Single Sisters Speak Out

The Modern Life of the Single Sister

I’ll Be the Judge of That: Cell Behavior February 3, 2009

Filed under: Kimfoolery,Single Sisters On... — cuzzo @ 10:00 pm

****Though I am trying to stop being one…I judge. So, here’s a series on things of the judgmental *cough*hater*cough* nature (but isn’t that what we do everyday anyway?)****

Case of the Cell#1:

45-ish year old lady on the bus has a ringtone that blasts, “Freak in the morning, freak in the evening…” (I have no idea who sings this song, sounds like a teeny bop like christina millian.)

QUUUUUUEEEEE??? (I like to speak-a the espanol from time to time)

Lady, please take dat mess off. You know what I (and the rest of the bus or maybe just me cuz I’m judgmental like that) is thinking about you right now? You gettin’ it in! (not a bad thing, I just don’t wanna know or hear about it).

I don’t like musical ring tones. I don’t even wanna hear your phone ringing. Vibrate!!!

Case of the Cell #2:

my male friend (and kinda sorta ex) has pics and nicknames of women (probably conquests) on his phone – me included (gag!) They aren’t all risque photos, but still.

Hoe! Is this a Philly guy thing? Two other guys I’ve had dealings of the sexual nature with wanted to have a picture of me (or of a body part) on their phone. Noooo nikka. I don’t wanna be Miss Big Booty, Talks a lot, Meals on Wheels, etc (btw, his nickname for me is “old faithful” – wtf is that?) And, disrespectful! Why are you categorizing people? (ok, so this kinda a rant at this dude and dudes like this). I’ve recently learned that there are some folks who simply want a picture of you to pop up when you call and assign a ring tone. Why? What does that say? Too much time on your hands maybe.

Case of the Cell #3:

Pictures of people in various compromising positions as a screen saver.

Freak on a leash! If someone opens up their phone to take your number and you see this…run…fast. Or do one of those uncomfortable moment backward walks.

Be all this as it may…Am I the last conservative person standing? I use my cell phone for talking to people and texting with the occassional snap of a facebook profile pic in the bathroom. Am I being too harsh? Are there any cell phone quirkinesses that other people do that peeve you?

 

64 Responses to “I’ll Be the Judge of That: Cell Behavior”

  1. Honey amen!

    Maybe there needs to be a book on cell phone ettiquette because people are just nasty with the things you can see and or hear on their phones.

    I have “guy friends” who set various ringtones for girls they deal with or have dealt with anything from
    “She got a donkey” to “P*ssy poppin on a handstand”

    my question is what if your MOMMA heard your phone rining like that? EWWWWWW

    I normally keep it on vibrate but my ringtone is obama’s speech.

    it’s 2009 and obama’s in office..black folks GOT TO DO BETTER..lol

  2. Girl, there ain’t nothing like an indecent ringtone… Please turn your phone on vibrate in professional settings or at church.

    My “friend” (use the term very loosely) declared to me that he is only messing with Spanish chicks from now on… then he sends me a picture message, entitled “This is why I like them,” which has full naked body shoots and cooch pics of 8 Spanish chicks. Dude, iz u serious? Does anyone have respect for anybody anymore? And I’m sure these girls did not plan on him sending their pics out like this…

  3. That freak song sounds like Adina Howard’s old Jam. If she is older that might be her theme music.. lol

  4. thecomebackgirl Says:

    “That freak song sounds like Adina Howard’s old Jam. If she is older that might be her theme music.. lol”

    I was gonna say that too..Adina prolly pushin 40 her dayum self so its like a kinship song maybe.

  5. Jaci Says:

    Hey Dave!

    Haha…on this chick and her ringtone!

  6. Cuzzo Says:

    Hey everyone.

