Single Sisters Speak Out

The Modern Life of the Single Sister

Women Be Shoppin…Women Be Shoppin December 29, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — cuzzo @ 11:32 pm

It’s no mystery, most women love to shop. I am a woman that likes a sale, deal, bargain, and discount.

My fave online store: http://www.overstock.com

It’s the most wonderful time of the year…for sales! Catch them all my lovelies.

Where are you shopping for the deals?

Bath and Bodyworks always has a crazy sale until about mid February when all the seasonal stuff is gone. Victoria’s Secret also began their semi-annual sale. January is the time when a lot of stores will be giving the deepest discount and turning over their overstock to stores like Daffy’s, T.J. Maxx, and Marshall’s. Just imagine – an extra 70% off stores that already discount. I’ve seen advertisements for 80% off retail at Burlington Coat Factory.

What were some of your bargain buys so far? If you haven’t bought yet or are waiting for the mega-slashing after January please revisit this post and dish.

******************************Update*****************************

More Links:

http://www.walletpop.com – I came across this on aol. It’s very informational about products, sales, and all that consumerism (is this a word?)

http://www.shopathome.com – I tell everyone and their momma to use this portal when making online purchases. They give you cash back. Sometimes it’s only 3 and 4 percent but it adds up.

http://www.bluefly.com – like an upscale overstock. They have a ton of designer labels for less.

And like we’ve mentioned:

www.ebay.com and www.amazon.com

eBay has a ton of other catagories like half.com – I used this to buy my books in college.

 

87 Responses to “Women Be Shoppin…Women Be Shoppin”

  1. Junior Says:

    Dang, you listed all the places I use, and overstock is my joint!! Now a place I do go to find good deals on fragrances is ebay. You’d be surprised at just how cheap you can find things. For instance, the 3.4 oz bottle of Ralph lauren Romance retails for $78.00 + tax in your local department store, I paid 26.89 PERIOD.

    I’ll totally cosign the stores like Burlington, Marshall’s, etc. I don’t think for guys that “fashion seasons” are as big of a deal as they are for women, so I have NO problems whatsoever wearing last years fashions and putting my own spins on it.

  2. “so I have NO problems whatsoever wearing last years fashions and putting my own spins on it.”

    This is definitely me, I don’t care what’s in season. LOL

    I’m one of the odd ones, I really don’t like shopping… I visualize what I want in my head and search specifically for that item. I prefer shopping on the internet whenever possible.

    Amazon is a good place to buy fragrances and facial products. I use this water based moisturized by Shishedo which is normally $30 in the stores, but I found it on ebay for $10.

    I went into Bath and Body works yesterday to get a gift for girl’s night and their stuff was 3 for $15… they also had lotion for $3!

  3. Love shopping.

    I shop BBW this time of year and then again in June.

    In fact @ the June sale I am going to buy a lot of my Christmas gifts (Mom, cousin’s wife, kids, friends, etc.) So that when December comes along I’ll be able to just focus a bit more on Mom and then the men. AND I figure people will get nicer gifts IF I space out more.

    Also EBAY! LOVESIT

  4. Cuzzo Says:

    @Junior

    eBay is the shiznite! I love to buy and sell on there. It isn’t for the impatient or the amateur bidder.

    @Nicki

    this is the best time of year to buy from Bath and Body Works. You can get any of their cutesy bags for 70% off by the end of the sale.

    I’m going to update this post with a few other places.

  5. 80's Baby Says:

    I’m gonna check out ebay on the fragrances… I thought I was doing something because I got the perfume 35% off with my aunts discount… But I still got the bigger bottles for the price of the smaller bottles….

    But I very rarely full price for something… There isn’t anything that I just have to have… So I’m usually patient and will wait for the sales… If they don’t have my size when it’s on sale then I just chalk it up and say that it wasn’t meant for me to have…

    But I am a big on PRICE ADJUSTMENTS!!! I’m glad now that all you need is the reciepts. I don’t care if it’s 2.00. Give me back my freakin’ 2.00…..

  6. Britt Says:

    I love clothes shopping. I love love love Marshall’s and also the high end outlets, like Saks Off Fifth and Neiman Marcus last call.

    I am also a huge online shopper and I have found that Nordstrom’s discounts big time online. Also, I have been getting some great shoe deals from Piperlime, with shipping included.

  7. Britt Says:

    Also, I am not opposed to working for my discount. I worked at Saks nights and weekends for several months, while working as a professional during the workweek, and got 40% off some classic designers that will never go on sale.

