Single Sisters Speak Out

The Modern Life of the Single Sister

Angels and Demons April 28, 2009

Filed under: Chicken Soup for the Soul,Single Sisters On... — cuzzo @ 11:01 pm

The feeling is real. It’s not a nightmare. The first time it happened to me, I KNEW I must have done something right. I confessed with my mouth that I live because of Jesus. I believed that only He could redeem me. And if not that same night, then soon after, strange things began to happen – scary things. As I laid, it felt like something was on me, on my back, just there. I couldn’t wake up. With my eyes tightly closed, I prayed the Lord’s Prayer – over and over. It became more intense, like whatever it was, was now trying to touch my hair. I felt that – my body, my mind, acknowledged this movement.

It still happens, not often, and in different ways. The other night, the presence (no longer on my back…just there), was around again. Too intense to be a nightmare. Was I awake? Did I yell out? I felt like I was praying out loud. I felt like I was shouting…was I? I’m not the only person this has happened to. But, does this only happen to Christians? I am by far not bible quoting, judgmental Super Christian – so why?

When it happened the first time, my friend and her mom came and prayed over my apartment. I’ve since slacked off on the praying over my son’s crib and my bedroom every night. Even when I prayed those nights, the presence was still there – not like a “ghost” but a demon. There were nights when I just prayed and prayed – eyes closed, either because I could not wake or didn’t want to. I’m not scared that any demon will do anything to me – they are not greater than God. But, man o man, does it mess with my sleep.

Do you have any knowledge of this activity? Has it happened to you? A friend or family member?

I share this because I know it is happening to people…we are all connected. Annnnd because I bring the Kimfoolery and like to quote stuff, where’s this from:

“The only spooks I’m scared of are the ones with guns.”


 

33 Responses to “Angels and Demons”

  1. Wow, Cuzzo. Thanks for sharing this. I’d never heard of it before, but I am very interesting in knowing more about it and whether others can relate.

    Have you asked any one like a pastor or a counselor at church about it?

    In the meantime, I am also praying for you.

  2. peyso Says:

    In my family we call that the “hag”. The funny thing is that you think you’re screaming and yelling and fighting but no one ever hears or sees you doing this. Our family remedy was never to stop fighting and say whatever Bible verse you know, even if, its the shortest one in the whole book. My grandma also says put a glass of water near your bed.

  3. miss t-lee Says:

    Yep…I’ve had this happen.
    Not cool, at all.

    @ Peyso I’ve heard it called the “hag” too.

  4. cuzzo Says:

    @Nicki

    “Have you asked any one like a pastor or a counselor at church about it?”

    Not outright, but I shared my experience with my church when my son was being dedicated and you could see the nods of agreement throughout. The same day, a couple that had came back from a missionary trip to a nation where they practiced voodoo, also shared and expressed that they knew exactly what I was talking about – they could feel it out there, a presence.

    @Peyso

    “In my family we call that the “hag”.”

    I’ve heard that term. Last year when it first started happening, I heard numerous stories about different encounters of this kind. I even saw a special where this man was speaking about how he was brought up in a household that practiced witchcraft (can’t remember the exact term for it) and had been used to seeing “ghosts” on a regular basis. He saw ol’ haggy on the foot of his bed and could smell it too. I don’t know if I could handle that. Oh, what a world we live in.

    I will try the water by the bed…big ups to grandma.

  5. “Not outright, but I shared my experience with my church when my son was being dedicated and you could see the nods of agreement throughout. The same day, a couple that had came back from a missionary trip to a nation where they practiced voodoo, also shared and expressed that they knew exactly what I was talking about – they could feel it out there, a presence. ”

    Wow!!!! Maybe this is something that calls for a one on one situation. Just so they can expound on it, if nothing else. It sounds really scary. Do you feel paralyzing fear when it happens?

  6. Jada Says:

    I’ve experienced this. I was asleep and felt like something was trying to take over my body, almost paralyzing me. I started pleading the blood of Jesus, but my voice didn’t work. So I started YELLING it. When I started yelling (still no voice though), it began to ease up off of me until it was gone. The next morning my Mom came to the room and asked if I was okay. I was like yeah why? And she told me she heard me talking all the way in her room.

    That thing made one more attempt about a week or so later. But I prayed and sent it back where it came from. Haven’t been bothered since…and hope not to be.

    @ Peyso..interesting you guys gave it a name. I like that…the Hag. The Hag had to get her ass up outta my room.

  7. Peyso Says:

    @Jada – I’m suprised that you guys didnt give it a name.

