Single Sisters Speak Out

The Modern Life of the Single Sister

The AXIS OF EVIL July 1, 2009

Filed under: Single Sisters On... — peyso @ 10:03 pm

I get to work at 9 am. Meeting at 9:45 to 12pm. WTF are we discussing for two hours and fifteen minutes!!?? However, that torture meeting birthed this blog topic. The Deputy Commissioner, (The Big Dog, the HCIC, the Big Kahuna, Big Aristotle) mentioned the axis of evil. She defined it as a collection of forces, tangible or intangible, human or non human, that when brought together cause little to no good. (Like the opposite of the planeteers). When I heard of this term I immediately thought of WWII but since I wasnt there I started to think of axis of evil that I have encountered in my life.

 

I was sitting with the S.O. as she perused facebook. After our normal facebook stalking viewing, which includes tagged photos and wall to wall, she decided to sign off of facebook. This confused me because we hadnt even gotten to look at other ppl’s wall to wall which is my favorite part (insert sarcastic voice that captures how much I hate this stalkerish part of women). She then proceeded to type in an email address and password that I had never seen her use before. I initially thought that she had a secret facebook account that she was hiding from me, and heck she knows about my two accounts. I was relieved of this fear when the password/email combo didnt work. She shrieked, “This b!tch done changed her password”. I’m still confused as to why she was trying to use this person’s account but before I could ask, she was calling the chick to get her password. Chick doesnt answer, so the SO leaves a message, which included no pleasantries what so ever, and asks for the password. It is now when I ask “Why do you NEED  her password? Who is she? Why would she give it to you?”

 

This is what I got in response: This chick is a friend associate. (They didnt even chill like that). A group of girls, around ten in total, had exchanged passwords. They did this for the sole purpose of advancing their stalker agendas and to enhance their ability to keep track of their competition. She said that the group was handpicked because each member brought a specific set of skills their individual friend networks. The system was based on reciprocity and changing of passwords without informing the other members of the group was grounds for expulsions.

 

I just dont see what good this can bring. If this isnt a collection of ten jawns brought together for the sole purpose of causing havoc to the dating world. I’ve heard of other diabolical female conglomerates, so I think this is pretty widespread throughout the womandom. What do you say of this phenomenon? Am I wrong in calling this group and groups like this an axis of evil? Do they cause any good? Do you know of one? Are you in one? Do us fellas have these? I just wanna know

 

60 Responses to “The AXIS OF EVIL”

  1. ms80sbaby82 Says:

    @Peyso…They’re doing too much…..

  2. Jaci Says:

    I have to agree w/ 80s.

    That’s too many things for a bunch of grown women to do.

    I don’t even wanna check my facebook let alone asking 80s, Mik and Nick for their passwords.

    Welcome back, I missed you.

  3. Mikki Says:

    I agree this is to much? And further more i could understand if this was a group of single girls keeping track of ph’s but once you are dating some one whats the point?? If i made u my s.o and i cant trust you…..bye!

    They have to much time on their hands and idk of any grown women who do this.

  4. Shawn Smith Says:

    See, this is the reason I barely have a blog.

    People play online detectives. Looking at Facebook/Myspace statuses, friends, Tweets, blah blah blah.

    It’s sad when the police look to see when the last time someone logged on as a way to catch a criminal.

    Ya’ll can have it.

  5. I would say you are right in using the term for them. I don’t understand why they would have the time or energy to be stalking someone on FACEBOOK.

    Aren’t we all grown women? That is kinda childish.

  6. “And further more i could understand if this was a group of single girls keeping track of ph’s ”

    See, I can’t even subscribe to this…. Why does anyone need to go through extensive methods to play detective. What happened to good old fashion listening and trusting your instinct?

  7. Mikki Says:

    Lol nic i know but that kardashian episode when they tapped into the voice mail box got me to thinkin lol

  8. Dr. J Says:

    That whole situation is flat out wrong. I would describe them as the axis of evil, however, the “allies” don’t have a counter exchange. I simply will not be part of any stalking group on Facebook. That would clearly raise my terrorist alert to RED. (http://thebookofjackson.blogspot.com/2009/04/terrorist-alert-advisory-system.html)

    Next thing you know these girls will be sending off the weaker males to concentration camps.

    Or as Kanye would say, “You acting like a Robocop.”

    PS – I missed the blog, i’ve been out of pocket for a minute, but Dr. J is back on his blog rounds.

