Single Sisters Speak Out

The Modern Life of the Single Sister

Don’t Put A Ring On It-Guest Post August 31, 2009

Filed under: Single Sisters On... — FlawedBeauty @ 10:00 pm
Tags: , ,

Today we’ll be enjoying a guest post from the love DCDatingDiva…Enjoy!

So recently, I was out and about in D.C., enjoying the nightlife and my yummy concoction of vodka mixed with Nuvo (hey it was on special for $5.00, sue me), so anyways, this guy starts up a conversation with me. After awhile, <strike>I’m bored with him</strike> ready to stop talking and just chill. He is not taking the hint, as I say I’m waiting on my “friends”. He scoots his stool a little bit closer. I lean away a little bit, but the music is now blaring and Mr. Not Getting The Point is still trying to converse. Normally, I would make up some lame excuse and walk away, but two things kept my butt planted right there on that barstool 1) I did not feel like standing and 2) my friends were sitting outside, trying to “see and be seen” and that is not my MO.

My friend sends me a text to see where I’m at. I respond quickly and tell her to come to the bar. Mr. Not Getting The Point is still talking to me. I think he see’s I’ve kinda shut down, and is now saying maybe “we” should go dance or check out another bar. I tell him, I’m hanging with my friends tonight, and am waiting on them, but the clueless dude tool is still chatting it up. My wing-girl finally comes up and I introduce them. She sits on the opposite side of me and I turn and start talking to her.

(Side Note: Mr. Not Getting The Point is still trying to yell pointless banter over the music)

So I tell my chick friend that she can’t go back outside, at least for a min, that Mr. Not Getting The Point is annoying me.

Chick Friend: that’s why I wear a fake wedding ring, you should wear one?

Me: Why, would I do that? Then people I actually want to talk to will see I have a wedding ring on, that’s stupid?

So our conversation brings me to my point. Why are you wearing a “fake wedding ring”? Do you still do it, have you done it in the past? Could you have potentially scared off the “man/woman” of your dreams, cause you had a “fake ring on it”. Hell, you might as well go all out and have a “fake wedding too!”

Diva

(Not a Proponent of the “fake” Ring On It)

 

27 Responses to “Don’t Put A Ring On It-Guest Post”

  1. I’ve never done this…. the only girl I’ve seen do this is my cousin and she did it for an entirely different reason.. she was “engaged” but her bf hadn’t officially proposed yet, so she’d purchased herself a fake engagement ring.

    Just as pathetic.

  2. I have seen a guy coming that i tottally wasn’t attracted to (he was also very annoying to boot!) and taken a ring that may have been on my right hand or on my middle finger and placed it on my ring finger…

  3. Mikki Says:

    I probably would do it for a night if i just really has in my mind i didnt want to be bothered that night. Never done it but i would take a chance on missing mr right just to get away from mr cant get a clue lol.

  4. thecomebackgirl Says:

    “she was “engaged” but her bf hadn’t officially proposed yet, so she’d purchased herself a fake engagement ring.

    @ Sunny..please riddle me how one gets “engaged” without an “official proposal” and ends up with a ring to boot.

  5. Jaci Says:

    @Nick

    I am seriously very curious about this…I think you need to write a book called what not to do during engagement.

    I see CBG has already questioned it for me…

    @Akua

    Right! I’ve done that, but I’ve never bought a ring! That’s nuts!

    @Mik

    Hey girl! Last night was FAB!

  6. Anna Says:

    Fake ring? WDDDA?? LOL!

    Nicki: that’s a tragecomedy if I ever heard one. Thanks for the laugh so early in the am, girl.

  7. @ Nicki – Speechless. Are they married yet? Did he ever get her a ring?

    @ Anna – Apparently D.C. – My friend, last Sunday. *smh*

  8. Jaci Says:

    @Diva hey girlfriend glad you made it over here!!!!

    @Anna Nic is going to have to write us a blog detailing this!

  9. Thanks for having me Jac!

    I just can’t believe how many people actually wear a “fake” one…or have worn one. A ring doesn’t stop Bug-a-boos in my opinion

  10. Jaci Says:

    @Diva you’re welcome. i don’t think they respect it either…i did tell someone i was married once, but since i wasn’t tryna be serious i just wanted to see what it would do…so i gave him my number and told him call between these hours b/c my husband will be home…the bastard called like 8am…(2 hrs before i’d said he could)

    i was like soo…negroes ain’t respectful (and hel!l yeah there was somebody there)

  11. Ms. Minx Says:

    A LOT of ladies I know have done it. I don’t get it.
    A pointed “I really just don’t want to talk to you” if he’s not getting the point will do the trick. Or walking away. Or pretending to be allergic to his breath. Or crossing your eyes and pretending to slump. You get my point, lol.
    A fake engagement ring has too much potential for misunderstandings, IMO

  12. @ Jac – Smh*

    @ Ms. Minx I agree

    Question, does a fake ring diminish the value of what a “real wedding ring” may represent? Or is the ring just that, a symbol?

