Single Sisters Speak Out

The Modern Life of the Single Sister

D@#% Unpretty! July 5, 2009

Filed under: Single Sisters On... — Sunny @ 10:00 pm

 

I’m  obsessive about how I look. That being said, when I came across an article on Glamour magazine’s online site called  8 Little Things That Can Make You Unpretty,  I had to take a peek.   They listed the following:

1.  Snapping Your Gum 

Guilty: I do this one sometimes and I know I do it! lol  I used to do it to irk my boss, on purpose.  One day, he said something about me needing to take etiquette classes and was DEAD serious.   I just laughed and sauntered out.  I HAVE taken those classes Jerk!

2.  Wearing a perma- pout 

Guilty:   it’s my natural face.   Since my bottom lip hangs a lil’ bit, I think people always think I look angry or sad.  But what do u expect?  I refuse to walk around grinning like a Cheshire for no reason. 

3.  Being a mirror-izer

Guilty:   LOL.  Kanye said it best, “We all self-concious.” 

4.  Tugging at your strapless top

Not Guilty. I rarely do strapless clothing. 

5.  Cursing like a sailor

Guilty.  I keep trying.  I know my man hates it.. and I’m trying to be a lady. But it’s hard when no other word can describe the feeling you have in that minute better than F&*K!  Plus I know it’s not very Christianly for me to keep on this track.

6.  Primping in Public

No Contest. lol. I don’t know if I am guilty or not. I do constantly apply gloss!

7.  Publicly criticizing your own body

Guilty.  I do this but have made the effort to stop. It’s obnoxious and I know it, especially when I am not putting forth any effort to change it.  Fact is, I think I look pretty good (besides wanting a lil’ lipo bc I hate working out) and my flaws, I think I disguise well about 89% of the time… so I need to quit. 

8.  Frying your skin. 

Not guilty. I’ve been to the tanning bed prolly about three times in life, but it breaks my skin out. I’m allergic to the sun.  I have tried self tanning but it stinks. lol.  Soooo,  I’ve elected to love the pale I am in. 

Ladies, are you guilty of any of these?  Men- do you agree with the list?  Do you have any to add?

 

24 Responses to “D@#% Unpretty!”

  1. Mikki Says:

    most def #1 most of the time if im smacking gum like its the last piece on earth is because a. Im hungry or b. Its really really good.

    i used to be guilty of # 2 but i think i have learned to stop because people told me it wasnt cute. I think i look pretty silly grinnin all the time but hey it works. My issue is usually when im out and about im on a mission to get somethin done and frankly i cant focus on smiling when my period just started and im tryin to get pills or im hungry as heck or in the mall tryin to find and outfit. If u want me to smile then come be my personal assistant and i would be smiling 24-8 lol

  2. Jaci Says:

    I don’t know if I’m guilty of any of these really.

    I’m super self-conscious about the primping thing…I try to run to the powder room other than that…nada

  3. @Mik: MANNN. lol. It’s over for smiling when hungry!

    @Jaci: “powder room”… You’re so old Hollywood sometimes. 😉

  4. Bamer15 Says:

    I dated a girl that would stop and look at herself in any piece of glass, mirror, reflective tape, window, tailight, etc and it was so annoying.

    The worst part about it was this girl was beautiful, but it was almost like she needed to remind herself every other minute. And I complimented her all the time to boot.

    It’s kind of like what a little boy does when he figures out he has a p3nis. He walks around and touches it constantly, never do you see him without his hand pretty close to it. Almost as if someone told him there is a p3nis monster…. lol

  5. “It’s kind of like what a little boy does when he figures out he has a p3nis. He walks around and touches it constantly, never do you see him without his hand pretty close to it. Almost as if someone told him there is a p3nis monster…. ”

    Bamer this is hilarious!!!!! lol. I noticed in a club this weekend how this chick kept going back and forth to a reflection right in the open. lol. I was perplexed!

  6. Mikki Says:

    Lol bamer i am crackin up! I still cant think of that comedian on comedy central that talks about his two year old whippin out his p*nis all the time. Talkin bout dahdeee dahdeee look at my ting ting! It is the funniest joke when he acts like his kid.

  7. thecomebackgirl Says:

    “I dated a girl that would stop and look at herself in any piece of glass, mirror, reflective tape, window, tailight, etc and it was so annoying.”

    I do this..and im not ashamed LOL…

  8. Jaci Says:

    Lol…little boys are A MESS.

    Like omg omg is it gone?

    Ok here’s one of mine:

    I touch my lashes A LOT and stare @ my boobs ok there ya go.

    @Mik

    Don’t you say it?

  9. V Renee Says:

    1. Gum Popping – I am still trying to learn how to pop correctly. I just can’t get it right.

    3. Being a mirror-izer – Never met a mirror I didn’t like. But I’m not obsessive about it. At least I don’t think I am…

    5. Cursing like a sailor – Yup!!! iCan’t stop iWon’t stop. Take that take that.

  10. Bamer15 Says:

    Finally a girl that admits to touching her boobs and checking them out, even though you know for a fact that all the other guys are checking them out and you might as well save yourself some trouble and just ask them. 🙂

    Believe me they will tell you if one side looks different from the other. Don’t matter if they are standing across the other side of the room. 😀

    No problem for the laughs girls. I laughed myself because I know I was the same when I was younger as well… I got few good smacks on the head for having my hands in my pants. (And yes I wrote hands as in plural)

    Can I ask why girls don’t do this?

