Single Sisters Speak Out

The Modern Life of the Single Sister

Wrong if you do, wrong if you don’t….. July 29, 2009

Filed under: Single Sisters On... — peyso @ 8:30 pm
Am I the only one not mad at her?

Am I the only one not mad at her?

 

 

Unless you’ve been living under a rock, there is not way you haven’t heard about Henry Louis Gates. If you haven’t, he is a preeminent member of black academia, rather conservative and right winged, and who was arrested on the porch of his own home after his neighbor called the police on what she thought was a burglary or home invasion.

 

Now there has been much debate about who was wrong between the cop and good ole Skip. Some people say the cop is a racist. (I don’t think so, I just think he’s a bit of an arsehole. Anytime a white person does something dumb or stupid to a person of color, it doesn’t qualify as racism.) For some reason I think that if Skip was white guy who yelled at the cop he would have went to jail too. Some people say that Skip shouldn’t have acted the way he did. Bump that, a grown man should be able to scream at whomever he pleases inside his own house; warrant he doesn’t pose harm to anyone there. (However, where Skip eff’d up was when he stepped outside of his house on to his porch. Now since his actions are in plain view, despite the porch being covered under the same legal protection, he can and was arrested for disorderly conduct). Nonetheless, I still black people shouldnt yell at cops, it makes me nervous.

 

None of the above bothers me. What bothers me is the way some people are blasting the women who called the cops, Skip’s neighbor Lucia Whalen. She saw two men walking into a house trying to essentially force their way in and she did the right thing by calling the cops. Imagine if they were actually burglars and then she had to explain to Skip when returned from China, that she saw who broke into his house and didn’t do anything about it. Was that a better idea? She didn’t even notice the Skip trying to get into his own house at first and had to be alerted by an elderly old lady who probably was an actual racist. (I believe that 95% of white people over the age of 75 are racist and 90% of black folk over that same age are prejudice as hell). People argue that she should know what her neighbor looks like and that she had to be racist b/c she called the cops on a well known black man. This is a crock of sh!t. 1) I bet there are more people than you would think that don’t know their neighbors or couldn’t recognize them from a distance. To be honest, I would fail this test b/c there are times when I don’t recognize my own father. 2) She didn’t call the cops on two black men. She called the cops on two men who she thought was robbing her neighbors, one of which she actually though was Spanish. I personally think she did the right thing. I would love to live next to her; especially I know better to yell at men with guns. It just bothers me that so many people of color are turning into the boy who cried racism. I really think by over using racism and racial profiling we are taking away power from the terms. So now when an actual instance of racism or racial profiling occurs, we won’t be taken serious. People yell racism or racial profiling anytime there is a white guy and a person of color involved. I’m not saying that racism and racial profiling doesn’t exist, I think we all would agree that we are NOT in a post racial society. However, what I am saying is hold the term for when we are sure it’s true.

 

So how do you feel about what they doing to Lucia? Is it right? Do people of color cry racism too much? Lemme know

 

23 Responses to “Wrong if you do, wrong if you don’t…..”

  1. Reign Says:

    I totally agree and am so tired of hearing about it. It wasn’t racism, it was just a cop being a cop doing his job, yall know they trifling to everybody. Gates didn’t know the law and stepped outside his house acting a fool. And Ms. Lady did what a lot of people don’t do, make their nosiness known and called the police. I look out my window all the time watching people and still can’t tell if you they lived there or are just visiting. Racial profiling and blatant racism still exists but it’s not to be used just because its a black/white negative interaction. Act a fool outside, go to jail.

  2. J Money Says:

    Mr Gates – He was wrong for continuing to go after the officer, after the situation was resolved. I think he reacted in a racial profiling type of manner about it. But nobody can say what they will do when they get really upset. I agree with Peyso and not arguing with people with gun but it wasn’t like they were gonna shot him in or outside his home.

    Officer Crowley – He responded to a break-in call. I think Mr. gates pushed his button and when he showed him up outside the home, he slapped him with the most ambiguous law there is “Disorderly Conduct”. You could get this charge for playing your music too loud in your car. I think he was pissed at Mr. Gates and wanted to get him for something.

