Single Sisters Speak Out

The Modern Life of the Single Sister

Don’t Cry For Me Argentina! June 25, 2009

Filed under: Single Sisters On... — FlawedBeauty @ 12:35 am

Last week while cleaning the bathroom I heard something interesting come out of my TV:

“South Carolina governor Mark Sanford has disappeared.  There has been no word of his whereabouts.  His family and staff are deeply concerned.”

I thought…oh no-something must be really wrong.  Then I thought..nope he’s done something wrong…stole money?  Made a deal for a Senate seat?  Then I realized he must be having an affair.

BINGO!

Little did I know that a mere one week later it would come out that he was in Argentina, where his lover is from.  I never would have believed that his wife would stand by his side and announce that yes she knew about the affair and indeed had known all along, but was trying to work out.  She further noted that there would be a trial separation to help her preserve dignity and respect (especially among her children).

Trial separation?  And you’re still standing there…he wants to work it out and that’s fine and all…but how could he work out his marriage in Argentina?  Somebody tell me is there something I’m missing here?

Ladies, would you take him back or allow this option?  Men, would you indeed any of what former Gov. Sanford did?

Oh and anybody seen Peyso?

 

25 Responses to “Don’t Cry For Me Argentina!”

  1. That picture makes me want to know the story behind it.

    Peyso is prolly buried in the books.

    I wouldn’t take him back… I hate cheaters. End of story.

  2. No More Says:

    What were you asking with ther last sentence Jac? Would we do anything that he did, i.e., would we disappear and fly out of the country for a few days to kick it with the woman we are cheating on our wife with?

  3. Jaci may not be up for a minute- but I was thinking she meant, would you guys just disappear and carry on an affair in an entirely different country and stay with your wife just bc she knows it and chooses to stay with you. I could be wrong though. 😉

  4. J Money Says:

    Well if that is the question…I would try to work on marriage. Why get married and you are not fully committed to that person. And it is in the vows that you do everything possible to try and make the marriage work.

    On the flip side though some people will do what you let them do. Like people who are married but have threesomes and go to swingers clubs. It really depends on the nature of the marriage and what they have established as acceptable. And there are some people who are just crazy enough to be like, well as long as I know about it then it’s cool. But just flat out cheating is no good.

  5. Peyso Says:

    Sorry guys, Jac I tried to email you. As I said last week I got this promotion with no effing raise and now all this work with no effing money made me forget to post my topic. I tried to email it to you.

    And as to the topic, I think he wanted one last fling in Argentina. That’s why he went

  6. thecomebackgirl Says:

    I feel like we don’t really know enough. A politician’s wife just isn’t married to her husband, she’s married to his career too. And usually the gov’s wife becomes her very own civil servant, i dunno, i would understand her reasoning for not just bouncing or defaming him in public immediately. Trial separation seems balanced and a move to maintain her own sense of dignity. Lashing out in public against him doesn;t seem always like the way to go. I think it becomes less about standing by your man and more about maintaining some civility for your kids. They still have to go to school. While she’s piss!ed and can maintain a private life…those kids still have to play with other people’s kids whose parents have already decided whose right and wrong in the matter.

  7. Jaci Says:

    @Peyso

    It’s okay sweetie. When I checked before bed I realizded something must be wrong or that you were busy 😉 Love ya!

    @Nicki

    That’s what I was asking.

    @J Money

    Don’t be stealing next week’s topic.

    @No Mo

    Come on dawg. I gotta holla at you in a minute anyway.

    @CBG(whom I love in moments like this well all the time really)

    I thought his children were grown. I know she was saying the reason she did the trial was because she needed to be able to look her children in the face and still have dignity and respect which leads me to believe that they must be old enough to understand what goes on.

    Also, I want to note that to me it is not about him sleeping with anyone else to me. That’s between him and his wife. It’s about the idea that he lied, disappeared and put his constituency and citizens into worry. To me, that’s when the public and private intersected much like Mr. Kilpatrick using the city’s money to pimp his h0 and ride his wife.

  8. J Money Says:

    I feel CBG…I think if Michelle was having issues will Barack that she would not put that out there. Just because of his position and what it could do to the girls as well. So I can see why the Gov wife may have not made a move yet. But then again he did not handle it right by disappearing either. He should have covered himself a lot better. Especially being a political official, who is not going to be looking for you.

  9. I definitely think it’s important to be low profile and mature about the situation if you are in a high profile situation, as in political office.

  10. Jaci Says:

    @J Money

    You’re absolutely correct. But there is a little difference in that Malia and Sasha are small. It might be hard to “shatter” their image of things now, but the Sanford children are different-she did want them to understand the roles and right and wrong but looks as though she is willing to forgive.

    @Nick

    Absolutely. I think it says something that she’s willing to get back with him, but I definitely think she’s putting them through hell and might I add being Southern…and knowing some *ahem* boys like those ::palin wink:: (V of course) I can tell you he might wanna sleep with one eye open concerning them.

