Single Sisters Speak Out

The Modern Life of the Single Sister

He Proposed to Me December 19, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — cuzzo @ 2:50 am

Before ya’ll start tripping, no one proposed, it’s the title of a Kelly Price song. Calm Down!

Bling Bling

Bling Bling

I know about four marriage material dudes. If they asked me to marry them tomorrow, I could confidently say yes. Many of us already have that person or people in mind that they could possibly marry. Hey, it might not even be the person they are with now.  You have so much love and respect for this person that you know that if you are not going to  be “right” in a relationship (ie fully and unselfishly commit), you don’t want to go there with them.  Or maybe you are like me and already went there and fucked it up.

Don’t feel so bad about being in the friend-zone. There’s nothing better than falling in love with someone you have a strong foundation with. In being friends first, each person has seen the real, not the representative. You have seen each other through the good, the bad, and the ugly. Of course there has to be attraction as well. Which can be there from the jump, or grow with the friendship ie. his unibrow starts lookin kinda sexy.

 

51 Responses to “He Proposed to Me”

  1. Don’t ever give me a coniption with a title like that CUZ!!!!!

    I digress.

    It’s very important to me to have a strong solid foundation first. Because at the end of the day (my inner Neffie just came out), you’re gonna need it in order to make that marriage work/last.

  2. Jada Mwah! Says:

    There is only one fella I know that if asked if I would marry him in 3.5 seconds, I would drop everything and everybody and become his wife. Everything else…will fall into place in the meantime. But alas…I’m stuck in the friend zone with no means of escape in sight. Oh well.

  3. thecomebackgirl Says:

    “Don’t feel so bad about being in the friend-zone. There’s nothing better than falling in love with someone you have a strong foundation with. In being friends first, each person has seen the real, not the representative. ”

    Yeah but some women KNOW dam#n well that her “friendship” aint going NO WHERES. If I have romantic feelings for somebody..i really don’t give a dam#n about being his friend. nor do I like to entertain too many male friends just for the sake of having a friend. too much confusion.

  4. “nor do I like to entertain too many male friends just for the sake of having a friend.”

    @CBG: I think this is me too.. I’ve never had a platonic male friend before (who wasn’t trying to knock me down. LOL)

  5. Cuzzo Says:

    “Yeah but some women KNOW dam#n well that her “friendship” aint going NO WHERES.”

    I’m not saying don’t date and not live your life because you know this friend is the one. He may be perfect in your eyes and you make look like dog food in his.

    “nor do I like to entertain too many male friends just for the sake of having a friend. too much confusion.”

    Not at all. There may be perfectly fine men’s already in your life that fit the mold. One never actively seeks friends anyway. It just happens.

  6. Britt Says:

    FOUR MARRIAGE MATERIAL DUDES?!?!?!?! Where they at? Spread the wealth Cuzzo!!! Seriously though, I definitely think any good relationship has to start from mutural respect and admiration, which is a frienship. However, I honestly don’t know any men that I would MARRY without hesitation. Date? Sure. But the Big M? Nah. Well … maybe one guy but he was the one that got away, lol. Consider yourself blessed.

  7. thecomebackgirl Says:

    i do know one guy…and he worries the bjesus out of me…ive often thought about what would happen if he’s still hangin around in 5 or 6 years and im still waiting to be found…

    but i rebuke that message…LOL

  8. “i do know one guy…and he worries the bjesus out of me…ive often thought about what would happen if he’s still hangin around in 5 or 6 years and im still waiting to be found…

    but i rebuke that message…LOL”

    @CBG: I need u to elaborate on what worries u about him.

  9. thecomebackgirl Says:

    sunny you know i got “the rule”..but i’ll oblige (a lttile)..its the holidays…

    1) He is very cute…phsycially he is hot..but that all around chemistry is missing.

