Single Sisters Speak Out

The Modern Life of the Single Sister

Did You Get The Memo April 16, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Holly GoLightly @ 9:57 pm

So I am getting ready to head out to one of my fav Thursday night spot and I am thinking about the possible fashion faux pas I may see…. which happens at this place, not by all, but the few who just didn’t get the memo. Simply because some people really just don’t know or think certain things are allowed due to the temperature. Yes its cold but that does not mean keep the wool coats and blazers out! Better yet watching E or the Style channel will not ruin you! So due to seeing ill fashion choices I am making a list of things that should have went away or okay after Easter. Here goes!!

  1. The first thing I will say I DO NOT WANT TO SEE is Velour, Velvet, or Corduroy pants or Blazers! Dagnabbit it is after Easter and more importantly it’s Spring!! Invest in a nice blazer or a cute lightweight jacket to keep you warm and appealing on a breezy night! So many men are guilty of committing this sin! PUT IT AWAY!!! bring it back later this year after Halloween!
  2. NO MORE BOOTS! Ladies I know you wanna get the last wear out of those banging knee high or fringe top boots you bought but it’s over! LET IT DIE! YOU LOOK LIKE A D@MN FOOL & U R MAKING ME HOT!!
  3. SWEATER DRESS NEED TO BE PACKED AWAY! I don’t care what the weight of the dress is put it away. Don’t care if it is sleeveless… it has an operative word in the name “Sweater” Dress… meaning it’s meant for the winter!!
  4. SWEATERS! Please men put on a button up no f’ing sweaters!! Ladies please it’s April take the G-D turtleneck tunic sweater off!
  5. Maxi Dresses! Its a little warm but damjit it ain’t SUMMER! This is not the beach and I really just can’t condone this wear until the end of May! Give me Memorial Day ladies!

Thus far this is all I have! I will be back later to add any updates if I just so happen to see some kimfoolery that I didn’t think of before I left! Please remember these are my fashion pet peeves that I see in my location of Atlanta, GA where currently the temperature ranges… tonight it is the 60s and kinda breezy. None of the aforementioned should be happening!

So since I shared my fashion faux pas pet peeves what are yours??? Please share!!! 🙂

 

21 Responses to “Did You Get The Memo”

  1. Jaci Says:

    Oooh Holister this was a good one.

    I hate to see flips flops and heavy winter coats.

    I also hate hair that matches your outfit…no need to die your hair the same color as your shirt.

    Full on denim (I’ll be back later with a pic)

    Wearing every trend all at once.

    Garish make up…please natural and glowy is better than caked and peeling.

    Unshaved armpits.

    That’s it for now.

  2. Athena Nike Says:

    I was living in Western WI this time last year, and boots were a must. Matter o’ fact I flew to KY the last weekend in April last year and was afraid I’d get delayed at the Minneapolis airport (standing in my seersucker suit no less, to be destination appropriate) because snow was coming. So there has to be frozen precipitation falling for me to break out the boots after April 1 anywhere.

  3. Damon Says:

    *starts slow clap* …. Leave the winter clothes in winter, and spring forward. It’s that simple. lol.

  4. One, Humble One Says:

    1.The first thing I will say I DO NOT WANT TO SEE is Velour, Velvet, or Corduroy pants or Blazers!

    I wish this trend would just die. Jay-Z really f’ed the game up when he killed the throwback. I see so many dudes in cheap bad fitting sportcoats it kills me.

    4. SWEATERS!

    This is another pet peeve I have. I remember before Jay-Z killed the throwback dudes would talk about me wearing sweaters. I’ve always dressed kind of conservative. I guess it’s from all those year sof private school. Who told all these cats that sweaters have to fit tight and be solid colored only? Who also told them that they can only wear a cheap button-up under those sweaters?

    This reminds me of the dude I saw in Vegas wearing a mink 3 weeks ago. Not only did he have on a mink in Vegas it was a terrible mink. the fur looked like it came off a stuffed animal.

  5. holly Says:

    @jac- thx girl!!! I have the whole denim get ups as well!!

    @Athena- I agree I have put up my boots and last night a chick trust to have her Uggs on like its January/February

    @Damon- Yes!! But some just don’t get it!

    @Humble- OMG!! I can’t stand clothes that fit horrible!! And there were so many sweaters last night!!! I forgot to add the hate of sweater vests!!!

  6. miss t-lee Says:

    Well down here in TX the maxi dresses have been out since feb…lol
    I wanna get one but they are pretty much ubiquitous, so I think I’ll pass…
    Leggings…that does not equal an outfit. Stop it.

