Single Sisters Speak Out

The Modern Life of the Single Sister

SSSO Black in America series: “Black People and Money” August 2, 2009

This week, the bloggers of SSSO will be bringing you our own version of “Black in America.” Enjoy!

I was watching this:

and after hearing  the “Rick James” quote ( who was portrayed by Dave Chapelle), “they should have never gave you ninjas money,”  it got me to thinking.  I thought about our people and the things someof us do when we get money.  We get downright ig’nant.

Exhibit 1:

Exhibit 2:

(We have plenty of these cars rolling around my city and these ninjas aren’t even getting paid to endorse!)

I cannot understand, WHY we do this!  Why is it cool to walk around with pocketfuls of money and show it off?  WHY is it cool to “make it rain” in the strip club but not allow the girls to pick up the money?  *cough, cough. Ahem*   And then, these same people get mad or cannot understand why they get robbed.   Well, goofball, you pretty much invited the “goon” right in.

Who are they “stuntin’ ” on?   Who really cares about how much money you have?  And why is your self esteem so low that you will do anything (ie. throwing money around) to get people to admire you?   A session with Dr. Phil a psychologist may help.

Or is this just common/ accepted behavior for people that have never had anything?

Contrary to David Banner, stunting is NOT a habit so why isn’t buying a nice home, paying off debts, investing your money, or sending a kid to school, not what’s hot in the streets?

Good People:  Can you help me understand? Do you get as irritated as I do? Tell me everything.

And I’m not hating (so please don’t go there) but it bother me. I think we make ourselves look like jokes, and basically  handing out the comedic material.  Do better BLACK PEOPLE!!!!!

 

66 Responses to “SSSO Black in America series: “Black People and Money””

  1. Jaci Says:

    Hmm…here’s one that I don’t get either.

    It’s kinda like when you drive by the projects and you see someone driving an Escalade…wtf?

    Wouldn’t that money have been better spent getting yourself somewhere to live that’s decent and not government funded?

    I think the financial small-mindedness comes from the fact that black people (not all, but some) have never really had anything big or flashy or of meaning so they don’t see where they should do the things you don’t really see like investing.

    Beyond that like everything else in society they are interested in instant gratification. The benefit of a house doesn’t really come along for some years…but the benefit of people giving you attention because you’re riding around in a McDonald’s car with Lambourghini doors is something totally different.

    On the whole we need to do better and I think it’s hard, but it’s up to the one’s of us who are fiscally responsible to make it better for ourselves…

    Where’s Mik? I have an idea for her!

  2. Jaci: Do u think we will ever change though?

  3. Anna Says:

    Stupid ish like this brings out the republican in me: f*ck ’em, I say. If I see you in my middle class neighborhood I’ma give you the side eye and if you stop for too long I’m calling the po-po a la Senora Snitch up in Cambridge. I’m going to steal all the passive aggressive moves from the 2520’s to let you know that you are not welcome here. If I see you in the grocery store I’m gonna ask you how much bananas are today knowing dayum well you don’t work there. Ok, not really. But seeing that mess makes me want to. *shakes mid-size fist at McDonald car* Dayum, Dayum, DAYUM!

    You seen that Boondocks episode where Thugnificent moves in the neighborhood? I was on Grandpa’s side – even though his battle rap was wack,lol. People do that mess to get attention, and I can no longer support infantile behavior in grown folks by giving them any. If I see you in a car dedicated to Superman, Don Magic Juan or Ronald McDonald I can only breathe a sigh of relief that your stupidity will most likely keep you right where you are. I can’t be bothered. My concern is the rising cost of the middle class – hard working black people with good sense are being priced out of the American dream left and right.

    Ok, I’ma stop ranting now. But that McDonald car made me mad. Dayum!

  4. Anna Says:

    And that bamma is holding a little doll out the window…I want to smack him upside his pointed head.

  5. Hey Anna! I didn’t get to see that episode of the Boondocks, I’ll google it.

    @those cars: Could you imagine your beau dropping you off to work in that? lol

  6. He is doing too much with the matching (re: the doll). lol

  7. Shawnta` Says:

    Morning, y’all.