  11. peyso Says:

    The list is pretty dead on.
    Gum Popping makes chicks looks birds.
    Also, digging out wedgies and spittin doesnt help either

  12. “. Cursing like a sailor – Yup!!! iCan’t stop iWon’t stop. Take that take that.”

    LOL. Puffy Daddy aka V.

  13. miss t-lee Says:

    5. Cursing like a sailor

    Definitely guilty…I’ve been working on this for years…lol
    I love the f-word just a bit too much. 🙂

  14. Peyso, that wedgie thing is sick!

    “Can I ask why girls don’t do this?” I think bc we are taught what is not ladylike so early on… I think boys are not chastized for it like we would be.

    @miss t-lee! Good luck in the non cursing thing. lol. I keep trying too.

  15. Hugh Jazz Says:

    Honestly, I only have a problem when women do 1, 5, and 7. Especially seven. Most women that criticize their bodies are the ones who have pretty good bodies. It’s like anything short of perfection isn’t good enough.

  16. Cheekie Says:

    Interesting list. How I factor with each:

    1. I used to do this a lot in high school, but I rarely chew gum anymore. I’m more a mint person.
    2. I try my best to walk with a smile. Even a slight one. I get complimented a lot on my smile so I try to use it often. On the other hand, I’m a deep thinker so sometimes I DO look like I’m sad or angry and I get the “What’s wrong?” question a lot.
    3. I try to be sly with my mirror gazing sometimes. lol
    4. I don’t do strapless really either, Nicki.
    5. I actually don’t cuss a lot (well, uh, it depends on who I’m around…lol). When the time comes for it, I most definitely do…because like you said, it sounds better.
    6. I’m also a habitual lip gloss applier.
    7. I usually keep these things to myself because I realize it’s not a good look. And I don’t like drawing more attention to spots that I don’t feel good about.
    8. Not guilty of this at all. I like my skin tone just fine and while I do love the way it tans, I don’t actively seek it out.

    One thing I do that I wonder looks good or not:

    I bite my lower lip a lot. Like full-blown chew on it at times. This habit runs in my family, actually. My mom and sister do it…and I’m sure a few of my aunts. I’ve heard that some find it cute, but are there guys out there that hate it?

  17. K Even Says:

    @ Hugh Jazz

    I cant stand when a compliment turned down… just say “THank You” (kapeesh)…

  18. “I’m also a habitual lip gloss applier.”

    YES! It’s like the lips are addicted.

    Cheekie, I thought they consider the lip biting sexy….

    Hey Hugh- I hear ya!!!

    @K Even: I understand… I hate that too.

  19. Cynthia Says:

    I used to really have a problem with #1 …I layed off the gum but I used to pop it like crazy

  20. Sula Says:

    Guilty of #1… My father HATES it, my sisters do not even eat gum, they can’t stand the smell (my dad has hypnotized them, lol)… but I have an oral fixation (ha! ;)) and I enjoy chewing gum and making sounds with my gum… but I do it mostly in appropriate settings like my car, the office (after 3pm) etc…

    As for the rest, not so much. I don’t talk about my body with anybody else. Growing up, it was never a subject of conversation and I like it that way. To me it always seems like people are fishing for compliments when they do that… and I find it irritating.

    Ok, I just realized I sometimes tug at my strapless top… Try fitting these D’s in a strapless and let me know what happens… And NO! I won’t stop wearing strapless clothes. So I’ll keep tugging at it. Lol!

    I like the list though.

  21. Hey Sula!!!

    “Ok, I just realized I sometimes tug at my strapless top… Try fitting these D’s in a strapless and let me know what happens… And NO! I won’t stop wearing strapless clothes. So I’ll keep tugging at it. Lol!”

    I was tugging this weekend. lol. Almost had a Janet Jackson malfunction once.

  22. Mikki Says:

    im scared to do a strapless. I smack gum in church! It be good!

  23. Anna Says:

    Not a gum chewer, too many bad experiences in elementary school. I like a hard candy.

    The only time I find myself caught in the mirror is if I’m riding in the passenger seat and get all narcissistic in the side view mirror. Otherwise I go all day without seeing myself and when I finally get to a bathroom it’s like “Whoa!” Dry lips, bar-b-que sauce on my face (dang mcnuggets), hair a mess. Then I’m like, “no one likes me enough to tell me?”

    @Sula – didn’t you see Tiny grasping that little dress of hers from the top on the BET awards?? Don’t do it, girl! Get some of that skin tape.

    I think my unprettiest habit is chewing the inside of my lips. My old unpretty habit was smoking – the chewing’s definitely an improvement over that.

  24. I avoid mirrors, this solves many of those problems 🙂


Leave a Reply