  9. “Lol nic i know but that kardashian episode when they tapped into the voice mail box got me to thinkin lol”

    Mik, I felt so bad for Khloe. But I think she HAD to have already had a feeling… I prolly would have played it cool and waited. It would have came out.

  10. J Money Says:

    I knew that something like this was taking place. I just never had it confirmed until now. I think this all stems from…

    1. People look a FB and Myspace as the social bible. If anything is proclaimed in a status (relationship status too) then it must be true.

    2. Then FB is geared toward nosey people. That is why you have news feed, extra updates on the side now. Getting reply notification from everyone who replys after you. None of this was part of facebook in the beginning.

    I don’t think men would do this to this level. It is just too sneaky and organized for men. We would be more direct, try to add you as a friend and see what we can see LOL!!

  11. thecomebackgirl Says:

    “I was sitting with the S.O. as she perused facebook.”

    is this the new coupledom time ???? I mean why?? im not tryna be funny but how old are yall again?

  12. peyso Says:

    @ CBG – I was watchin TV, she was on the comp. We were sittin next to each other.

    Also, I think all of the women are involved in some web of intelligence in that, your web may not involve the facebook or myspace but I bet you’re involved in some crazy game of telephone. Where A calls B who calls F,C,D and E.

    I’ve met so many girls who say “I already know such and such has a boyf”. How you think they figured that out?

  13. inakeS Says:

    I think 3 or more black women in any kind of collaboration is an axis of something (probably evil). 10 black women in cahoots is borderline Gestapo. I couldn’t imagine collaborating with 9 of my boys on anything that didn’t include a fantasy football draft, bachelor party or intervention.

  14. thecomebackgirl Says:

    @ CBG – I was watchin TV, she was on the comp. We were sittin next to each other.”

    i got a completely nother visual..like yall holding hands while she browses FB, particularly when you wrote this: “… our normal facebook stalking viewing, which includes tagged photos and wall to wall, she decided to sign off of facebook. This confused me because we hadnt even gotten to look at other ppl’s wall to wall which is my favorite part”

    I still don’t believe you LOL…But anywhoot…some of this is age related too. I CANNOT imagine spending time like this with my man. And he’s watching me look at other people’s tagged photos???

    But..to your point about women checking up on men and looking for intelligence and clues that his AVAILABLE etc …IS WHAT WOMEN SHOULD BE DOING. Im not a facebook stalker matter of fact i make a point to NOT FRIEND or even discusss social networks with men I REALLY like..(not just the bs flirting stuff.)

    but if im seriously diggin you: A) we have offline time that gives me B) enough time to find out about you.

    matter of fact when a dude says he doesn’t do myspace or fb…his boyfriend potential goes WAYYYYYYYYYY up in my book.

  15. J Money Says:

    @CBG: “matter of fact when a dude says he doesn’t do myspace or fb…his boyfriend potential goes WAYYYYYYYYYY up in my book”

    Why does his potential go up because he doesn’t do myspace or facebook?

  16. I don’t investigate a man… there are internal clues whether u chose to follow them or not.

    And that’s all I have to say about that.

  17. alarecherchede Says:

    REALLY? Axis of Evil? That’s cool. I like that more than being a supposedly kindred spirit that goes around mocking other people rather than giving a legit opinion.

    I don’t see any valid comments other than, damn, that’s wack, i would never do that.

    How are any of these comments different from perusing fb and going by it without questions.

    It’s facebook people, if you’re putting the pics up and not putting it on private, you meant for me to see it. After I see it, do I laugh at that $70 outfit that you thought was poppin? You damn skippy.

    bai.

  18. alarecherchede Says:

    ps, a valid argument would be that if you need to log into another account to see a profile because you don’t have access, then it is a sort of an invasion on privacy.

    Invalid argument: attacking character rather than point at issue. It’s called, ad hominem.

  19. "The S.O." Says:

    Peyso,

    We need to revoke your creative license.

    I understand that the sisters are single but why does it ALWAYS have to be about men? This def started in college and was more of a “Caryn went to the boat ride & put up pics. I’m not friends with Caryn, so Lola, log in & let’s see.” Eventually, you just knew everyone else’s password. Why do I wanna see pics? Cuz its cheaper than attending and I love to see how the cheap shoe + polyester dress + DIY weave hold up (fall down?) @ a party.