    I like the new page/format. Very nice.

    @Nicki: Good post. I’m looking forward to the entire BIA series SSSO style. 🙂

    There are many blacks (both celebs & non-celebs) who have learned from the mistakes/mismangement of others (like MC Hammer, TLC & others who have filed for bankruptcy). These are the smart ones…the ones that learn from others’ mistakes or have been taught how to manage/invest their money to make it multiply & work for them. These are the ones who invest, purchases property/real estate and contribute to charities. I think many affluent blacks are also good about reaching back and giving a hand to others, especially if the students are attending their alma maters.

    Then there are the ignorant ones. I think they are flashy and do a lot of the stuff they do for ‘show’. They want people to know they have money. They want people to think they have more money than they actually do and they do this by being extra and extravagant (read as stupid & ignorant) with their purchases. I think a lot of the time, they ‘throw money around’ and spend it on what we see as stupid items so that it’ll seem like ‘they must have a LOT of money if they can afford to do something like this or buy something like that.’ It’s all for show but at the end of the day do they really have anything to show when the things they are purchasing have no return on investement and are depreciating in value with each passing minute?

    I think the black community is doing a much better job at educating young people on the value of money, the importance of home ownership, the sanity/benefits that come from having and maintaining good credit, etc. but there will most likely always be a few bad apples to spoil the bunch and make us all look foolish.

  8. miss t-lee Says:

    There’s a kat I’ve seen around town driving in a caprice classic on 24’s with the M&M logo….hi-larious.
    Why must I cry?!?!

  9. Thanks Shawnie. 😉

    “think many affluent blacks are also good about reaching back and giving a hand to others, especially if the students are attending their alma maters.”

    Alicia Keys does great with this…

    ****What other names do you all have of people that are doing good things? ****

    Does anyone think the rap music (bragging about what you have) has an influence on how people are spending money?

  10. @miss t-lee: They have a purple and a green Skittles logo around my neighborhood!!!

  11. Jaci Says:

    @Nick

    no…the ones who do stuff like this probably won’t…well I take that back some will..others won’t.

    @Shawnta

    Thx on the layout.

    I think that the hip hop industry can be blamed for lots of this foolishness. I think if some of them had been more like let me invest in this or that or buy a house then they wouldn’t be homeless (MCHammer) or trying to hide from women they got babies for (Nas)…I think they would want to be more fiscally responsible. I like that Alicia Keys does this and although Kandi Burruss is on RHOA she made it kinda plain that she’d had the same house for like the past 15 years.

    Also, I’ve heard statements from Bey on how she doesn’t spend her money on diamonds and flashy stuff…that shows restraint!

  12. Danielle Says:

    Honestly, I understand your frustration. I used to get irritated (and sometimes I still do) with the flashy cars, loud music, and irresponsible behavior but I realize that this is America and these people have the right to do what they want to do….it’s just that simple to me. We are not a myopic group of people, we’re very diverse. Some are doing what many may consider to be ‘the right thing,’ but truth be told, we all have things in our lives that we’re not proud of…

    That was probably an inaccurate word choice, because I’m not sure if the people pictured are proud or not, or just being themselves……But either way don’t they have this right?

    I grew up in Detroit, in the city……I guess some may say that I’ve done a lot of ‘good’ things (but this may vary depending upon who you speak to), but when I run into (and this doesn’t happen often) friends from elementary school and we share our stories, careers, etc. They seem happy for me, support my education and aspirations, but never have I gotten the feeling that they wanted to turn away and ‘live life right.’

    I get the impression that many feel that they can’t change because they’ve been doing XYZ for so long or their entire social scene is caught up in that particular lifestyle.

    I mean if you don’t like it (and I don’t) don’t look at it. But realize that in every group, race, ethnicity, there is diversity ….some that the group may celebrate and some that the group may not celebrate.