  8. cuzzo Says:

    @80’s

    “I don’t care if it’s 2.00. Give me back my freakin’ 2.00”

    lol. you’re insane. you clip coupons too, don’t you? I like a nice price adjustment as well but with most stores they only give you between 7 and 14 days to adjust.

    @Britt

    I love the high enders too when I’m feelin’ ritzy. Other than that I go in there and I’m still like oh, this is too damn much, lol. You will see that I’ve added bluefly.com – the online equivalent to the high end consignment store.

    “Also, I am not opposed to working for my discount.”

    I AM! lol. I worked at Ralph Lauren and hated it. But, it was my full-time job. I cannot stand working retail. *shivers*

  9. The Comeback Girl Says:

    im not really a bargain shopper..if its something i want and I have the money to get it and still feel good about my finances i buy it.

    if It seems too much. I pray to the retail God…

    pray..

    and GO BACK and get it LOL..

    interesting to note that in this recession I think Amazon and Apple had THE BEST revenue season to date. I think Apple’s 4th q projections is also a record breaker.

    very interesting indeed..funny how the media won’t talk about that.

  10. Jolie Fatale Says:

    I think I am going to buy a dyson. have i told you guys I am obsessed with vacuuming.. WELL you can get a dyson on easypay on hsn.com …

    I like hsn.com and qvc.com.. i’m not opposed. My mamas gonna get me a nice 42 inch flat screen for the living room for my christmas/bday present (yeah she’s late). And they have GOOOD DEALS on flat screens .. oh and they have easy pay .. dont sleep on the home shoppin channels..

  11. ‘this is the best time of year to buy from Bath and Body Works. You can get any of their cutesy bags for 70% off by the end of the sale.

    I’m going to update this post with a few other places.”

    70% off??? wow, cuzzo that is sick… I just ran in there, grabbed a gift and ran out… I need to go back!

  12. 80's Baby Says:

    lol. you’re insane. you clip coupons too, don’t you? I like a nice price adjustment as well but with most stores they only give you between 7 and 14 days to adjust.

    @ cuzzo…. I don’t clip coupons.. I keep saying that I’m going to start. lol But girl there are ways around that 7 to 14 day adjustment. One time in Macy’s I got one and it was 30 days later… I can just tell when the sales associate is strictly by the book or when one is nonchalant.. In this case I just handed the receipt and said can you see if these have been marked down… And she was like I just credited back 20.00 to your card.. But if they trippin I’ll just take it back and rebuy it.

    But also another trick is to start going through your wallet to look for your coupon… And then they’ll ask which one did you have… And at Express I’ll be like it was was the 15 off of a 30 dollar purchase or it was a fast cash…. And then they’ll say don’t worry about it and they’ll go ahead and give it to me… The whole time it would be in my back pocket…

  13. thecomebackgirl Says:

    “actually the media did cover Amazon – http://money.aol.com/news/articles/_a/bbdp/amazon-touts-best-ever-holiday-season/287539

    @ Cuzzo i read the same article …however generally the news is still grim as it relates to the overall economy on the everyday news and paper outlets i glance at.

    what shifts is what people want, tastes, and how and what is dominating what is being purchased and their sphere of influence.

  14. All I can say is that I am happy that the semi-annuals are going on at Vicki’s and B&BW!!! I am going shopping tomorrow and stocking on everything!

  15. cuzzo Says:

    @Jolie

    “I think I am going to buy a dyson. have i told you guys I am obsessed with vacuuming”

    I dunno, I’m more impressed with the old dude from the oreck commercials. I think they sell dysons on overstock.com

    Is easypay like something where they give you credit?

    @80’s
    “The whole time it would be in my back pocket…”

    so, uhm, why not just use it? lol. I could understand if you actually didn’t have it how you would be getting over.
    and yes, macy’s is leanient as hell. I gotta show there more often. I’ve never returned then re-bought. Do they let you buy it back right there on the spot? I thought they had to like put it back out on the floor or wait a day or something like that.

  16. Jolie Fatale Says:

    @cuzzo:
    it has nothing to do with credit. they basically take your credit card number and charge you a portion each month. like the dyson is on 5 easy payments of 59.99. I’m just going to go with the one payment of 399.99 BUT the option is great!

  17. cuzzo Says:

    @Jolie

    oh, so it’s like lay-a-way…but you get your stuff before you pay it off.

  18. Jolie Fatale Says:

    @cuzzo: kinda .. but you get the item RIGHT AWAY …

  19. 80's Baby Says:

    so, uhm, why not just use it? lol.

