Single Sisters Speak Out

The Modern Life of the Single Sister

A Tribute to the EDUCATED black man February 1, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Sunny @ 10:00 pm

This post is in no way intended to put down any black man, I’m simply sharing my admiration for those college educated brothas. 

To You,

As a younger woman, all I wanted in a man was that he be tall, chocolate,with a New York accent, and dressed in timbs. 

As a 28 year old woman, there is something about you who have a college education (and an NFL body) that just gets me.  When you say your  degree is in XYZ or that you’ve attended college, I want to know more about you…..  my posture gets a little straighter…. I’m intrigued…

Maybe it’s because you understand my struggle and inspire me to keep going until I finish.  You are a  professional.    You are focused on making something bigger and better.  Whether you are an engineer, hustling with your blog, building up your own empire, it doesn’t matter.  You fascinate me.   Our ancestors fought hard to get us here and you took full advantage.  I  admire you.

With Love, Sunny

 

***Since I’ve joined the black blog community, I’ve met  many college educated men, inspiring me to do better.  Right now, I am applauding you. ***

 

51 Responses to “A Tribute to the EDUCATED black man”

  1. Jaci Says:

    GREAT POST! I absolutely agree. When I was younger…(hehe than I am now) I had no kinda designs on a man with a degree and now I find myself have bomb @zz enlightened conversations with educated black men from everywhere…offering different perspectives on everything.

    I can’t say how much the educated men here (college or no) have broadened my perspective and made me a better woman.

    Thanks so much 😉

    Love,
    Jac

  2. Grateful Says:

    I love this Peyso aka N.H appreciation post.

  3. Gracias Jaci and Grateful. 🙂

  4. thecomebackgirl Says:

    good post.

    i think i take the whole cawledge educated (wk cite..u know who)thing for granted with black men. i expect it..i wonder if thats a bad thing.

    but..i will say that in all of my dating travels, I only encountered one black man (a police officer) who hadn’t gone and finished.

  5. Gracias Comeback.

    “i think i take the whole cawledge educated (wk cite..u know who)thing for granted with black men.”

    I wonder if it has something to do with regionally differences again. In the South, it seems like folks think differently…are okay with doing just fine and flatlining. If you have a good job, you are kinda set.

  6. J. McFly Says:

    “Whether you are an engineer, hustling with your blog, building up your own empire, it doesn’t matter.”

    That’s crazy because I am an engineer hustling a blog and starting my own company. I got caught off gaurd by that one. Oh yeah and trust that men appreciate a well educated woman.

  7. “That’s crazy because I am an engineer hustling a blog and starting my own company.”

    @J. McFly: E hugs to you, man. 😉

  8. thecomebackgirl Says:

    “In the South, it seems like folks think differently…are okay with doing just fine and flatlining. If you have a good job, you are kinda set.”

    Sunny are you sure about that..my peeps in south carolina rep cawledge hard…

  9. thecomebackgirl Says:

    cawledge wk cite Hasani…since im all trippin on citing people’s “work”.

  10. Jaci Says:

    “That’s crazy because I am an engineer hustling a blog and starting my own company. I got caught off gaurd by that one. Oh yeah and trust that men appreciate a well educated woman.”

    Is there something I need to know Nic & J?

    “i will say that in all of my dating travels, I only encountered one black man (a police officer) who hadn’t gone and finished.”

    I’m going to say just looking at the blogs we all frequent that we must realize we have a couple of people around the blog who don’t have degrees and are possibly some of the most enlightened individuals. Shouts out to you both…I’d take you anywhere…anyday.

  11. “cawledge wk cite Hasani…since im all trippin on citing people’s “work”.”

    LMAO. I didn’t know he said that!

    “Is there something I need to know Nic & J? ”

    I promise it is strictly coinkidink. I didn’t know that about J.

    “I’m going to say just looking at the blogs we all frequent that we must realize we have a couple of people around the blog who don’t have degrees and are possibly some of the most enlightened individuals”

    This is true… there are some veryyyy intelligent un-“cawledge” educated folk all up in through the blogsphere and real world.

  12. thecomebackgirl Says:

    “I’m going to say just looking at the blogs we all frequent that we must realize we have a couple of people around the blog who don’t have degrees and are possibly some of the most enlightened individuals. Shouts out to you both…I’d take you anywhere…anyday.”

    I’d venture to say I have people in my family who didn’t go and or never finished..i was born from one.

