Single Sisters Speak Out

The Modern Life of the Single Sister

Officially Missing You June 21, 2009

Filed under: Single Sisters On... — Sunny @ 10:00 pm

When I wrote this post, it was Friday and I missed my beau A LOT… so I was having a sad day.  😦  As some of yaw know, I’m in a long distance relationship…  While at times like this, it’s very hard, he’s worth it.  I won’t complain about something as small as this because there are so many other good things about the situation. So I digress. 

Annnnnd to lighten things up, here’s a list of other things I miss:

1.  No bills!  (God, I’d love to have my parents pay for everything again);

2.  Virginity (when u don’t know anything about s3x, you never miss it);

3.  Being able to eat whatever I want and not gain an ounce of weight (’nuff said!);

4.  Spending an entire day at my girls’ home on their porch doing nothing and loving every minute of it (now, I really don’t have time/ energy to kick it);

5.  Being able to watch a movie at home and not fall asleep (goodness, is this what age does?  I have attempted to watch “Mirrors” thrice, to no avail). 

That’s all I got-  coming right off the dome.  What do you miss, good people? 

Aside- I just adore Tamia, she has the best singing voice. Where has she been?  Further Aside:  I have a homegirl who I swear looks like her, freckles and everything. 

 

61 Responses to “Officially Missing You”

  1. Athena Nike Says:

    My 20s – Just crossed over
    My original pastor and church – times they are a changin’
    Working – I am still on the hunt…

  2. @Athena: I’ll send a prayer up for you and employment. Total aside, what field are you in?

  3. Dr. J Says:

    I miss not having to worry about getting myself out of bed, when my mother used to get me up in the morning, it was so much easier to be on time.

    I miss college. My work study job used to get me about $60 cash a week, yea nothing serious… But I was balling out major. That was beer money, maybe pay for a party, eat out, hit up the mall… If you gave me $60 a week these days, i’d think you were being disrespectful. $60 is called Thursday, nowadays.

  4. Dr. J: I can understand that college thing… although now I am still in college, but now I live on my own and do the college thing part time.

    Back when it was full time, $60 would have gotten you a lonnnnggg way. Plus it was nice being around my peers who were just as broke and we’d haev our nifty little ways of making a meal. lol

  5. Shawnta` Says:

    Hey, y’all.

    Good post, Nicki.

    I love Tamia. That’s a great song & she’s so beautiful.

    I miss some of the same things other commenters have listed:
    1. The “good, old days”
    2. No bills
    3. Eating anything I wanted while maintaining a weight I liked.
    4. Good music…there’s some out here & there but not on a consistent basis
    5. Having time to read as much as I want. I love reading & don’t get to do it as much as I used to & as often as I’d like to.
    6. Def Poetry Jam
    7. Letters…I love sending old fashioned handwritten correspondence on pretty stationary (I “secretly” collect it) & receiving it.

  6. Slim Jackson Says:

    – I miss being able to coach and train with college track and field athletes.
    – I miss the huge bonus and commission checks I got in my last job.
    – I miss my pops who passed closed to a year ago. (No need for awww’s)
    – I miss being able to completely trust people.
    – I miss the Bahamas since I just went there. Wanna go back now! I don’t miss sandflies tho…

  7. Cynthia Says:

    YES! I miss the days of having no responsibilities…no bills, no boss, just school.

  8. Thanks Shawnta: “Good music” I am right there with you on this.
    “Having time to read as much as I want” I miss this too.. it used to take me no more than three days to finish a book.

  9. “YES! I miss the days of having no responsibilities…no bills, no boss, just school.”

    Exactly!

  10. ” I miss the Bahamas since I just went there. Wanna go back now! I don’t miss sandflies tho”

    I am going to have to google “sandflies.” No clue what that is. I’m glad to hear you had a good time Slim. 😉

  11. J Money Says:

    I miss college and chilling on the yard after class
    I miss spending time with my grandparents
    I miss Biggie (Just watched NOTORIOUS lastnight)
    I miss being in High School when a new pair of JORDANS came out (had them by 4th period)
    I miss having money with nothing to spend it on but me

    Most of all – I miss my baby everyday!!!

  12. “I miss being in High School when a new pair of JORDANS came out (had them by 4th period)”

    U were one of those, J? lol. I remember a guy like this in my grade… He’d make a big show of lacing his up in class.

  13. Shawnta` Says:

    @JMoney: I miss Biggie too. I LOVE his music & still listen to it all the time.

  14. Dr. J Says:

    @ J Money – I miss the conspiracy to get the Jordans first and make sure no one else got them either. Definitely needed to have that Foot Locker hook up. Or down here in DC, you know that they were shipped to Potomac Mills first, so if you had a hookup out there you could cop them early.