  7. holly Says:

    @miss t-lee: yeah the warm weather came and the dresses were unpacked!

    Now leggings…. I love!

  8. Ms. Eighty's Baby Says:

    The peep toe!!!!!!! Me and my friends discuss this all the time because we’re confused on the peep toe etiquette. I refuse to wear any kind of peep toe in the winter…..But now the peep toe boots have us even more confused. Last summer I purchased some shoe booties with the toes out but I only wore them in October and then just pulled them back out latter part of March and earlier part of April…..But some people wear these all winter long…. If you’re in a warmer climate then I guess it’s okay but if not then the toes out should be a definite no….. And then what do y’all think about bare legs in like Dec, Jan, Feb??? That’s another thing that I wouldn’t do until maybe mid March….But it’s plenty of people who do…

  9. Cheekie Says:

    Here in the Chi the weather is finally starting to look up but the past couple of weeks have been some confusing times. One day you can wear your boots, but another day it was too warm for it. Same thing with tights. Not sure if it’s too warm for tights or too cold for bare-legged. And don’t get me started on what coat to wear. Do I wear my light spring jacket or my light wool coat? Can’t wait ’til we get consistent around here. Mofos will be catching pneumonia with this back-and-forthness.

    Fashion faux pas for all year ’round: Uggs with mini-skirts. I mean, are you confused?

  10. holly Says:

    @80s- I wear peep toes all year round.:-(

    @cheekie- chi is on some whole other stuff!!

  11. thecomebackgirl Says:

    “NO MORE BOOTS! Ladies I know you wanna get the last wear out of those banging knee high or fringe top boots you bought but it’s over! LET IT DIE! YOU LOOK LIKE A D@MN FOOL & U R MAKING ME HOT!! ”

    Im actually looking for some cowboy boots NOW..i think they’re hot in early spring and with a short dress or skirt.

  12. holly Says:

    Comeback it is but I can’t. And my problems are really with them thigh high, UGG, and suede boots.

  13. Britt Says:

    LOL @ this blog. I live in Texas where it tends to be 80 degrees in April. Therefore I will be rocking the maxis with a :-).

  14. holly Says:

    Britt now I put a disclaimer!!! Lol

    Here in the A it needs not happen so soon.

  15. Ms. Eighty's Baby Says:

    @80s- I wear peep toes all year round.:-(

    @Holly…. I think yall cool in the South with the warmer weather…. But here in the midwest… They need not to be having their toes out and it’s 15 degrees outside…

  16. Ms. Eighty's Baby Says:

    Here in the Chi the weather is finally starting to look up but the past couple of weeks have been some confusing times. One day you can wear your boots, but another day it was too warm for it. Same thing with tights. Not sure if it’s too warm for tights or too cold for bare-legged. And don’t get me started on what coat to wear. Do I wear my light spring jacket or my light wool coat? Can’t wait ’til we get consistent around here. Mofos will be catching pneumonia with this back-and-forthness.

    @Cheekie…. I’m with you…With the weather right now it depends on the day…. Because it’s been cold here lately to the point where a light jacket isn’t enough….I’m one of the ones that will rock a heavier jacket/coat if I’m cold I’m in a minute…. And then will be the only one wearing one…. Oh well…. I’m the not the one who’s going to be cold… Lol

  17. holly Says:

    Ur right 80s!! I couldn’t pull that off in Tennessee!

  18. thecomebackgirl Says:

    re: uggs..they are just around the house boots for me..in my HOME i will wear them with shorts, my little bed attire..anything LOL..

  19. holly Says:

    Yea that’s how mine r comeback!!!! Lol

  20. true2me Says:

    Parkas…please..ITS NOT THAT COLD IN THE MORNING

    Scarves, I know they trendy but ITS NOT COLD ENOUGH

    booty shorts and Knee Boots with a sweater (are you trying to f*cking confuse me? are you hot and cold and wtf)

    I hate stockings anyway and tights, but wear them when its cold …now…its time for opaque ladies..no more thick azz tights

    good posting by the way

  21. Tati Says:

    OMG I’ve just found another blog to add to my favorites, loving this site so far.

    Anyway, I am guilty of rocking boots this weekend (over my leggings at that)! My friend told me I looked fine but I just felt so dumb seeing all the ladies with their sandals on (it was kinda breezy Friday night though so they may have felt akward as well). I suppose it is time to let them go 😦


Leave a Reply

