Single Sisters Speak Out

The Modern Life of the Single Sister

What Do You Want to Be? February 8, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Sunny @ 10:00 pm

dress-up

Today I still don’t know what I want to be.  I think I’m a bit flighty; blame it on ADD, blame it on my constant need for variety.  

I can feel very strongly about something in one moment and in the next, its a whisper in the wind. 

Just last month, I just knew I was going to get my degree in Psychology, go to graduate school, and go on into a career helping young girls.  After taking Spanish for a week, I decided to change my major back to Criminal Justice.  

All because I’m tired .   I work a full time job.  I don’t feel like I have enough brain power to devote to learning a second language right now.  Also,   I can’t see myself going to graduate school immediately, I’m having a hard enough time trying to stay motivated and knock out this first degree. 

Don’t get me wrong, I still have the dream and I know it’s in me, but  I have to find another way of doing it.

Anyway, back to the point of the post:  Dreams and aspirations change so much over the course of your life.  As a young girl, I was always a supernerd;  I had dreams of becoming a scientist.  Next, I wanted to be an English teacher.  This came about after discovering my knack for writing.  In high school, I took up Business because it seemed like the stable thing to do.  In my first year in college, I was a Assets Protection major at Eastern Kentucky University.  Since then, I’ve went back and forth between Criminal Justice and Psychology.

At this point in life, I can honestly say I don’t know what I want to do.  On the other hand, I have a long list, mostly comprised of my past experiences, of things I know I DON’T want to do for the rest of my life.   Whenever someone asks me what I want to do in life or where I can see myself in five years, I have to admit, it stumps me. There’s sort of a full mental block there.  ALL I WANT IS TO GRADUATE!

What about you guys, do you know where you want to be in five years?  How much have your career plans changed in your lifetime?

What do you want to be when you grow up?

 

35 Responses to “What Do You Want to Be?”

  1. Jaci Says:

    Oh Nic…

    Let’s see here I can’t say my plans changed much other than me deciding to add an MBA in the mix (education wise)

    Other than that, I’ve decided I have a passion for event planning and that I’d like a non-profit for girls…(once my kids are old enough to have missing mama)

    I just maintain you should stay as true as you can to the 7 year old you…because your passions come out then and will always continue to shine through.

  2. Nic, it is like you were reading my mind over the weekend. I am studying magazine journalism, and now I almost hate writing! I don’t even blog as much. Mainly because I have so much writing I do for school I’m just out of it. I use to really enjoy writing though.

    I still definitely want to create an online magazine or something but I really don’t like writing anymore. Am I going to change my major? Hell no!

    I know I will end up in communications some how. I just need the degree. I took a radio interviewing class and fell in love with being in the studio talking to different people.

    So 5yrs from now, I may be on the radio and have an online magazine and maybe do a little freelance writing. Honestly who knows! School is zapping my energy.

  3. Oh yeah I really enjoy this blog!! I read everyday just never comment.

  4. vanilla sky Says:

    Well first off, I cant even get past the pic!! Imma need this in poster size to go in my closet!!! LOVE IT!!! ;>)

    ADD & the need for variety (or both combined) is definitely a recipe for wanting/needing change….particularly when it comes to school. So to answer your question…..YES.

    In highschool, I was in the Telecommunications & Health/Fitness programs. When I started college, my major was in Sports Medicine. After 3 semesters, I found myself PREGNANT & that desired degree quickly changed. (not that I didnt want it) Just seemed to be so unattainable with raising a baby. Next went to massage therapy school. (that was a pretty penny that never paid off) Didnt realize the average person was in need of that service in the evenings & weekends…..when I wanted to be with my child. So then I went back to school, changing my major to Corporate Comminications, just KNOWING I was would be the first HOT ESPN TV anchor….that lasted for 2 semesters, when I found myself pregnant yet AGAIN. At 5 months pregnant, I became certified in personal training. That worked out for a while, but then went right back to folks wanting my services on evenings & weekends. So with two mouths to feed, being a full-time student was no longer an option, I began working. Doing some insurance claims bs, but it paid the bills & took care of my babies…….

