought people were carrying explosives in their shoes.

    And was it me or was Secret Servie a lil slow on the uptake?

  9. cuzzo Says:

    @Jada
    “And was it me or was Secret Servie a lil slow on the uptake?”

    I was thinking the same d@mn thing! Pres coulda been out there dead already. What were they doing back there? Eating doughnuts? Dude had ample time to throw not one but TWO shoes. Even the other reporters were kinda slow in grabbing him.

  10. Jada Mwah! Says:

    I was thinking the same d@mn thing! Pres coulda been out there dead already. What were they doing back there? Eating doughnuts? Dude had ample time to throw not one but TWO shoes. Even the other reporters were kinda slow in grabbing him.

    Exactly Cuzzo! And if that’s the kinda service they will provide for Obama…then a sista needs to make sure she prays for him everyday.

  11. cuzzo Says:

    @jada

    Now they are saying that the military has the man in custody and what should they do with him…

    have the president throw shoes at him?

    have dick cheney shoot him in the face?

  12. Dallas BBQ is one of my FAVS! I try to get there everytime I’m in the area!

  13. Jada Mwah! Says:

    @jada

    Now they are saying that the military has the man in custody and what should they do with him…

    have the president throw shoes at him?

    have dick cheney shoot him in the face?

    LMBO! Yousa fool Cuz.

    Does Iraq have an attempted assault charge? Iono how them foreigners get down as far as punishment.

  14. “Iono how them foreigners get down as far as punishment.”

    I think they are pretty harsh. He’ll prolly get stoned or something.

    Remember that American boy a while back who got caned (don’t remember the country?)

  15. Britt Says:

    I am SO afraid to try Dallas BBQ even though I always manage to pass one when I am in NYC. I am from the Dallas area and … I’m just afraid!

  16. cuzzo Says:

    @fung’ke
    hi-five

    @nicki
    he was caned in an asian country, can’t remember which one. maybe that’s what they should do to this guy. i dunno about stones. maybe just prison.

  17. cuzzo Says:

    @Britt

    lol, don’t get why you’re afraid. I don’t know anything about Dallas or their barbeque. Is there something special about it? I don’t think this place is tryna match it if that’s the case. But, they do have good chicken – trust me. Go see for yourself.

    I wouldn’t be scared to eat at a place called NYC pizza.

  18. Junior Says:

    Dallas bbq had these frozen Texas long islands that came with a shot of 151 or either a shot of hypnotiq…talk about a drink putting you on your a$$, one of those and I was always DONE when I lived there. The BBQ was “ok” though, I was always too tipsy to taste the food really well I guess :-/

  19. Britt Says:

    You should SO not eat NY pizza in Texas, lol. It can’t be duplicated.

  20. cuzzo Says:

    @Junior et al

    The actual Barbeque at BBQ’s ain’t all that…it’s the chicken itself (and hot wings) that are grrrreat. and the frozen dranks will have you DONE!


Leave a Reply

