Single Sisters Speak Out

The Modern Life of the Single Sister

The Greatest Day in the 21st Century January 20, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — FlawedBeauty @ 8:02 am

This is THE day.  I cannot believe it.  It has been a long, winding 400 year road.  But today is the day…Barack Hussein Obama will become this great nations 44th president, along with him will go First Lady Michelle LaVaughn Robinson Obama and daughters Malia (10) and Sasha (7).  This is the day that Martin hoped for…the day Rosa thought of, and a day that our forefathers will gladly shout or sing.  It is with great joy mixed with somber sadness that I approach this day.  My soul is full and overjoyed…I am so excited I am almost bouncing…your thoughts?  How does this day make you feel?  Share your thoughts, say whatever…but keep it positive.

Yep-you need to know every, single, word.

Lift every voice and sing
Till earth and heaven ring,
Ring with the harmonies of Liberty;
Let our rejoicing rise
High as the listening skies,
Let it resound loud as the rolling sea.
Sing a song full of the faith that the dark past has taught us,
Sing a song full of the hope that the present has brought us,
Facing the rising sun of our new day begun
Let us march on till victory is won.

Stony the road we trod,
Bitter the chastening rod,
Felt in the days when hope unborn had died;
Yet with a steady beat,
Have not our weary feet
Come to the place for which our fathers sighed?
We have come over a way that with tears have been watered,
We have come, treading our path through the blood of the slaughtered,
Out from the gloomy past,
Till now we stand at last
Where the white gleam of our bright star is cast.

God of our weary years,
God of our silent tears,
Thou who has brought us thus far on the way;
Thou who has by Thy might
Led us into the light,
Keep us forever in the path, we pray.
Lest our feet stray from the places, Our God, where we met Thee;
Lest, our hearts drunk with the wine of the world, we forget Thee;
Shadowed beneath Thy hand,
May we forever stand.
True to our GOD,
True to our native land

 

7 Responses to “The Greatest Day in the 21st Century”

  1. Fabulous post Jac! I don’t know why, I find myself singing this in the car sometimes. LOL

  2. Man I’m so proud! You know what’s funny…NONE of the other presidential nominations brought the world together like this before! This is just beautiful!

  3. Holly GoLightly Says:

    I agree Jada!! I am filled with so many emotions!! I was at Bailbondsman’s house this morning and I wanted to cry because I so wanted to be in the moment… stopped myself cause I didnt want him to get scared.

  4. peyso Says:

    What are you going to do to help Obeezie?

    http://my-femme-fatale.blogspot.com/2009/01/jay-z-my-president-is-black-remix-live.html

    there’s a video on this blog that i think we should all check out…

  5. Jazz Says:

    I was at the concert sunday and just got back from the swearing in. All I can say is AMAZING!

  6. Shelia Says:

    Singing along as I watch our 44th President and First Lady in the parade. All I can say is God is good!!!


Leave a Reply

