Single Sisters Speak Out

The Modern Life of the Single Sister

The Symbol or the Symbolized? April 8, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — peyso @ 9:46 pm

This Fool

This Fool

The video has nothing to do with the post but the picture does. Its 9:50 pm on a Wednesday evening. I am slotted to post this evening’s post. Normally, if my post isn’t already scheduled to be posted, I am putting the finishing touches on my post. Today isn’t like the other days. I just scrapped my post. I started fishing for new ideas instead. As I asked people for ideas, I started to look around my room and I came across my recently received diploma. (I just got it in the mail despite graduating almost a whole year ago due to some money that I owed them. They held my diploma hostage over a few measly thousand dollars. Makes me angry.) I cherish that thing. And I was thinking to myself, why do I cherish this? Does this diploma make me a better person? Does it validate me? I know I get an automatic pay increase because I have it but what does that really mean? A good friend of mine burned his diploma. Yes, this kneegrow lit his diploma on fire. I have never been that angry with a person in my life.

 

 

 

 

I was so angry that I had to figure out why. After days of thinking, I realized that he destroyed the sole symbol of all the work he had done for four years. The burning of his degree didn’t take away his status as an Ivy League graduate. He could always order another one for a measly $100. Here is the question that I have for you, why is that we make such a big deal about the symbols in our life rather than what they symbolizes? Sometimes women make such a big deal out of their engagement ring instead of really preparing to get married? Men sometimes make a huge deal out of having the nice house and nice car instead of making sure that they have truly broken down the barriers of wealth, station and class.

 

Why do we make such a big deal about symbols? Are there any symbols that are more important to you than what they symbolize?

 

24 Responses to “The Symbol or the Symbolized?”

  1. thecomebackgirl Says:

    “Why do we make such a big deal about symbols? Are there any symbols that are more important to you than what they symbolize?”

    Good question..this is my question to marinate on tonite..

  2. Jaci Says:

    I’m with CBG. I’m going to have to marinate on this as well. I don’t think I could ever burn my class ring, diploma or anything else. They are not symbols that I prominently display but I know in my heart of hearts that I earned them and that’s really all that matters.

    Let me think on this a little bit more and I’ll get back to you.

  3. I think people make a big deal out of symbols because people want to be admired… you want people to want what you have… Some are even happy to make you green with envy.

    It seems like some of us are always trying to one up another. It looks like black diamonds on the outside, but it’s really fools gold on the inside.

    I heard “Poke Her Face” last night.. I love it.

  4. thecomebackgirl Says:

    “I heard “Poke Her Face” last night.. I love it”

    Lady GaGa is the shidznick..i love her. When i clicked on the link how come the youtube people don’t credit her. Its clearly her on the sampled hook 😦

    on topic:…i like nice things. but everybody has their something. I do think some people use, fashion, some people are intellecutal snobs (ie “i graduated from Harvard..where’d you go)..some people are income snobs, car snobs…i think to a certain degree everyone is guilty of some form of snobbery…music is included to..things that keep people intentially or unintentially EXCLUDED.

    the other question might be “whats “material” your thing?”

  5. thecomebackgirl Says:

    meant “whats YOUR material thing”

  6. Shawn Smith Says:

    Wedding rings, marriage in general…..

    I know some people believe in it and want it but I’ve heard of some couples that were worse after being together for years without it. For some it’s all about having a ring on their finger.

    Wearing Cross charms to show that they are religious.

    Driving a hybrid to prove that they are “green”.

    Stars having Bentleys to show that they are “ballin'”

  7. thecomebackgirl Says:

    i guess to answer my question specifcally…im a shoe snob and i like nice cars..tis all.

  8. “Lady GaGa is the shidznick..i love her. When i clicked on the link how come the youtube people don’t credit her. Its clearly her on the sampled hook ”

    Exactly…. it is clearly her in the hook and it sounds like she sings a lil bit in the song (at least in the version I heard on the radio last night)

  9. I am a clothing snob.. lol.. It doesn’t have to be name brand BUT I am not a fan of lame’, or anything really thinly made.

  10. Peyso Says:

    I like high quality things and it just so happens that high quality costs money

  11. No More Says:

    Exactly…. it is clearly her in the hook and it sounds like she sings a lil bit in the song (at least in the version I heard on the radio last night)

    Late to the party but the sample comes from a live version of the song here:

    Sounds 1000x better than the actual song

  12. That is hot NoMo. I love her voice!

  13. thecomebackgirl Says:

    @ NoNo and Sunny…she sounds like Judy Garland in the Wizard of Oz..very old school..i like it.

  14. No More Says:

    ..very old school..i like it.

    Yeah me too, I wish she made an album like that rather than the radio songs she has out now. She has a beautiful voice.

  15. @omeback: I agree! She sounds just like Judy Garland.

    @NoMO: I wish she would too… I hate the stuff on the radio, but this is classic!

  16. Cheekie Says:

    “Here is the question that I have for you, why is that we make such a big deal about the symbols in our life rather than what they symbolizes? Sometimes women make such a big deal out of their engagement ring instead of really preparing to get married? Men sometimes make a huge deal out of having the nice house and nice car instead of making sure that they have truly broken down the barriers of wealth, station and class.”

    This is definitely a thing that makes ya go hmm.

    I think this ties into how materialistic we are as a society. Usually a symbol of something more meaningful is a tangible object, so since (in general) we value the physical than we do the spiritual, it sorta makes sense. The goal is to switch the importance of those two aspects and I think we’d be better for it.

  17. Hugh Jazz Says:

    Just my random thoughts, but I think it’s merely having something tangible to represent something that is intangible. It’s something you can see and put in your hand that lets you know you accomplished something. The diploma means you did something, but it isn’t the something that you did.

  18. Peyso Says:

    @ HUgh Jazz- But doesnt explain why we make such a big deal about the representation when the represented still exist.

  19. Hugh Jazz Says:

    Peyso: “But doesnt explain why we make such a big deal about the representation when the represented still exist.”

    The diploma is a physical object. The effort, time, studying, etc that went into the obtaining the diploma is not. I guess most people are materialists and focus on what they can actually physically sense. Since the diploma is there and they can see and hold it, it becomes the experience because you can’t see and hold the experience.

    I wasn’t trying to make some kind ontological statement, it just came out sounding that way.

  20. Britt Says:

    “I think people make a big deal out of symbols because people want to be admired… you want people to want what you have… Some are even happy to make you green with envy.”

    That about sums it up. I graduated from college in 2003 and law school in 2007. Where are my diplomas? Under my now defunct law school laptop in a drawer of my computer desk at my mom’s house.

    But I guess it’s priorities, because I want a big ole rock when I get married, lol.

  21. Monk Says:

    It’s all about where your priorities lie in my opinion. If you’re the type of person who’s constantly seeking approval from others, tangible things are a way of showing others. If you don’t care really, one may tend to be satisfied with merely ‘just knowing’. We live in a “keeping up with the Jones'” society so I think most people tend to want the tangible things as a whole. It’s the American way, so to speak.

  22. Monk Says:

    Oh yeah, both songs are the shyt!!

  23. […] & strangers were confused, disappointed & even enraged (shouts to peyso who blogged this), reacting in the same exact manner I react anytime I see Floyd Mayweather Jr. or any other athlete […]

  24. […] & strangers were confused, disappointed & even enraged (shouts to peyso who blogged this), reacting in the same exact manner I react anytime I see Floyd Mayweather Jr. or any other athlete […]


Leave a Reply

