Single Sisters Speak Out

The Modern Life of the Single Sister

Diaries and Realities April 19, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — FlawedBeauty @ 9:07 pm

I’m sure everyone has probably seen the following link, but I’m posting it again anyway.

So…after watching that, I was thinking I absolutely have to get this movie.  Last Sunday I went running my happy butt over to the local Blockbuster and bought this movie.

Now…I’m all for yaya sisterdom and black love, but I notice in the movie that when he makes motions towards dating a white woman it’s problem.  However, we notice that no other woman had a man sitting in the room (they say misery loves company)

Anyways, throughout time I have begun to realize that women (I am guilty too) have a tendency to sort of “dog” men out.  Yes ladies, from time to time, we are the “angry black woman” they say we are.  I am starting to own this.  In realizing that I am indeed an ABW…I am learning to wonder what it is I am angry about.  From this I am realizing that owning up to the anger will indeed help my quest for love, peace and happiness.

Are any of the men tired of being treated poorly?  Anyone having any realizations about life that are going to help more than hurt in the long run?  Any women owning up to the ABW syndrome and finding happiness?

 

11 Responses to “Diaries and Realities”

  1. This clip is a hilarious but it’s disrespectful, I see that.

    I don’t have any ABW in me. I have a lil IBW (irritated black woman) in me, but that is reserved only for those that it’s needed for- meaning that persistant, “where yo man at?” annoyance.

  2. mrsFAB Says:

    Wow. What a powerful clip. I had never seen this, so thanks for posting. An why was I wathcing ‘Diary of a Mad Back Woman’ last night?? lol

  3. thecomebackgirl Says:

    “Last Sunday I went running my happy butt over to the local Blockbuster and bought this movie.”

    The movie is AT blockbusters…you should have linked to the movie site..maybe the producer/director could come over and defend himself LOL like last time when somebody ticked him off…i still would like to see it. I think he showed it in DC and then NY..(i missed that one)..

  4. Peyso Says:

    This is an interesting video and your thoughts are interesting too. I think that there are many men running around here angry. Some of them are the dudes that “DO NOT DATE BLACK WOMEN”, some of them are the dudes that are dogging chicks out. However, i think that the society that has given men the upper hand socially is the same one that has created the situation where men cannot really be angry. Its a catch 22 situation

  5. miss t-lee Says:

    My homegirl was just telling me about this movie over the weekend. SHE WAS HOTT!!!! lol
    She’s supposed to let me borrow it before she returns it because she was like “girl…you gotta see this BS.”
    I had heard a radio interview with ol’ boy some months back and had already dismissed him as wacktacular.

  6. Britt Says:

    I can’t watch the clip because I forgot my headphones, so my comment is based off of the blog itself.

    I think that many women dog men because we are generally powerless. It’s similar to minorities or any oppressed group dogging their oppressor. When you feel a lack of control you lash out via your words, because that is the only way you feel like you can exert any power.

  7. inakeS Says:

    @Britt

    Women are generally powerless?? Please explain that….

  8. Jaci Says:

    I think that many women dog men because we are generally powerless.

    I can almost agree with Britt here…we are considered to be the fairer and gentler sex that’s why it can be that way.

    @miss-I don’t think I would call it wacktacular at all. IN fact, I think that there are actually some women who act the way the woman did in the movie. At one point she went so far as to spit in his face, scream that she wants to go home from church and then claimed that she was just a trophy and he should have known better.

    I don’t find this to be wack I find it to be a possible page out of every man’s journey (not just black and not just white -which is also covered in the film)

  9. Britt Says:

    @ intakeS – Many women feel powerless in varying situations with men. Whether it be work, relationships, etc. a lot of times we feel dominated/abused by men so “downing” them helps to regain the power.

  10. miss t-lee Says:

    “@miss-I don’t think I would call it wacktacular at all. IN fact, I think that there are actually some women who act the way the woman did in the movie. At one point she went so far as to spit in his face, scream that she wants to go home from church and then claimed that she was just a trophy and he should have known better.

    I don’t find this to be wack I find it to be a possible page out of every man’s journey (not just black and not just white -which is also covered in the film)”

    This is exactly the points that my friend told me about. I will probably watch it this week, so I can have a more informed arguement. To me it seemed like extreme caricatures, and only one man’s experience. So we all should be painted with the same brush?

  11. Junior Says:

    I’m DYING @ this clip. Sounds like she was a weak black woman “who paid for ‘dis house, and now I leeve in a beeger one!”

    Like what’s wrong with some woman laying up with “[my] d*ck in her mouth”, sounds like a balanced and peaceful home to me. Let this be a lesson, if your marriage is crappy, put him in your mouth and make it happen!

    On a more serious note, black women should just start doing like everyone else and date outside of their race. We’re all God’s children at the end of the day, I don’t see anything wrong with exploring other options. From looking at the clip, all of the anger seemed to stem not from wanting to dog a brother, but from them being mad he was getting his swirl on.


Leave a Reply