    Lucia Whalen – All she did was call and say there was a break-in. If she gave descriptions i.e. (black male, hispanic woman), then I would question whether it was racially charged. But will not know without hearing the call tape. But in my eyes she did nothing wrong.

    Side Note…I dislike how the Mass police department had this huge press conference basically to say they want an apology from Pres. Obama and their mayor. Didn’t address any questions or issues with case. Just “We support officer Crowley, Obama should have shut up because he didn’t have the facts and we want an apology.”

  3. I don’t cry racism in this instance but the entire situation bothers me.

    Okay, Lucia called the police because she thought someone was breaking into a neighbor’s house- I get that.

    But once the police came and realized it was Mr. Gates at his own home, it should have been smashed. I can understand Mr. Gates being pissed, and I prolly would’ve acted the same way. I know you shouldn’t yell at the police (especially being black) but they came into his house, treating him like a criminal.

    ******I can’t say that black people use the racism card too much because I can’t recollect any instances from memory (and that doesn’t say much). lol ******

  4. miss t-lee Says:

    I don’t think she was wrong at all. She saw what she thought was a crime taking place, and called to report it.
    I would appreciate if my neighbors would do the same for me.

    Everything that happened after that was unfortunate, on both accounts.

  5. Peyso Says:

    @ J Money – The tapes have been released. They repeatedly asked her what race were the “suspects”. She said she didnt know and then after about the third time she said “I think one of them is hispanic.”

    @ Nicki – Regardless of if the situation should have been smashed or not, I think Gates added fuel to this fire. The cop wasnt going to arrest him had he not acted a damn fool.

  6. “Nicki – Regardless of if the situation should have been smashed or not, I think Gates added fuel to this fire. The cop wasnt going to arrest him had he not acted a damn fool.”

    I agree, he prolly did add fuel to the fire, but I am not saying it was uncalled for. I’d have been pissed too!

  7. J Money Says:

    “She said she didnt know and then after about the third time she said “I think one of them is hispanic.”

    See I don’t get why their race even mattered. I know they have to get as much information as possible but dang. Asking 3 times!!

  8. Peyso Says:

    @ J Money – I think race matters alot in trying to apprehend someone. Its another way to limit who you’re looking for.

  9. J Money Says:

    @Peyso – True it does matter. But if the person is unsure, then it really does no good because then your on a wild goose chase. And then hispanics in the area are getting stopped with “You fit the description of a suspect we are looking for” crap. It has happened to me.

  10. Peyso Says:

    @ J Money – Its happened to me, at gun point, by plained clothes cop, in a supermarket. I was thinkin, “these white boys are trying to rob me in a muh effin supermarket in West Philly, this some bull”. If I didnt see a uniformed officer in the back, i prolly would died that night

  11. J Money Says:

    @Peyso – I have never had a gun in my face. I don’t know what my reaction would have been at that point. Good thing you observed the officer in the back because it could have turned out real ugly.

  12. thecomebackgirl Says:

    “None of the above bothers me. What bothers me is the way some people are blasting the women who called the cops, Skip’s neighbor Lucia Whalen. She saw two men walking into a house trying to essentially force their way in and she did the right thing by calling the cops. Imagine if they were actually burglars and then she had to explain to Skip when returned from China, that she saw who broke into his house and didn’t do anything about it.”

    I read somewhere that she didn’t live in cambridge..see the media is responsible to for ALOT of this. She also obviously looks ethnic. I heard she was white and worked at Harvard. I’ll be back to finish the post after I have my cup of joe.

  13. Peyso Says:

    @CBG – lol @ cup of joe – Why is it called joe?

  14. Hugh Jazz Says:

    Lucia Whalen did nothing wrong. Officer Crowley did. The police love to overstep their bounds because they know they can and get away with it. They are power mad and their fragile little egos can’t handle someone being upset with them and not obeying their every command. Strip away the accusations of racism, reverse racism, and the fact both Gates and Crowley got caught up in the heat of the moment, and the bottom line is Henry Gates was arrested for yelling at a cop on his own property without a warrant.