    Moreover, I didn’t have no money, so my mother/father were always involved in these plots.

  15. J Money Says:

    @ DR J – Man we always had someone cousin or someone go get them at Foot Locker and bring them up to the school by lunch time. We couldn’t leave school unless you were doing Co-op. So we just had someone do it for us. We were always first bc no one could get someone to do it for them.

    @Shawnta – Man that movie really put me in the mood to hear some of his stuff. It sucked he only got to make two albums. But I think that was good too because Tupac stuff still coming out LOL!!

    @Nicki – Yeah, we were on the hoop squad so we had to have them. Then we would get the T-shirt they would sell with them for the day. So we always made sure to wear jeans so it could go with anything.

  16. “@Nicki – Yeah, we were on the hoop squad so we had to have them. Then we would get the T-shirt they would sell with them for the day. So we always made sure to wear jeans so it could go with anything.”

    Basketball players too? lol. Yaw were clean with it.

    I was never a huge Biggie fan but that movie converted me.

  17. andrea Says:

    I miss being married. Dating these days sucks!

  18. J Money Says:

    “I was never a huge Biggie fan but that movie converted me”

    I am shocked at this statement. Well he only has 2 albums so it will be a quick listen LOL!! But they are two real CD’s. And for you to have been on East Coast music I really can’t believe that. Ready To Die was real and Life After Death went 10 times platinum.

  19. @andrea: Dating these days is really hard. Are you in a good city for it?

    “And for you to have been on East Coast music I really can’t believe that. Ready To Die was real and Life After Death went 10 times platinum.”

    @J: I am loyal to a fault. When there is rap beef, if I go hard for one artist, I detest the other. I was a huge Tupac fan. This is one of the same reasons I cannot get into Nas.

  20. J Money Says:

    @Andrea “I miss being married. Dating these days sucks!”

    I think you have to be in the mind-frame to date. Some people have fun dating and like all the newness. But after being married I can see how you dislike dating.

  21. Reecie Says:

    Great list, and nice blog–I just started reading recently! I miss all of those things on your list as well, except the movie part. I don’t really fall asleep unless its a late show–I never go to the late show anymore. I also miss college! it was so much fun and now me and my homies are split up all over the country. I’d give anything for just ONE DAY of us being able to kick it on the yard and stay up all night talking in the dorms again. I’m also in a LDR, so I know how that goes.

  22. Welcome to the blog, Reecie and thanks!

    I never go to the late show anymore either. When I was younger, I lived for it. lol.

    GOod luck on your LDR, also. 😉

  23. andrea Says:

    You are right about having to have the right mindframe to date. I see a lot of drama with my single girlfriends who are dating (one who is trying to get me to sign up for a dating website!). I suppose that has me leary of ‘getting out there’. It would be nice for someone to just fall in my lap! I live in Louisiana, don’t go to clubs much, I’m sure there are probably opportunities to meet people, I just have to put myself out there more.

  24. “I just have to put myself out there more.”

    Exactly! When I was single, my girl had to check me about that once. She said, “Do you think your man is gonna come out of the television?” lol. It was hilarious, but true… while on the couch, you’ll see nothing.

    Do you have coffee shops, spoken word/ poetry readings??? Those are good too. I, like you, didn’t/ and still don’t go to clubs much.

  25. In addition, Andrea, they are talking about dating on Slim’s blog today.

    http://www.threewaystotakeit.com/the-dating-game/comment-page-1/#comment-10033

  26. Jaci Says:

    I miss no bills.
    I miss being 5.
    I miss NOLA.
    I miss him (and that’s gonna sound strange)
    I miss lazy Sundays walking around.

    Hm…I miss winter.

  27. andrea Says:

    Nicki-already been there!

  28. What do u miss about 5, Ms. Jaci????

    @andrea: Got you!

  29. Jaci Says:

    @Nicki

    The sites I’d see in NoLA…people watching down there is so much different than here…the Riverwalk, Audubon Park…etc. etc.

    I love barges going down the river too.

  30. GOt it, Jac…. How far is it from you now? Do u have plans or want to move back?

  31. peyso Says:

    football
    two summers ago when I was an intern and not a fulltime employee
    two summers ago when I went to Miami for free
    two summers ago period
    having a car
    high school
    college
    the dorm
    the yard
    football again (I do not miss football practice though)
    not having to pay for gym membership

  32. @Peyso: U guys GO HARD in football workouts. I would love to workout with them bc I know yaw get results!

    “two summers ago when I went to Miami for free”

    I would miss that too. 😉

  33. Hugh Jazz Says:

    – Being able to dunk (that was ten years and 50 pounds ago).
    – Not having to work six days a week.
    – Hammer pants (just kidding)
    – Good hip-hop and R&B music.
    – Justice League Unlimited and The Boondocks on TV (JLU was cancelled, Aaron McGruder is just lazy with putting out new Boondocks episodes)
    – Being young enough to do nothing but hang out, play basketball and video games all day. Can’t do that in my thirties.