  13. most men I know could care less if you’re married or not. How do they know you won’t commit adultery unless they try to talk to you? lol. You have just told dude you weren’t interested. Hints are for kids, we’re grown out here. I’m not saying be OD-rude with it, but I mean, if you don’t want to be bothered, by me, then just let me know….cause it’s “so many **** in here.”

    is it just be or woman are women always saying, ‘i just want you to be real, honest, etc…’, ‘i’m tired of dudes lying’…….you wearing a wedding ring around when you’re not married is like me having a Lambo key ring when I drive a Charger.

  14. oh yea, not to mention, there might be a good brother, that you would be attracted to, and would like to converse with……..that will see your ring and keep it moving. Never stopping to speak to you at all. But I guess if he’s really into you, he’ll ask you if you’re married, despite seeing that ring…………..just because he knows women do that bs.

  15. Jaci Says:

    @DCDatingDiva Don’t judge me LoL

    @UndressingHER You make good points…we say we always want honesty and no game playing and that’s exactly what we do…

    Maybe we all need to visit camp Truth

  16. V Renee Says:

    Ummmm back in the day I’ve switched a ring over to my left hand, when a old man perv has come around. It doesn’t discourage them in the least though.

  17. “@ Sunny..please riddle me how one gets “engaged” without an “official proposal” and ends up with a ring to boot.”

    Girl, HEAR???? She’d already began planning out the wedding and everything with no official engagement.

    “I am seriously very curious about this…I think you need to write a book called what not to do during engagement.”

    I know right, Jaci.

    “Nicki: that’s a tragecomedy if I ever heard one. Thanks for the laugh so early in the am, girl.”

    No problem Anna…. lol

    “@ Nicki – Speechless. Are they married yet? Did he ever get her a ring?”

    @DC: they got engaged on Christmas Eve and married in March.

  18. Reecie Says:

    Maybe I’m too superstitious, but I’d never wear a ring on my left ring finger. No ma’am thats just asking for never getting the real thing! LOL.

    most super Pres(sed)tons don’t care about a ring anyway.

  19. Ms. Minx Says:

    Reecie, I do wear rings on my left ring finger sometimes, actually, cuz its usually the only finger any rings fit on (playing bball in HS effed up my hands 😦 ), but when I DO, they’re the big chunky cocktail rings, and not anything remotely resembling a wedding ring.
    My mama hates it too, though, lol. Says its bad luck.

  20. Jaci Says:

    I am really amused the fascination women have with rushing things…maybe this will come next week…

    I have to start writing my post like a whole week early…

  21. Miss Dimples Says:

    I used to work as a restaurant manager and wore a “fake ring on it” so the creepies wouldn’t hit on me….sometimes it worked and other times married men proposed we both become cheaters. At any rate, I wasn’t worried about finding Mr. Right at work because I wasn’t in that mindset….and if we were really destined to meet it would happen. 🙂

  22. Hugh Jazz Says:

    Fake wedding rings for women is about as wise of an idea as tea made from poison ivy leaves. All they do is keep the good guy that you want away and do nothing to slow down the men who don’t care about breaking up happy homes.

    Fortuitiously enough, I was training a lady at the Y this past Saturday, and I guess she was feeling me. At the end of the session, expressed that interest, and I asked why she had a ring on her finger. She gave the same answer, to keep guys away. But even if I was feeling her, I wouldn’t have said anything because of the ring!

    However, fake wedding rings for men are pu$$y magnets. Women know they have a jump-off with no fear of commitment.

  23. @Hugh – Ummmmm. Guys wearing fake wedding rings???? That’s a first. I’ve never heard that before…..

  24. Hugh Jazz Says:

    DC: “Ummmmm. Guys wearing fake wedding rings???? That’s a first. I’ve never heard that before…..”

    I never heard about any single guys actually doing it, but all my married friends say that as soon as they put a wedding band on, women came out of the woodwork. One of my friends suggested I do it just to see what would happen. I couldn’t lower myself to do so.

  25. K. Says:

    That fake ring stuff is too passive agressive. Just tell the mofo you’re not interested and keep stepping. The same goes for randoms in the bar you’re not interested in chatting with. Why not just say “it was nice meeting you but I’m not interested in anything further?”

  26. only1tcb Says:

    Listen…it’s hard enough out here for a single sista…I’m not about to put on any fake engagement rings. I’m trying to meet a man…not send them all away. The losers, zeros, whatever you want to call them are easy to deal with. Get up and move…or stop responding to them…they’ll get the hint and if not…I hope they enjoy their one-sided conversation.

  27. You should write a book about what do not to do during engagement too!!


Leave a Reply