    I have a few more questions for clarification. What is the problem? Their dress or the lifestyle. It was mentioned that they’re not “buying a nice home, paying off debts, investing your money, or sending a kid to school,” but honestly, a lot of other African Americans aren’t doing this either……I guess I wonder what would you rather them do? How do these images impact African Americans?

  13. thecomebackgirl Says:

    WHO WROTE THIS!!! I’m dying.

  14. Jaci Says:

    @Danielle

    Right..and I think part of that is the problem…even for those of us who are just in a lot of debt …they make us look bad…

    It’s like other people look at stuff like that and it affects all of us as a race because they look at all of us like we aft like that and we don’t. And we are not a myopic “white bread” society …I think some of this just borders on coonery…It isn’t very becoming…

    And it violates a tenet of why we were fighting for equality from the get-go which was that we were civically irresponsible (as in why let them have a job or vote if they can’t even manage their own homes and their finances then why should they have a say in how America is run…

  15. Jaci Says:

    @thecomebackgirl

    Ms. Nicki Sunshine wrote this…

  16. V Renee Says:

    Sorry for the delay, I was outside shining my 28 inch rims. Yall can’t see me.

    LMAO

    All I got to say is that most people who do participate in this foolish, won’t have a pot to piss in at the end of the day. Most of them don’t have a license either. LOL

  17. Jaci Says:

    @V

    Get ’em but if you had 26 in rims I wouldn’t be so upset since you have a job and stuff…

    And you’re right…not only will they not have a pot..they wont have a window either!

  18. I agree, Danielle, people have the right to do what they want to do.. but still, does that mean that we should.

    My argument inlies with Jaci’s explanation. And additionally, I think our people need to do better. One generation influences the next and I don’t think we can expect anyone to help us until we make a change within our own community.

    We don’t have to look like a “white bred” society, but still we don’t have to do the bafoon dance, just bc we can.

    “Sorry for the delay, I was outside shining my 28 inch rims. Yall can’t see me. ”

    DEAD. lol

    “All I got to say is that most people who do participate in this foolish, won’t have a pot to piss in at the end of the day. Most of them don’t have a license either”

    Which will effect all of us, who are tax paying citizens!!!

  19. Jaci Says:

    We don’t have to look like a “white bred” society, but still we don’t have to do the bafoon dance, just bc we can.

    Exactly, there’s no reason to shuck and jive …not for massa uncle white man…

    Somebody should say …and someone I know prolly would…but…

    “white man…why do you hide your ignoramuses and yet point at ours and laugh?”

    Because ours are the flamboyant, ignorant sons of b!tches I’ve ever met…

  20. “Somebody should say …and someone I know prolly would…but…“white man…why do you hide your ignoramuses and yet point at ours and laugh?””

    This is why I wrote the disclosure about handing out comedic material.

  21. thecomebackgirl Says:

    It didn’t say that before that Sunny wrote it..or are my eyes going?? anyway ..i back to watching

  22. LOL. It did Comeback. It’s just smaller now.. up by the “filed under”

  23. Danielle Says:

    @Jaci and Nicki,

    I know where you’re both coming from and it may border on coonery, but what is that really? I hear this term thrown around and I don’t really know what it is…..I’m really not trying to be funny. I think I know, but I’ve yet to get a clear defination as to what it means in 2009. Is it in a car, the language, hair color, or a combination of it all?

    I guess, I’m a little frustrated because I find and I’ve just been blogging this year, so ladies correct me if I’m wrong,but I have read a number of blogs where this ‘coonery’ is discussed….but there’s never any resolution. It’s just, let’s look at how they’re living or they’re so ghetto or I can’t believe this…..somthing along those lines.

    And I think that’s fine, but in someways it seems like that message is really dividing us. Are we putting our noses down at them? Do we think we’re better? If not, what can we do. about it?

    @Jaci – you stated, “…because they look at all of us like we aft like that and we don’t.” This is really unfortunate. I think you’re right, but I also don’t believe that it’s not fair to us as a people to believe that we’re walking representatives of all African Americans. I experienced this in a predominantly white university.