    @Nicki

    “And I’m sure these girls did not plan on him sending their pics out like this…”

    this is why I DO NOT let guys have nekkid or risque pics of me…cept this one time…lol. never again though, I lost my phone the next day…on my way to church the night after I sent the pics. *lowers head*

    @Dave

    Nah man, I KNOW Adina Howard’s voice, bought the album…this wasn’t her. I’mma have to look it up now.

  7. “this is why I DO NOT let guys have nekkid or risque pics of me…cept this one time…lol. never again though, I lost my phone the next day…on my way to church the night after I sent the pics. *lowers head*”

    GOD knocked that phone out of your hand Cuzzo. LMAO. Girl, I sent this same guy cooch and boob pics long ago.. there is no telling who got them.. BUT my face is not on them so no one can prove they are mine. LOL

  8. thecomebackgirl Says:

    ““Freak in the morning, freak in the evening…” ”

    THAT was ADINA howard..i don’t think anybody else sings that song.

  9. cuzzo Says:

    Come come now, Tiffy. Miss Howard’s song goes *ahem*:

    and I will be a freak until the day
    until he dawn
    and we can uh uh
    all thru the night
    til the early morn
    by morning i will take you around the hood
    on the gangsta lean
    and we can uh uh
    any time of day
    it’s all good for me

    lawd, got me showin off in here today.

    it AIN’T her song! her voice is deep and this song i heard the chick had a high voice which is why i compared it to that of christina millian.

  10. 80's Baby Says:

    Freak in the morning, freak in the evening just like me… i need a rough neck brotha that can satisfy me….

    Oooh let me stop before yall start judging me…. LOL…..

    But this guy that i was talkin to was trying to send me a pic of his piece while I was in church…He had texted me and I told him I was at church and then he proceeded to say would it be a wrong if I sent you a naked pic of me.. And it pissed me off… We had really just started talking so I’m like wtf dude. I got an instant Attitude.

    People with earpieces irk the mess out of me.

  11. cuzzo Says:

    and it wasnt that part where she says i wanna freak in the morning, freak in the evening…just like me. rough neck brotha that can satisfy me….either

    WASN’T THAT.

    Aha! I’ve found it! It’s a line from Yung Berg’s song, “The Business”

    Fin!

  12. 80s: LOL… he is a perv. Not in church mannn come ahn.

    I hate bluetooths.

  13. cuzzo Says:

    @80’s

    “Oooh let me stop before yall start judging me…. LOL…..”

    ain’t nobody judging you cuz you know that song like that. we all know it.

    now if you know the lyrics to Akineyle (sp), Put it in ya Mouth….just hush.

  14. Peyso Says:

    I love bluetooths. All you folk have skinny arms, you try holding my arms up for an extended convo. See how far you get.

    I hate ringtones, period. I also hate ppl who use their phones as radios. I dont wanna hear that shit.

    So Nikki can i get those pix too lol jk (unless u gonna do it) lol

  15. 80's Baby Says:

    now if you know the lyrics to Akineyle (sp), Put it in ya Mouth….just hush

    [whispers to Cuzzo] I know bits and pieces of it…… Now you done got that beat in my head….. LOL

    Oh and Nick what you doing sending some cooch and boobie shots?????? lol

  16. Holly GoLightly Says:

    CUZZO I DIED!! HILARIOUS!!!! I use to have a ringtone that I used for my friends so I would know it was them calling… but since having the blackberry I have cut that ish out!!!

  17. J. McFly Says:

    I don’t see the issue with a pic on your phone as long as it is tasteful. I know a phone is supposed to be personal but it’s not and people see your phone. So no freaky azz pics on the blackberry. And if you are over 22 years of age, the crazy azz ringtones need to stop.

  18. Holly GoLightly Says:

    @J- YES! NO FREAKY PICS ON A BB!!

  19. Peyso Says:

    If you gonna have the freaky pix, at least have the decency to not have it as a background. I do have one ringtone, i have the “i’m a que” song for da bruhz. that’s all, everyone else gets a ring

  20. J. McFly Says:

    @ Jaci…..It’s that new song with Pleasure P from Pretty Ricky, I think the girl singing is Teiarra Mari, oh yeah it’s called Hunt 4 You.

