Single Sisters Speak Out

The Modern Life of the Single Sister

Everybody Take A Jump… June 10, 2009

Filed under: Single Sisters On... — cuzzo @ 12:24 am

…Take ah jump, take ah jump up now

start to wave, start to wave, start to wave up now

start to wine, start to wine, start to wine up now

because…IT’S CARNIVAL!

(It’s Carnival, Destra and Machel Montana – Soca Artists from Trinidad and Tobago)

So, what is carnival? As defined from http://www.gotrinidadandtobago.com/trinidad/carnival.php:

In 1783 the French brought their culture, customs and Carnival, in the form of elaborate masquerade balls, to Trinidad along with African slaves. The period stretching between Christmas and the start of Lent was a time for feasting, fancy dress balls and celebration for both the French and British. Banned from the festivities, slaves in the barrack yards would hold their own celebrations mimicking their masters’ behaviour while incorporating rituals and folklore. Once slavery was abolished in 1838, the freed Africans took their Carnival to the streets and, as each new immigrant population entered Trinidad, a new flavour was added to the festivities. Today, our diverse culture has influenced the music, food and traditions of Carnival.

There’s a different carnival in just about every West Indian country to celebrate their individual emancipation date from England. There are also carnivals in the US and one in Canada to replicate the ones abroad. I’ve been to carnival in Antigua (where my parents are from) , and in the US, I’ve been to the DC and New York carnivals. Trinidad, the origin of carnival, is supposed to have the best/wildest carnival. And as far as the US, well NY and Miami top the charts of best carnival. Toronto Canada’s “Caribana” is supposed to be the ultimate carnival, Canadian-style.

I highly recommend you check out a carnival in your lifetime if you have not done so already. It’s one big party in the streets with scantily clad people, bright beautiful costumes, and dancing, dancing, and more dancing. If you are going to march along with the bands be prepared to get dirty.

J’ouvert (pronounced jooh-vay) is the carnival pre-party. It occurs early in the AM and this is where you get down and dirty (literally, mud, paint, oil, and powder is thrown about in the crowds). Aside from the j’ouvert and actual carnival, there are parties and other events that going during carnival time.

Dates of some carnivals:

Canada (http://www.caribanatoronto.com/) – July 14, 2009 – August 3, 2009

Antigua (http://www.antiguacarnival.com/) – July 25, 2009 – August 4, 2009

Barbados (http://www.barbados.org/cropclnd.htm) – August 1, 2009 – August 15, 2009

Trinidad (http://www.gotrinidadandtobago.com) – February 23, 2009 – February 24, 2009

Washington, DC (http://www.dccaribbeancarnival.org/default2.html) – June 27, 2009 – June 28, 2009

Brooklyn, New York (http://www.wiadca.com/) – every Labor Day Weekend, the site has old info

Miami, FL (http://miamicarnival.net/home/) – October 11, 2009

Any questions about carnival…care to share your carnival experience…plan on going to one….

 

17 Responses to “Everybody Take A Jump…”

  1. I haven’t been to one yet, but I want to go in my life time. I love all the bright colors and costumes!

  2. Bamer15 Says:

    They have a carnival every spring in Switzerland called, “Fausnacht” and it actually has a purpose as well. It is a carnival with strangely odd music, (almost like a high school band, with a really annoying glock in the background) messed up costumes and crazy masks and of course it is accompanied by A LOT of heavy drinking.

    The purpose of this “Fausnacht” is to ‘scare’ away the winter, so spring can come. IT’s actually quite a riot and I have never really remember much from the last carnivals as I was really intoxicated. It’s normally a 5 day event and basically the whole country goes on a break. (Switzerland only has 7 million people)

    Thats my carnival experience. 😀

  3. Shawnta` Says:

    Morning, y’all.

    I missed y’all yesterday. I’ll have to go back and read about the epiphanies. I love Chrisette Michele & that song. She’s actually in concert here tomorrow night along with Anthony Hamilton & Musiq Soulchild and I’m going to miss it!!! Craziness!

    Anyway…

    Like @Nicki, I’ve never been to Carnival before but would love to go for the experience at least once in my life. The costumes look amazing and it looks like so much fun.

    @Bamer: I like the idea of the entire country taking a five day break. Other countries do this too. Why doesn’t America ever completely shut down for a break? I also like the idea of the festival being to chase winter into spring. Uusally by the end of winter, I am SOOOO ready for spring.

  4. cuzzo Says:

    @Bamer – that sounds like a good time 🙂

  5. thecomebackgirl Says:

    I like the costumes…when I get everything as tight as i need it to be. I’ll put one on.

  6. cuzzo Says:

    *gasp* wholesome CBG in a masquerade costume? in public?
    I’ll believe it when I see it. You spectating at the DC Carnival this year? I’m going to try to go.

  7. Peyso Says:

    Let it be known, that I am not carribean by any means, however, i AM carribean on labor day weekend in NYC. Trust you will get it POPPED furiously and officially.

  8. cuzzo Says:

    “Trust you will get it POPPED furiously and officially.”
    Peyso, I swear that’s all most guys go out there for anyway. I don’t dance with guys (usually the young ones do this) tryna be extra back there.

  9. J Money Says:

    “Trust you will get it POPPED furiously and officially.”

    Never been to one but dang it be like that!! I need some elaboration Peyso or Cuzzo!!

  10. cuzzo Says:

    @J Money – If you watch the video you will see a lot of men and women grinding on one another. Some dudes, like I said, usually YOUNGER, tend to dance with women as if they are basically having sex with their clothes on. She’s bent over and he’s dry humping like there’s no tomorrow. Or he lifts the chick up and the humpfest continues.

  11. LOL Cuzzo… Like I’ve seem them topless with body paint on on tv. Do they really do that?

  12. cuzzo Says:

    @Nicki – noooooo. You might seen something like Hedonism which is in Jamaica. Not the same as carnival. People bring their children to the carnival parade.

    Not that it CAN’T happen but it doesn’t. I’ve never seen it and I’ve been going to carnivals as far back as I can remember.

  13. Lovely Paradox Says:

    I am going to New York’s Carnival this year. I always missed it for some reason. But this year I will be there. My friend’s husband told us about the one in Trinidad and Tobago, and it sounds like fun. The one I really, really want to check out is the mother of all carnivals: Rio de Janeiro!! My mom went once and she said it was bananas.

  14. Shawnta` Says:

    @LP: The Rio de Janeiro Carnival is the one I would like to attend too. Starting off with the one in NY might not be a bad idea. Maybe I should look into that.

  15. Rob Says:

    Wife and I are going to Canada for Carnival this year! Already done booked the trip! Looking forward to it.

  16. Cuzzo Says:

    I hope you guys have fun Rob. Get drunk, be merry and wine up on that @ss 😉

  17. Cynthia Says:

    I hope to make it to one in the next few years! I had a friend that went, and it was quite the experience!


Leave a Reply