    @ cuzzo… Because usually I have already planned to check out another Express in the area to see what they have…So I just use it then…

    Do they let you buy it back right there on the spot? I thought they had to like put it back out on the floor or wait a day or something like that.

    @ cuzzo….I’ve done it. I’ve never had any problems returning something then turning around and buying it. But I wouldn’t try it on the stores that are funny about returning sale/clearance merchandise (Guess, Arden B, Bebe). Guess is funny about their sale stuff so I’ve returned something walked out then came back in 2 minutes later like I’ve changed my mind and bought it back for the lower price.

  20. Yeah that dyson is pretty nifty… I have hardwood floors and I hate dusting them!!!

  21. cuzzo Says:

    @80’s

    “Guess is funny about their sale stuff so I’ve returned something walked out then came back in 2 minutes later like I’ve changed my mind and bought it back for the lower price.”

    I know the sales people were rolling there eyes, lol. like dis bitch…

    @Holly

    “I have hardwood floors and I hate dusting them!!”

    Isn’t that what swiffers are for?

  22. Cuzzo I hate that d@mn thing it’s too flimsy and doesn’t do a good job… I am on a serious hunt for something!!

  23. cuzzo Says:

    @Holly

    Ok…take a deep breath, lol.

    I just can’t see paying $400 for a vacuum.

  24. LOL! Ok I’m breathing I just hate having to dry mop them! Yeah I feel ya on the vacuum but I hear they are especially good with clearing up allergens..

  25. 80's Baby Says:

    I know the sales people were rolling there eyes, lol. like dis bitch…

    @ cuzzo… It actually worked in my favor because the sales girl who had took the stuff back had dipped in the back and it was another girl who rung me up……. Believe me there is no shame in my game… For real for real more people need to get like me if they want more money in they pocket… LOL

  26. cuzzo Says:

    *gettin like 80’s in ’09 n takin it back in every sense*

  27. 80's Baby Says:

    *gettin like 80’s in ‘09 n takin it back in every sense*

    @ cuzzo….I validate this only for price adjustments and to get your merchandise at a lower price….. I do not VALIDATE trying to take something back that’s worn to get money back!!! I repeat I do not VALIDATE taking back worn merchandise…. That’s TRIFLING!!!!!

  28. 80s my stepmother does that takes things back for price adjustments not all the time but she does it mostly with Macy’s

  29. 80's Baby Says:

    @Holly…. Macy’s only gave me a problem one time. I just bought 2 pair of clearance shoes and the next day they were like an additional 30% off….. I took my receipt and the dumb associate was like I need the shoes… And I was like no you don’t but okay whatever…. I didn’t even argue with her. When I went home I sent an email and my phone was ringing a couple of hours later…. And my Macy’s account got credited the difference….

    An email is all it takes these days.

  30. 80’s that is so true!! She does it mostly with evening dresses and suits and stuff!

  31. Told you me and Sprint were close due to an email to Bob Hesse

  32. cuzzo Says:

    @80’s

    ” I repeat I do not VALIDATE taking back worn merchandise…. That’s TRIFLING!!!!!”

    OK!!! sheesh. I don’t do that*cough*anymore*cough*

    “An email is all it takes these days.”

    I see you know all the tricks. Who do you email?

  33. thecomebackgirl Says:

    “I do not VALIDATE trying to take something back that’s worn to get money back!!! I repeat I do not VALIDATE taking back worn merchandise…. That’s TRIFLING!!!!!”

    @80s..i agree..bad retail karma..and sorta kinda like stealilng.

  34. Jada Mwah! Says:

    Usually I am on the after Christmas sales like white on rice. And this year I actually have more money to go out and spend, but for some reason I haven’t got in the swing of it this year. I do plan on hitting Vickies when the prices come down a lil more (I always wait a couple weeks or so), but other than that, I think I have more focused on saving b/c there are things I know I want to get done in the New Year.

    But there are a few things I wanna get. A couple more games for my Wii (maybe a wii fit too). The Ipod touch. But I will be attempting to budget these things into my posession. Even though I could really just go out and buy it.

  35. Cuzzo when you need to send an email I look up the CEO, CFO, COO and send it to them

  36. 80's Baby Says:

    Who do you email?

    @ cuzzo…. On their website I just go to the contact us and send an email….. And it usually ask for you to put in a contact number……..