    2) he is just WORRISOME..WORRISOME…WORRISOME..did i say worrisome LOL..and when we’re out he tries to change me..like i say no too much..im not that nice to him ..stuff like that..

    but its him..i feel bad. if there was that spark, i could be nicer. But i dunno. let me ponder more.

  10. “sunny you know i got “the rule”..but i’ll oblige (a lttile)..its the holidays”

    Girl, u good.. u didn’t even say a name or a nickname!!!!

    “he is just WORRISOME..WORRISOME…WORRISOME..did i say worrisome LOL..and when we’re out he tries to change me..like i say no too much..im not that nice to him ..stuff like that..”

    @CBG: I think if you liked him more, it wouldn’t effect u so much. Bet!

  11. Jada Mwah! Says:

    sunny you know i got “the rule”..but i’ll oblige (a lttile)..its the holidays…

    Somebody clue a sista in on the rule please and thank you!

  12. Anitra Says:

    lol Jada comeback is pulling a beyonce on us these days, she don’t tell us shat!!

    “If I have romantic feelings for somebody..i really don’t give a dam#n about being his friend”

    I approve this message

    Thankfully the men used to wanna marry are no longer a priorty, you had your chance now get out my face!! get out my face!! ya ninja ya ya ya!!

  13. “Somebody clue a sista in on the rule please and thank you!”

    @Jay-Boogie: She had some drama pop off a while back from talkin about romances on the nets and now she doesn’t (did I get it right yaw?)

    “Thankfully the men used to wanna marry are no longer a priorty, you had your chance now get out my face!! get out my face!! ya ninja ya ya ya!!”

    @Mik: Not ya ninja ya.. is that a remix?

  14. Anitra Says:

    lmao I was thinkin of marta girl lol

  15. There is not anybody right now that I would marry in 3.5 sec! Now I’m scared and wondering should there be!??

  16. 80's Baby Says:

    @Mik…. The first time I seen that I died… But I just read an article where instead of giving her some jail time their gonna help her…… She definitely need it… That’s them mental issues I was telling yall about…

    But on the topic of the day…. I am so glad that my eyes are opened because the men who I thought were marriage material have showed their true colors….So I’m with Mik telling them to GETOUTMYFACE…. hilarious

    But I do believe in being friends first because that strong foundation is a must have for me…

  17. Jada Mwah! Says:

    There is not anybody right now that I would marry in 3.5 sec! Now I’m scared and wondering should there be!??

    Naw hon! This does not apply to everyone….nor should it! Just my one fella!

  18. @Mik: I. am.dead. (do not wake me up and do not collect $200 when you pass GO!)

    Yaw are killing me with this soldja boy… that song has me doubled over.. every time

  19. Jada there isn’t even a 1!

  20. Jada Mwah! Says:

    Jada there isn’t even a 1!

    Umm hmmm…soon enough we’ll be hearing bout how Swaggarific went to Jared and ish. LOL.

  21. Anitra Says:

    “Swaggarific went to Jared and ish”

    ROTFLMAO this killed me

    Jada you stooopid!!!

    why did that song pop in my head!!

  22. LOL! Hmmmm Jada I don’t know…. you must did read my comment to you yesterday on my blog… I don’t know if homeboy is in the relationship state of mind!

  23. Anitra Says:

    lmao Nicki why am i at my desk dancin to that lol

  24. Nicki that use to be the ringtone for my parents when they called me!

  25. Jada Mwah! Says:

    @ Holly….k….I just went back and read it. Def keep ya 3rd eye (wk Cite Comback) on the sitcho…but don’t discount him. Too early to lean one way or the other.

  26. Yeah I gotta keep my love lockdown!

  27. “Nicki that use to be the ringtone for my parents when they called me!”

    Oh my god. U just killed me again. Not get out my face. NEVER THAT. LOL

  28. Im going out tonight I told him he could stop by if he wanted… hopefully he doesnt.

  29. Jada Mwah! Says:

    hopefully he doesnt.
    Puzzled…why not?

