Single Sisters Speak Out

The Modern Life of the Single Sister

You hate me because…… January 29, 2009

Filed under: Around the Town,Uncategorized — peyso @ 12:04 am

Some people call them gangs; some people say that they have lost their way. A lot of people would say that their founders would not be proud. Hell, I agree with many of these statements and I am a part of the group of people talking about. I’m not a blood or a crip. I’m a member of a Black Greek Letter Organization. (I am not “Greek” but that’s a whole nother post for a whole different day). I am a sliding, kicking, spinning, hook throwing member of the only frat I know. Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc. I am the deuce the tail the HONCHO the showdog MADE in the “Once Murderous, Always Mighty, Malicious Mu Chapter” “Where the WOOD is still GOOD and will never go BAD” but I digress. This is not a post to explain why I know believe my beloved fraternity to the best ever.period. In response to Cuzzo’s post earlier this week, I wanted to post the top nine reasons GDIs and members of Greek organizations that are not BGLO (and some members of BGLOs too) and my responses to them. (No particular order) I’m gonna be honest and say that I probably hate Greeks too most of the time.

 

1)      Always thinking about their fraternity or sorority.

 

I agree with this issue. I hate when every other word out of the mouth of a Greek is “frat” or “bruh” or “soror”. Did you not have a life before you pledged or sign your papers (another topic for another day). When you were initiated did you lose all of your old friends. If you were lame before the letters, you’re probably lame now.

 

2)      Greeks always ask “Are you Greek?” then some of them wont speak to you if your not.

 

I often answer this question by saying something to the affect of “Yuck, hell no”. Just to see what kind of response I would get out of people. But hell I aint Greek; I’m black. But in defense of my brethren, we probably just don’t wanna talk to you right now.

 

3)      Greeks are usually ruining parties with all that excessive strolling and chanting.

 

Yes we are, you got a problem with it. Go home. You don’t have a problem with the ridiculously low price of our entry fees and the free liquor or the fact that we let women with none or purple panties in for free.

 

4)      All Greeks were losers before and now because they paid some money and got some letter they think they are cool.

 

I hate when this actually happens but believe it or not some of us, like me, we’re cool before and I’m still cool now.

 

5)      You’re jealous of the perks.

 

So what we get an extension from the teacher that’s an AKA and you don’t. You know what my prophyte did hook me up with an interview. The Delta did look out for me in the housing office. Pledge (or sign your paper) and you can have those perks too.

 

6)      Mad that they didn’t get picked.

 

Haha, you should have been better There is a reason you didn’t picked and a lot of times it the chapter’s lost that they didn’t picked you. But in some cases we have to realize that you may not have been that good of a candidate.

 

7)      Mad that they dropped.

 

People drop for all types of reasons. That’s between you and your maker. Next time see it through. Don’t get mad b/c I aint drop with you.

 

8 )      Greeks don’t really like their sorors or frat.

 

You are very correct. Why in the hell would I like or even get along with every person in a fraternity with hundreds of thousands members. Do you like every member of your family? There aint even 100 people in your family.

 

9)      Think the idea of fraternities and sororities are stupid.

 

Just because you don’t like mean you gotta hate. I don’t see how a man could like another man’s body over a woman but I don’t walk around hating them. So keep the to yourself B.

 

 

By no means is this a complete list feel free to add why you hate Greeks. If you’re a member of BGLO feel free to add your stories of hateration too.

 

 

21 Responses to “You hate me because……”

  1. Jaci Says:

    Greeks are great. I am not one but I love them. They my homies. Just like Peyso & Slim (even though I’m scared of yall) Shawn & SBM (I guess you can be the prototype–and I’m still in love)

    I guess I love all yall. OK nitenite

  2. Maya Says:

    great post! I have a few pet peeves:

    greeks who can’t leave undergrad greek life to the point where they postpone graduation for years…VERY sad and rampant

    pink elephants…no explanation needed

    GDI’s who are so self-righteous and condescending

    I’m greek (baDST) but always felt like people tried to define me by the letters I wear. They don’t “make” me. I love my org with all my heart and I’m very grateful but I don’t bleed crimson & creme. I was the same person I was before I pledged. I’m not sure if this has to do with me attending an HBCU, b/c my fellow greeks at PWI’s and Ivies don’t have the “haters” for lack of better world. This animosity for greeks is getting old and I’d like to think that once one [GDI’s/Greeks] graduates they will put away “childish things” (thanks Barack). Childish things being…hating on greeks, jealousy, elitism, etc. It goes both ways. There are bad apples in both bunches.