  8. Peyso Says:

    O and my grandma always said that, if your a believer none of the spirits can hurt you, “But they sho can make you hurt yo’self”

  9. Jada Says:

    @ Peyso

    As far as I know it has only happened to me. I never really told too many other people. I didn’t even tell my Mom what happened that night she heard me talking.

    I’m sure I’m prolly not the only one in my family whose experienced it, but no one has ever shared with me if they had.

  10. Jada Says:

    @ Peyso

    Man I was tripping! I thought that aliens were tryna get me or something. The feeling was so weird and scary. It was like I had all my other senses, but I couldn’t move or speak.

  11. ” and my grandma always said that, if your a believer none of the spirits can hurt you, “But they sho can make you hurt yo’self”

    That’s kinda like when people are shouting at church. Don’t they say they never hurt themselves?

  12. Peyso Says:

    in my family this is something that we always discussed. I think like once a year we have like this dark convo, where we talk about ppl who died and ghost and what not. Its not like on a schedule or anything though

  13. cuzzo Says:

    @Nicki

    “Do you feel paralyzing fear when it happens?”

    Yes, paralyzed but not fearful.

    @Jada

    “I started pleading the blood of Jesus,”

    That’s what I was told to do. But, the b!tch came back.

    Did anyone see “The Spiderwick Chronicles”?
    It’s about this little boy who finds a book about all these little monsters and thingies (idk what to call them) that you can only see with a magic stone. I was feeling some type of way like it could be real. A world within our world, that we just can’t see.

  14. “It’s about this little boy who finds a book about all these little monsters and thingies (idk what to call them) that you can only see with a magic stone. I was feeling some type of way like it could be real. A world within our world, that we just can’t see.”

    I have never seen it.

    But it is something that interests me bc I am forever watching those shows about it on tv.

  15. thecomebackgirl Says:

    “It still happens, not often, and in different ways. The other night, the presence (no longer on my back…just there), was around again. Too intense to be a nightmare. Was I awake? Did I yell out? I felt like I was praying out loud. I felt like I was shouting…was I? I’m not the only person this has happened to. But, does this only happen to Christians? I am by far not bible quoting, judgmental Super Christian – so why?”

    Maybe its the fear of the fear..i dunno..i live near an old sanitarium that they closed and never rebuilt and it would be a great backdrop for a movie. They put crazy people in there in the 50s. And earlier people with polio. “hysterical” women. And of course people died there too. but none of it scares me..I will say that i can’t watch a scary movie without a man around..but i also hear mysterious things. Just weird NOT all the time. but when i do i ackmowledge it and move on.

    houseblessings also help. All energy in a house isn’t bad.

  16. Jada Says:

    @Jada

    “I started pleading the blood of Jesus,”

    That’s what I was told to do. But, the b!tch came back

    @ Cuzzo

    After she came back the 2nd time, I anointed my bed and my whole house. I opened the front door and told the demon it had no rights or grounds to me or my house and it had to go back where it came from. I prayed Psalm 91 over my house and haven’t felt it since. Have you tried that? Sounds like you have a persistant one. But you are a child of God…so it has no right to be there…kick it out girl!

  17. cuzzo Says:

    @Peyso

    “I think like once a year we have like this dark convo, where we talk about ppl who died and ghost and what not.”

    We spoke about ghosts or “joombie” (the Caribbean term) when I was younger and my mom told me she saw some things back home. But, we don’t really talk about it now. I don’t believe in “ghosts” or more so the term. I liken to spirit more. I know things have happened and I’m like oh that’s uncle so and so or my Grandma.

  18. Have you guys seen the Serpent and the Rainbow?

    It’s not really dealing with this so much as voodoo, but it’s pretty interesting (and scary!)

  19. Britt Says:

    I have never experienced this myself but I have heard tale of it from some older family members.

  20. cuzzo Says:

    @Jada

    “I prayed Psalm 91 over my house and haven’t felt it since. Have you tried that?”

    Yes, Psalm 91 – that’s it. But I only did that a few times when it first began last year. And, not any of the door open and house anointment.

  21. Jada Says:

    @ Cuzzo

    Gwan and annoint your house girl. Anoint your bed and pillows and your son’s bed. Fling open the door and tell tha miserable heffa to get out of your house….she don’t pay no bills there…and wasn’t even invited!

    I’ll be keeping you lifted dear.

  22. cuzzo Says:

    @Nicki

    “Have you guys seen the Serpent and the Rainbow?”

    Nope. And, if it’s scary, I’m not gonna see it, lol. The Spiderwick Chronicles is a kids movie like Harry Potter, Chronicles of Narnia, etc.

