Single Sisters Speak Out

The Modern Life of the Single Sister

SSSO Reviews: Star Trek, Up, and Angels&Demons June 3, 2009

Filed under: Single Sisters On... — cuzzo @ 12:05 am
Star Trek

Star Trek

This flick is ancient in movies years but if you haven’t seen it…still good enough NOT to wait for it to go to DVD (which will probably be next week). My faith in movie adaptations has been renewed. It’s been a long time since I had fun at the movies and must say that I thoroughly enjoyed myself.  I’m not a “trekkie” and have limited Star Trek knowlege but many of the lines in the movie cued me into just how iconic Star Trek is in America. And after hearing them in their proper context (not just Ace Ventura movies), they made more sense: “Dammit Jim, I’m a doctor…”, “I can’t do it Captain, I don’t have the power”, “Beam me up, Scotty.” I loved the cameos from Tyler Perry and the orginal Spock, Leonard Nemoy. In short there’s a lot of action, comedy, and even drama. I thought the movie was going to be more about the captain we’ve all grown to know, Captain James Tiberius Kirk…but I felt the focus was mostly on Spock. The plot revolves around old Spocky though tales of friendship, love, and revenge.

Up

Up

Hooray for movies! I don’t think I’ve seen a Pixar movie that I didn’t like (yet). I took my 2-year-old son to see this and (as usual) was more entertained than he was. It was a little more emotionally involved than I’d like my cartoons to be but hey, gotta keep the adults in the loop too, I guess, and begin to teach life lessons to the youngins as awell – like love, death, what’s real, what’s not. I think a child was crying when one of the characters got bitten by a dog (poor young gay lad…hope he get’s over it).  I gatherd the plot covered living out your dreams, continuing to have new ones and making decisions based on the greater good. I’d say you can see this one without the kiddies but then you’d just look weird. There’s plenty of times for one to laugh, applaud (if they do that in your town), and maybe even shed a tear and go awwwww. What’s it about? The old man (who’s name esacapes me) is on a mission to fulfil a dream he’d had since he was a boy – to live on top of Paradise Falls (some ficticious or at least hard to get to, place). He’d lived a long life with his wife and his dream became theirs but as with most dreams, it became defered…the wife past away and the little old man just could not find his footing in the world anymore. Along his journey he finds that he cares about more than himself and makes friends with an endangered bird, a talking dog *squirel* – this will make more sense when you see the movie ;), and a little boy scout. I could write a thesis on this movie but eh, go see it, and make your own judgements.

Angels and Demons

Angels&Demons

I read the book about 4 years ago and from what I can remember, the movie was dead on. Another one to go see…and I went to see this by myself…so try it if none of your friends are tryna go. I was intrigued from start to finish. I don’t want to give away too much but it’s about the battle between science and religion…something like that…and fear is the common denomenator. (Side Note: I stayed and watch most of the credits. *nods at CBG*)

 

13 Responses to “SSSO Reviews: Star Trek, Up, and Angels&Demons”

  1. I’ve seen Star Trek in Imax and Loved it!!! Normally, I hate sci fi and could not stand the show as my daddy used to spend hours on end watching it but the movie was very entertaining. I also felt most of the focus was on Spock.

    Thinkin I’ll take my little cousins to see Up.

    I also want to see Angels and Demons.

    I saw Drag Me to Hell this weekend and it was so gross that it was almost comical. I do not recommend it.

  2. No. Says:

    I saw Up with my girl last weekend. I thought it was cool, at first I thought the death part may have been a little heavy for children but I guess it was done in a not too harsh way.

  3. J Money Says:

    I am not “Trekkie” by any means but I really liked Star Trek. I watched some of the original series shows (when extremely bored) so majority of the main characters I knew them even the villians. I like how it went back to the beginning and told how the Starship Enterprise came to be. I enjoyed seeing how Kirk became Captain because from what I hear the TV series never really covered that. That was the translation I got from people who watched the original and the the modern version when they were on tv.

    I don’t know about Angel & Demons and Up seems cool but I would need some kids for Up.

    I cannot wait for Transformers: Revenge and G.I.Joe!!

  4. Cynthia Says:

    Okay I am going to check out star trek this weekend!

  5. thecomebackgirl Says:

    “(Side Note: I stayed and watch most of the credits. *nods at CBG*)”

    I MUST see this movie then. I am intrigued about this Illuminati group.

  6. cuzzo Says:

    “I saw Drag Me to Hell this weekend and it was so gross that it was almost comical. I do not recommend it.”

    @Nicki – I don’t like those kinds of movies. Call me a scaredy cat but the last movie I saw in the theater like that was “The Ring”. That did it for me….no mas!

    “at first I thought the death part may have been a little heavy for children but I guess it was done in a not too harsh way.”

    @No – They left it up to the parents really…cause she kinda just disappears. And did you notice that they couldn’t have kids? They ran through their whole life silently. Only an adult could feel the significance of some of the scenes – like the boy scout and his father.

    “I don’t know about Angel & Demons and Up seems cool but I would need some kids for Up.
    I cannot wait for Transformers: Revenge and G.I.Joe!!”

    @J Money – Angels&Demons is a mystery and had I not read the book, probably would not have been interested either. I fell asleep during Davinci Code – but I didn’t read that one and I tried watching it on TV so that may have caused the snooze. If you like mysteries…it’s a GO!
    Re: GI Joe – I just cannot take Marlon Wayans seriously!!! lol

  7. cuzzo Says:

    “I MUST see this movie then. I am intrigued about this Illuminati group.”
    @CBG

    I highly recommend it. You will not be disappointed. You get the history (the Illuminati and the Church) and mystery all in one.

  8. Peyso Says:

    @ Nicki – Drag me to Hell is actually a comedy. At least thats what the review said about it

  9. “@Nicki – I don’t like those kinds of movies. Call me a scaredy cat but the last movie I saw in the theater like that was “The Ring”. That did it for me….no mas!”

    LMAO. No no mas… the Ring was scary as hell. I get scared and my heart palpitates, but I guess I like it bc I keep watching (stuppid. lol)

    ” Nicki – Drag me to Hell is actually a comedy. At least thats what the review said about it”

    @Peyso: Sooo now I am pissed. If I would have known that before, I would have not gone to see it.

  10. miss t-ee Says:

    I’m not a huge Sci-Fi fan either but Star Trek was the buisness!!! 🙂

    I used to watch the old skool series with my Dad and I was on permanent eye roll. After watching the new movie, I think I actually might get it now…lol

  11. Shawnta` Says:

    Hey, y’all. Just now getting around to checking in.

    @Nicki: I like the new pic.

    @Cuzzo: I’m with you; there is no way I’m seeing Drag Me to Hell. I hate scary movies and books and have NO problem admitting I’m a chicken. LOL 🙂

    I do want to see Up and Star Trek. I wanted to see Star Trek opening weekend but never got around to it and just haven’t had a chance really since. Maybe we can see it this weekend.

    I’m not sure that I’ll see Angels and Demons. I haven’t seen The DaVinci Code either. I’ve heard that both films are really good so maybe I’ll watch both one day.

  12. Thanks Shawnta’: I can’t even see it yet. lol

  13. Athena Nike Says:

    Star Trek was good, just seemed a little short. Terminator did as well. I will consider going to see Angels & Demons, but not really interested in kid films, at least not in the theatre, I’ll wait. Nor can I watch Drag Me To Hell, topic does not even appeal to me. I need to be able to FF/pause/mute horror films. I am also eager for Transformers and GI Joe, but can not get with Marlon Wayans either. Also waiting for that new Columbus Short movie that comes out in Aug/Sept.


Leave a Reply

