Single Sisters Speak Out

The Modern Life of the Single Sister

Communication Station February 2, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — FlawedBeauty @ 10:00 pm

There are a lot of easy reasons why you might fall in love with someone, but what if those same things push you away, because you can’t talk?  It could be their bright smile, long legs or make ice cream melt voice.  But…what if there’s a huge problem there?

Let’s say there’s a lack of communication…how does that play into your relationship?  OK…let me back up and explain a little about how I generally handle my relationships.  First, I like to work on having a good friend in the person, cause well we are dealing with each other “on that level” so I kinda figure I might like to hang out around them.  In fact, one of the best relationships I know of is between my uncle and aunt…and they call their marriage “the friendship”.  Second, I like to know that if there’s a problem we can tackle it together…therefore making it a partnership.  Now both of these things are ingredients to make a wonderful cake.  Then you get that whole bumping and grinding thing and well…that’s the icing on the relationship cake.

Within that if there’s no communication between the two chefs then things will obviously become really messed up as one person might add too much and the other not enough.  Furthermore, if we’re going to be positive and forward thinking let’s put all of us single folk in relationships…how do you communicate?  Do you hold it all in?  Let it out?  Do you make it a point to communicate your wants and needs or make you partner figure it out?  It’s all about the rules and games associated OR is it a go with the flow kinda thing?

 

14 Responses to “Communication Station”

  1. I am awful at communication…. I say I’m kinda like a guy in that I don’t handle “how do you feels” and “what are you thinking” very well.

    I usually hold everything in until something explodes…

  2. Akua Says:

    I am very good at communication sometimes too good.I need a man who can verbalize what he feels although actions speak louder then words i dated a guy once who did everything i asked him to but wouldn’t even tell me that he liked me. We got into this huge arguement one day and he says of course i like you why else would i drive 45 mins to see you? So to me i need the combo of both to have an effective relationship.

  3. I communicate, but a lot of times I’ll put it off longer than I should. And every now and again I’ll get like my cyber twin up there. Things to work on.

  4. Holly GoLightly Says:

    Because my undergrad degree and former passion was psychology I am BIG on effective communication and making sure that my words and actions are the same and are conveyed properly to my mate. I also don’t believe in holding it all in, it only leads to what is called “kitchen-sinking” which leads to an even greater problem.

  5. thecomebackgirl Says:

    This is my fav mint song off that album.

  6. Jaci Says:

    @CBG-I’m glad you like.

    @Holister-And may I say one of my favorite things about you is the way you communicate. You can say just about any thing and it will kind of “sound right” and makes sense because as I said last night there’s the feeling of she won’t tell me anything wrong and I think men can feel that.

    @Jada-How long would you put off communicating if say there was something really, really bothering you.

    @Nic-Girl, if you don’t start opening that pretty little mouth of yours it will be a problem!

    OK, now for my response I picked this particular song because I remember clearly the day I turned in my thesis. L and I were sitting in the car and it came on the radio and I couldn’t remember loving him any more than I did in that moment. But I was thinking it’s so obvious that we have been holding in…and if not that then we were “talking and listening but not hearing” and it blew up about a week later. And when it blew up…well there was nothing left for either one of us to say…just overwhelming sadness. And I found out from him that I did communicate, very well in fact, BUT when I did it always hurt him…leading to him to communicate and hurt me. And now we know we were doing it wrong.

  7. Peyso Says:

    I communicate but my general non-chalance for things always gets me in trouble. Things just dont bother me but that isnt a good thing i guess either

  8. Can’t hold things back…

    If it’s a problem, squash it, so you can go back to enjoy the moments that will make each other’s lives greater.

    Although sometimes a little bit of makeup sex does put things back on track…oops wow, did I say that, yes I did mwahahaha

  9. “@Nic-Girl, if you don’t start opening that pretty little mouth of yours it will be a problem!”

    Girl, it already is…. I’ve improved as of the end of ’08 though.

  10. Jazz Says:

    I think communication is key in every relationship, bf/gf, spouse, mom/dad, bro/sister ect. So many relationships end because of the lack of. Gotta keep those lines open.

    I used to be the type of person to stay quiet and keep my emotions bottled up just to keep the peace, esp in my marriage. Not good! Because when I exploded all hell broke loose. Now I’ve learned to speak my mind, sometimes I’m kinda harsh*working on that*, so that me and whoever are on the same page.

  11. Jaci Says:

    “If it’s a problem, squash it, so you can go back to enjoy the moments that will make each other’s lives greater.

    Although sometimes a little bit of makeup sex does put things back on track…oops wow, did I say that, yes I did mwahahaha”

    @Whyso–boy you are too much…do youh ave to have a lot of that make up stuff?

    @Peyso-Non-chalance? You? Wow…I really don’t know what to say about that…if there are two non-chalant people then does that work well?

    @Jazz-Girl, I feel you because when things blow up it’s def like whoa…

  12. Holly GoLightly Says:

    @Jac- Thanks girl! Maybe its that Interpersonal Relationships class that I took.

  13. J. McFly Says:

    To women:

    When dealing with men it is good to communicate so he can know exactly what you want, but do not remind him everyday. Women (in general but not all) push things on men too much and remind him of the things he does wrong too much and too often. This is what pushes you into the nagger group. We [men] don’t change, we do grow though. Growing takes time, so don’t expect us to change too much too soon.

  14. “We [men] don’t change, we do grow though. Growing takes time, so don’t expect us to change too much too soon.”

    I agree.


Leave a Reply