  3. Me lovies Greeks and I swoon for Ques! They were always the most fun and down to earth on my campus. But for true I had friends in nearly every org and they really didn’t chnage much from the people they were before they pledged. But I have to admit I did have a special kind of disdain for them damn aka’s on MY campus cause they truly were stank, and rude, and prissy, and almost got they ass beat…but I digress.

    Long as folks ain’t getting and acting out of pocket, I don’t see the big deal and I don’t understand the hating part. Just cause people are Greek makes them no better or worse than those who are not.

  4. Shawn.Smith Says:

    @Maya – “greeks who can’t leave undergrad greek life to the point where they postpone graduation for years…VERY sad and rampant”

    Maya, this is too funny. I had some bothers that just would not leave the school. It was like they were superstars on campus and had to impress all if the young girls on campus.

    It’s sad that some members of organizations believe that the frat/sorority defines their lives.

  5. great post peyso!

    I hate some greeks because:

    Some of them can’t stop promoting their organizations… everything does NOT have to be Kappa this! Que that! etc.

    I dated a Kappa who could NOT let go. He was 30 and still a part of every activity. It was so obnoxious.

    I hate the way they make you feel left out because you didn’t pledge. It just wasn’t my thing.

  6. slimjackson Says:

    Hi,

    I’m Slim Jackson. I’m a light-skinned and athletic member of Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc. In college, people knew me as Slim…that was until I crossed. Then I became Slim the Que. Instant hate and attitude from folks who expected me to change but it never happened. I wrote a sarcastic post on this type of stuff a while back. It’s a good complement to what Peyso talkin’ bout. Check the link below.

    http://www.threewaystotakeit.com/lovegreeks/

  7. 80's Baby Says:

    (from a non-greek)

    My #1 issue:
    1. You have a lot of people who do it just so they can stroll, be in a step show, or be a t-shirt wearer. They do it strictly for the undergrad experience. I can’t speak for all but I haven’t seen too many continue on and become active w/ a graduate chapter. So why when y’all graduate do y’all fail to keep y’all dues up to par or continue on with it’s mission??????

    So Nick, if anyone ever makes you feel left out because you’re non greek. Ask them what graduate chapter are they affiliated with???? If they’re not affiliated with one.. Can you say awkward????? LOL

  8. Peyso Says:

    @ 80’s – you’re right. ppl take a life time oath and forget about it when they graduate tsk tsk lol. Usually the t-shirt wearers dont make it but times are changing.

    Another thing that I hate is ppl think that b/c I’m a Que, I must only date or hang out with Deltas or Ques, respectively, and if I wanna hang out with anyone else they look at me funny. My senior yr of college there were three kappas and 2 ques living in my house. And we dont discriminate when it comes to women. not.at.all.

  9. thecomebackgirl Says:

    “(from a non-greek)

    My #1 issue:
    1. You have a lot of people who do it just so they can stroll, be in a step show, or be a t-shirt wearer. They do it strictly for the undergrad experience. I can’t speak for all but I haven’t seen too many continue on and become active w/ a graduate chapter. So why when y’all graduate do y’all fail to keep y’all dues up to par or continue on with it’s mission??????

    I agree with 80s..I get a little preterbed when 40 year old women are still acting like they are still in college with their org. How can you REALLY be great best friends ace boon coons with 100 women. The single one’s sort of trip me out too. they’re always at a meeting …traveling at the yearly functions, everything and anything..(doing community service ONLY because its linked to YOUR ORG-what about the other stuff???)