  23. Peyso Says:

    @ Jada – my grandma also always says the spirits listen. You gotta kick em out and be strong with it. God dont always need to handle something in some miraculous way, sometimes He’ll just give you the strenght to do it

  24. cuzzo Says:

    @Jada

    Idk how to anoint. I just say some words and splash some water?

  25. Peyso Says:

    @ cuzzo – just pray and sprash water. look online, im sure u can find it there

  26. “Nope. And, if it’s scary, I’m not gonna see it, lol. The Spiderwick Chronicles is a kids movie like Harry Potter, Chronicles of Narnia, etc.”

    LOL. It’s scary as all get out (and my mama would watch it with us around as kids.) HA

  27. Jada Says:

    @ Peyso

    DYour Grandmother is so wise. I would love to talk to her. And yes…you can commands demons to get out and leave you alone…b/c you belong to God and have no rights to you.

    @ Cuzzo

    Get you some Olive Oil and pray over it or have someone else pray over it. What I usually do it rub it in my hands and lightly touch my bed (as not to leave it a greasy mess) and pray. Then I annoint every door way or window by drawing a light cross with the oil on each side. Heck I even anoint the TV, Phone, Computer, anyway or opening a demon can come through. But be sure to open the door and bedroom and front and tell that old biddy to go. As I’m anointing I usually plead the blood of Jesus. Man I haven’t done any of that in a while. I’mma have to refresh the house.

  28. V renee Says:

    I know Im late but one day I swear there was some type of spirit in my house one day. I yelled for it to get out and that they werent welcome. I never had any further problems.

  29. liryc Says:

    Ok, though I am late and the constant lurker I have to say that I needed to comment on this. Because this happened to me 3 years ago and it is an everyday battle to fight off evil, which is real and God is more than real.. I can testify!

    One night while laying in my bed I felt something crawl on me, and I felt it enter my back, weird but I felt it. I couldn’t scream, nor move nor pray but I found the energy and called my mom, she came into the room and we started to pray about it.. she left and I got up and looked in the mirror and was horrified by what I saw, it could’ve been in a horror movie, my face contorted and I had to call on God to save me. Long story short its been a constant battle. The thing with us and demons is that we fight off the good fight and then when they leave us alone we stop. Thats where the problem lies, we can’t stop.

    I know you are christians so read Luke 11: 24-26, once you get rid of it, it will try and come back, but bring more to help that first one take you over. We have to fight a constant fight. Can’t be sometimeish christians, or christians of convenience. The lord knows, and he hears all things, just continue on praying and calling on him and the blood of Jesus will cover you!

    I say a prayer for you!

  30. Athena Nike Says:

    I had a similar experience years ago, I did not consider myself saved though I was raised in church so I knew the devil/evil spirits. Went to stay with a friend a couple nites while waiting for my apt to be ready to move in. She was very pregnant, depressed & lonely cause she had baby daddy and family issues. N.E. Way later that nite something was on my chest groping me, I could not move. I screamed but did not hear my voice, I knew I was being attacked spiritually. Called on Jesus! and the terror lifted. But then it came back after I slept a while, and somehow I knew it was like her demons/issues where attacking me. They already had her bound, but I was fluttering along in life by the grace of God and prayers of saints, so I was the target. I called on the name of the Lord again, and found the peace to rest. I stayed with her just the one nite, opting for a friends spot where I could SEE the drinking, smoking, etc. spirits going forth, yanno.
    I could tell many other stories from other people, fighting with spirits. God is real, but unfortunately so are the enemies of his people. We were always taught to anoint our homes and places we stay when we arrive because you don’t know what spirits were left behind by previous occupants. I keep blessed oil in my purse. But as Liryc said, we have to be vigilant and not give the devil room in our minds and in our hearts.

  31. Cuzzo Says:

    Powerful, very powerful stories sisters.

    “God is real, but unfortunately so are the enemies of his people.” mmmhmmm

    I still haven’t done the anointing yet but the feeling hasn’t returned.

  32. Kleona61 Says:

    I’m an avid Christian, and I’ve had crazy shit happen to me. Like I’ve talked to two different voices (you know the whole cartoonish angel and devil on one’s shoulder?) and a light blew out during a conversation with the “good” voice. talk about scared the hell out of me…

  33. cuzzo Says:

    Wow Kleona61. That is more than I’ve ever heard actually happen to anyone. Other than a special I once saw on TV about a man who could actually see the demons and smell them. Oh, and he could clearly hear the voice of God as well…who told him, although he was gay, would marry and love a woman…and he did.

    Have you sought spiritual advisement to know what is going on with you?


Leave a Reply

