Single Sisters Speak Out

The Modern Life of the Single Sister

And We All Know….. May 27, 2009

Filed under: Single Sisters On... — peyso @ 11:36 pm

 

 

That the best people chef are men. I’m sure that there are plenty who would agree and that there are more who would disagree. Many people think that there aint nobody who cook better that Big Mama. Well, they are in fact wrong because Big Papa (Pause) can throw down (Pause Again). As the only regular male contributor at SSSO, I would like to think that we are all about the occasional role reversal. Women with an endless libito who can take a dude out for an occassional meal and men who can clean and sh!t too. I think men who cant trade places are at a serious disadvantage. And since my graceful departure from the game, almost a year ago (seems like forever, which went by smoothly), I’ve been all about evening the playing field. SO in the spirit of yesterday’s post, I present my list of recipes for summer of 09.  These are some easy things that if done correctly will make you seem like Chef Boyardee. (Some of these were provided by world reknown DJ R2daizza. follow him on twitter @djrtodaizza).

Jambalaya
Ingredients:
1/2 pound smoked kielbasa sausage, sliced into 1/2-inch thick rounds
3 cups chopped vegetables (onion, green bell pepper, celery)
1 3/4 cups chicken broth or water
1 cup uncooked regular rice
1 (14 1/2 ounce) can diced tomatoes with green chilies, un-drained
1/4 cup of some really, really hot sauce.

1 pound large shrimp, peeled and deveined
(Can add chicken)

Cooking Directions:
Cook sausage in Dutch oven or deep skillet over medium-high heat 5 minutes or until lightly browned. Add vegetables; cook and stir 3 minutes or until crisp-tender.
Stir in broth, rice, tomatoes and some of that real Hot Sauce that you have your cousin bring you back when they make their yearly trip to the country. Heat to a boil. Reduce heat to medium-low. Cook, covered, 15 minutes or until rice is almost done, stirring once.
Stir in shrimp. Cook 5 minutes longer until shrimp turn pink and rice is fully cooked. Garnish with chopped fresh parsley, if desired.

Ribs

 

Wash off baby back ribs….trim off fat 

Put in pan . Pour about 1/2 cup apple cider or wine vinegar.

Season with chili powder , seas. salt, pepper, garlic powder

Cover with foil bake at 400 for an hour or until tender.

Pour off most of dipping.

Pour on barbecue sauce. Cover with foil . Lower temp unil 350.

Cook for 15 min.

Uncover and for another 10 min.

 

 

 

Lasagna

 

1 pound sweet Italian sausage

3/4 pound lean ground beef

1/2 cup minced onion

2 cloves garlic, crushed

1 (28 ounce) can crushed tomatoes

2 (6 ounce) cans tomato paste

2 (6.5 ounce) cans canned tomato sauce

1/2 cup water

2 tablespoons white sugar

1 1/2 teaspoons dried basil leaves

1/2 teaspoon fennel seeds

1 teaspoon Italian seasoning

1 tablespoon salt

1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper

4 tablespoons chopped fresh parsley

12 lasagna noodles

16 ounces ricotta cheese

1 egg

1/2 teaspoon salt

3/4 pound mozzarella cheese, sliced

3/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese

  1. In a Dutch oven, cook sausage, ground beef, onion, and garlic over medium heat until well browned. Stir in crushed tomatoes, tomato paste, tomato sauce, and water. Season with sugar, basil, fennel seeds, Italian seasoning, 1 tablespoon salt, pepper, and 2 tablespoons parsley. Simmer, covered, for about 1 1/2 hours, stirring occasionally.
  2. Bring a large pot of lightly salted water to a boil. Cook lasagna noodles in boiling water for 8 to 10 minutes. Drain noodles, and rinse with cold water. In a mixing bowl, combine ricotta cheese with egg, remaining parsley, and 1/2 teaspoon salt.
  3. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C).
  4. To assemble, spread 1 1/2 cups of meat sauce in the bottom of a 9×13 inch baking dish. Arrange 6 noodles lengthwise over meat sauce. Spread with one half of the ricotta cheese mixture. Top with a third of mozzarella cheese slices. Spoon 1 1/2 cups meat sauce over mozzarella, and sprinkle with 1/4 cup Parmesan cheese. Repeat layers, and top with remaining mozzarella and Parmesan cheese. Cover with foil: to prevent sticking, either spray foil with cooking spray, or make sure the foil does not touch the cheese.
  5. Bake in preheated oven for 25 minutes. Remove foil, and bake an additional 25 minutes. Cool for 15 minutes before serving.

 If ya have any other quick recipes, feel free to add…

 

20 Responses to “And We All Know…..”

  1. Oh-KAY Peyso. I am not mad at you at all. I will be trying your lasagna recipe very soon.

    I don’t have a whole lot of recipes committed to memory- I’m always trying stuff from allrecipes.com and recipezaar.com

  2. Here’s one I use a lot:

    http://www.recipezaar.com/Red-Lobster-Cheddar-Bay-Biscuits-Copycat-9494

    Instead of using the garlic powder, use Old Bay Seasoning though.

