Single Sisters Speak Out

The Modern Life of the Single Sister

Boredom Equals Trouble April 2, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Holly GoLightly @ 10:00 pm
Tags: , , ,

boredom2

Today I was in a reflective mood just thinking over my life…reliving moments some funny, some bad. What really stuck out in my head was the moments where I would end up saying a little prayer…

Lord, I know I shouldn’t have but if you just find it in your heart to let me make it outta this I promise I wont do it anymore. Thank you in advance!

Love,

Holly GoLightly

These moments were usually caused by BOREDOM!! My grandmother always said an idle mind was the devil’s playground and boy did my mind stay idle (especially when I was younger)… I suffer with boredom a lot now  but I try my best not to exercise the plans that I conjure up in my head. 🙂 So far I think I do a pretty good job!

One particular boredom moment that stands out for me, that I really wish wasn’t brought on by boredom, was when I lost my virginity. This situation was more so brought on by curiosity that was later carried out by boredom.  I mean the person was a dear friend at the time and I did have a little liking towards him, but he wasn’t someone special. He wasn’t even a person that I could have seen as a boyfriend!! But hey then again what do you even know at 16!? Back then I thought that I was gonna marry Devante or Mr. Dalvin from Jodeci and where the heck are they now??!! Everything about the situation was so not right! There was no music, no candles, not even some swanky dinner prepared by him. Instead it took place at his house in the basement on an oddly shaped brown velvet chair. The event lasted all of 5 minutes. When it was over I remember thinking, “Is this what all my active friends have been raving about?? If so, this was not the business!!” It wasn’t until a few years later while with my boyfriend that I truly experienced what I should have felt- The big “O”! It was then that I really regretted my decision that I made during boredom!! Because of this regret I reached out to my 13 year old sister and let her know its better to wait preferably when you are married, but if you cant wait til then at least try  to wait until you are mature and out of high school.

Of course there have been other situations since then that have occurred due to boredom: Fraternizing with a low down ex, entertaining a random dude who wouldn’t have gotten the time otherwise, pity s!ex, and of out of town trips (with no good intentions). *smh*

What has boredom gotten you to do?

 

13 Responses to “Boredom Equals Trouble”

  1. JaneDoh! Says:

    Boredom gave me…

    1.Extra pounds because I eat when bored.
    2.Enough online dating stories to entertain friends and probably to fill the book I’m thinking about writing.
    3.The fast texting thumbs ever!

  2. Jane Doh, your number one is ON POINT. That’s me right there.

  3. No More Says:

    “There was no music, no candles, not even some swanky dinner prepared by him. Instead it took place at his house in the basement on an oddly shaped brown velvet chair. The event lasted all of 5 minutes.”

    How many people actually lose their virginity on some romantic stuff? I think more people lost it similar to your story.

  4. JaneDoh! Says:

    @Nicki Sunshine- Glad I’m not the only one. Now pardon me, while I go get a hobby and take five paces back from these chips.

  5. I know mine was pretty similar, NoMo. LMAO. In a basement (his bedroom) of his mama’s house.

    @jane: LMAO. Stay away from the chips!

  6. thecomebackgirl Says:

    “Back then I thought that I was gonna marry Devante or Mr. Dalvin from Jodeci and where the heck are they now??!! ”

    you are def aging yourself Holister…i wanna see if anybody gonna come on here and be like Jodeci who?

    As for boredom..the vapors dude i wrote about yesterday was totally it. boredom, but wrapped in my ego.

  7. Jada Says:

    I’ve always been pretty good at entertaining myself. So when I get bored I don’t usually find myself in precarious poistions. Maybe just curled up in my bed reading a book or partaking of a movie or sum.

    How many people actually lose their virginity on some romantic stuff? I think more people lost it similar to your story.

    This kind of saddens me NoMo.

  8. you get bored for a reason. Your brain trying to jump out of it’s skull, cause it needs to grow.

    At any rate, any high-speed motorcycling usually does it for me. Watch the beginning credits of fresh prince, and try to be at my dad’s house (40 miles away) for the end.

  9. Just A Thought Says:

    Boredom has…

    1. Caused me to eat food I know I shouldn’t have
    2. Caused me to keep a dude around just so I wouldn’t have to take myself out to dinner AGAIN
    3. Allowed me to set super-low records on Minesweeper on multiple occasions (And I do it for every level).

  10. @JustAThought: I still have no clue about playing Mindsweeper.

  11. Rob Says:

    “Is this what all my active friends have been raving about?? If so, this was not the business!!” It wasn’t until a few years later while with my boyfriend that I truly experienced what I should have felt- The big “O”!”

    Very high expectations of dude! Was it his first go too? So much pressure for homey! LOL. For some women the “O” is eluding them still . . . . and they’re like 40! (I know this because I was at the Oprah Best Life Week show with my wife and one of the ladies who was married for like 20 years said this and we looked at each other in disbelief, like, “we wouldn’t make it”. .) But you were expecting it on the first go . . . Wow!

    And not everyone lost their virginity without romance. I mean, when I and my virginity loss partner lost ours, I made sure to put “Top of The World” on repeat on the boombox in the corner of the room! I was young, how much more romantic could I afford to be? 🙂

    As for Boredom . . . it has made me addicted to blogging! Go figure.

  12. “For some women the “O” is eluding them still . . . . and they’re like 40! ”

    LOL.. I know the feeling.

  13. FeFe Fatale Says:

    Boredom runs my life! All of my dating stories are out of boredom except i call it “adding some spice to my life.” everyone needs some excitement every now and then. even when i have a hobby, my mind still wanders to the unforbidden out of boredom. sighhh


Leave a Reply