    But I wasn’t aware that we had people that had never gone. I know Mikki is still working on her degree so is Sunny. Who am i missing?

  13. Any man with the gumption to go to college and finish is great. Because it shows he can be committed to something to the end. An inspiration needed in this day and age.

    I have however met men who went a different route and they are no less educated, motivated, or inspired. One actually told me he was IN college sitting in class. His brain started showing him how he could make money…literally flipping it in his head. He walked outta that class and never went back. This man wants for NOTHING…and is generous to boot.

    So to my educated brother’s be it through a formal institution or otherwise…A Sista’s got SO MUCH LOVE FOR YOU!

    *Trots off whistling Brother by Angie Stone*

    GREAT POST Sunshine!!!

  14. Akua Says:

    Morning all I hope all is well. You are right on target with this one Nicki!
    I feel as though a man with FOCUS, DRIVE, AMBITION,AND PURPOSE is a beautiful thing. I am inspired by a man who isn’t complacent in his existence who wants to do more and be more then he already is. A man with a hustlers spirit and the brilliance to make it work for him can get anything he wants from me.

    It is most difficult to be a man of color in this day and age, it seems like your damned if you do and damned if you dont.

    But the man who holds his head high and continues to strive for excellence can be my KING anyday

  15. “But I wasn’t aware that we had people that had never gone. I know Mikki is still working on her degree so is Sunny. Who am i missing?”

    I don’t know any personally who didn’t either Comeback. I just don’t want folks thinking I’m bashing those who didn’t go to college. This post is NOT about that.

    Thank you Jay Boogie.

  16. thecomebackgirl Says:

    “This post is NOT about that.

    i agree..i didn’t take it as such. I hearted my police officer..but he was too sensitive..and he walked around with his gun ALL THE TIME. And yes there was a time where he decorated his house with an “accent wall” where i thought he was gay! lol..i really need to work on that.

  17. Thank you Comeback… I just wanted to be clear to folks… I didn’t want to offend anyone.

    Girl, I’m dead at him walking around with a gun ALL THE TIME. That is unnerving.

    U entertain me constantly with this gaydar… I’ve had one encounter with one… he shaped my eyebrows for me VERY WELL and he was really into fashion and he taught me about duvets and thread counts and he was a lil too freaky… made me think he was covering up for something. LOL

  18. @ CBG…I think your gaydar is overactive.

    BUT…have you ever been wrong?

  19. thecomebackgirl Says:

    “BUT…have you ever been wrong?”

    ZSA ZSA is that a trick question? LOL

  20. Akua Says:

    @CBG: where is Hasani? I haven’t seen him in ages!!

  21. thecomebackgirl Says:

    “@CBG: where is Hasani? I haven’t seen him in ages!!”

    Im not sure. he commented on SBM several weeks ago. He seemed a lot more mellow. Hope he’s ok.

  22. Comeback and Akua:

    He said something on the site about him being married now, but I don’t think he ever divulged the details.

  23. Akua Says:

    @cbg: Oh i hadn’t noticed
    @nicki: married ? real? that’s cool

    Ok so I have a question..

    Ok so in the way this encomny is right now would u NOT date a guy based on where he works? IE: MR.MCDONALDS??

    I was called Boosie (sp/chk) because i said i didn’t know if i could date a guy who worked at a fast food place.

  24. @Akua: Yep, he sure did.

    I would NOT date a guy based on where he works…. if you’re called bougie for that, that’s their issue.. it may sound bad, but hey. I need him to be able to do stuff with me and take me out, just as I’d do for him.

    I dated a guy who worked as a detailer for Hertz and he NEVER HAD MONEY. I was wooing him, buying him cologne, taking him food on lunch and that luxury was hardly ever returned back to me. I couldn’t handle it.

  25. Holly GoLightly Says:

    Hey Nick! great post!!! I so agree… I love hearing and sharing those College struggle!

  26. I dated a guy who worked as a detailer for Hertz and he NEVER HAD MONEY. I was wooing him, buying him cologne, taking him food on lunch and that luxury was hardly ever returned back to me. I couldn’t handle it.

    I gotta agree. Hell I hate it’s even like this with some of my friends. I always end up paying for everybody, they never have money to do anything! I’m like Jesus be a d@mn job.

    I don’t and never have minded breaking things up…but for the most part, I’mma need for you to be able to at least be able to afford the things I like to do. IE: travel, hit a movie, eat out, go to theme parks, etc.