    They have the problem, we don’t. If they’re entire view of blacks is changed because one of us stole their car, what am I supposed to do to change their mind?

    And the truth is that it really doesn’t matter what we do….if they don’t like you, they will always find a reason….a black person did this 20 years ago, did you see XYZ on tv, or anything. People can always find a way to defend their stereotypes and racist beliefs

  24. Jaci Says:

    @Danielle

    I love the dialogue you’re bringing about today.

    Coonery is in essence the embarassment of African-Americans on the whole because of the antics of a few “lower” class individuals and when I say class it has nothing to do with money because some celebrities participate in more coonery than the people living in housing projects.

    The solution to coonery is to sit these people down and explain to them where what they are doing is wrong OR to show the people putting these ideas in their heads where it is wrong. However, with the solution comes different problems…

    This goes back to another tenet…that the talented (tenth -more or less) have to help the others. And that isn’t to say if you don’t then you’re wrong, but if you don’t you have no right to complain that you’re being embarassed since after all you’ve done nothing to help…

    …and yes, if someone is racist or doesn’t like us because of a certain stereotype you can bet it won’t change over night but things like the above only help to perpetuate the stereotype…making it hard on the brotha (or sista) who was acting innocently…

  25. Cheekie Says:

    Word, Nicki. Ninjas need to start spending more money on assets and instead of simply looking like as*es.

    And I can’t STAND that free advertisement ish folks do with their cars. WHY you driving a Mickey D’s car? You look like a delivery man. And, yes, there are Mickey D’s that deliver…I was surprised too when I saw that mess in the yellow pages. lol I think the worst I’ve seen so far is some ninja riding a Dora the Explorer car. Um, numba one: that is mad suss. Numba two: Suss as hell. And numba three: How old are you?

  26. Jaci Says:

    @Cheekie

    Exactly! And those cartoon characters kill me!

  27. “And I think that’s fine, but in someways it seems like that message is really dividing us. Are we putting our noses down at them? Do we think we’re better? If not, what can we do. about it?”

    I can only speak for me (because some prolly are) but I don’t think I’m looking down my nose at them. I want them to do better.

    What can we do? Education- but you can’t make people accept education.

  28. “think the worst I’ve seen so far is some ninja riding a Dora the Explorer car”

    @Cheekie: LMBO. STOPPPIT. Pedophile, much?

  29. Hugh Jazz Says:

    Nicki: ”Do u think we will ever change though?”

    No. Commerialism and materalism is just part of who some people are. But a fool and his money is soon parted.

    Anna: ”You seen that Boondocks episode where Thugnificent moves in the neighborhood? I was on Grandpa’s side”

    Lethal Interjection versus one old n!gga,
    He picked up the phone, now my finger’s on the trigga!
    Snitchin’ aint the thing to do, so now me and my crew
    Gonna show the block how to handle this fool!
    He just hatin’ cause I went from rags to riches, to baddest b!tches,
    Somebody need to ask these snitches,
    Why they talking to police? No justice, no peace!
    My home is paid for, no rent, no lease!


    NOT WORK PLACE APPROPRIATE! This clip is from the DVD, not from the TV airing. Adjust your volume.

  30. LOL. Hugh why did that remind me of 50 Cent?

  31. Jaci Says:

    Hugh=really smart older boy…whose name I can’t remember and you’d think after he had me watch every. single. boondocks epi ever…I’d know.

  32. No More Says:

    I cosign Danielle’s post…I’m trying to figure out when did people buying crazy and outlandish things become isolated into a “black” thing? I just saw a 4×4 with monstrous wheels and the loudest pipes the other day, driving thru the suburbs, the driver was white…I wonder do other white people feel embarrassed by his actions? Do I have a problem since I am not embarrassed when I see some of the above images? I’m definitely NOT trying to roll in the McDonald car but if dude is responsible, his home and bills are taken care of and that’s what he wants to spend his leftover money with, then why exactly should I tell him not to?