  30. Nick everytime they called they were always talking crazy so that why, now I have changed it to Fabulous Breathe….

    Cuz Jada I have a Jolie situation that may occur… I got a few guys stopping by and I may see some newbies…

  31. cuzzo Says:

    @Britt
    “FOUR MARRIAGE MATERIAL DUDES?!?!?!?! Where they at? Spread the wealth Cuzzo!!! ”

    Uhm, they are kinda my leftovers. note when i said we were there but I effed it up.

    1 – mr. haiti – maaaaaadd arrogant like most hatian men are. still a provider and a looker none the less. i effed it up kinda sorta. we weren’t in a relationship by title but he caught a coniption when i told him i was dating and slept with someone. (i’m not waiting for uuuuu negro). i only told cuz even though we were like in love – he was still my best friend. he couldn’t handle the truth. damn arrogance (and selfishness cuz i was not his girl) will have u by ure damn self i tell ya.

    2 – mr.nigeria – be still my heart** an ex who’s just not tryna go back there. we were together in like college, it wasn’t serious then. but i see the man he’s become throughout the years.

    3 – mr.jamaica – doesn’t want a long distance relationship. i tapped that but u can have him if u want, lol. he’s in atl

    4 – mr.black america – no other ethnic background. we never did anything. he adores me. i just gotta get over my shallowness cuz i don’t find him sexy. he not bad lookin, just not sexy to me.

  32. Cuzzo can I call you the United Nations??

  33. cuzzo Says:

    @Holly

    Cofi Anan (sp) all up n thru. love’s me some men with a homeland.

  34. Cofi Anan (sp) all up n thru. love’s me some men with a homeland.

    LOL! I see and I support!!!

  35. “Nick everytime they called they were always talking crazy so that why, now I have changed it to Fabulous Breathe….”

    @Holister: Breathe is my JAM!

    @Cuzzo: That is your aka name United Nations… how about EOE (equal opportunity employer!)?

  36. Junior Says:

    @ cuzzo, *I’m Mr. Black America, and I DON’T approve this message!!* :-p Mr. Black America had a homeland, its called AMERICA!!!

    ichortled @ “i tapped that, but you can have him if you want”, omg that nonchalant-ness has me cracking up.

    I don’t buy this friend zone argument though. I think you can try to be friends if you know that you are planning on taking it ‘there’ but don’t want to rush things, but I already know the perils of being a friend. They want you go to shopping with them, participate in their wack dinner parties, they’ll even let you sleep over from time to time because they want some company. Let your little soldier want to go to war though, they start shutting stuff down like the electric company cut off their power. Headaches develop, stomach aches, or the worst, “my aunt flow is in town, sorry”. Like my LB’s ex girlfriend used to say,
    “if you can walk through mud, you can ____ through blood.” HAHAHA!!

  37. Let your little soldier want to go to war though, they start shutting stuff down like the electric company cut off their power. Headaches develop, stomach aches, or the worst, “my aunt flow is in town, sorry”. Like my LB’s ex girlfriend used to say,
    “if you can walk through mud, you can ____ through blood.

    I died, Junior!

  38. cuzzo Says:

    @Junior

    See I’m good friends with Mr. nigeria and I didn’t see in him then what i see in now. But, then again, we didn’t start off as friends. Just cuz your hot for your homegirl when she’s ice cold, doesn’t mean there can never be a turn around.

    One of my co-workers that I’d worked with for about a year (he no longer works here) told me he was feeling me for a long time. And I was taken aback. We were just always cool. The friend-zone may chill off cuz he’s def a good dude. But I’m still kinda like huh? for right now and see him as a brother. He makes lil flirty comments and I don’t even know how to respond. He’s done a complete 180 from homey to I wanna be your man (shout out to zapp and roger). I think you kinda have to ease outta the buddy buddy for a friend to begin seeing you in the “lover” light.