    The police at worst see you as the enemy. The police at best see you as a potential enemy. A certain NWA song comes to mind.

  15. thecomebackgirl Says:

    test

  16. Bamer15 Says:

    This is another good topic to bring up on here, thanks for writing about it Peyso.

    I am living on the other side of the ocean so I haven’t heard too much about this, but thanks for bringing to light the whole story.

    Based on what I read I don’t think racism was apart of it, rather just a pi**ed off cop and a mouthy dude. Forget the color of their skin, they were just yelling and the cop was the authority figure in thsi situation so he exercised his power. (Although I highly doubt he needed too)

    Agree to someone else’s post that disorderly conduct is such a lame arss law. You can say that about so many things.

    And I agree with what the neighbor did, I hope she does that again.

    And on a last note, FAH-Q to the media for blowing crap out of proportion, way to go again… *Rolls eyes*

  17. “And on a last note, FAH-Q to the media for blowing crap out of proportion, way to go again… *Rolls eyes*”

    I agree.. they get on one story and beat it to death.

  18. Cheekie Says:

    Ya know, when the news broke out, I did think racial profiling…but was open to learning the whole story. And bits and pieces of info kept leaking out over a few days. I read the neighbor didn’t even mention race, which is interesting. At first I questioned why she didn’t recognize him, but did ask how far from the home she was because if she WAS far, no amount of recognizing can negate the fact that it’s hard to see from certain angles or distance.

    As far as crying racism too much, I think the problem I have with it is that it leads people to say “not everything is about race” even in situations that IS clearly about race. So, crying racism too much ain’t the only car, negating it too much is one as well. And one that annoys me far more. People who abuse it do sometimes ruin it for those that have valid racial issues. Then again, those who want to live a life through rose-colored racial glasses don’t need the few rotton apples to spoil the bunch. They’ll say it’s not about race by default.

    I think the Gates event (people are calling it Gates-gate, which is hilarious. lol), was one that DID have a valid reason to believe it was racially motivated at the beginning due to the limited information. I do think people should’ve remained open to more information to come, but it being about race wasn’t totally out of the realm of possibility given the early info of two cops arresting a black man regardless of how he was dressed and regardless of him already offering them ID info and whatnot. It wasn’t until more info was provided that people were able to truly rule it out as a possibility. But the way it APPEARED in the first place? Well, yeah, it did look like it was about race. It wasn’t so much that people were throwin’ race cards at something that couldn’t possibily be about race. I just think people are far too comfortable saying it’s not about race more than saying it is, as you claim, peyso. I see FAR more “it’s not about race; stop using the race card” nowadays than the prior.

    My bad for the spiel…those who know me know I’m passionate about racial issues (and about those who disregard it every chance they get)…as my blog and rants can attest. 😉

  19. Cynthia Says:

    I agree that we call racism sometimes when it is not neccessary, however the MEDIA and sometimes even Al Sharpton are the blame, by getting involved and blowing things out of proportion, although their intentions are to do good…sometimes they do more harm.

  20. K Even Says:

    yall think the Prez should have said something?

  21. Anger Management Says:

    No definitely not, I think Obama should’ve dodged the question as he normally does so well LOL. I think at the time all the facts weren’t out, and he would’ve been better off not commenting.

  22. Meave Says:

    Obama should have completely not said anything. If anything, he should’ve said he was too busy to think about the case.

    Anyway, about the entire ordeal. I just wanna know what words were exchanged between Gates and the cop in his house. ’cause real talk, a legit Harvard professor shouldn’t scream racism for nothing.

  23. goodblkgrl Says:

    I went to school in Boston and lived in Cambridge, I can honestly say that the cops are Assholes and some are actually racist…See boston has this facade of being this liberal well educated town. But in reality, it is one of the most racist and segregated place I’ve ever lived in…

    I’ve had friends who had run ins with the PD there..and it always turned out ugly…No matter how RIGHT you think you are Black People…DO NOT be smart, sarcastic, rude, biligerent or offensive in anyway to a police officer…It will always turnout ugly…

    And I sure do want neighbors who call the police…How great is it to live in a place where the “No Snitching” Movement is not rampant??


Leave a Reply

