Single Sisters Speak Out

The Modern Life of the Single Sister

Randoms! June 7, 2009

Filed under: Randoms — Sunny @ 10:00 pm

I was gonna write something deep today. But I’m exhausted.  I was in a wedding this weekend and here’s a pic of the bride.  I thought she was gorgeous- I’m kinda proud (my girl hardly ever dresses up.)

Ty's wedding

Sooo, excuse me TMCY while I borrow your idea for five random questions:

1.  What’s the name of one movie that could sum up your entire life?

2.  If you went to ATM and typed in $40.00 but it gave you $140.00, what would you do?  (The caveat: your statement says it gave you $40.00.)

3.  If there was one dish that you had to eat every day for breakfast, lunch, and dinner for the rest of your life, what would it be?

4.  If you could be any celebrity in the world, who would it be?

5.  Does love, really, conquer all?

 

32 Responses to “Randoms!”

  1. pgh muse Says:

    If I got $140.00 from the bank machine, but was only trying to withdrawal $40… and my statement only accounted for the $40.00 I took out? I would keep that money and keep it moving. I’d consider it a blessing lol.

  2. Shawnta` Says:

    Morning, y’all.

    @Nicki: Where are you answers? 🙂 That’s a great photo. She looks beautiful & happy.

    1. I’ll have to think about this one. I don’t think any one movie really sums up my life.
    2. If it’s during normal business hours, I would take it in the bank and let a teller know. If it’s after business hours, I’d wait until the next business day to return it. While I would want to look at it as a blessing, I believe in karma and TRY to do the right thing so good will come back to me.
    3. Too much of anything makes me sick after awhile but I guess I’d say salad because there are so many different kinds of salads and I can top them with something different each day at each meal.
    4. I wouldn’t BE them per se but I’d want to be like Prince, Eddie Murphy, Dave Chappelle, Lauryn Hill…all described as reclusive. I’d like to have the wealth, the fame and the recognition & respect of celebrity but I’d also like to be left alone unless I agree to be interviewed or photographed…on my terms.
    5. I’m often described as a romantic, an idealist & an optimist (& even naive) but I’d like to think I’m just being Biblical when I say “Yes, love does really conquer all.”

  3. J Money Says:

    1. My movie would be the movie “Life”. Reason being they were dealt a bad hand but they made the most of their situation the best they could. And in the end they didn’t let nothing beat them, and achieved their goal no matter the age.

    2. After a serious thought process about what it could go towards LOL!! I would take it back.

    3. I would say that I could have Olive Gardens salad and breadsticks everyday without any questions.

    4. I would be Lebron James because he has the money, fame, the charisma, sense of humor, and no drama has hit the fan about him. All those things will keep him employed well after his basketball days are done.

    5. I would not say “Love Conquers All”. Only reason is you can love someone to death and they not love you back. And because they don’t love you back, then there is really nothing you can do to change the situation. They say you can’t make someone love you so can it really conquer all??

  4. Thanks on her behalf Shawnta. LOL. I totally forgot to put my answer.

    1. My life could pretty much be summed up in any teeny bopper old school movie where the uckly duckling blossomed into something someone actually wanted. lol.

    2. I’d prolly take it back (I’m so scerry, that I’d think there was still some way they’d track me.)

    3. Pizza. I’d live on pizza (all kinds)

    4. I would be the female version of Bill Gates.. he has the money and the brains but yet, the papparazzi doesn’t care about him enough to stalk him when he’s coming out of a restaurant.

    5. Love does not conquer all. If we were poor, and I’m starving, I could really care less how much you love me. I need food.

  5. “5. I’m often described as a romantic, an idealist & an optimist (& even naive) but I’d like to think I’m just being Biblical when I say “Yes, love does really conquer all.””

    Additonally, God’s Love does conquer all.

  6. Dr. J Says:

    1. Closer, with Jude Law & Julia Roberts. Because nothing really ever seems to go my way. But the end of every episode leaves open hope that it will get better at some point.

    2. Take out another $40 and see what happens.

    3. Rice & Egg.

    4. Dave Chappelle. I love to make people laugh. I also like to come off slightly ridiculous, but offer some compelling points that cause people to think i’m a lot smarter than I let on.

    5. Nope, because it’s a couple women in my past that I loved, but I know they were not right for me. We wouldn’t conquer a meal together.

  7. “2. Take out another $40 and see what happens.”

    LMAO. Dr. J: I Love this answer!

  8. “And in the end they didn’t let nothing beat them, and achieved their goal no matter the age.”

    @J: This is speaking to me today.. I need to stop concentrating so much on my age.

  9. Comeback Girl Says:

    1. The Divine Secrets of the YaYa Sisterhood

    2. Give it back. A) this mistakes ARE always discovered B) I don’t need bad karma.

    3. quiche lorraine

    4. nadda

    5. i think so.

  10. Comeback Girl Says:

    nice pic…

  11. Thanks Comeback!

    “. The Divine Secrets of the YaYa Sisterhood”

    I love this movie!