  11. Comeback Girl Says:

    re: the kids…
    @ Jackson..my bad..but the premise is still similiar. Your question to the ladies was would you take him back or pursue a similiar option, I gave my answer. I wasn’t really thinking as his constituent. His behavior was totally uncalled for, but I can understand the response of his wife. While the public is hanging him, to me she looks equally stupid and apart of the circus if she’s hanging him publically too. There is a time and place for evertyhing.

  12. “i’m hiking on the appalachian trail” + other wild ass lies = new slang for “i’m stepping out on my wife”

    I remember when my dad first start stepping out on moms. Dissappeared for a whole weekend. The story I got was “he got kidnapped”. That day I discovered I had a “bullsh*t” meter. And it was strong.

    whyso serious!

  13. Wow Whyso, Kidnapped????? SO did he tell you that or did your mom tell u that?

  14. Jaci Says:

    @CBG

    I think you’re correct. I’m not disagreeing, but how much is a woman supposed to take? You’re working on a marriage with me in Argentina while sexing down your mistress? That speaks a wild message to kids.

    But I think her reason for staying is two-fold. She comes from an American dream kinda family (they own SKIL out of Chicago) so I think sometimes it’s like okay we have to save face in varying different arenas, but to me he is continually lying.

    @Whyso

    Ohh emm gee. I cannot believe that…kidnapped…by a white woman in a trench coat (to reverse the lies of white women)?

  15. nicki: lolol….i can’t really remember. It was funny cause i was like “who would wanna ‘nap this n*gga” Bs level -> burnt sienna orange

    For this situation with the govna, I think it’s best for the wife to play chess, not checkers. Reacting with the first reaction wouldn’t be smart…letting it cool for a second, then responding is better.

    Sometimes I think those wives go into it knowing it’s a good chance that they will screw around. It’s something about those types: like the ceo’s, high powered lawyers, politicians, power hungry people etc that also makes them more prone to cheating.

    As opposed to “joe sixpack” who faithfully and robotically go to their jobs. It’s really interesting.

  16. “nicki: “i can’t really remember. It was funny cause i was like “who would wanna ‘nap this n*gga” Bs level -> burnt sienna orange”

    LMAO.. That was funny why.

    “Sometimes I think those wives go into it knowing it’s a good chance that they will screw around. It’s something about those types: like the ceo’s, high powered lawyers, politicians, power hungry people etc that also makes them more prone to cheating.”

    I defintely agree with this statement.

  17. No More Says:

    It was funny cause i was like “who would wanna ‘nap this n*gga” Bs level -> burnt sienna orange

    LOL

    Sometimes I think those wives go into it knowing it’s a good chance that they will screw around. It’s something about those types: like the ceo’s, high powered lawyers, politicians, power hungry people etc that also makes them more prone to cheating.”

    They were talking about that On Larry King yesterday. Saying that their jobs make them more prone to cheating because they are risk takers and they always need to feel some sense of excitement. I had thought that it was just because they probably get more than a good share of P thrown at them and they have many opportunities to say “Honey, im gonna be late tonight, got some important work at the office”

  18. “I had thought that it was just because they probably get more than a good share of P thrown at them and they have many opportunities to say “Honey, im gonna be late tonight, got some important work at the office””

    THat’s what makes it easy for them to get away with it.

    I think the reason they do it is bc they aren’t used to the P. Most likely these guys were the smart, nerdy guys in school and weren’t getting prime cuts. Once they got a little power, along came the power hungry women with low standards- THROWING it at them like quaterbacks.

  19. @nicki: “THROWING it at them like quarterbacks”

    LOLOL…Why did a play develop in my head “go to the 30, cut in, look up and it will be right there for you”

    For real though, I think it’s best for some people not to get married. I wonder is there a test to see if a person is marriage material or not.

  20. Whyso, my football lingo is verrrry limited. lol

    “I wonder is there a test to see if a person is marriage material or not.”

    I wish it was something FORMAL in development, but so far, I think all we have is the courting period, where u are supposed to observe EVERYTHING. How a person handles their career tells me how they’d handle a relationship and such. Unfortunately people don’t really take the time to “court.”

  21. K-EVEN Says:

    @Nicki Sunshine

    What’s courting? is that some alien teminology.. LOL.

  22. “What’s courting? is that some alien teminology.. LOL.”

    @k-Even: I know right??? I pulled that right out of my granny’s vocab. U should hear her. “Nicki, are you and so and so courting? I hope u don’t sleep with everyone.” She’s hilarious.

  23. Ms. Eighty's Baby Says:

    @Nick……. Hey… I still say courting often when talkin with the fam….. Ha Ha

  24. @80s: Even though it’s not a highly used term, I think it’s really valid and it’s something us younger folks can put more into practice.

  25. kamakula Says:

    I don’t think having lots of experience with women prior to getting married necessarily gives you an immunity from further temptation.

    I’ve had plenty of experience with donuts throwing themselves into my mouth and I still fall every time.


Leave a Reply