    Please believe that in the computer labs at school you’d see many a clique of boys huddled around an iMac, perusing the site and reading too deeply into every punctuation mark left on their walls. Social networking sites are about entertainment and social surveillance. Mark Z gave the people what they wanted! Plus, they’re a huge part of networking & socializing in our generation.
    You’d be lying if you said you didn’t indulge… after all, you’re posting comments on a blog.

  20. J Money Says:

    @alarecherchede: “a valid argument would be that if you need to log into another account to see a profile because you don’t have access, then it is a sort of an invasion on privacy”

    It is on the internet so there is no invasion of privacy. Unless it is on a secure internet site with https:// and that is normally reserved for payment information or where you have to enter you identity info on line to pay bills and stuff. Facebook falls under neither category.

  21. alarecherchede Says:

    It’s called privacy settings, my friend.

  22. BTW: IF you are not my friend on facebook, but my friend has commented on your page, I can see the entire album.

  23. Welcomd to the blog alarechrchede and “the S.O”

  24. J Money Says:

    @alarecherchede: Well if you gotta do all that then why put it up there in the first place. I want this friend to see but not this one, but let me limit their access but this person has full access to my page. I think all that was created for people who have something to hide. I am not friends with anyone I would have to filter content from…furthermore if I have to filter it why put it on there.

  25. Comeback Girl Says:

    “@alarecherchede: “a valid argument would be that if you need to log into another account to see a profile because you don’t have access, then it is a sort of an invasion on privacy”

    It is on the internet so there is no invasion of privacy. Unless it is on a secure internet site with https:// and that is normally reserved for payment information or where you have to enter you identity info on line to pay bills and stuff. Facebook falls under neither category.

    @ Jmoney part of the NEED to spy (particularly for people are not involved intimately with the other)is for social retards. If you can’t tell that the object of your affection is single or taken and you need to do all the inspector gadget stuff, you have a problem…like a serious personal problem.

    I think its the social fiber that these social networks are tearing apart making people really REALLY inept at the basics of relationship building:

    A: does the person even know you’re alive.
    B: would they even care if you got hit by a bus?
    C: have they signaled INTEREST and not just what you’ve made up in your head.
    D: have you built a rapport OFFLINE. Do you SEE them OFFLINE.

    some of these are really very simple laws. And like Sunny said, seriously you DON’T have to do all that for a person you are thinking about dating..a person will TELL YOU EVERY THING YOU NEED TO KNOW. And sometimes most of the truth is in what they don’t say.

    its all in ..what you choose to pay attention to and that which you don’t to continue the fairy dust of relationships. I’ve discovered people like to feel in their own blanks and play these “virtual” relatioship games. that don’t have happy endings.

    So yes when a guy randomly mentions he’s not a real social internet person..I am honestly MORE INTERESTED IN HIM. And if he doesn’t have a profile..well I think i love you (sike LOL.)

  26. Comeback Girl Says:

    what happened to my post..i just said something brilliant and shyt.

  27. Comeback, I will see if it spammed. LMAO

  28. “@ Jmoney part of the NEED to spy (particularly for people are not involved intimately with the other)is for social retards. If you can’t tell that the object of your affection is single or taken and you need to do all the inspector gadget stuff, you have a problem…like a serious personal problem.”

    Exactly!!!

  29. “its all in ..what you choose to pay attention to and that which you don’t to continue the fairy dust of relationships. I’ve discovered people like to feel in their own blanks and play these “virtual” relatioship games. that don’t have happy endings.”

    And Exactly!

  30. J Money Says:

    @CBG: Isn’t it a double standard if you yourself belong to the social networks??

  31. "The S.O." Says:

    Privacy restrictions are for keeping out ppl you’re not friends with. I’m a teacher. My students don’t need to see my page, nor do they need to know that it exists. They don’t need to see my bday dinner party nor my favorite 6″ Charlotte Olympia shoes. I’m impossible to find in search.

    I’m also getting the feeling that this is really about age. There are very few people under age 25 that don’t have an FB account. I wouldn’t be hype off a man w/o a page… I’d love to hear why he doesn’t have one (Did he have an account and deactivate? Does he have a secret page that he uses just for snooping? Or does he have one and isn’t really tryna be friends with you just yet? Yea, I’m a skeptic).

    And what does it mean to “not really be into social ntwrking site”? If you log on, you’re into it. Ppl are just tryna save e-face.

    And HEYSOOS!, y’all must know a lotta women that lie to themselves about their relationships or lack thereof..