  21. J. McFly Says:

    @ Peyso….I didn’t know you was a que, I can’t have that Alpha music on the phone might make me have flashbacks of a set

  22. cuzzo Says:

    @Peyso

    “I hate ringtones, period. I also hate ppl who use their phones as radios. I dont wanna hear that shit. ”

    thanks mayne. I thought I was being stubborn. I once heard man have a “chirp” conversation about how he got arrested early that day.

    @80’s

    “I know bits and pieces of it”

    me too…
    u wanna go down
    y not?
    i be like herbie
    and hand u a c*ck
    and tell u that my name is ack (ock)

    but never the WHOLE song, lol. hypocrite, right?

  23. Peyso Says:

    @ J.Mcfly – this song was released within the last year so it doesnt give me flashbacks.

    I know the whole Put in Ya mouth track. No homo but i know the girl’s part too

  24. 80's Baby Says:

    No homo but i know the girl’s part too

    @ Peyso that’s too funny because I remember being out with the girls and it was one who used to be like unh unh don’t dance on the dude’s part… And then when the girl’s part came on she was like okay now it’s cool to dance…. So I guess everybody has their issues with the girl and dude’s part….

  25. Holly GoLightly Says:

    Put In Ya Mouth was the song I liked about 12-13 years ago…. even had it as a song on my pager but at 28 I cant even get down with it no more!

  26. thecomebackgirl Says:

    “it AIN’T her song! her voice is deep and this song i heard the chick had a high voice which is why i compared it to that of christina millian.”

    well hell maybe it was kibble;s and bits …isn’t there a commerical like that too. sumthin bout dinner time?

  27. cuzzo Says:

    @All

    the ring tone I mentioned with “freak in the morning, freak in the evening” is from YUNG BERG, “(YOU GIVE ME) THE BUSINESS”

  28. cuzzo Says:

    @Peyso

    “I know the whole Put in Ya mouth track. No homo but i know the girl’s part too”

    u even know the very beginning? where it’s like a conversation or singing or sumthin like that…

  29. “I love bluetooths. All you folk have skinny arms, you try holding my arms up for an extended convo. See how far you get.

    I hate ringtones, period. I also hate ppl who use their phones as radios. I dont wanna hear that shit.

    So Nikki can i get those pix too lol jk (unless u gonna do it) lol”

    LMAO. Peyso… NOOOO! I refuse to send another man any pics like that. I was dumb.

  30. “Oh and Nick what you doing sending some cooch and boobie shots?????? lol”

    @80s: Doing stuff to get a fine nfl-bodied brotha. LMAO

  31. “the ring tone I mentioned with “freak in the morning, freak in the evening” is from YUNG BERG, “(YOU GIVE ME) THE BUSINESS””

    @cuzzo: She is DEF TOO OLD to be putting that on her ringtone… that is somebody’s mama for Pete sake.

  32. cuzzo Says:

    “Doing stuff to get a fine nfl-bodied brotha.”

    well if that’s how u GET one…how far u gotta go to KEEP him?

  33. ““Doing stuff to get a fine nfl-bodied brotha.”

    well if that’s how u GET one…how far u gotta go to KEEP him?”

    LOL.. I lived and learned chica.. Nothing I did kept him. We are just “buddies” now, no benefits and from learning so much about him, I now know that it was a BLESSING to not get him. If a man is just not that into you, he’s just not. No matter how fabulous I am. HA!