    Moral of the story, LIFE HAPPENS, THINGS CHANGE, and with it, our little-girl desires, dreams, & aspirations alter with it. Sometimes for the better, sometimes we arent so sure. But with a strong, deep-rooted foundation with God, He can help us along the way to “GRANT US WITH THE SERENITY TO ACCEPT THE THINGS WE CAN NOT CHANGE, COURAGE TO CHANGE THE THINGS WE CAN, & THE WISDOM TO NOW THE DIFFERENCE”

    I am totally with you on your last paragraph…..SUPER confused on what I want to do now, VERY CLEAR ON WHAT I DONT WANT, & just know that I WANT TO GRADUATE!!! ;>)

    Perhaps there’s something blessedly beautiful about late degree-getters such as ourselves…..suppose the upscale is by the time we get our degree, we will have experiened enough life (& be familiar with ourselves) to know EXACTLY what it should be!!

  5. Invest 30 minutes a day into something that you love. You’re onto something with this blog, I like it…

  6. thecomebackgirl Says:

    I’ve tried out different things part-time over the years in addition to my meat and potatoes job. I’ve failed miserably at some. Others I was super great at. To me its ultimately trial and error. But you have to try.

    I would love to open a little dress shop. Id design one item a season and the rest of the shop would be comprised of other designers i loved for that season.

    I’d also work with women who wanted to “do their life over”…to me you gotta “fail” first. “Failing” is the only recipe for success that I know.

  7. J. McFly Says:

    Eventhough I have my degree and job, I would like to open a eatery of some kind. Not sure on the details yet but I just see myself doing that.

  8. Jada Says:

    School will make you HATE the very thing you love. I has a passion for film and television. Just knew I was gonna be a super producer, move to Cali, and own my own Production Company. After school I didn’t want to look at another camera. My love for it is slowly coming back…but I fear I’ve lost many of the skills I learned in school…go figure!

    I love to write as well, so I can see me writing. But never fear Nickster…I have changed my mind plenty of times…still changing it. You’ll come across your purpose in time…but in the meantime, try new things here and there!

  9. Jazz Says:

    I want to be a published writer, and plan on being published hopefully in the next couple years and also would like to dabble in acting. I have an agent just need some headshots done.

  10. cuzzo Says:

    In 5 years my handbags will be in Comeback’s dress shop.

    Many moons ago I wanted to be:
    – a professional ice skater (a classmate told me I was too fat and would crack the ice…kids! so cruel)
    – a teacher, my mom was one
    – an accountant (yawn!)
    – a stylist – no patience for the schmoozing
    …just to name a few

  11. “Let’s see here I can’t say my plans changed much other than me deciding to add an MBA in the mix (education wise) ”

    Jaci: That is great!!!! Knowing what you want to do is really a stress relief.

    Ms. D: I am sooo with you on not trying to change a degree at this point! And thanks for constantly reading our blog. I love that. 🙂

  12. @VS: “Perhaps there’s something blessedly beautiful about late degree-getters such as ourselves…..suppose the upscale is by the time we get our degree, we will have experiened enough life (& be familiar with ourselves) to know EXACTLY what it should be!!”

    Girl, YES… that is def an upside…. and plus, we have job experience… a lot of kids that just did college will have trouble finding jobs bc they lack experince.

  13. ****SIDENOTE: VS is one of my real life homegirls… show her some love blog fam. 🙂 ***

  14. Whyso: U always come through with the knowledge and the right things to say… thank u so much. 😉

    “I would love to open a little dress shop. Id design one item a season and the rest of the shop would be comprised of other designers i loved for that season. ”

    @comeback: this is one of my secret fantasies too… I love fashion.

    “But never fear Nickster…I have changed my mind plenty of times…still changing it. You’ll come across your purpose in time…but in the meantime, try new things here and there!”

    Jay Boogie: Thank u so much for the encouragement chica!!!!

    @Jazz: Good Luck on that acting. I hope you make it big… then I can say I knew her back when…..

    @Cuzzo: I feel u on the stylist tip. I’m very good with doing folks’ hair… but it’s a lot of schmoozing in that too.

  15. B&TT Says:

    Man!! I feel u on this one.
    I was that little girl who always impressed folks with “yea, I want to be a Doctor”…then I found out one day when cleaning my little sister’s wound that I did not like blood.
    Then I wanted to be a journalist…I would make my own little magazines, draw all the pictures of clothes and stuff, and write the articles LOL
    Then I ended up going into the fashion industry through a strange turn of events…
    It’s ok 4 now…but I keep getting drawn back into writing
    Nicki…keep working towards that degree…you’ll be shown what it is you’re supposed to be doing soon enough!!!