  12. Shawnta` Says:

    @Nicki: Your answer to #5 made me think of Anthony Hamilton’s “Cool”…lol. But that’s a fair point.

  13. @Shawnta’: Exactly!!!! thanks 😉

  14. Cheekie Says:

    Aw, look at Nicki! The bride looks gorgeous and so do you girl! What a lovely bridesmaid color she picked for ya’ll.

    Hmm, great random questions.

    1. This is a toughie. Need to take a raincheck on this one. lol I do wanna know, is it the title itself or the plot of the movie? Those can be two different things in a lot of cases.
    2. Keep it. Banks have probably screwed me over without me knowing it. lol
    3. Rice.
    4. Oprah. Even though she has a lot of pressure on her, I imagine she has a lot of fun to make up for it.
    5. Wow, that’s deep. I’d like to think so. Don’t know for sure…which is probably the fun part. 😉

  15. Thanks Cheekie. She did a great job in picking a color that would fit everyone.

    “I do wanna know, is it the title itself or the plot of the movie? Those can be two different things in a lot of cases.”

    I was thinking of the actual plot.

  16. J Money Says:

    @CBG: I find it hard to believe there is no one you would trade places with for a week, day, hour, and just live it up!!

  17. V Renee Says:

    1. This is hard. I am going to think on it, and get back to you.

    2. Keep it. I’ve had this happen before. I super broke and in college. I thought it was God helping me out, like I know you’re broke so here you go.

    3. This is hard, because whatever it is I would get tired of it. But I am going to go with some good azz chicken wings. I would try to change the sauces up to fool myself – one day hot sauce, another bleu cheese, ranch, spicy garlic sauce….whatever

    4. Hmmmmm a celebrity?? Ima go with Kanye. Or even Lil Wayne. They’re both crazy/off. I wanna know what goes on in their heads. But just for a day though.

    5. I think so. But it doesn’t necessarily have to be romantic love. I think love in general can.

  18. V Renee Says:

    Oh yeah, both of yall look good!! I like that color on you.

  19. “This is hard, because whatever it is I would get tired of it. But I am going to go with some good azz chicken wings. I would try to change the sauces up to fool myself – one day hot sauce, another bleu cheese, ranch, spicy garlic sauce….whatever”

    Girl, have u tried them Rally’s Chicken wings??? Two words: Garlic Parmesan.

  20. Shawnta` Says:

    Girl, have u tried them Rally’s Chicken wings??? Two words: Garlic Parmesan.

    @Nicki: Hilarious. Are Rally’s chicken wings really good? I didn’t even know they had them until my husband came home one day and asked if I knew they had them. They have different sauces/rubs too? I’ll have to try them on one of my “off/free/treat” days.

  21. Shawnta` Says:

    @Nicki: Meant to say you looked great too! Did you take your SO/PH? Were y’all getting ideas?

  22. @Shawta;: Girl eys.. they are so good. BUT they are greasy as all get out.. don’t try to eat them in the car.

    Thanks girl. He didn’t go…He had to work and plus I didn’t want him to be bored bc I was doing a lot of the bridal stuff and I didn’t know anyone in either of the families that I’d pick to keep him company.

  23. Shawnta` Says:

    @Nicki: Good plan…he probably appreciates that you thought that through and didn’t leave him stranded at some table with the kids or something. 🙂

  24. @Shawta’: I hope so… MAN there was some hood people there. I won’t even start on that. lol.

    She had a no children policy, which I loved.. but the flower girls and ring beareres were there though.

  25. Shawnta` Says:

    @Nicki: I’ve heard of that before…the “no children” policy.

  26. @Shawnta’: For my reception, I might want to do that too… it was nice, especially bc there was liquor involved.

  27. Shawnta` Says:

    @Nicki: That’s cool. I think you & your PH should definitely do what y’all want…it’s y’all day. While weddings are a family affair and children are part of the family, no children policies can be good for several reasons:

    1. It allows all the adults to REALLY kick back, have a good time & enjoy themselves.

    2. No one has to stop to take a young one to the restroom. No one has to worry about keeping the kids entertained and from having a tantrum and stealing the couples’ attention. No one has to worry about their child spilling something on their clothes, the bride or the dance floor.

    3. Music doesn’t have to be censored. Jokes/toasts don’t have to be censored.

    The no children policy receptions I’ve attended (only 2) both provided a separate room (one was at a hotel and the other at a country club/golf resort) for the children with TVs, DVDs, CDs, coloring books, activities, kid friendly food, games, activities and even “sitters”…like 1 per every 5 kids or something. This is definitely a courtesy and may cost extra in the wedding budget but is probably well worth every cent.

  28. That separate room is a great idea… I know the people with kids may get discouraged from coming bc they have to have a sitter, so that would help.

    U ain’t never lied about the uncensored music. lol. they were playing that.

  29. Cynthia Says:

    WOW Beautiful color on you Nicki and Beautiful Bride!

  30. Thanks Cynthia.. and thanks for her, too!

  31. Cuzzo Says:

    I’m so tired…I can only answer #3…and that would be pizza 🙂


Leave a Reply