  32. J Money Says:

    Don’t get me wrong I do not support the spying. But my point is if it’s on the web then you are prone to having your information looked at. And the way Facebook and Myspace are structured is for that purpose of people knowing what’s going on. Just like this blog…we can google everyone’s username and find every comment they have made on a open blog. So can we really be mad at someone who finds something (or searches for that matter) that we put on the web anyway??

  33. peyso Says:

    And I’m back from a grueling 2 hr meeting to see that my post is once again sparking some good convo. To all the women that say they dont do some type of snooping, whether it is through the internet or phone calls or asking a few questions, that’s horse radish. To all the women that say that you can know everything about a dude if you listen and watch, that’s horse radish.

    I’m just saying that I like seeing the development of that funny comment on such and such walls by reading the wall to wall. Do I think that these networks are tearing apart the social fibers that our relationships are built on? No, its only re-defining, for better or for worse, how people socialize? I think it promotes increased, not necessarily better, communication.

    @CBG – Sometime you just cant tell if someone is invovled. It doesnt mean your socially inept or have some problem, said person may be good at hiding it.

    @alarecherchede – Who is this kindred spirit you speak of?

    “The S.O.” made a great point when she point out that the mere fact that we blog is similar to what people do on facebook. Some of us spend just as much time reading and writing comments that we are meeting people soley in the context of the internets and are forming relationships based on those interactions. It’s just strange to see people shun the internet and its social media yet uphold it in another light

  34. “To all the women that say they dont do some type of snooping, whether it is through the internet or phone calls or asking a few questions, that’s horse radish”

    It’s horseradish to think u know every woman and can say every woman does something. Since u do not, I will ignore this sentiment bc all of us DO NOT.

    IT’s the same thing as a woman saying, “all men cheat,” or “All men are dogs.”

  35. inakeS Says:

    Charlotte Olympia’s shoes are a little gaudy. If I had a facebook account I might adjust my privacy settings.

  36. alarecherchede Says:

    kindred spirits are like unicorns and Mother Theresa. They may come along once every hundred years, but nobody actually knows them like that.

    – your cousin.

  37. J Money Says:

    And on that note I am done!!! Chi-town!!!

  38. Anna Says:

    Hey Peyso,

    Your girls shenanigans sound a little immature to me. But then again, I’m 30, lol.

  39. peyso Says:

    @ anna – and throw in you didnt really grow up with these mediums

  40. peyso Says:

    Let it be known, that she isnt as bad as I painted the picture to be. She is a beautiful, intelligent, funny, gorgeous, mature, spirited young lady, who I love dearly, who happens to spend some time on the facebook accounts of her friends

  41. Jaci Says:

    @Peyso

    You better had said that!

  42. Comeback Girl Says:

    “@CBG – Sometime you just cant tell if someone is invovled. It doesnt mean your socially inept or have some problem, said person may be good at hiding it. ”

    Im sorry…over a course of a few dates, phone calls, and time spent together..this is bullshyt.

  43. "The S.O." Says:

    ::rolls eyes::

  44. "The S.O." Says:

    ^^ @ Peyso

  45. Comeback Girl Says:

    re: Peyso’s woman…

    i sorta agree with Anna..and that does not at all apply that she’s not special, wonderful and beautiful. You’ve written about her before and I think she sounds like a really nice woman.

    BUT to Anna’s point the antics seem a little young. But I think you all are like 21??? so to a 30+ person reading it, you can sort of understand why some of us would be…been there done that…

  46. Comeback Girl Says:

    “I’m also getting the feeling that this is really about age. There are very few people under age 25 that don’t have an FB account. ”

    And I know TONS over 35 who do NOT.

  47. peyso Says:

    @ CBG – Please note that though the feelings may be “Been there done that”. The tone is more “Never been there, above that” Also, you say certain things are very easy to notice after a few dates, but if that truly was the case we wouldnt have half the blogs written here, Steve Harvey wouldnt be a best seller and the world would generally be a better place.

  48. Sula Says:

    I think Peyso’s main point is being missed. Forget how his lady and her friends network or go about their snooping, the point is women tend to do that more than men. And with that, I agree.

    Women used to facebook network at the hairdresser or go to the “neighborhood gossip” for all the juicy stuff. I know that I often call my cousin on sunday afternoons to hear all the latest happenings on my fam including my archnemesis(es).