  33. Cheekie Says:

    @Nicki: LMBO. STOPPPIT. Pedophile, much?

    HAHA, right. WHO is he tryin’ to pick up in that car? *shudders at the though*

    Please believe, stuntin’ like a habit ain’t just a Black thing, but for the sake of uplifting my OWN PEOPLE, Imma focus on the ninjas. Like what was said above, you can’t buy class. I can’t stand when a brotha gets some dolla dolla bills, the first thing he buys is a CAR. A car that will devalue like a mofo as soon as the front wheel steps outside the car lot. I’m not mad because we’re the only ones doing it, I’m mad because we as a people can do better. There’s nothing wrong with stuntin’, don’t get me wrong. But, please don’t stunt unless you have your foundation set. It’s like buying beaucoup flashy furniture in a house that has cracked ceilings and walls.

    More of us need to get in that “don’t work for your money; make your money work for you” mindset. That Rich Dad Poor Dad ish. lol

    Oh, and I forgot to comment that I like YOUR new stuntin’, SSSO. 😉 The new page design is purty.

  34. Cheekie, I couldn’t have said it better myself.

    “:A car that will devalue like a mofo as soon as the front wheel steps outside the car lot. I’m not mad because we’re the only ones doing it, I’m mad because we as a people can do better. There’s nothing wrong with stuntin’, don’t get me wrong. But, please don’t stunt unless you have your foundation set. It’s like buying beaucoup flashy furniture in a house that has cracked ceilings and walls. ”

    AMEN.

    re: the new design: Thanks chica. Jaci surprised us with it. 😉

  35. V Renee Says:

    “I think I know, but I’ve yet to get a clear defination as to what it means in 2009. Is it in a car, the language, hair color, or a combination of it all? ”

    I don’t know if you all remember the picture that was going around of the kool aid hair girls….where their hair was 50-11 colors. I can’t recall where I read it, but someone was saying we were quick to call the girls and the hairstylist ghetto, but if it was a 2520, we would say how creative they were. We dismissed the work that went into creating the style. And I had to agree that it took talent to do the hair. It really made me stop and think, because we do tend to clown things that we think cause “embarassment”, yet if a 2520 were to do it, it wouldn’t be thought of as such.

  36. Jaci Says:

    I’m trying to figure out when did people buying crazy and outlandish things become isolated into a “black” thing? I just saw a 4×4 with monstrous wheels and the loudest pipes the other day, driving thru the suburbs, the driver was white…I wonder do other white people feel embarrassed by his actions?

    I can’t speak for the white ones in Detroit but here it’s like put him deep in the woods as possible…and don’t let him come out. Down here they are just as embarassing as we can be….

    I’m definitely NOT trying to roll in the McDonald car but if dude is responsible, his home and bills are taken care of and that’s what he wants to spend his leftover money with, then why exactly should I tell him not to?

    If that was the case then I would be fine with it, but I think that the majority of people rolling around in cars like that don’t have homes and bills taken care…whilst I hate to sound stereotypical that’s generally the way it is…

    Show me somebody driving an old Caddy with Lambourghini doors living in his own home, no debt and a taken care of family and I’ll just twist & shout!

  37. V Renee Says:

    ” But, please don’t stunt unless you have your foundation set. ”

    I can agree with this on some level. At the same time, how many of us “stunt” i.e. hair done, nails on point, designer labels, without having a foundation set. Men love cars. I think they look at it as an extension of themselves and try (*try being the key word) to bring their own uniqueness to it. I don’t necessarily agree with it, but at the same time, I understand it.

  38. No More Says:

    @Jaci: “whilst I hate to sound stereotypical that’s generally the way it is…”

    That’s the issue I have with discussions like these. Aside form the picture of the guys in the cars and the car itself, we have no other information. So why was the first thing assumed was, these guys are coons and they need to do better? Cuz they are black? Had it been white men in the picture would that be the first thought, or would it had been more like “that’s a dumb car” and that would’ve been the end of it? Just the mere picture of black men in a colorful car with rims was enough to called an exhibit into the case of us F’in up?

