Single Sisters Speak Out

The Modern Life of the Single Sister

What is in YOUR Alabaster Box? August 25, 2009

Filed under: Single Sisters On... — FlawedBeauty @ 1:28 am

Does whats in your box smell as good as what was in hers?

Does what's in your box smell as good as what was in hers?

Most of us have probably heard the story of the woman in the Bible with the alabaster box.  She came to Jesus as herself, with the box…where she washed his feet her tears, dried them with her hair and dried them with expensive oil.

This woman was humble.  This was her being the person she really was at the core of her being.  It is obvious there is no pretense in her actions.  She is doing it simply because she loves Jesus…

The model of marriage is based upon the relationship that Christ had with his church…And it is an unselfish love (think about it…he gave his life…)

Lately around the blog world I’ve been checking out a lot of blogs which more or less beg the question what does each person have to offer?

I have read about a couple who love each unconditionally.  They obviously take each other to a higher level and I find with this kind of love you move yourself and what is in your box to a whole new level.  The thing I have most come to realize is that there has to be something inside of your alabaster box that allows you to love this way.  Something, somewhere has to allow you to remove the garments of bitterness and put down those bags and welcome love.  However, when you welcome it you have to be willing to accept the challenges that come with it…regardless of how much you actually have to give of yourself.

What I mean here is…all possessions aside, the only thing we all have is ourselves…what better gift to give another person than the gift of you and the contents of that beautiful box (whether male of female)

When you sit your box on the table (because you must bring it to the table), what things are you prepared to offer your future mate?  Do you know what’s inside of it for sure or is it more a Pandora’s box type thing where everything coming out may or may not be good?  What would you like to see in the box of your mate?   And do you find it hard to wanna open your box-is it under lock and key?

I’m just curious…

 

16 Responses to “What is in YOUR Alabaster Box?”

  1. My box has been opened… I offer love, loyalty and vulnerability… The third, I will share only with him. I’m sure there is more.

    I hope he offers the same things that I’m willing to give out..

  2. thecomebackgirl Says:

    “Lately around the blog world I’ve been checking out a lot of blogs which more or less beg the question what does each person have to offer?”

    I think this really how its supposed to be. The bible ALSO says don’t cast your pearls to swine. On the other hand though I do believe that when you are a mirror of substance. And goodness. You can’t help to begin a relationship with your true equal. Provided you ‘ve worked through your mess.

    And all the swine ultimately help you appreciate the good ones. Really the truth here is somewhere in the middle. You MUST have exacting standards. And you MUST BE what you are looking for.

    after that yes, love selflessly. But don’t be a fool.

  3. Tango Says:

    Very good post, I love reading your blog.

    My box contains my most precious possession. My Heart. A heart filled with love, compassion, Faith, and strength. When you meet that person who is able to get in your heart there is no holding back, and you will give him all. When that alabaster box is opened he is getting your most precious gifts.

  4. Jaci Says:

    @Nicki

    The third, I will share only with him. I’m sure there is more.

    And that’s thing I forgot to mention…when you find that special person you will have things to share only with him. And you will so comfortable doing it…and that is truly a blessing.

    @Comeback

    The bible ALSO says don’t cast your pearls to swine.

    Precisely and something else you touched on with is that you two need to be evenly yoked. That’s something that we need to be sure is both mental & emotional. I don’t know if I will say that it should be financial because that can sometimes lead to a clash of the titans, but you should be on one accord a lot of times.

    @Tango

    Thank you. And the heart is the biggest thing in the box. And you have to trust that the person you give it to won’t break it. That’s a lofty responsibility but they have to be man/woman enough to handle it.

    And that’s what makes it so great.

  5. “And you will so comfortable doing it…and that is truly a blessing.”

    Exactly!

  6. Jaci Says:

    @Nick

    I want to be careful how I word this, but do you feel as though the box opens on it’s on or do you think some prying is involved?

  7. “but do you feel as though the box opens on it’s on or do you think some prying is involved?”

    A little of both… you talk about some things because you are ready and you talk about others (that you really don’t want to talk about) bc you are asked… you don’t want to keep anything away from you S.O, if you truly love them, but it’s still hard to talk about some things.

  8. peyso Says:

    I really dont know what I offer in my “alabaster box”. I dont have the nice things that you guys seem to have. I think the SO is the only person that can get my undivided attention. She’s the only one that makes me press pause on the XBOX 360. I guess that counts.

  9. Jaci Says:

    A little of both… you talk about some things because you are ready and you talk about others (that you really don’t want to talk about) bc you are asked… you don’t want to keep anything away from you S.O, if you truly love them, but it’s still hard to talk about some things.

    Yes ma’am I think…at the age all of us are we have things from the past that are painful. We don’t necessarily want to say it, but we know that those walls need to come tumbling down.

    And when we are finally able to let that happen I think you feel like you’ve confronted the demons and you know feel free.

  10. Jaci Says:

    @Peyso

    You have plenty in your box. You show her unconditional love and support. That’s a lot…it’s worth is far deeper than you’ll ever know.

    I think a man’s box is a lot different than a woman’s box. Inside ours are the softer things, while what’s in yours is something different but complimentary.

  11. temps..aka enyfilms the blog is up! Says:

    Ok ladies here’s where I am confused. My 1st love who never became my girl, is now stuck in a relationship with a man wit 4 kids n 14 yrs her senior. She’s cited feelin that he isn’t with her plans. She is now done with school, and I suspect he wants a baby from her. But she wants a ring and wants to have kids outta nyc. She just recently told me this as part “only get @ temps when my relationship stalls” phase which has been goin on for 3 yrs. For the record she’s a staunch Christian got Scripture on the vm, my question is how is her man and she “evenly yoked”? I feel she moved in with son cuz his crib is about a half hour from campus. Had she not moved in she would’ve been lookin @ an hour n half commute for 10 am clasess.

    And what gives with her getting at me and she gotta man?

    Oh I never intiate contact.

  12. Temps, I think she’s being greedy and wants the best of both worlds.

    Since she cannot leave you alone, cut her behind off and tell her to work it out with her man or call you when it’s over.

  13. Jaci Says:

    @Temps

    I co-sign Nick…

  14. temps Says:

    I’ll do that..thanks Jaci & Nikki…btw that pic of your lips is great…mmm black womens lips (Homer Simpson drool) ahhhggg

  15. No problem temps.. Thanks!!!!


Leave a Reply