    I had to ease outta buddy buddy with mr. haiti in that respect. i didn’t even know he felt so strongly about us til i told him i slept with someone. co-worker did something similar too. when i would talk about my suitors to other co-workers he would say some hater stuff (ex. i dated a guy named kelvin*, my co-workers’ name was kevin*, and HE was like, what kinda dumb ass name is kelvin? UH, ONE THAT SOUNDS JUST LIKE URE DUMB ASS NAME.) and make screw faces.

    *names have been changed but the same premise lies.

  39. cuzzo Says:

    @junior

    “Mr. Black America had a homeland, its called AMERICA!!!”

    when did mr. black america become indian? what tribe are u from? igonquin? shinnecock?

  40. ““if you can walk through mud, you can ____ through blood.” HAHAHA!!”

    sings, “sommmmeBODY please call 911!”

  41. Junior Says:

    @ cuzzo, that’s the thing though, not nary (as grandma used to say) a guy wants to be your friend. I can’t remember the last time I got close to a girl under the assumption that she’d be BFF. If anything my motives were selfish as hell, the whole, maybe if I play my cards right. Don’t know when girls are going to get that through their heads, it takes unique circumstances to be friends, and even then, its not like I don’t have really good female friends who I wouldn’t create a symphony with if I had the chance.

    As for Indian tribe, woo lawd chile you got me good, and pegged it right on the head. I’m sure you’ve heard of it though, the “Pipe-i-lay” tribe. Lest not forget, America was the “Indians” long before massa came over jacking everything up!

  42. cuzzo Says:

    @Junior

    “I’m sure you’ve heard of it though, the “Pipe-i-lay” tribe. ”

    have i ever told how much I look forward to comments from your fresh @ss 😉

    u used to play hide ‘n go get it, didn’t you?

  43. Britt Says:

    Cuzzo: @ Mr. Black America – if he asked and you said yes confidently, how would u handle the attraction piece?

  44. Junior Says:

    @ cuzzo, I just appreciate the fact that you have as much of a sense of humor as I do 🙂

    Besides, you ladies over here are fun, hence the reason I frequent!

    As far as hide ‘n go get it…well…it was more like hide ‘n go hunch. I had no idea what to do with this thing until I was 17 and the girl I was with at the time took my goodies :(. I felt so…so….vio—-naa i’m lying at the time that was the best 15 minutes of my LIFE!!

  45. cuzzo Says:

    @Britt

    “if he asked and you said yes confidently, how would u handle the attraction piece?”

    I think I could grow attracted to him. I just find myself pushing away from him now. When he pays me too much attention it turns me way off. But, when he’s not really stressing me I find myself missing him a little.

    In him being a good husband and doing all the things a good hubby does, the attraction will def grow stronger cuz I’d know I have what a lot of women want.

  46. cuzzo Says:

    @Junior

    “I had no idea what to do with this thing until I was 17”

    I wonder what it’s like to take a guys goodies? I’m too old to find out 😦 I feel like he would cum upon entry. I still refuse to believe you didn’t have ANY idea whatsoever. U never snuck and watched the naughty channels when your parents went to bed? Never said: Dad, why is my underwear stuck to my penis when I wake up?

  47. Junior Says:

    @ cuzzo, ok ok! I had an idea of what to do, I was just still too scared to do anything! I knew way too young IMO opinion. I was just as much a nerd when I was younger as I am now, and when I read out of library books and my mom didn’t want to take me back, she’d make me read all of her zane, terry mcmillian, etc. type novels. However, I give her credit for the way I am today, because I def. think that gave me a general insight into the way women think!

  48. cuzzo Says:

    @Junior

    WOW @ mom dukes. surprised you didn’t turn into a lil hot pants at the time, reading that stuff.

  49. Shelia Says:

    I’ve let a few good men get away—all because I was in love with one man. When I told certain guys I was engaged, they were hurt. At the time, I thought they were only my friends and didn’t know they had “romantic” type feelings for me. Now I have an ex-fiance and two ex-friends.


Leave a Reply

