Single Sisters Speak Out

The Modern Life of the Single Sister

Your 25th Hour… January 16, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Sunny @ 6:41 am

 

The 25th Hour is one of my favorite Spike Lee movies.  In it, Montgomery Brogan has 24 hours to spend before he has to turn himself in for a seven year jail term [which I just found out, I thought it was for life!] 

 

There was a song, called, “24 Hours to Live” by Mase, Black Rob, DMX, The Lox, and Puff Daddy, which kinda expressed this same sentiment.

 

 

My question to you is, if you only had 24 hours left [before whatever], how would you spend it?   What would matter the most to you?

 

***9:05 Addition:  I just thought of something brilliant! Okay listen.  We never really know when our 24 hours is up. How scary is that??? But it’s real.  Shouldn’t we put these into practice daily? ***

 

36 Responses to “Your 25th Hour…”

  1. Geez Nic…lol Thanks for handling this. You’ve been great this week while the rest of us do things like sleep, have a break and keep warm lol..

    Anways, if I only had 24 hours left…I’d spend it all with family and friends 🙂

  2. U know me. I freak out. Thanks.

    What would you do with family and friends?

    I’d have a huge party!!!! I wouldn’t want anyone sad. Kinda like they did on the 25th hour.

  3. thecomebackgirl Says:

    “if you only had 24 hours left [before whatever], how would you spend it? ”

    at starbucks lol..

    ….

    sike 4 real tho..I would most def. spend it with 5 or 6 of the most important people just telling them how much they meant to me

    at

    starbucks

    lol.

  4. Peyso Says:

    I dont think I would do anything big. I would go to grandma’s and eat, I wouldnt tell anyone that I was fittin to die/go to jail. I dont want the phony farewells. If I was fittin to die, I would take some sleeping pills with like 22 hours left. If I was going to jail, I would say see ya in a little bit. Maybe I would spend over million dollars like Michael Vick did when he was going to jail. haha

  5. Peyso could point. I would go on a MASSIVE shopping spree. Just crazy…f’ a credit report.

  6. “sike 4 real tho..I would most def. spend it with 5 or 6 of the most important people just telling them how much they meant to me

    at

    starbucks”

    I love Starbucks too… I go there to just chill with a good book Comeback.

    ” I dont want the phony farewells. ”

    I agree Peyso… I prolly wouldn’t even tell a lot of folks either, just those that are normally around me. I woudln’t want them to be sad though.

  7. “f’ a credit report.”

    Jac, I am SO SINCERE about that. LOL

  8. Holly GoLightly Says:

    D@MN NICK! GOOD POST!!! You got the thinking cap on! If I had 24 hours I would make sure that the people I love know that I love them and I would tell people the things that I should’ve told them in the beginning!!

  9. Thanks Holister!!!!!!

    “I would tell people the things that I should’ve told them in the beginning”

    This is the truth right here! Maybe we should start putting it into practice????

  10. Holly GoLightly Says:

    “This is the truth right here! Maybe we should start putting it into practice????”

    I have actually been thinking about it a lot lately… I came across notes from when my pastor preached about that and how it helps you not have regrets if the person dies or something terrible happens to him!

  11. “have actually been thinking about it a lot lately… I came across notes from when my pastor preached about that and how it helps you not have regrets if the person dies or something terrible happens to him!”

    That’s exactly what I was thinking (why I put that edit up there!. LOL)…

  12. 80's Baby Says:

    If I was going to jail…..Sorry wouldn’t be able to do that shopping spree thing. That’s why Michael Vick ain’t got no money now.lol And if it’s only for 7 years then I still gotta worry about when I get out.. I would give the money that I do have to my momma though so she can put it on my books….lol But I think I would just have a nice dinner with the family and then turn myself in early just to get it over with. So I can start focusing on when I get out.