    It’s just a behavior that’s inherent to humans and more prone to women. Why did everybody assume those girls were doing it to check on other men, is that all there is? My understanding of Peyso’s post was that it was done to check on other girls… which makes sense. For instance, I know I am competitive and I have those (I admit childish) rivalries with some cousins or just girls I know. It’s mostly friendly and at most harmless. But it doesn’t prevent me from checking on them from times to times.

    Totally understandable. And guys stop fronting some of you do it too! 😀

  49. Sula Says:

    @Peyso,

    if that truly was the case we wouldnt have half the blogs written here, Steve Harvey wouldnt be a best seller and the world would generally be a better place.

    You can say that again. 🙂

  50. thecomebackgirl Says:

    ““Never been there, above that””

    @ Pey..Im sorry but if a 33/34 year old is STILL doing it, I’d have some serious questions. I was at my mother’s house the other day and I was cleaning up some stuff on her aol settings-tied to some old accounts I had. I was tryna figure out HOW IN THE HELL I created and WHY 5 different screen names..

    That was the 22 y/ old stupid me..and up to NO fykin good, or bored, etc. etc. It is a matter of some growth and age, which is why to Anna and me..some of it seems bizarre-but reminiscent. Im not too brand new to say I had 5 different screen names and caking to different men with them..BUT if I was saying I was doing this at 22..there should be a problem.

    @ LP..the point is NOT lost. Where I was going with my point in my multi-tasking LOL..was that in lies the women and their circle of evil, there are associated and connected CIRCLES of MEN. point made above, when Pey was like “why you loggin off before we look at so and so’s pic?” (paraphrased)..

    Men are JUST as evil/nosey as women…and will generally participate in similiar behavior but say its all on the chick.

    re: Steve…Steve is a crutch…i mean most women have heard what Steve has said ALL THEIR LIVES. particularly by other men/cousins/fathers etc., but to me I always thought that it was just being overly protective and outrageous…Steve, sadly or happily to say, made it true.

  51. thecomebackgirl Says:

    this at 32..there should be a problem.

  52. “re: Steve…Steve is a crutch…i mean most women have heard what Steve has said ALL THEIR LIVES. particularly by other men/cousins/fathers etc., but to me I always thought that it was just being overly protective and outrageous…Steve, sadly or happily to say, made it true.”

    Exactly…

    and additionally: “Also, you say certain things are very easy to notice after a few dates, but if that truly was the case we wouldnt have half the blogs written here”

    Just becfause there are signs, doesn’t mean we take heed. There was plenty of stuff I knew or had a hint of beforehand and I kept on walking into the snake pit.

  53. peyso Says:

    @ Nicki – But does that mean that every single time we’ve ever made a mistake there were signs? I beg to differ

  54. miss t-lee Says:

    ‘da hell?
    I don’t have words for this post.

  55. Anna Says:

    @ Comeback – I feel you on this one. Men gossip too, y’all just use us as cover. Everyone loves a juicy tidbit.

    @ Peyso – I can’t EVA (and if I do, you have permission to give me a kunf fu e-slap) say I was “above it”. Matta a fact, I’ve done it (with whatever old school technology existed at the time, we used to hit that *69, *72 mess on the regular) more than a little bit. I’m just old enough to be tired. When I read your post I shook my head like, “The chilren, what will they think of next?” But really, you all ain’t nothing new.

    All things being cyclical, though ….my 62 yr old mama(who used to be so straightlaced) breaks into her man’s email on the regular, calls her sisters on conference and they HOWL.

    Welcome to your 30’s, when you become your parent’s parent.

  56. Cuzzo Says:

    *scratches head*

    I’m feeling slow here…I don’t understand the purpose of all this that they are doing. If you and your SO are fine why is she meddling in other people’s relationships? Usually misery loves company…

  57. Peyso Says:

    no meddling just observing

  58. Cuzzo Says:

    @Peyso

    I was basing it off of what you said here: “If this isnt a collection of ten jawns brought together for the sole purpose of causing havoc to the dating world.”

  59. Cuzzo Says:

    This is a little extreme…lemme make sure I have this correct:

    A group or associates (some friends) exchanged their FB passwords so they can observe the FB goings-ons of ppl they are not friends with?

    If so? Why do they care about what the other ppl are doing? so much so that they need to log into someone else’s account? (you may not b able to answer this) If you happen to be there while someone else is in their account and they are showing you stuff…I get that…this…I do not get.

  60. Peyso Says:

    havoc from a guy’s perspective b/c they couldn’t hide stuff on the book. the bottom line is that ppl always wanna know, sometimes women go through great deals to know though


Leave a Reply

