Single Sisters Speak Out

The Modern Life of the Single Sister

Woah, Woah, Woah, She’s a Lady. August 18, 2009

Filed under: Single Sisters On... — cuzzo @ 11:43 pm

Isis - Transgendered Female

In the latest celebrity news, apparently Lady Gaga (pop singer whose songs include, “Just Dance” and more recently “Poker Face”) has balls…and not the kind that mean she’s gutsy, like actual balls aka nuts aka sperm sacks. She’s confirmed she’s a hermaphrodite (also more hearsay that I have yet to research myself because I have no desire to view a youtube video of her on a motorcycle, sitting up to adjust herself and *wham* balls fall down outta no where…feel free to google it yourselves). Hermaphrodite is defined under the link as not to be confused with “friscodyke” an undefined term used in Snoop Dogg’s, “Nothin But A G Thang (Baby)”.

I kinda wanted to refer to her as a “shim” (combo of she and him created circa 2006, probably from some Jerry Springer fan) now. But in deeper thought processing, I began to ponder, who created the gender roles and why are we so stuck on them? Are we more than our X and Y chromosomes?

In the case of the hermaphrodite, where the are actual organs present and natural to that persons body, it’s understandable for them to define themselves as either male or female. But in the rest of the confuzzled world where you can now somehow create an artificial penis on a woman (Chastity Bono is reported to be getting this surgery), and a man can have a vagina…it’s hard to understand. I don’t know what it feels like to “be in the wrong body” so I’m not going to say it’s totally absurd but very hard for me to grasp. It’s become a phenom of more than gay and straight, but who am I really, deep down?

Chastity Bono

Chastity Bono

When “butch” gay women can pretty much look like a dude without the organ, and give the organ to their mate artificially, why oh why would someone be so unhappy with their “parts”? Transgendered men confuse me even more because since they’ve now “become” a woman, and continue to date men, they no longer see themselves as gay. Maybe it’s not the whole population but I have heard this (Tyra* did an episode/experiment with people that have different sexual backgrounds – both gay (feminine) and gay (masculine) males and females, a male cross dresser (who was also gay), a transgendered woman (used to be a man – looked damn good!), and a bisexual male).  Oh yea, and there’s pre-op (before operation) and post-op (after operation) transgendered people. In a different episode, Tyra offered “Isis”,  a pre-op transgendered model (male to female) the money to help do her surgery or “transformation” as they were calling on the show.

Are you accepting of people “choosing” their own gender? Where does it get confusing, or where does the understaning stop? What about in the case of a hermaphrodite?

*When I went to the Tyra Show website, there are video’s of upcoming episodes and in today’s she’s rocking the straight back  cornrow look, which took me aback. I’m not opposed to cornrows (on women or boys) but the straight back style with the parts showing just reminded me too much of Queen Latifah in Set It Off. It’s a little too thuggish por moi…what ya’ll think?

 

16 Responses to “Woah, Woah, Woah, She’s a Lady.”

  1. Athena Nike Says:

    Its all a mess you just have to pray for their minds. I had a boss like Bono on the left, squeezing her D cups and hips into man clothes, when they make womens man style slacks and shirts that will fit in those areas. As masculine as she thought she was, she is not a man, I don’t need you to drive everywhere, fill the tank, hold doors open, or other “masculine’ activities when it just us ladies on business trips. So I guess the answer is no, I don’t accept them choosing a gender and expecting me to react or adjust myself to it.
    Look at Thomas Beatie, the woman who is legally declared a “man” because she got a penis made but doesn’t take the male hormones and is pregnant with baby #2?? “Him” and his wife live together legally married, sharing benefits etc that regular gay couples can’t get, and they mad at straight folks
    People can DO whatever they want, but that doesn’t mean you should.

  2. I’m accepting of the lifestyle, simply bc they aren’t killing me, personally…. Nothing they are doing has affected me.

    I think all sins are the same so it’s impossible for me to sit here and condemn them for what they are doing when I also sin.

  3. Oh, and I think that thing about Lady Gaga is for shock value.. she strikes me as the type to just say stuff and not really mean it. I saw her in an interview once and she was kinda rude… so I could definitely see her telling an interviewer that she was a hermaphrodite, just bc she didn’t feel like answering the question.

  4. Tea Says:

    You had so many random thoughts going on in this post!! Ha ha ha!

  5. Jaci Says:

    Morning everyone…

    Hmm….I haven’t really paid it any mind, if she’s a hermaphrodite then fine. If she’s a chick fine and if I wake up in the morning and she’s Sir Gaga I will still have a poker face.

    I’m with Nicki they are not doing anything to harm me and if they internally feel as though they need to switch genders…well that’s on them..and there’s not a whole lot I can do for that.