  34. Hugh Jazz Says:

    Notorious was a poignant movie for me, because it was the first documentary that I’ve watched that I actually lived through. All this happened during my last few years of high school and first couple of years of college. I remembered when the albums came out, when every step of the beef happened, and all the Source and Vibe magazine covers. After watching that movie, I had to listen to Ready to Die, Life After Death, and Faith’s first album again.

  35. “Hammer pants (just kidding)”

    NOOOOOOOO> *whispers: I had some that I wore to school!* LMAO

  36. J Money Says:

    @Hugh Jazz – Man I remember it all too. Like I remember Sugg Knight making that speech at the Source Awards that one year. Where he was talking about Puff dancing in the videos and stuff. Man the Source Awards was like an anything goes award show. You could shoot someone, get arrested, bailed out and make the show to perform and get your award LOL!!

  37. “Man the Source Awards was like an anything goes award show. You could shoot someone, get arrested, bailed out and make the show to perform and get your award LOL!!”

    YES u could. lol. It was kind of an embarassment though bc everyone knew some drama was going to pop up at the Source, which was a black awards show.

  38. J Money Says:

    “YES u could. lol. It was kind of an embarassment though bc everyone knew some drama was going to pop up at the Source, which was a black awards show.”

    That’s why people watched because they knew some drama was going to happen. BET awards were too civilized and were not gonna have the BEEF foolishness. Then the source awards were ran by Benzino, someone who was not the most professional business person. Well we’ll just say he wasn’t professional at all LOL!!

  39. Shawnta` Says:

    @Hugh: I miss Boondocks too.

  40. “That’s why people watched because they knew some drama was going to happen. BET awards were too civilized and were not gonna have the BEEF foolishness.”

    Exactly. lol. I would watch the foolishness every once in a while but that was one I’d NEVER attend.

  41. inakeS Says:

    I miss teenage love. Ironing your clothes the night before school, knowing you’re going to see your shorty walking in the halls the next day. Hanging out after school, sharing a slice of pizza and walking her home. I miss the days when that first kiss meant more than anything. I think I was in the 6th or 7th grade and Troop’s “All I Do is Think of You” was the joint that you had to grab your girl and dance with her if it came on at a house party. Those were the days…………No shopping sprees, no VIP’s, just a teenage love.

  42. Ms. Eighty's Baby Says:

    I miss elementary school…. Free gym, field day, kickball tournaments, popcorn & pizza parties…… I loved it…..

    And undergrad years….Bein on the yard all day.. Trying to make it to the parties off campus before 11 considering it was free before ll. No bills except the cell phone which I didn’t pay until I got caught off….LOL

    @inakeS.. Your comment was cute 😉

  43. J Money Says:

    “Trying to make it to the parties off campus before 11 considering it was free before ll”

    Man that was the business. And everyone got in free before 11 with college ID. Now that we are grown only women get in for free before a specified time LOL!! Fellas get taxed to make up the loss in profits.

  44. “I miss elementary school…. Free gym, field day, kickball tournaments, popcorn & pizza parties…… I loved it…..”

    Oh em gee. Remember pizza day???? They had that square pizza in the cafeteria? The pepperoni with the most cheese, least grease on top. lol

  45. Love that desciption inakeS.

  46. J Money Says:

    Man “Field Day” was like the Elementary Olympics. Our teacher mad us sit in the classroom, with our heads on our desk and the lights off. That was so we could get our mind right. We happened to get whooped that day ironically LOL!!

  47. “Man “Field Day” was like the Elementary Olympics. Our teacher mad us sit in the classroom, with our heads on our desk and the lights off. That was so we could get our mind right. ”

    I think I am screaming in laughter. I remember that. LMAO.

    They even made a game out of it.. “Heads Up, Seven Up”

  48. peyso Says:

    ooo I forgot pee wee baseball. We used to get to the fields at 9am knowing our game wasnt til like 12 or 1pm. We were dirty before our game started.

    Ya talking about $60 going a long way, I remember when $5 meant I was rich.

  49. V Renee Says:

    I miss the innocence I had as a child. Not knowing the world was as messed up as it was.

    I miss college. The kicking it 24/7. The no obligations (including class – I still don’t know how I graduated in 4 years). Everything about the whole experience.

    I miss having crushes.

    I miss having my mama around to cook for me.

    But on the flip side, I like growing up. The good and the bad.

  50. “Ya talking about $60 going a long way, I remember when $5 meant I was rich.”

    That would buy A TON of penny candy!!!!