  16. Thank you B&TT!!!!! How is the fashion industry going for you?

  17. B&TT Says:

    It’s aiiight….not as glamourous as I thought LOL…and very difficult to move up…

  18. @B&TT: I wish it could be just as glamorous as The Hills (i’m a closet watcher. LOL)

  19. Jazz Says:

    I changed my major in college a bunch of times too. I was an art major and wanted to do graphic design then I changed to Interior design then back to graphic design and finally english. You’ll eventually figure it out lol.

    That pick in the post is too cute. The little girl on the right reminds me of my daughter.

  20. Jaci Says:

    Hi Vanilla Sky, Welcome! Come back!

    Ok…Whyso’s on to something too. I think you should spend 30 min to an hour each day doing something you really like…

    I want to do event planning bad…I spend time checking that out…and googling and looking getting ideas and such!

  21. @Jazz: I always admired those who majored in art or some kind of design… I just think it’d be draped in fabulousness.

    @jaci: 30 minutes a day is right… that’s def feasible. since I blog with you guys for about 8 hours a day, I’m def doing something I like

  22. thecomebackgirl Says:

    Hi Vanilla..***waves at VS***

  23. Peyso Says:

    I dont know exactly what I wanna be. I do know that I want to work in real estate and not as an agent either. I wanna build shiznic. I think a JD/MBA is the best way to do what I want. I think its ok for ppl not to know what they’re gonna do or what they wanna do but I think you should know what function you wanna do i.e. do you wanna work with people or something like that

  24. Good morning ya’ll!! Great post Nicki!! When I grow up I wanna be famous I wanna be a star… no seriously Imma be on Wall Street somewhere if this d@mn economy gets its act together!!!

  25. I did start on wanting to be a criminal defense attorney, then went to child psychologist, and now have settled on Operations Management dealing with Corporate Governance…

  26. Thanks comeback!!!!

    @peyso: I agree.. it’s important to know what type of thing you’d like to do.

    @the fabulous holister: Thanks mamacita!!! U just made me sing, “everybody is a star…..”

  27. @Nick: Awww I love the new name!!! Girl I have been on a Pussycat Dolls kick!! I love them in the gym!!! Great workout when they’re on!

  28. @Holister: Yes!!! I def am with you on working with criminals… I think that’d be interesting. but it also scares me a lil. LOL.

    Those Pussycat Dolls are sooo inpsiring. I used to get AT IT on the treadmill listening to them.

  29. Tatica Says:

    I’ve just committed to pursuing what I really want to do in life and it’s a relief because now I can formulate a plan and path, but for 8 years after college I was lost, so lost. And knowing what you don’t want to do is just as important as the rest, so you’ve got that at least. It is trial and error and life is long…

  30. @Taticia: It’s such a blessing that u know what you want to do… congradulations mami!!!! U ain’t never lied about this trial and error.

  31. Tatica Says:

    Thanks!
    and remember to enjoy the ride! we get caught up in finding the answer, we may not notice the journey

  32. Tatica: U are spitting gems today!!!! I know I’ve gotten caught up…. I need to fall back a little.

  33. @Nick- Yeah I did too and then I volunteered at a daycare and thought a little boy was being abused that’s what got me into wanting to do Psych!!

    I love PCD!!!

  34. Britt Says:

    Great blog Nicki (see I spelled it right)! After completing my undergrad degree and then getting a professional degree and now working in that profession, all kinds of jobs look good to me, lol! Jobs that I am technically overqualified for but I think I might enjoy.

    EXPLORE YOUR OPTIONS while you are still in undergrad. The same 100 or so jobs are cycled around and forced down our throats but there are so many interesting careers that can pay the bills. For example, when you go to the Gap or Starbucks and hear those cool music mixes, somebody is PAID to create that!

    It’s a big world out there and undergrad is the best time to explore it.

  35. Thanks Britt!!!!

    “For example, when you go to the Gap or Starbucks and hear those cool music mixes, somebody is PAID to create that!”

    Girl, and THAT would be a wonderful job to have. I love music and whoever is making those mixes, gives me a great feeling when I enter the store. 😉

    Thank u so much for the words…. Finding a career that will suit me is def gonna take me putting my thinking cap on.


Leave a Reply

