Single Sisters Speak Out

The Modern Life of the Single Sister

If You Couldn’t Fail…. June 5, 2009

Filed under: Single Sisters On... — Holly GoLightly @ 7:34 am
Tags: ,

Fail

Every since maybe February or March my job has been in major trip mode! My current COO feels the need to pick and choose a new person to annihilate each month, and honestly it’s not that many of us around here, but she has it to a point where the morale is low and no one wants to be here. Recently, someone told my manager (who also acts as the HR Manager) that everyone pretty much has one foot in and one foot out. Imagine my surprise to hear that this comment was made and the person was immediately targeted.

I pretty much got it my “f you, pay me mode” when I became a target. I don’t know what put me on Schindler’s list, but I know for 3 weeks straight I was threatened with being let go by my Manager and Director at the time. The irony of the situation was that they were also on Schindler’s List and were actually demoted. So after there demotion I was taken off the list and now I am back to playing the Corporate America ball game- Arrive, Smile, Work, Don’t draw too much attention, and Leave. The stress of this (and the last two days of being cooped up in a conference room with my co-workers) all has really made me start thinking about the quote, “What would you attempt to do if you knew you could not fail?” My answer is I would open up my open boutique that would specialize in carry items by independent regional designers. Everything would be inexpensive and one of a kind (in a good way). To help foster this dream I have started looking into different jewelry, sewing, and design classes around the city. Last night I contacted someone from Craigslist who offers private sewing lessons and am hoping to start with her this weekend!! With all that is going on at my job I feel like even if they let me go today I would still be okay and that God will provide me with my every want, need, and desire, as well as, a bigger & better opportunity!!

So my question to you is: What would you attempt to do if you knew you couldn’t fail?

 

27 Responses to “If You Couldn’t Fail….”

  1. J Money Says:

    What would you attempt to do if you knew you couldn’t fail?

    I would open up my own IT Consulting firm for small businesses. Helping them get their IT infrastructure off the ground and running. Hopefully turning that into a larger operation where I can do it for larger businesses.

    Side dream is to open a club and restaurant which both would be in the same building but neither would be disturbed by the other.

    Then I want to start coaching little boys basketball, teaching teamwork, focus, and discipline. I can do that now though, just have to find the right league to start.

  2. Hol- what do you do at your job?

    I love your idea…. please make your stuff available online for us who aren’t in the Black Mecca. lol (And yes I am speaking your dream into existence).

    This is coming at the perfect time for me, as I am at a crossroads with what I am going to do for the rest of my life.

    I’m not even sure if there’s a title for this job but if I could do anything and be successful in it, I’d read books. Whether proofreading or giving the author’s my opinions before it came out, whatever, I’d do it. That way I could read anywhere I wanted (I’m sick of being cooped up in an office) and I can escape into stories all the time. Oh, I could even read while laying on South Beach!

  3. Holly GoLightly Says:

    @J Money- That is a very lucrative business! I wish I had kinda minored or something in Computer Science.

    @Nick- I work in Operations Management. I submitted my resume last night for some things and updated my Linked In profile.

    And yes I definitely would make it available online! LOL! Nick it sounds like you want to do Editorial like work.

  4. “Nick it sounds like you want to do Editorial like work.”

    @Hol: If I could start all over again, I prolly would’ve went ahead and majored in English but I was scared and chose something more reliable and practical. But yes, I’d do that.

  5. Shawnta` Says:

    Morning, y’all!

    If I could seriously make a nice living off of it without failing, I would (much like @Nicki) be a book, movie or food critic. I think it would be cool to get a pilot’s license as well…but that’s more for fun than a career.

  6. if i knew I couldn’t fail, I’d bet a billionaire his fortune in a game of h.o.r.s.e.

    im gettin money.

    naw…i always told people I’d do this.

    1. be a world star superstar rapper/songwriter at night
    2. motorcycle race in offseasons
    3. hustle pool
    4. travel the world and salsa
    5. get money.

    Basically have fun for a living.

  7. Dr. J Says:

    I’d be a writer. I’d write my own personal stuff, compilations of essays and topics from my blogs. But i’d also like to be a biographist and follow around famous people and just write about their lives and stories.

  8. “Nick- I work in Operations Management. I submitted my resume last night for some things and updated my Linked In profile. ”

    @Hol: Good idea… your current work environment sounds stressful and it doesn’t even have anything to do with the job.

  9. J Money Says:

    @Nicki: I think you just want to be on the beach LOL!!

  10. Shawn Smith Says:

    Go to photography school and open my own studio.

    And I’m not talking about one of those mall studios where people go after they get their outfits.

  11. ashbunnie Says:

    If I knew I couldn’t fail, I would either be a Rapper. My name would be Ash Bunniekins OR I would be a hairstylist with my own salon and it would be named Doobies n Pins.