  13. Holly GoLightly Says:

    LOL! Girl I have got to do better with a lot especially telling people when they piss me off instead of just not ever talking to them again

  14. 80's Baby Says:

    Nicki… That’s also what your pastor was talking about on the first Sunday of the new year….. Like how people feel sorry for someone when they find out their terminally ill. You know how someone might try and whisper he or she is terminal. He said guess what…. So are you!!!!! And that’s the truth. Tomorrow is not promised for none of us.

  15. Holly GoLightly Says:

    Amen 80’s!!

  16. “I would give the money that I do have to my momma though so she can put it on my books….lol ”

    Very very smart move 80s!

    “when they piss me off instead of just not ever talking to them again”

    U and me both have that issue Holister

  17. Holly GoLightly Says:

    @ Nick- I can’t help it! I kinda have a slight temper and a filter malfunction so things might not come out too kosher…

  18. “Nicki… That’s also what your pastor was talking about on the first Sunday of the new year….. Like how people feel sorry for someone when they find out their terminally ill”

    I’m trying to think if I went 80s!!!!! I think I did bc that sounds familiar.. .I remember him saying we all are terminal! Yes, I went. Girl, he gets your wheels turning, doesn’t he?? That time when I saw u at Bible study, he got me.

  19. “@ Nick- I can’t help it! I kinda have a slight temper and a filter malfunction so things might not come out too kosher…”

    As least you don’t get teary eyed when you talk about emotions. LMAO.. no matter what. That’s why I’m so hard acting.

  20. Holly GoLightly Says:

    @Nick- But Nick I hold grudges which is not good!

  21. “@Nick- But Nick I hold grudges which is not good!”

    I won’t lie… I used to too..

    Holster, what is good though, is that you know you are doing it and you know it’s a problem. Some folks won’t even admit it.

    Now it’s time to fix it.

    I’m putting you on a 6 month improvement plan!

  22. Holly GoLightly Says:

    “Now it’s time to fix it.

    I’m putting you on a 6 month improvement plan!”

    I accept and why do I feel like Im on a SSSO version of Charm School!! LOL!

    But hey admittance is the first step!

  23. “I accept and why do I feel like Im on a SSSO version of Charm School!! LOL!

    But hey admittance is the first step!”

    U are! We are in this thang together chica!!!! I’m serious.

    And admittance is the first step!

  24. Holly GoLightly Says:

    Ok Nick I accept the challenge gotta be a better Holly by May 16, 2010!!

  25. Holister did you just give yourself A YEAR????

  26. Holly GoLightly Says:

    @ Nick- Naw! LOL! But I have a running list of things that need to be accomplished at list 80% by the time Im 30! which is on that date!

  27. “@ Nick- Naw! LOL! But I have a running list of things that need to be accomplished at list 80% by the time Im 30! which is on that date!”

    Ooooohhh… got ya. Are u writing down your goals [something I need to do but never seem to do]?

  28. Holly GoLightly Says:

    Yep I did write them… also posted them on the first post on my blog too…

  29. “them on the first post on my blog too…”

    That’s good.. I think writing them makes you more accountable… when u don’t write, you forget and it’s like out of sight, out of mind.

  30. Holly GoLightly Says:

    “I think writing them makes you more accountable”

    Exactly!!!! I agree 100%

  31. you never really gonna know when it’s gonna end…

    plan to live forever, but live like you’ll die tomorrow

    Can’t rewind life 😦

  32. Very well said Whyso…. but I expect that bc u are just spectacular. 🙂

  33. Holly GoLightly Says:

    That is soooo true WhySo!

  34. I would spend it with my closest friends and fam somewhere fun like an amusement park.

  35. Junior Says:

    24 hours to live…I’d break this damn celibacy streak that’s for sure and probably go to Fogo de Chao and see if its really all you can eat.

    Maybe even go and do some hood rat stuff with my friends,

  36. Junior, you kilt me with “hood rat stuff,” like that little bad arse boy.


Leave a Reply