  27. Akua Says:

    dont get me wrong he seems like a very nice guy. funny smart and when he looks at me his face lights up.

    But i don’t know if i want to take the time to encourage him to get a BETTER job. Or if i want to stick around to see if he has ANY GOALS in life.

    I think he will be NEXTED shortly…

    Plus Mr. Texas is on his way to see me in 18 days..JESUS be a chastity belt (work cite: The CBG..LOL)

  28. Peyso Says:

    I AM CONVINCED that there one of the commenters on this site has a boyfriend with my initials (NH) who goes by the name Peyso. Am I right?

    I like smart girls too

  29. Thank you Holister!

    “But i don’t know if i want to take the time to encourage him to get a BETTER job. Or if i want to stick around to see if he has ANY GOALS in life”

    Akua: And this was my problem with my guy.. he always talked about not having enough money but wasn’t doing anything to get more (i.E. looking for a better job). His reason (read: excuse) was he needed to have enough time to see his child.

  30. “I AM CONVINCED that there one of the commenters on this site has a boyfriend with my initials (NH) who goes by the name Peyso. Am I righy?”

    Huh Peyso, are you saying your girlfriend is one of the commenters????

  31. Akua Says:

    @nicki (i wonder if this is the same dude..lol)
    Dont get me wrong im all about being inspiration to my man and wanting to help him be a better man (like musiq said) but i’ll be damned if you working at mickey d’s talking about something that would make you happy is to put lambo doors on your truck

    *DEAD* (LOL)

  32. @akua: Exactly! Thing is, I need him to be a better man before I get in the picture, you know!!!!

    Not just because he wants to be able to take me out and stuff…

  33. Akua Says:

    @nicki: maybe we should have a STRIVING for Excellence Idol..lol

  34. “@nicki: maybe we should have a STRIVING for Excellence Idol..lol”

    @akua: AMEN and Halleluyer. LOL

  35. thecomebackgirl Says:

    I AM CONVINCED that there one of the commenters on this site has a boyfriend with my initials (NH) who goes by the name Peyso. Am I right?

    I like smart girls too

    thats what i thought..but i just poked my 3rd eye and kept reading..lol

  36. Peyso Says:

    my girl dont know about my commenting on this site, at least not yet

  37. Well them somebody playing Peyso.

  38. hi everybody, (hi dr. nick)

    thanks! It’s good to see that partially due to age/time/black president that the cebm is replacing the “thug” as the tops of the attractiveness food chain.

    Besides, half of us had to “thug” our way through school. We hustle, just not on the corner.

    *just got inspiration for a post*

    why so serious

  39. @whyso: You’re very welcome hon. 😉

  40. CPT Callamity Says:

    Hot damn…ya’ll are trying to crack my armor….

    thanx n sh*t

  41. aw shucks CPT *blushes and kicks dirt*

  42. B&TT Says:

    Yummm I love y’all too!!!
    But y’know what else I luv? The chocolately goodness of a black handy man- good with his hands= good with my body LOL

  43. Britt Says:

    Very good post and right on time. I love an educated brotha.

  44. “But y’know what else I luv? The chocolately goodness of a black handy man- good with his hands= good with my body LOL”

    @BB&TT: that sounds like a fantasy… jesus be a wrench as I try to go home and throw one down the sink to make a catastrophe. LOL

    Thanks Britt!

  45. Jaci Says:

    “We hustle, just not on the corner. ”

    So important to realize that…hel! even Michelle said…”my husband is a hustler” and just look where that got him…and now we see that spirit going on in the “real” world!

  46. Junior Says:

    “chocolate”…

    Light skinned is always in!

  47. ““chocolate”…

    Light skinned is always in!”

    LMAO @ Junior: I am diggin a light skinded boy right now.

  48. Peyso Says:

    @ Nicki – I throw a wrench in your sink alright….

  49. “@ Nicki – I throw a wrench in your sink alright….”

    LMAO! U have a girlfriend.. u can’t be throwing ANY wrenches over here. LMAO *** but send one of your cawledge educated potnas. ****

  50. Jaci Says:

    Peyso! Put your wrench away…geez…I can’t leave for two seconds to even eat…

    *slaps you on the hand*

  51. […] me and none other than the man who made SSSO possible, SBM of Single Black Male.   He’s educated, insightful and entertaining. Please check him […]


Leave a Reply

