Single Sisters Speak Out

The Modern Life of the Single Sister

My Ignorance, Your Bliss May 5, 2009

Filed under: Single Sisters On... — cuzzo @ 11:12 pm

I hate when people try to shove their ideals and lifestyle down your throat. Even if you have a point or a good message, I’m not trying to hear you if all you’re doing is ridiculing me during it. That being said this whole swine flu crapola has got the millitants, 5 percenters, muslims, and all around crazy talking negros standing on their soap boxes again.

PORK IS THE DEVIL

PIGS HAVE HIV

YOU’LL GET WORMS IN YOUR BRAIN FROM A PORK CHOP

SWINE IS FILTHY

Really now? Hmmm, I can’t hear you over the crunch of my bacon – mmmMMM good. These types of people that act like you might as well be smoking crack if you eat the pig, get on my damn nerves. I’ve seen facebook comments made that go as far as to say that people that eat pork are ignorant, niggas, and should stop eatting food from massa. COME ON! STOP THE MADNESS. It ain’t that damn serious. Can’t we all just get along? Are we really arguing over the foods we choose to eat? I’m not a gung ho pork eatter either. I rarely have it. But, it totally infuriates me to be called “stupid” and “ignorant” because of what I choose to eat. I don’t think people are wrong because they don’t beleive in the same things I beleive in.

I’m pretty quick to say we agree to disagree. The thing that kills me about these folks is that they are not making the argument because they actually care about the health and well-being of others, they just have big mouths and want to intimidate folks. Process of intimidation, is that the card we’re playing now?

Make your comments whether it be it about intimidation tactics…pork…how you deal with folks who think they are right…how you make people see that you are right, etc.

 

13 Responses to “My Ignorance, Your Bliss”

  1. I had no clue people were taking it this serious! I’m with you, I’m still eating- I had a bacon and egg sandwich this morning matter of fact.

    I am not a big debator- when someone is trying to convince me of something that I am against, I’ll either change the subject or say something smart and walk away. Or I let them think they’ve won and go off and do my own thing.

  2. thecomebackgirl Says:

    I didn’t know pigs had HIV??? LOL….Most meat is getting the side eye from me right now with the exception of chicken and fish. And now chicken is starting to gross me out a little. I had a taste of some red meat a couple of weeks ago, and it grossed me out. It made me feel a little …well i won’t get graphic.

    Part of my issue is less with the meat itself. And more with the way animals are treated and slaughtered. I think its pretty much a selfish proposition when people talk about how dirty a pig is. Or how animal period stays in your system for a long time…AND NOT TALK ABOUT how some of these animals are rasied. how sometimes they get sick as a result of their treatment and die to end up on your plate.

    I have a spiritual belief about too…animals who die tragically and are treated poorly..i don’t want to eat, even given the way that my body digests them.

    i dunno..just my thoughts i dont push it down people’s throats…but black folks do love their red meats and the other white meat.

  3. Shawnta` Says:

    Good morning, y’all.

    @Cuzzo: I don’t think I’ve ever heard anyone say that pigs have HIV. Do people really believe that? Wow. I never heard the part about brain worms either. Again, wow. I agree that people should not try to force their opinions on others, especially when they have no scientific evidence, facts or proof to support their claims.

    @Nicki Sunshine: I’m the opposite of you when it comes to debates. I am a debater and can debate for or against just about anything. Although I enjoy intelligent and healthy debates, I like to do research, if possible so I know what I’m talking about and not just going off of emotion or something I’ve heard others say. Of course, I am usually more passionate debating things I firmly believe in or support. Although I enjoy debate, I refuse to let the debate reach the level of disrespect, ignorance or bullying as if someone can FORCE you to see their side of things. So, I agree with you that there are definitely times to just walk away.

    @CBG: I’m with you on eating chicken or fish. For me, it’s mainly fish, other seafood or sushi. I don’t do this for religious reasons but for health reasons.

  4. miss t-lee Says:

    “Really now? Hmmm, I can’t hear you over the crunch of my bacon – mmmMMM good.”

    This just made me giggle…loudly.

  5. “Although I enjoy intelligent and healthy debates, I like to do research, if possible so I know what I’m talking about and not just going off of emotion or something I’ve heard others say”

    @Shawnta: That’s a great quality. I would love to be able to do it but I don’t have the talent (read: attention span). lol

  6. Peyso Says:

    @CBG – Eat kosher and halal – You dont have to worry about any of that stuff.

    Being the part philosophy major in undergrad, and future law school student, I dont argue what people actually say. I argue alot based on the conclusions they draw. Does your conclusion dar logically from your premise? Are you exhibiting circular reasoning? Is your sample size big enough? Are you trying to infer the status of the whole based on the status of a part?

  7. Cheekie Says:

    *DEAD* @ Swine having HIV. Of course a ninja WOULD make that correlation. SMH.

    As for the swine, I actually considered not eating it anymore because it sorta grosses me out. And I swear to everything that is holy, that not a WEEK LATER, there was a breaking news report about this mysterious H1N1 (I love referring to it as that…lol) flu. I’m not a huge fan of ham, I LOVE turkey bacon (I’m a carnivore, pork bacon has too much fat for me, the leaner the better), and I won’t really miss pork breakfast sausages (other than being at the sister’s house where that’s all she has…so I guess I’d be missing out on meat for breakfast) or pork chops. Those two pork items are the things I actually cared for, because I never touched that extreme ish like chittlins and hog maws and other mess.

  8. Peyso Says:

    On a slightly related side note, consider this: Thousands die from Swine Flu, we wear mask. Millions die from AIDS, we still dont wear condoms

  9. Britt Says:

    Great post. *I hate when people try to shove their ideals and lifestyle down your throat* I agree wholeheartedly. Many of these people don’t have business to mind so they want to dictate yours. I am more of the Jay-Z module – “What you eat don’t make s*&!”.

  10. Junior Says:

    Being the conspiracy theorist that I am, I actually think the media has hyped this up to serve as a distraction from the economy. Yes, arguably pigs are filthy animals, I can’t lie, they do some pretty nasty stuff, and they aren’t always prepared in the most sanitary way. *As I eat my pan sausage* But, its really NOT as serious as they are making it out to be, yes, it should be acknowledged, but its not strikingly different from the regular flu. In fact, 16,000+ people died from the swine flue last year, ONE person has passed in America, and sadly she just had a baby so i’m sure her immune system was on strike at that point.

    The real thing we need to be freaking out over are these gases prices that are trying to pull an okiedoke and creep back up!!

  11. Cheekie Says:

    Peyso – “On a slightly related side note, consider this: Thousands die from Swine Flu, we wear mask. Millions die from AIDS, we still dont wear condoms”

    Speak on it!

  12. “The real thing we need to be freaking out over are these gases prices that are trying to pull an okiedoke and creep back up!!”

    I saw that. what the effe is going on?

  13. Ms. Eighty's Baby Says:

    The real thing we need to be freaking out over are these gases prices that are trying to pull an okiedoke and creep back up!!

    @Junior… I’m with you on that….. I was like what the effe when I passed a gas station and it was 2.25…. I was like where the heck that come from????? Yeah, the media has everybody in a frenzy!!!!


Leave a Reply