  34. cuzzo Says:

    @Nicki

    “If a man is just not that into you, he’s just not. No matter how fabulous I am. ”

    girrrrrl, run tel dat! *fans with funeral home fan*

  35. “girrrrrl, run tel dat! *fans with funeral home fan*”

    *Runs around the pews*

    I quit. LOL

  36. Peyso Says:

    @ cuzzo – the whole song, every word (pause)

    @ nikki – i’m gonna woo u soon lolol

  37. “@ nikki – i’m gonna woo u soon lolol”

    Peyso: Oh sooky sooky nah. 😉

  38. Britt Says:

    LMAO @ The old freaky lady. Great post!

  39. 80's Baby Says:

    Uh oh I think Peyso bout to put in some work so he can get some cooch and boobie shots from Nik….. LOL

  40. Peyso Says:

    @ 80’s – glad you recognize

  41. Pinky Says:

    Afterall, if you “chase” a man, all he can do is run away from you. But if you don’t chase him, then he is left to chase you.

    This isn’t about playing games, but more so about knowing your own self-worth and realizing that you as a woman DESERVE to be pursued!

    So…who’s willing to get on “The Rules” challenge with me? Who’s at least willing to try it out? I used to think this book was pure rubbish, until I realized that what I was doing (ie. calling guys, texting guys, inviting guys to hang out, treating guys like my friends, giving guys cards, making it “easy” for a guy to pursue me, etc.) wasn’t working. So, that’s why I’m trying “The Rules”.

    In order to know “the rules” well, you really should get the book. But for those of you who haven’t bought the book yet, here are some simple things to try out:

    -Don’t call men (unless it’s in response to their call)
    -Don’t chase a man (let him pursue you!)
    -Don’t initiate conversations/dates with a man (let him notice you!)
    -Don’t accept last-minute dates (you DO have a life!)
    -Don’t make it too easy for him, but don’t make it impossible either (he should feel like you have other options, and that he is privileged to be able to steal you away from YOUR busy schedule just to take you out)

    Remember: YOU are the prize! Not him!

    I’m telling you, I’ve been doing “the Rules” for just about 2-3 weeks now, and already I feel very empowered. Some women may scoff at the rules and say that it’s game-playing/it’s anti-feminist or whatever. But I’m telling you, for the first time in 2 years I feel like I have my self confidence back!

    So, what do you say ladies?? Who’s with me?

  42. Jazz Says:

    My boss, who is pushing 50, has Put A Ring On It as her ring tone. She leaves her phone on her desk so that every time it rings it’s blasting throughout the whole office. All I can do is *smh*.

  43. LOL @ Peyso AND 80s!!!!! I don’t send those pics anymore.. the most u gonna get is a toe pic. LOL.

    Pinky: Do u have a blog to write about this??? I’d like to know how it goes… if you don’t, email us.

  44. Peyso Says:

    @ pinky – you hush up now, you will not have nikki trying out these tactics on me!! lol

  45. Peyso Says:

    @ nikki – i’ll start with a toe….

  46. 80's Baby Says:

    i’ll start with a toe….

    @Peyso… Toe as in her camel toe….You nasty….. LOL

  47. 80s: LMAO.. thanks for hipping me up to what he was talking about. Cause I was thinking he had a foot fetish or some’n

    @peyso: Don’t worry, I’m not smooth enough for it… I’d end up blabbing to u the whole thing anyway.

  48. 80's Baby Says:

    And see that’s what I get for not reading thoroughly…. Nick I’m mad you even suggesting to send pics of your camel toe….

    Funniest.song.ever: She got a camel toe. I heard this on the radio and about died.

  49. 80s: Nooo, girl. I meant my foot. I thought u were telling me he meant my camel toe. that’s nasty.

  50. 80's Baby Says:

    @ Nick… I’m just messing with both of yall…. Heck you sent some pics back in the day and now Peyso just want some of them pics….LOL

    I couldn’t resist jumpin in….. Ha Ha

  51. @80s: LOL… I’ve learned nooooooo don’t do it. Especially after he sent me those pics of those girls. One fool is fully butt whole naked and her face shows!!!