    …and still aint got no man and wondering why?

    with that I’ve thought about grad chapter LOL..but not because I feel like im missing anything ..or maybe im a hater LOL…whatever move along nothing to see here…

  10. Jaci Says:

    Ok now I have thought about grad chapter since a certain organization had me doing crazy stuff during my college career and I now know why. I like community service too…kinda all on my own. In fact, I am going to be doing children’s hospital here.

    Anyways…I also think for me…being at a PWI lessened the experiences. For example, being at a PWI Ques were not ever going to be allowed on campus and others were very very few.

    But I wanna talk about how a went on a few dates with a Sigma and he related everything EVERYTHING to crescents, blue white, and the ** inch rule…yep sorry I heard about it. WTF? Can we talk about your job?!

  11. Peyso Says:

    @ CBG – grad chapters are kind of wack. that’s part of the reason ppl never leave undergrad, but suck it up and find a good one.

    @ Jac – ill!!!! you went on a date with a smurf hahaha lol jk

  12. Gold Says:

    I’m greek

    The thing with sororities & fraternities is that people allow them to turn them into “somebodies.” Simply put, I know a host of “nobodies” who pledged and then all of a sudden letters gave them that self esteem jolt, lol. If you got it then you got it which means you don’t need letters to make you somebody.

    I always thought that sororities/fraternities were suppose to compliment you, not define you. Go figure!

    If you were lame to me before a sorority/fraternity then you’re still lame to me afterwards. Clowns!

  13. Gold Says:

    Yes, there are bad grad chapters and horrible undergrad chapters. That’s another reason why my undergrad chap looks down on other chapters. Sad but true. I can’t wait for the ATL picnic lol

  14. “So Nick, if anyone ever makes you feel left out because you’re non greek. Ask them what graduate chapter are they affiliated with???? If they’re not affiliated with one.. Can you say awkward????? LOL”

    LMAO! Thanks for the tip chica… I will be trying that for kicks.

  15. Peyso Says:

    @ Gold – I’m gonna make that picnic this year. My chapter looks down all just about every other chapter but i think thats a product of the people in the chapter. Even though we’re Ques, we’re still pretentious Ivy League students. Da Ivy League Bruhz has a ring to it

  16. Gold Says:

    I luv the bruhs! Mighty Up Psi hold a special place in my heart tho 🙂 Please vote for your frat Tallie on America’s Best dance Crew on MTV lmao…he’s apart of the Strikers

  17. thecomebackgirl Says:

    “leave undergrad, but suck it up and find a good one.”

    are you suggesting my ole @zz goes back to undergrad??? to pledge??

    hell to the nawl.

  18. Cuzzo Says:

    I’m happy my original unpublished post brought our hater series to fruition. I’ll repost…maybe.

    Peyso

    My “hate” for greeks has died down from a few months ago. I actually would like the network. If it were as simple as signing on the dotted line (and cheap! lol) Now, I’m about to research how much it actually costs in case I might have it twisted.

  19. Britt Says:

    I don’t hate greeks. I don’t hate non-greeks. I am about 5 years removed from undergrads so greek life is not a big enough deal to elicit hate.

  20. Jaci Says:

    ““leave undergrad, but suck it up and find a good one.”

    are you suggesting my ole @zz goes back to undergrad??? to pledge??

    hell to the nawl.”

    I’m not ole…and I ain’t going back. And CBG ain’t ole either.

    “I actually would like the network.”

    Me TOO!

  21. MDUBB Says:

    When I think back on my college days, I can’t say that I cared either way.

    I never saw yall as Greeks, naw bruh. I saw yall as just another black man or woman and that’s all that mattered to me.

    Ever been called a baby killer or for Gods sake told that you agree with Bush about anything. Thats the hate I get as a military member, so i understand being misunderstood.

    But I don’t sweat it, they don’t know me or what I do, or what I stand for. I would have to imagine that’s how you “persecuted” Greeks feel.

    On a very superficial level, yall throw some damn good parties, but shit so do I.

    I remember back then that being an outsider got me invited to a few of the more private functions as well. I guess they figured I had no affiliation so I was safe.

    Have fun, do what you do, their’s surely got to be something more important to be concerned with besides who hates you, ef’m if that’s how they feel.


Leave a Reply