  3. Shawnta` Says:

    @Peyso, very cool. I LOVE & enjoy cooking (it actually relaxes me). My husband however, does not cook at all. He has promised to prepare a meal for me soon though…check back in about 6 months. 🙂 He asked me to help him find a simple, no mess up recipe. I love jambalaya so I’ll share your recipe with him.

    @Nicki: I’m the same way…even dishes/meals that I make all the time & are my “specialty” or often requested, I still at least have the recipe handy in case I forget something while trying to do it from memory. I have many cookbooks and like you, I get recipes online. I love the Food Network and can keep it there for hours. I also go to the library for cookbooks. I can’t get enough of trying new recipes. I’ll be trying the lasagna recipe from Peyso as well.

  4. “I can’t get enough of trying new recipes”

    @Shawnta: Me too. definitely not afraid to experiment. There is this receipe that I saw on Cooking with the Neely’s called Get Yo Man chicken that I want to try.

  5. thecomebackgirl Says:

    I consider myself to be a cooker but pure white cane sugar in lasagne???? also who the hell has a dutch oven LOL..

    In addition…i can’t eat any of this right now..so im mad too.

  6. miss t-lee Says:

    I have a dutch oven…lol

  7. Shawnta` Says:

    @cbg: I’m not supposed to be eating it either. Weight loss & getting healthier overall is definitely a priority for me & my husband right now. I guess…all in moderation?

    @Nicki: I love the Neelys. I know exactly which recipe you’re referring to.

  8. thecomebackgirl Says:

    “I have a dutch oven…lol”

    Cast iron cookware…

    i was thinking before i wiki’d a DUTCH oven with an open fire..

  9. “@Nicki: I love the Neelys. I know exactly which recipe you’re referring to.”

    They way they were tasting it and moaning, I just have to try. LMAO.

    All in moderation is good… I think you should have a day to cheat or just eat smaller portions.

  10. “Cast iron cookware…

    i was thinking before i wiki’d a DUTCH oven with an open fire..”

    lol

  11. peyso Says:

    As a man who likes to eat and who is in the process of losing weight (loss around 40lbs since this time last year), I know that you use these recipes everyday you will not lose weight. Use it on your cheat day, or when you know you will have alot of company so that they eat it all

  12. Jaci Says:

    Peyso-Great recipes. I’ve been wanting to do spaghetti again but maybe I’ll try your lasagna.

    mmmmm…glad I got this cereal or I’d be tryna make that jumbalaya

  13. Lovely Paradox Says:

    Great recipes! And there are always ways to trim fat from all those regular recipes. Like Shawnta, I cook to decompress/relax but do most things by head or creative spurts. Unless I am baking, I seldom use a recipe… which brings me to the reason why men are better chefs than women.

    In restaurants, customers expect the EXACT same thing every time they come to eat. Men are methodical with their cooking and can follow a recipe to the tee –> Same recipes over and over –> satisfied customers.
    Women on the other hand (Big mama) cook with more spontaneity and creativity. In a restaurant business that can be a very, very bad thing…

    My theory as to why men make better chefs than women.

    🙂

  14. Shawnta` Says:

    @LP: Good theory there. That probably is why a man that can throw down is so desired.

    I may do a bit more or less here and there but for the most part, I stick to the recipe. 🙂 I HATE ruining a dish/meal. I always want it to be perfect and would probably “cry” if my husband said “this doesn’t taste the same or did you add something different or take something out.”…lol. I’m kidding. I wouldn’t cry but I would be mad at myself for changing it up (why mess up a good thing or try to fix it if it ain’t broke)…unless he said it’s different as in BETTER…then you wouldn’t be able to tell me nothing. LOL.

  15. Shawnta` Says:

    Cast iron cookware is the best. I love it. I registered for (and actually rec’d it as a wedding gift) a Le Creuset set…good thing too because only God knows when I would have paid for it myself. 🙂

  16. peyso Says:

    My grandmom is the guru of all things kitchen appliances (I mean what else is a woman who retired and receives a pension from one job, collects social security and has another job that she receives a paycheck from is to spend her money on) she gave me an almost brand new set of non stick cast iron pans. i can work wonders in that thing

  17. Lovely Paradox Says:

    @Peyso,

    Your grandma is the best! I absolutely love kitchen appliances. Just love them.

  18. Athena Nike Says:

    Great post. @Shawnta, I think everyone should own a good cast iron skillet (still working on curing mine) but I live by my stainless steel.
    @Nikki, I saw that episode. Don’t really care for the Neely’s show but I do hit up the food network site for recipes I see on other shows, or reference to what I should put in/with certain foods.

  19. Khristal Says:

    I love cheddar biscuits!! Thanks girl

  20. @Athena: I hear you loud and clear… I can’t really sit there and watch them bc their voices irritate me. lol. My cousin was telling me about that chicken and I just had to try.

    @Khristal: No problem chica!


Leave a Reply