  39. Jaci Says:

    I can agree with this on some level. At the same time, how many of us “stunt” i.e. hair done, nails on point, designer labels, without having a foundation set. Men love cars. I think they look at it as an extension of themselves and try (*try being the key word) to bring their own uniqueness to it. I don’t necessarily agree with it, but at the same time, I understand it.

    You make a good point here…but the things we spend money on like hair and nails, etc are not as expensive as buying a car then putting Dora and Diego on it…to me that’s comparing apples and oranges…both fruit but different kinds…and different levels…

    @NoMore
    That’s the issue I have with discussions like these. Aside form the picture of the guys in the cars and the car itself, we have no other information. So why was the first thing assumed was, these guys are coons and they need to do better? Cuz they are black? Had it been white men in the picture would that be the first thought, or would it had been more like “that’s a dumb car” and that would’ve been the end of it? Just the mere picture of black men in a colorful car with rims was enough to called an exhibit into the case of us F’in up?

    Well..if they had been white I would have said it was just as ignorant as I’m saying now…and that’s the thing white people act like animals just as much as we do…however we are held to a higher standard the darker our skin is…we don’t get a free pass to do whatever we want…

    That’s what I’m trying to get at…historically we have to prove ourselves…and that’s not over with just because a black man is drinking beer in the White House (which was him essentially having to prove that he was not racist towards Whites)

  40. “So why was the first thing assumed was, these guys are coons and they need to do better? Cuz they are black? Had it been white men in the picture would that be the first thought, or would it had been more like “that’s a dumb car” and that would’ve been the end of it? ”

    Let’s totally take the “white” man out of the equation and compare ourselves to only us.

    Seriously, is a brotha who is “working” a real job (I mean anything other than my neighborhood drug dealer) driving a car like this?

  41. Jaci Says:

    “So why was the first thing assumed was, these guys are coons and they need to do better? Cuz they are black? Had it been white men in the picture would that be the first thought, or would it had been more like “that’s a dumb car” and that would’ve been the end of it? ”

    Let’s totally take the “white” man out of the equation and compare ourselves to only us.

    Seriously, is a brotha who is “working” a real job (I mean anything other than my neighborhood drug dealer) driving a car like this?

    Nick, good point. You’re right…the brotha who is actually tryna be something and work for Wells Fargo or whomever is not going to drive up in their parking lot looking like this…that’s just unreal…

  42. “Nick, good point. You’re right…the brotha who is actually tryna be something and work for Wells Fargo or whomever is not going to drive up in their parking lot looking like this…that’s just unreal…”

    Exactly.. you just aren’t gonna be able to do it… and we know that. Now I know NoMo and Humble have already established their contempt with the tap dance we sometimes do in the corporate world,

    BUT at this time, some of us are doing it.

  43. Jaci Says:

    @Nick

    Contempt for the corporate world is one thing, but I think you have to respect it–it pays people’s bills (and at some point it paid theirs)…

    So I think we have a need for examining what it is about the corporate world they don’t like…Is is the little people like we are or people like Madoff, Schmidt and other high level executives who benefit from our pain?

    It’s like the Philco-Citgo guy who stands to make a $100 million dollar bonus because gas reached $4 a gallon…there are people working there who probably considered quitting because they couldn’t afford the gas, yet he benefits–so with any group you’re going to find that there are exceptions to the rule..whether it’s the corporate world or driving crazy cars.

  44. I don’t know Jaci.. we gotta have No Mo and Humble answer that one… where they go?

  45. No More Says:

    “Seriously, is a brotha who is “working” a real job (I mean anything other than my neighborhood drug dealer) driving a car like this?”

    One of my people does pretty well financially, with a “real” job. He drives his regular car during the week. Sometimes on weekends he drives his “baby”, a pink Caddy. Now granted it looks a whole lot better than that McDonald crap, its still one of those “ghetto” cars. He put some money into it, but its not like he wasnt able to afford it. So if you just saw him in the Caddy and assumed he didn’t have his stuff together you would be wrong. Now, this situation may or may not apply to these cats in the picture, all im saying is jumping to conclusions based upon someones choice of vehicle may be a little hasty.