    Earlier this year I had went to Guess and when I went to try some stuff on the lady had asked for my bags….. And that caught me off guard because they never asked for any of my bags before… I was offended because it wasn’t no signs posted and I didn’t know if she had asked anybody else for their bags… And I had a whole bunch of stuff because it was an additional 60% off of clearance… But it didn’t sit right with me so I had a moment and was like I don’t want none of that and walked out with an attitude……. That next day I sent an email about the situation. Just pretty much saying if that’s y’all policy then yall need to have it posted because the sales clerk don’t need to be pickin and choosin…. Girl within’ 30 minutes the regional manager of the Guess stores in Ohio, Michigan, and Kentucky was calling my cell phone….. He apologized and wanted to send me coupons so I could take an additional 25% off of the already additional 60%off…We were on the phone for at least 30 minutes….I didn’t take him up on the coupon because I didn’t want it to seem like I was trying to get something out of the situation… But he even gave me his number and email and told me to contact him if I changed my mind and to let me know which store I wanted to go within his region and the coupons would be waiting for me.

  37. cuzzo Says:

    @80’s

    wow…what a nice gesture. a manager that really cares about the customer. u think she singled you out because you were black? did u mention that in the email?

    imma start doing that cuz some of these stores boy I tell ya! If you don’t like people, don’t work in retail…

  38. Cuzzo people will try you….

  39. I need to start doing this whole e-mail thing a little bit more. I never complain about bad service whatsoever. I just usually swallow it and move on.

    ughh.

  40. 80's Baby Says:

    u think she singled you out because you were black? did u mention that in the email?

    @ cuzzo… He asked me if I felt discriminated against and as if she singled me out… And I said yes because I don’t know whether she asked anybody else before me……He went on to explain that this particular store had high theft and he said it was up to the manager’s discretion as to whether that was their policy or not… I understood where he was coming from and I made sure he understood where I was coming from as the consumer. I told him I have no problem handing over my bag but take it as soon as I walk in or at least have something posted so that I won’t get caught off guard.

    Same thing happened with my friend who returned something at Marshall’s without a reciept. When she turned to walk away she overheard the cashier saying she think she stole it…. She immediately got an apology from the manager. She went ahead and sent an email… And got a phone call from the district manager like what would you like for us to do about the situation.

  41. cuzzo Says:

    @Jada

    “Usually I am on the after Christmas sales like white on rice. ”

    yea, me too…but this year…not so much. my money is just dwindling.

  42. 80's Baby Says:

    I need to start doing this whole e-mail thing a little bit more. I never complain about bad service whatsoever. I just usually swallow it and move on.

    @ Jac…. And see that’s why these sales clerk think they can get away with it…… The people who’ve contacted me has asked for names and everything in attempt to rectify the situation. Because it looks bad on their end as if their not properly doing their part in training their employes..

  43. 80’s I am like you I write down names and like when I deal with Customer Service Rep’s via phone I write down their name and get their ID number!

  44. “80’s I am like you I write down names and like when I deal with Customer Service Rep’s via phone I write down their name and get their ID number”

    Me too.. and I am a emailing/letter writing fool too. LOL

  45. Nick I do the letter when the email and call coming on deaf ears!!

  46. “Nick I do the letter when the email and call coming on deaf ears!!”

    LOL.. I go staight to the top!!!! I have written at least four letters to Chase regarding fees for one reason or another.. and thank GOD, they’ve all gotten reversed.

  47. Girl that’s what you gotta do!!!

  48. 80's Baby Says:

    I am glad that I’m not the only one… 😉

  49. LOL! They talk about me at work… they even get quiet for my corporate calls. I was about to buy a Honda Accord last year and the finance mgr tried to screw me. I went to the owner of the dealership and got my downpayment back!

  50. 80's Baby Says:

    I went to the owner of the dealership and got my downpayment back!

    @ Holly….. That’s how you gotta do it……

  51. 80’s they had literally tried to screw me on the financing girl!! They were about to r@pe my arse and having me paying $600 a month for a car!

  52. Holly-I would have murked someone. My mom bought a car last year and then guy tried to sleep with me which didn’t work SO he kept her spare key. I swear I should have said something but that would have been messy.

  53. 80's Baby Says:

    @ Holly… NOOOOOOO….. But that’s good that you stopped it and got your down payment back and stuff… But $600 a month though… That’s crazy!!!!

  54. 80's Baby Says:

    then guy tried to sleep with me which didn’t work SO he kept her spare key. I swear I should have said something but that would have been messy.

    @ jac… Does he still have the spare key????? Was this someone yall knew and was just selling the car or what????

  55. 80s-Girl yes he still has the spare key. It’s been 19 mos.

    Naw, we ain’t know that negro…he was looking at me like I was a turkey leg and when they couldn’t get my mom to buy the car he drove out to the house and got me, we talked, etc. well long story short he wanted sex…not doing it! So he just wouldn’t give the key…tried to make it where we would constantly call him. I was NOT doing it.

