Single Sisters Speak Out

The Modern Life of the Single Sister

Valentine’s Day Eve…. February 13, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Holly GoLightly @ 1:43 am

v-day-cartoon2

I’ve always thought Valentine’s Day was a woman’s holiday… now don’t get me wrong I think men should be given a gift and token of appreciation but this is ultimately the day that a man who is in a relationship is suppose to woo his girl and make her feel extra, extra special! This is the day he gets creative and pulls out all the stops so that she can brag to her friends about the dozens of flowers he got her and the big box of Godiva chocolates and rose petals he had waiting on her along with the diamond ring (if you’re lucky), the Vicky’s negligee, or airplane tickets to that warm sunny vacay destination!

When I was younger I thought V-Day was the be all end all… I felt if the guy who was courting me didnt have a special dinner planned or didnt order me those fabulous fragrant peach roses (not red, too cliche and these are my favorite) it would be over!! As I got older I still wanted to be surprised and wooed but my major concern was what about the other 364 days (sometimes 365)? How are you treating me then? Are you making an effort to make everyday feel like Valentines Day? Now this year I have a man and I didnt make too much of a fuss about the day for one because we are fairly new and didnt wanna put on the pressure… also because I am making plans for his birthday with is in a month and milestone due to him crossing over into a new decade.  But even if these things werent going on I still wouldnt be pressed on this day!! True it’s nice to be doted on but for some it all ends at midnight like Cinderella’s carriage turning back into the pumpkin!

So how do you feel about Valentines day? Do you think everyday should be Valentine’s Day? How do you feel about Valentines eve being on friday 13th?

 

28 Responses to “Valentine’s Day Eve….”

  1. I think V Day is for all lovahs…. it’s not fair for the man to have to do all the work.

  2. commercialized.

    I saw an ad for v-day ON NEW YEAR’S EVE.

    People should simply do what’s in their hearts. You shouldn’t wait for v-day to pull out the stops.

  3. Jada Says:

    Agrees with WhySo & Nicster. I believe it should be special or BOTH parties, but also should not be contained and restricted to one day. I hope partners are doing what they can to express their love and appreciation for each other throughout the year.

  4. Erin Says:

    I am not a fan of Valentine’s Day….I am a fan of everyday. Valentine’s Day is nice if you want to celebrate but I prefer to be loved and to show my love for someone year round, one day does not make or break my relationship!!! I wrote a post about this on my blog….I definitely agree with you. I am one who likes to show my appreciation and how much I love man any day and everyday. I send gifts, notes, and cards just because without thinking about what I should or will get in return. People should do things in a relationship and keep tally of who did what and when. Just do because you love the person and you like bringing joy to his or her life.

  5. Jazz Says:

    V-Day is majorly overated.

  6. Good morning ya’ll!!

    @Nicki- i agree men shouldn’t be the only ones breaking their necks to make the woman feel special, but that’s usually how it turns out though because stores are always showing you how to woo and make the woman feel special!!

    @WhySo- Exactly that’s how I feel!

    @Jada- Yes!! Say that! I want to be treated erryday!!

    @Erin- You are so right! I am dashing off to your place now!!

    @Jazz- YES! But how did it get this way?

  7. “@Nicki- i agree men shouldn’t be the only ones breaking their necks to make the woman feel special, but that’s usually how it turns out though because stores are always showing you how to woo and make the woman feel special!!”

    That is true… that’s why we cook him a lil’ dinner and give him a striptease routine. LOL.. Put them classes to work!

  8. thecomebackgirl Says:

    I agree Vday is the woman’s day..and superbowl is the man’s analogous holiday..

    i expect all the stops to be pulled out for me on VDAY..and subsequently all the stops will be pulled out for you on your sports holiday:cooking, hostess’ing..the works cause its his day.

  9. @Nicki- LOL!!! Girl I will…. one day! LOL! I bought some red shoes that I will put on for the bday!!

    @Comeback- Hilarious!! I love the analogy!! I just want everyday to be VDay!

  10. “@Nicki- LOL!!! Girl I will…. one day! LOL! I bought some red shoes that I will put on for the bday!!”

    hey, hey, hey… we might be seeing you an Essence faster than u think (joking!)

  11. thecomebackgirl Says:

    “I just want everyday to be VDay!

    Everyday tho??? i don’t think i could handle all the pomp and circumstance everyday..my vday is that my boo boo is happy and content. happy people make me happy.

  12. @Nicki- Hey I wouldnt mind being in Essence.. in the “Will You Marry Me” thing!!

    @CBG- Ok maybe not everyday but lets just say you dont need a reason to be all warm and fuzzy…. like be special on Vday but dont be outta character!!

  13. I’m kinda “meh” on it. I get the feeling that everyone else around where I am is too…Especially since everyone is failing to recognize that

    ISSA RESSSHESHON

    I’ve said this before, but this resessshon is gonna expose a lot of people who substituted money for love. Them Godivas is turnin into Russell Stovers…lolol.

  14. LOL @ Whyso!!

    You are awful but you are right I was watching something on the news talking about how the recession has affected Valentines Day!

  15. Peyso Says:

    Everyday is Vday. An example of this is that everyday I come on this site, I make sure Nick leaves with a smile. And thats how relationships should work. I make my jawn feel loved everyday. That doesnt mean I gotta spend all types of guapington every single day. Maybe its how I tell Nicki, how upset I am that I barely missed her on CBGs TvBlog last night and that ruined my night. All I’ll send my real life jawn a corny text. You never know.

  16. Awwww peyso!!! Black love!

  17. Jada Says:

    Dying @ Peyso!

  18. “Everyday is Vday. An example of this is that everyday I come on this site, I make sure Nick leaves with a smile. And thats how relationships should work. I make my jawn feel loved everyday. That doesnt mean I gotta spend all types of guapington every single day. Maybe its how I tell Nicki, how upset I am that I barely missed her on CBGs TvBlog last night and that ruined my night. All I’ll send my real life jawn a corny text. You never know.”

    Thank you for making me smile Peyso… ask your boo if she can share u for a bit.. I am celibate so she won’t have to worry about me taking the d. LOL

  19. Geezus Nick that’s y u had that lingeree on last night!!!

  20. “Geezus Nick that’s y u had that lingeree on last night!!!”

    LOL.. I had no clue he was on there! I promise.

  21. Peyso Says:

    Dont worry Nick, u wouldnt have to take the D

  22. 80's Baby Says:

    Good afternoon.. I pretty much agree with the fact that Valentine’s day should be everyday…

    And I see that Peyso is at his usual tricks again….. TOOOO Funny… Nicki what have you done to this man???? LOL

  23. Peyso Says:

    She aint do nothin special, she was born. thats all

  24. 80's Baby Says:

    Awww Peyso that was sweet….. Go Nick 🙂

  25. “She aint do nothin special, she was born. thats all”

    Peyso, how many kids you got? Laying it on this thick, I’m sure they are throwing those draws atcha. LOL

    “Dont worry Nick, u wouldnt have to take the D”

    *** blushes ***

  26. Peyso Says:

    No kids, and I dont get girls as I explained to 80s and Jac last night. I got one girl who i love and another girl who im e-infatuated with. Thats all

  27. “No kids, and I dont get girls as I explained to 80s and Jac last night. I got one girl who i love and another girl who im e-infatuated with. Thats all”

    I can do e-fatuated. 😉


Leave a Reply