  52. 80's Baby Says:

    @ Pinky…. I’m just curious is the book called “The rules”?? I bet it’s an interesting read…

  53. 80's Baby Says:

    @80s: LOL… I’ve learned nooooooo don’t do it. Especially after he sent me those pics of those girls. One fool is fully butt whole naked and her face shows!!!

    @ Nick…. Now I have sent some backshots but I had on boyshorts. He tried to get a pic of the twins and I was like umm no…But I was sooo mad at myself that next morning…. Like why did I do that…

  54. Peyso Says:

    @ nikki – dont worry, i’ll return the favor 😉

  55. “@ Nick…. Now I have sent some backshots but I had on boyshorts. He tried to get a pic of the twins and I was like umm no…But I was sooo mad at myself that next morning…. Like why did I do that…”

    @80s: LMAO!!!! Girl, I was too.. Especially bc he had it saved as my pic when I called… I’d be like what are u doing and he’d saying staring at your…… EMBARASSING!

  56. Jada Says:

    @ 80’s…it’s really called The Rules. It’s abook that came out prolly sometime in the late 80’s – 90’s gocerning women and how they date. It actually has a lot of the principles we discuss @ CBG.

    If one were looking at it with their 3rd eye (cite: CBG), then they would know the book is based on biblical principles (I don’t believe the authors tell you that though. They kind of leave Big Poppa out of it).

  57. “If one were looking at it with their 3rd eye (cite: CBG), then they would know the book is based on biblical principles (I don’t believe the authors tell you that though. They kind of leave Big Poppa out of it).”

    WOW… really? I may have to pick it up then… it’s it written with a bibical accent to it?

  58. Jada Says:

    Yes Nick. To me it kind of reminds me of the secret. It teaches BIBLICAL principles that have been around for ages…but does not really credit the Bible for it’s ideas.

  59. thecomebackgirl Says:

    Remember: YOU are the prize! Not him!

    I’m telling you, I’ve been doing “the Rules” for just about 2-3 weeks now, and already I feel very empowered. Some women may scoff at the rules and say that it’s game-playing/it’s anti-feminist or whatever. But I’m telling you, for the first time in 2 years I feel like I have my self confidence back!

    So, what do you say ladies?? Who’s with me?

    AWE pinky…***doing the color purple pattie cakes: “you and me must never part”…this what I BEEN SAYING SINCE SLAVERY. I just finished a post about it..you should check it out tomorrow. TOTALLY AGREE. 10000000000000000000000%

  60. 80's Baby Says:

    Especially bc he had it saved as my pic when I called… I’d be like what are u doing and he’d saying staring at your…… EMBARASSING!

    @Nick… WOWWWWWWWW Now yep that’s a lil embarrassing….

  61. 80's Baby Says:

    @comeback…. To be honest I was thinking of you when I read pinky’s post… I was like comeback got a long lost sister out there… LOL

  62. thecomebackgirl Says:

    “@comeback…. To be honest I was thinking of you when I read pinky’s post… I was like comeback got a long lost sister out there… LOL”

    its dead on 80s dead on. If us ladies would set higher standards and not be so fearful that a dude would bounce beccause we have said standards …HE WOULD TREAT US HOW WE “dictate” and treat ourselves.

    but there’s always a “lowest bidder”…who have a tendancy to socialize men with bad behavior.

  63. @Jay Boogie: That’s really interesting.

    @CBG: “…***doing the color purple pattie cakes: “you and me must never part”…this what I BEEN SAYING SINCE SLAVERY.”

    U will NEVER be singing that song.

    @80s: Yes ma’am.. TRUST and believe it will not be happening again. LOL

  64. Jada Says:

    @CBG…I gotta agree. When I realized what ot was about a light bulb switched on for me. Unfortunately I still lose my way during the course every now and then…got some things to work on!

    BTW…me and my twin do that song and hand thingy when we have to leave each other or connect on an issue(always) that others don’t understand.


Leave a Reply