  6. peyso Says:

    Butch lesbians and the women who like them trip me out. I get that you like women and dont like men but why dont you go out and get a woman who wants to be a woman not a woman who wants to be a man. “Scratches head”. Then there are some butch lesbians who say they are fighting gender roles and such. That’s BS, you’re reenforcing them by abandoning one set and taking on another.

    I dont know how I feel about people being able to pick their own sex. (You CANNOT pick your gender, even if you get the operation you’re still whatever you were on the inside, physiologically and biologically speaking of course). I can fathom that you were born gay but to be born the wrong gender? I dont know about all of that. But i’m no expert

  7. Danielle Says:

    @Peyso

    I found the following comment interesting: That’s BS, you’re reenforcing them by abandoning one set and taking on another.

    I never thought about it this way before

  8. Cynthia Says:

    I saw a documentry on this 7 year old that felt it was born in the wrong body…parents never told the child it was born with both a penis and a vagina and they chose to make the child a boy…..it changed my opinion on the whole subject! The poor child was saying he felt he was a girl, and why couldn’t he wear dresses, to finally they gave in and started letting him at like age 10. The child changed into a happy kid again. So I feel what ever makes you happy!

  9. J Money Says:

    All I can say is “Vogue Evolution” LOL!!

    I dont have aproblem with it. I agree with Peyso on the whole getting a woamn who has a low Ceasar, Jodans, and wears a white tee.

    What also gets me is people who are bi-sexual thinking that if they go with the opposite sex that they will get treated better than the opposite sex. We are all human and people are people. One gender is no better than the other so I don’t see why they feel one will treat them better

    I knew a girl at my job who argued all the time with her girlfriend at work. Then I heard her say “I thought being with a woman would be better”.

  10. Eightys Baby Says:

    One of my previous coworkers child was born a hermaphrodite. I believe in the beginning they treated the child as a son. And then when the child got enough they let them choose. And she chose to be a girl.

    As a parent I wouldn’t want to imagine having an hermaphrodite as a child and then choosing a sex then the child ends up not relating.

    But as far as the people wanting to have the sex changes and all that other stuff….. I really don’t get all of that. So I’m just not gonna say anything else about that 😉

  11. Cheekie Says:

    Re: The Lady Gaga news

    WHA? I didn’t even hear that. Wow…I have to research it because Lady Gaga seems very tongue-in-cheek in her interviews. One minute she said she was “very gay” and then in an issue of “Out” magazine (where she’s the cover girl) she defended gay people but then added the “even though I’m straight” qualifier after it. She confuddles me overall. lol

    Anyhow, I’m all for people changing their gender/sex if they feel they should. Masculinity and femininity IS more than just our parts, it’s a feeling. And a lot of that feeling and identity comes from those biological parts. I can totally understand how a person that has woman feelings with man parts don’t feel in sync with themselves…or don’t feel like themselves period.

  12. Jaci Says:

    I saw a documentry on this 7 year old that felt it was born in the wrong body…parents never told the child it was born with both a penis and a vagina and they chose to make the child a boy…..it changed my opinion on the whole subject! The poor child was saying he felt he was a girl, and why couldn’t he wear dresses, to finally they gave in and started letting him at like age 10. The child changed into a happy kid again. So I feel what ever makes you happy!

    @Cynthia

    I know exactly what you’re talking about. If I was a parent I don’t know if I could deal with trying to choose what my child’s sex should be. I feel like that’s definitely a tough call…and it does kinda change people’s opinions of the whole perspective.

  13. Cheekie Says:

    Oh, I forgot to point out that Isis is fierce as HELL! She betta work it. I’m always trippin’ when the transgendered can work it better than me. Go ‘head, girl.

  14. Athena Nike Says:

    There was another documentary where an infant had too much of his penis snipped off during circumcision, so a psychologist told his parents raise him as a girl – even though the scrotum was still there and still pee’d the same way.
    http://www.chinadaily.com.cn/english/doc/2004-05/13/content_330455.htm
    So sad he killed himself
    I agree with Peyso, I can see being born gay but the wrong gender…hmmm…

  15. Personally, anything other than bisexual/lesbian-FEMS disgust me. I don’t even want to be around gay men let alone a person who has supposedly changed their gender.

    I don’t think they are evil people or anything, as I’m sure most are just regular folks, I just don’t want to have anything to do with them. I’m not without sin or anything, but I don’t think it can be too good to try to change what God created you as. All in all, as long as you’re not hurting anyone, I really don’t care how you live….just keep it away from me.

  16. chino Says:

    WoW! Surprised at this revelation of Lady Gaga with such a sweet poker face.


Leave a Reply