  12. Jaci Says:

    Well I don’t think I can fail…

    I want to do event planning…that’s what I’ve been wanting to do forever and well that’s exactly what I am working on…I’ve made my business cards and I am working to do corporate events with a company next week.

    After that, aside from the real career training I am going to have a non-profit for unwed pregnant teens. I want to help them see that after everything they can still go on and be something successful.

  13. J Money Says:

    “My name would be Ash Bunniekins”

    @Ash: I am done after that LOL!!

  14. “@Nicki: I think you just want to be on the beach LOL!!”

    @J: U aw-ready know.

  15. Ms. Eighty's Baby Says:

    I contacted someone from Craigslist who offers private sewing lessons and am hoping to start with her this weekend!!

    @Holly… Make sure you give her name and address of where y’all meeting up to one of your friends…

    But I would open a bookstore/family cafe. Create a fun filled family atmosphere……

  16. Holly GoLightly Says:

    Ok Im outta being cooped up!!

    @Nick- I was a double majoring with English concentration Creative Writing. I dropped it to go ahead and graduate but I am going back to complete it.

    @Shawn Smith- I actually had a friend who just started her Photography business and things are BOOMING! She has done a lot of Album release parties here and other well known events.

    @Ashbunnie- HILARE!

    @Jac- GREAT

    @80’s- LOL! She works with Hancock Fabrics but doesnt charge that amount.

  17. Cheekie Says:

    Great topic. I’d say professional screenwriting (those who know me know it’s my love), but this is something I’m extra-determined to do so “what if” hasn’t even entered my mind. I plan to accomplish it, period. I refuse to accept otherwise. lol

    If there is one thing I could do and I couldn’t fai it would be: become a professional dancer. I love to dance, but the technique of it all, I don’t really know. But, I love and admire people who can express themselves through dance and I don’t have more fun than when I’m dancing whether in a club or taking a dance class. If this were another life, I’d do that. I’d be the chick who was dancing since she was 2 and all that jazz.

  18. Holly GoLightly Says:

    I feel ya Cheekie. I appreciate that quality in people too… but you know they have to not really care about money too much.

  19. “@Nick- I was a double majoring with English concentration Creative Writing. I dropped it to go ahead and graduate but I am going back to complete it.”

    @Hol: Really??? My wheels are turning now. I just don’t want to it to put me further behind. I’m going to talk to someone in the English Department

  20. Lovely Paradox Says:

    Oh my, so many things!! I have two notebooks full of possible ideas that will eventually mature… or not.

    But the first thing I would do (which I am working on) will be open a warm and relaxing B&B/Spa specialized in holistic healing (organic food, homeotherapy, plant-based beauty products) with products grown and prepared on the premises. The B&B will be located in the countryside of my homecountry, preferably near the sea or at least a body of water. Yup, that’s what I would do first.

  21. Tatica Says:

    I feel like the universe is sending me signs, shout outs and e-vites to get working on my dreams and this here post is just another one!

    I want to run an agency that serves kids and young adults, primarily, with financial literacy and related areas. As in, basic financial literacy, workshops on work ethic, how to dress, mock interviews, how to finance college, and be a clearing house for financial resources…the things that emcompass a healthy relationship with money, how to get it and how to manage what you have.

    I started doing research months ago and lagged off. I realize I’ve just been afraid to move forward in fear of failure, but that’s just another way of saying I’m afraid of success and we can’t have that!

  22. Holly GoLightly Says:

    @Nick- Do it! I love writing… when I have the time and am not out in the skreets! LOL

    @LP- HMMMMM BB and SPA!!!!! I love that idea!

    @Tatica- That’s a great idea! I say get yourself going….

  23. “I want to run an agency that serves kids and young adults, primarily, with financial literacy and related areas. As in, basic financial literacy, workshops on work ethic, how to dress, mock interviews, how to finance college, and be a clearing house for financial resources…the things that emcompass a healthy relationship with money, how to get it and how to manage what you have.”

    @tatica: Mikki is good with this.. u should get with her.

    “@Nick- Do it! I love writing… when I have the time and am not out in the skreets! LOL”

    @Hol: Did you say out in the skreets? LMAO. U are not gangsta!

  24. Holly GoLightly Says:

    LOL! Yes Nick! Skreets! LOL

  25. V Renee Says:

    I would like to open a clinic/run a clinic. My sister is a nurse and is going back to school to be a nurse practioner.

    I feel like I need to go back to school/change jobs to get more experience in healthcare, but I DON’T WANT TO GIVE SCHOOL ANYMORE MONEY!! hehehe.

    I truly wish I was some kind of performer -ie dancer/singer. He.l.l even an artist. But I am not good at any of them. A girl can wish though.

  26. Athena Nike Says:

    I’d start a new niche cable network, become a wedding/event coordinator, and invest in some franchises. Well, the latter 2 I am looking into anyway. If I could get in just to see how intense it really is, I would go to Med school.

  27. V dot Says:

    I’d write full time and finally get the novel that is inside of me out!


Leave a Reply