  46. crazyone Says:

    Mismanagement of money is mismanagement of money. Until the “talented tenth” start doing better with their finances they are going to have a hard time teaching anyone anything. That car makes just as much sense as a college graduate with a boatload of debt living in a nice apartment with a walk in closet to keep all of their designer clothes. If you own a $500.00 purse and don’t own a home you are just as stupid. If you own $300.00 shoes and don’t own a home you are just as stupid. If you are spending $150.00 on dates and don’t own a home you are just as stupid. You have a fully loaded late model car and don’t own a home you are just as stupid.

  47. V Renee Says:

    “Seriously, is a brotha who is “working” a real job (I mean anything other than my neighborhood drug dealer) driving a car like this?”

    I know two guys *(my cousin and ex) that have cars similar to those….minus the logos but tricked out. Both have real jobs. Neither hustles. It’s not their main everyday car either. Matter of fact my cousin also owns 4 apartment buildings and a house. But one would never know that initially so I definitely see the point that No More is trying to make.

    And I also realize I am contradicting my very first comment. Ha. But I can do that. 🙂

  48. V Renee Says:

    @ crazyone “That car makes just as much sense as a college graduate with a boatload of debt living in a nice apartment with a walk in closet to keep all of their designer clothes. If you own a $500.00 purse and don’t own a home you are just as stupid. If you own $300.00 shoes and don’t own a home you are just as stupid. ”

    I agree with this (well not the stupid part ha). This is what I was trying to say earlier, we all (or at least many of us) “waste money” without a set foundation. I am guilty as charged.

  49. Jaci Says:

    @crazyone

    I can understand what you’re saying and there are enough of the talented ones to make it happen..

    re: apartments, etc…at least they are out there doing it on their own…my original point still stands a lot of these negroes are living with moms or baby mama and it’s not a good look

  50. Cheekie Says:

    “I can agree with this on some level. At the same time, how many of us “stunt” i.e. hair done, nails on point, designer labels, without having a foundation set. Men love cars. I think they look at it as an extension of themselves and try (*try being the key word) to bring their own uniqueness to it. I don’t necessarily agree with it, but at the same time, I understand it.”

    Yeah, I agree the stuntin’ has levels. I meant when the stuntin’ is in excess and it is in place of having a solid foundation. I mean, a lot of us who do get our hair did and ish at least stay at our own place. lol

    “So why was the first thing assumed was, these guys are coons and they need to do better? Cuz they are black? Had it been white men in the picture would that be the first thought, or would it had been more like “that’s a dumb car” and that would’ve been the end of it? ”

    Imma be blunt. I don’t give a eff about a 2520 “doing better”. So, no, I’m not gonna expand on a comment after seeing a white guy in a McDonald’s care beyond, “That’s effing stupid”. They take care of their own and it’s okay. It’s just not blasted in the media like us taking care of our own (i.e. folks complainin’ about affirmative action or black-related channels like BET…the latter of which the bulk of us don’t even wanna claim…lol), but please believe there’s some “lookin’ out” going on in 2520 land. So, when I focus on the brothas and sistas doing wrong, it’s outta love…outta care.

    For some reason, when we’re trying to uplift each other, it’s spotlighted in the public, but when 2520s help their own, it’s more behind the curtain…or simply accepted as the norm. And furthermore, there’s certainly no label attached to it such as “affirmative action”.

  51. “So, when I focus on the brothas and sistas doing wrong, it’s outta love…outta care. ”

    Amen.

    @crazyone: welcome to the blog.