  56. @Jac- That is insane!!!!!!!!!!!

    @80’s- girl yes! It started because they went behind my back to do a Capital One loan and instead of requesting the full amount of the car they only requested half!! Now I could’ve done a Capital One loan and got the full amount and not had to put anything down! And I will only think about 600 if it’s a Benz or a Beamer!!

  57. Holly-I know that’s right. That’s the only way and even then I might side eye them

  58. I wish more folks would stand up for themselves like that instead of letting people get over on them… they’d be more cautious to mess people over.

  59. 80's Baby Says:

    Nick…. I’m with you.. That’s what is it about… People standing up for themselves and not settling for any ol kind of treatment!!! It’s not happenin around these parts.

    Way to go Holly for standing up to the people at the dealership letting them know that you ain’t the one!!!!

  60. Girl they were pissed too! Cause they didnt wanna give me the money wanted to keep it talking about this is for the mileage you used!

  61. 80's Baby Says:

    I got a car dealership story for yall that’s crazy…. So my friend pretty much traded in her impala for a Chrysler 300… Well all of her paperwork hadn’t went through and they were like we’re sure we can get everything worked out just take the car and what not…… They came back days later talkin bout she needed a cosigner and she didn’t want that so she just took the car back….. But they had already sent the money off to pay off her impala. But she didn’t know it until she went to make her next month’s car payment… Pretty much they was just looking at the money they was bout to get from her off the sale that they didn’t make sure all their ducks were in a row as far as making sure she was even approved and stuff………. Needless to say they started calling her and harrassing her saying that she needed to come down there to work out arrangements about the car that they had paid off… Being just flat out real nasty to her…… So she went up there to get everything straightened out and she knew a judge and he was like call me when you get there because you pretty much got your car paid for and the ball is in your court. So they talking reckless to her until she pass her phone with the judge on the other end… And then their tone change like yes you are correct and blah, blah, blah….. She still owed like at least 7,000 on that car and what did she do…….. Told them yall paid for it so now it’s yall’s…. It just worked to her advantage because she no longer had to worry about trading it in or being upside down with it… It was on them!!!!

  62. YES! GO FRIEND!! (doing the roger rabbit)

  63. I know that’s right. My uncle had a TV that burned out and it was under warranty. They didn’t want to give him another one because they said it would have to be flatscreen and the chick was all I ain’t gonna help. He went down there and told them his nephew was an attorney AND if they weren’t going to help then his nephew would handle it. He walked out with a new TV!

  64. cuzzo Says:

    it’s pays to know people in high places.

  65. 80's Baby Says:

    it’s pays to know people in high places.

    @ cuzzo… Little people can make things happen too…. You see Holly got her money back… (Holly I’m not calling you little but you know what I mean us not in so high places folk)lol

    coughs*ain’tsomebodyonhereinlawschool*coughs
    coughs again**theregoyourfriendinhighplaces**coughs

  66. Ditto Cuzzo and who in law school??

  67. Holister: Junior is a law student.

  68. “I got a car dealership story for yall that’s crazy…. So my friend pretty much traded in her impala for a Chrysler 300… Well all of her paperwork hadn’t went through and they were like we’re sure we can get everything worked out just take the car and what not…… They came back days later talkin bout she needed a cosigner and she didn’t want that so she just took the car back….. ”

    This happened to me with my first toyota Echo.

  69. 80s-Holly is little. Tell em Hol..she a midget.

    Junior-You’re gonna have to help me get out of jail if a few things don’t go my way.

  70. WHO YOU CALLING A MIDGET JAC!!! LOL!

  71. WHY I GOTTA BE A MIDGET!! AND I AM NORMAL HEIGHT

  72. “WHY I GOTTA BE A MIDGET!! AND I AM NORMAL HEIGHT”

    Normal height for a dwarf?

    I’m joking, Leggy McDaniels couldn’t resist. LOL

  73. I’m sorry Holister. I don’t mean it.. I envy shorties.

  74. LOL! Loves ya HollyBerry

  75. holly you are not no damned normal height.

    I am normal height and you are are 8 EIGHT inches shorter than me.

  76. you are a midget too!

  77. Jolie Fatale Says:

    Damn midgets all of you except for leggy mclegster aka nicki sunshine…

    Love Jolie.

  78. Nicky Says:

    You might want to take a look at http://www.discount-hunt.com. I use it to discover Amazon discounts.


Leave a Reply

