Single Sisters Speak Out

The Modern Life of the Single Sister

Capt. Happy February 5, 2009

Filed under: Chicken Soup for the Soul,Single Sisters On... — Holly GoLightly @ 10:01 pm
Tags: , , ,

Its all about taking real active measures in being the captain of your own happy ship.”– The Comeback Girl, November 2008

captain_happy

Every since Comeback Girl said be the Captain of your own happy ship I have sought to live and abide by this mantra! I don’t think too many people follow this! They are either too caught up in pleasing people or worrying about what people are going to say. I declare to you (T.I. and Rihanna style) to live your life, what’s good for you isn’t always good for the next person, and if it isn’t killing you and it’s not illegal who am I to rain on your parade? But I think a lot of times we give others or circumstances the reigns when it comes to our feelings. We fail to realize that we wear the crown. Some people don’t even think of their happiness and how it fits into their life… is it important? Does it control how well they succeed in other areas of life? Are they even happy were they currently are in life?

So you ask, what makes your ship so d@mn happy? Well while on my Tiptoeing to 30 journey (More like “Knocking on the Door to 30” now) my main focus has been the pursuit of happiness- Getting me together financially, mentally, emotionally, physically, and spiritually- these are all things I control and make decisions on how to handle; they also comprise my happiness. In my psyche if I got money in my pocket (not talking $5.00 but Arab money); I’m not emotionally/mentally drained or stressed out from a psycho ex who doesn’t get the hint; my butt is banging in those new Joe’s I just bought; and the Lord has blessed me with living to see another day then really what am I so upset about that I just can’t seem to put a smile on my pretty little face?

Wanna know how I keep Ship Holly happy while coasting down that Lilac Carpet? It took me a while to learn but once I got it together it became easy. I try to let go of negativity and drama- this includes people, places, or things. People who are miserable and love drama always seem to thrive in venues where no sane person would ever think of hanging out or frequenting. These people also love to have company and hate having anyone around who seems to always be- happy and blessed. They will create turmoil in this person’s life just to have someone to share complaints with.  Kick these people to the curb… get rid of the bad habits that seem to bring you down… and most of all find your center- the place where you can be upbeat and positive. No one likes a Grouchy Greg or a Complaining Connie!

Where does happiness fit on a scale of 1 to 10 in Holly’s life? #1!!!! Happiness should be numero uno on everyone’s list… if not that then numero dos. If it doesn’t fit in the top tier of your hierarchy then I strongly suggest you revise and draft a plan of action to get it there!!

Now is the time to take charge and become your own Capt. Happy!! Happiness is an emotion you control? Have you evaluated your happiness? Have you asked yourself who and what is controlling your Happy Ship?? Do you even care about that state of your happiness??

 

22 Responses to “Capt. Happy”

  1. thecomebackgirl Says:

    ““Its all about taking real active measures in being the captain of your own happy ship.”- The Comeback Girl, November 2008”

    I said dat???

    dayum!!!

    GOOD POST HOLISTER…

  2. Lawd!! Comeback yes!!! I’m getting u some memory pills!

    Thanks chica!

  3. I’m giggling at Comeback. Yes honey, you drop some gems on the ole Treehouse on a daily! 😉

    Fabulous Post Holister.

    I’m a pretty happy gal. *toot toot* Sometimes I let things stress me out, but I always come back. My main issue is overthinking and worrying… but I have to remind myself, why worry when nothing has even happened yet? Live in the moment and when something stressful comes up, deal with it then.

    God is on who I need to cast on my fears/ worries.

  4. Thanks doll! Yes comeback killed me with that!! Lol!

    I’m glad u r a happy chick! Some people seriously have a problem with maintaining happiness! I have a few girlfriends who always seem to have a reason to frown. A lot of their reasons are self-inflicted!

  5. “I have a few girlfriends who always seem to have a reason to frown. A lot of their reasons are self-inflicted!”

    Girl, me too!!!! One of my homegirls is ALWAYS complaining. I was talking to her yesterday after class, I had walked in to get a quick hair cut.. she goes, “You are ALWAYS getting your hair cut,” and she was complaining about it. WTF?

    Girl, sometimes I can’t even answer her phone calls.

  6. And it sucks to get rid of people like that! U do the right thing of not always taking the calls.

  7. “And it sucks to get rid of people like that! U do the right thing of not always taking the calls.”

    Why thank you girl… she’s good entertainment, she’s hilarious. But she just also has something negative to say (even if it is in a funny manner!)

  8. J. McFly Says:

    Good morning ladies, Holly this is a great post. This is my mantra for 09 too.

  9. thecomebackgirl Says:

    “Now is the time to take charge and become your own Capt. Happy!! Happiness is an emotion you control? Have you evaluated your happiness? Have you asked yourself who and what is controlling your Happy Ship?? Do you even care about that state of your happiness??

    I totally agree about the happiness being an emotion you control. In fact i think we have direct control over MOST things in our lives including experiences, relationships, etc etc. Like you cant control people, but you can control your behavoir and perspective which does often change outcomes…

  10. Jaci Says:

    Hey all! I’m happy and I’m going out to do more happiness seeking! Peace out!

  11. @ Nicki- Yeah they usually are entertaining!! LOL!!

    @J- Thanks honey!!! Yes this should be in your mantra!! Up there after God is good all the time!!

    @Comeback- I agree we do… no one or nothing can make you feel or do anything that you object to.

  12. Hey Jac! Go out and get your happiness!!

  13. 80's Baby Says:

    Hey Y’all….. I know one of my flaws is sometimes I can let little stuff get to me….. But I am working on that…. Because I know all of my good days outweigh my bad days.
    So I’m bout to take charge and become my own Capt. Happy on a continuous basis.

  14. @80’s- Amen and Hallelujah!! Just keep thinking about that!! We all fall off but you gotta have that mindset to get right back in that place!

  15. Peyso Says:

    CBG be droppin so much knowledge she dont even remember what she be sayin.

    My motto is to remember that stress aint fixin the problem and that false enthusiasm goes a long way. You’d be suprised how you can trick yo self into being happy, genuinely happy.

  16. “My motto is to remember that stress aint fixin the problem and that false enthusiasm goes a long way. You’d be suprised how you can trick yo self into being happy, genuinely happy.”

    Good one Peyso!!!

  17. “You’d be suprised how you can trick yo self into being happy, genuinely happy.”

    Very good point Peyso.

  18. you already know what I’m gonna say…

    The trick is not to only enjoy the good times, but the not-so-good as well. Or at least learn from them…

    Being thankful helps too. I could go on all day, but I’m not gonna sell my book for free lol.

  19. @Why So- You are definitely right!! Rejoice in all times!!

  20. Britt Says:

    Great post! Not concerning myself with how others view me works wonders for me. It’s a hard hurdle to get over but man is it FREEDOM!! People always tell me that I look youthful and I think that that is 90% of it. Only worrying about pleasing God and myself (and occasionally the guy who signs my paycheck) is the way to go!

  21. Hey Britt and thanks!! And you are right! It is hard but once you overcome you really start being able to sleep with the choices you make!

  22. Junior Says:

    @ peyso, my mom always did tell me, “fake it, until you make it”


Leave a Reply