  52. ms80sbaby Says:

    Great dialogue today guys!!!! I just shake my head at majority of the guys in my neighborhood w/ the extra cars because I know they don’t have their stuff together…

    However, as others have pointed out…. I know a few people who are degree’d but still has the ol skool cars… My ex is one of them… Had a 78 (I think) Skylark. Still has it….. He is who he is and he likes what he likes and he’s not really trying to change even though he has a degree….He also has a grill 😦 …. I can’t stand it now and I couldn’t stand it then. But since so many people said something about it once he graduated, now he’s on a mission to prove that you can be successful even with a grill… He works with disabled kids and is actually doing real well w/ his career even with the grill….. Do people even wear grills anymore?

  53. V Renee Says:

    “He works with disabled kids and is actually doing real well w/ his career even with the grill”

    1,2,3 don’t get nervous.

  54. ” But since so many people said something about it once he graduated, now he’s on a mission to prove that you can be successful even with a grill… He works with disabled kids and is actually doing real well w/ his career even with the grill….. Do people even wear grills anymore?

    I’on know 80s but I’m NGBATDI.

    If you are doing it, successful, with a hood car, all praises to you, but I am NOT gonna be able to believe any of these bafoonery taking place in these pictures from a “successfuL” brotha.

    And maybe success is relative… as Drake says, “..the money, cars and the -oooos.” If that is the situation, maybe we need to do better in our description of “success” INHO.

  55. Jenny Lynn Says:

    LOL @ v&80s….

  56. ms80sbaby Says:

    1,2,3 don’t get nervous.

    @V…. Exactly…..LMAO

  57. ms80sbaby Says:

    And maybe success is relative… as Drake says, “..the money, cars and the -oooos.” If that is the situation, maybe we need to do better in our description of “success” INHO.

    @Nick..And I really think this is what it is…. I know one day I was sitting outside with my grandpa and he just kept saying I’m soooo proud of you and your sis because the only thing people work around here for is a nice car and that’s it….. He kept going on and on like they think they doing something cuz they got a nice car that ain’t nothing…….

    I know my 18 year old cousin came up to me bragging cause she got a lil summer job where she getting paid 8.00 a hour… She was bragging about that lil money talking about how much it is for 2 weeks… I didn’t want to bust her lil bubble like that’s peanuts… So I was just like that’s good for now but that’s just the beginning and we need to work on increasing that…

    Please don’t be content with 8 freaking dollars a hour.

  58. ” I didn’t want to bust her lil bubble like that’s peanuts…”

    LMAO.. girl, right.. and the thing is, once she gets them adult bills, you won’t even have to tell her.

    “Please don’t be content with 8 freaking dollars a hour.”

    Exactly.. Do Better!

  59. Jenny Lynn Says:

    Ms. 80s Baby—

    right…when I started my job I was making $8 an hour…and then as time went on and I moved up…people would be like oooh look at my check and then somebody would be like “Look what Jac makes” and I’m *shush* LOL…I ended up making niiiice money…but I made it because I was not content @ making $8/hr…I need $20/hr…like post haste…but then I’m not satisfied there either…

  60. ms80sbaby Says:

    Ummmm Jac sweetie… Why are you Jenny Lynn? LOL

  61. Jenny Lynn Says:

    In case I get googled…LOL…

  62. ms80sbaby Says:

    @Jenny Lynn…Gotcha…. Wink Wink

  63. dc Says:

    i like his car and every car with a custom paint and nice rims. u do to. it was good enough for you to loose sleep over. if thats any mans choice to flash he just gets what comes with it, rather its girls, money, robbed, or a internet show, people buy 20K cars and can’t afford them. he should not be affraid to appeal to there peers and people with intrest in what they do. married wemen compete over the biggest dimond ring and dont worry about getting there finger cut off. rich or poor do what make u feel good. black lady.lol

  64. Welcome to the blog dc!

    “it was good enough for you to loose sleep over”

    First off, I’m sleeping good.

    “married wemen compete over the biggest dimond ring and dont worry about getting there finger cut off. ”

    That’s only some women… A woman like me is very basic.. I don’t need the extra.

    Don’t be a stranger!

  65. I am delighted that Tiger Woods is back playing. It makes the game exciting once more.


Leave a Reply