    “I miss the innocence I had as a child. Not knowing the world was as messed up as it was. ”

    Exactly!

  51. J Money Says:

    I miss when $20 at the gas station had you on full or almost on full!!

  52. That gas stamement is the truth.

  53. I miss when the Dollar Movies were actually One Dollar… on whatever day u went to see them

  54. K Even Says:

    @ J Money.. I miss when $20 at the gas station had you on full or almost on full!!

    I loved those days i didnt have to budget for gas…

    -I miss not having a budget… LOL
    -being able to hoop all day (might get two games in before the paramedics show up now)
    -purple rain.. (still jam to the soundtrack)
    -miss the 90’s (biggie, pac, faith, 112, xscape, envogue, etc…)
    -and most of all butterflies and lightning bugs.. ( have to laugh at myself on that one.. i just dont see them anymore.. myb i need to get out the house.. 🙂 )

  55. “–miss the 90’s (biggie, pac, faith, 112, xscape, envogue, etc…)”

    And TOTAL!

    Can’t remember the last time I’ve seen a butterfly or a ligtning bug, either. lol

  56. K Even Says:

    and H.S. nachos and cheese, and the super duper greesy fries..

  57. Ms. Eighty's Baby Says:

    and most of all butterflies and lightning bugs.. ( have to laugh at myself on that one.. i just dont see them anymore.. myb i need to get out the house.. )

    @K Even & Nick… I’m gonna need both of y’all to get out of the house… Just last night I sat outside of my parents house for a long time and I seen all kind of lightning bugs…. I used to catch them but now I swat at them… And I have no clue as to why I do that… LOL

  58. “@K Even & Nick… I’m gonna need both of y’all to get out of the house… Just last night I sat outside of my parents house for a long time and I seen all kind of lightning bugs…. I used to catch them but now I swat at them… And I have no clue as to why I do that… LOL”

    LMAO. Girl when the lights go down, I’m in the house bc I am scared of bugs. lol

    I miss being fearless!

  59. Ms. Eighty's Baby Says:

    LMAO. Girl when the lights go down, I’m in the house bc I am scared of bugs. lol

    @Nick….. I love being outside especially later on in the evening when it supposedly cools off. I can sit outside on the porch or on the swing at my parents house for hours even with the bugs…. LOL

  60. @80: At somewhere open, like a park on the Waterfront? cool…

    If the porch was sprayed down with bug spray?? yes. lol

    I’m having flashbacks of spiders. ARGH.

  61. temps Says:

    I miss my moms and my dudes who all got taken out too early..now as for high school and college I’ll sum those two up with this-I am a college educated high school dropout.

    I dont miss either of em. I was the part of higher ed that isnt the typical student-in adult pgm since I got to NYU I worked full time gigs in the day- school at night getting home about 11p up by 9am and do it again.

    So college can kiss my a$$. I just covered the BK Hip Hop Fest and The Roots at the Highline Ballroom-I wasnt dont anything like that while in college. You’ll find ppl like me in entertainment, cultural industries or say hi technology actually get stilted by higher ed’s meaningless bureaucratic structure.

    If Tyler Perry called ppl called me to do sum editing my senior or even junior year. Peace, college. I never got use to school per se, what I did was when in Rome I spoke Italian and just enough to get by. Working my crappy jobs and working on film sets we’re talking 12-15 hr days for NO PAY got me prepped to cover the Bk Hip Hop Fest an 12p to 8pm affair covering performance and doing interviews.

    I represent the new college student.

    It was not a B line straight from the prom to the dorm-I never went to my high school prom. The avg age in class was 27-most of us paid out of our pockets giving us way more control than any undergrad with a scholarship…fully paid. We customized our degrees like cars-shit at $300 a credit if I dont want “Class X” I aint paying for it.

    Truth be told college for us was like training camp (Peyso you know what I am talking about) an unnecessary evil that being from the hood I had to go thru or risk working in the service industry for life. It wasnt close to anything on TV or in the movies, Kanye kinda hit on some of this on his first album. Its a lazy industry for ppl (the Faculty) who have on real skills and whether not students actually learn anything is pointless because they have gotten your money by the time your degree pays off or doesnt.

    Now being an alumni of NYU I have befriended plenty of Europeans, and Asians and trust only us Americans get all fuzzy nostalgic about high school-in most of Europe and Asia you are done with high school by 16. In college by 17 done with the undergrad by 20. They get fuzzy over their “first” trip to North America-it really puts things into perspective. I just dont find myself getting nostalgic over anything, I can reminisce with the best of em but as Mayor Koch said of NYC back in the day (and this is how I see life overall) when asked by an old lady to “make it as good as it was back then” well he said ” it was never THAT GOOD back then”. But if thats what you want to believe then cool.


Leave a Reply

