Single Sisters Speak Out

The Modern Life of the Single Sister

Music- Who’s Quenching Your Thirst? September 11, 2009

Filed under: Jay-Z,Music,Single Sisters On... — Sunny @ 6:16 am

Our girl Hol is vacationing in lovely Puerto Rico so keep her safe travels in your prayers. 

 

I purchased the new Jay-Z  Blueprint 3 album this Tuesday because I love Jay.   Prior to then, the last purchase I made was Beyonce’s I Am…. Sasha Fierce.   There was a time where most of my McDonald’s money went to the purchase of music.  

Music is so serious to me…. before myJ, it was my boyfriend (now music runs a close second.  😉 ) I’d rush out to purchase anything dealing with the Wu (-Tang for those who do not know).  Or anything new- I was eager to check it out.

Lately, my thirst for music is not being quenched and it’s become lackluster for me.   I’m craving some Floetry, but I’ve heard they’ve broken up (a rumor I STILL cannot accept)….

I am craving something to quench my thirst and will bring my love back to music…..

How do you feel about the state of today’s music?   What was your last cd purchase?

 

56 Responses to “Music- Who’s Quenching Your Thirst?”

  1. LastTrainToParis Says:

    Well don’t I feel special now! And I put you 1st over any Gucci Mane CD/Song LOL!!

    The state of music sucks. Lately I have been listening to more old school music where you can hear actual instruments. I think watching Making His Band has rejuvenated that in me.

    ***whispers I secretly want to be a drummer now and take lessons***

    I think everything now just gets me hype when I hear it. Or is something good for the club. But a Sunday drive with Nicki on some regular chill stuff I would not play it. More likely to go old school R&B or some new school if it was good (Day 26).

  2. LastTrainToParis Says:

    I just realized you said CLOSE second!! :-/

  3. Right babe, I said Music was AFTER you.

    I think you should try those drummer lessons! And yes, we do bop our Day 26. 😉

  4. I’m listening to the Steve Harvey Morning show.. I think they are in your city today.

  5. LastTrainToParis Says:

    Memphis or St. Louis?

  6. Shawnta` Says:

    Morning, y’all.

    I love music too. There’s a song for every mood & situation and I’m on one of those weird people where just about everyone and everything reminds me of a song. 😉

    Most recently, I purchased the albums of:
    Jay-Z
    Raekwon (for my husband)
    Ledisi
    Whitney (“Million Dollar Bill” is a fave)
    Smokey (great cover of Norah Jones’ “Don’t Know Why”)

    Y’all are right though; music just isn’t the same. When I listen to the radio I leave it on Heart & Soul and The Groove on XM to get the ‘old school’ r&b & hip hop.

    Have a great weekend!

  7. Shawnta` Says:

    @Nicki: I meant to add…good post & cute cartoon.

  8. Mikki Says:

    I think most of us can agree that the state of music has been in trouble for a while now. Im going to teach my child about the music that my grandama and momma and great grands used to listen too. I try to stay away from radio these days and stick to what i know. Jazz and gospel get most of my time now.

    My recent purchases include blueprint which is my very first jay z album i just popped it in my player this morning and so far i can dig it. My other ones are maxwell and mandisa from american idol, her cd is very inspirational and it reminds me of what i would like to see more of in todays gospel artist. I bout fell out when i first heard this mary mary track with david banner (the rapper if im correct) on the song what the heck??

  9. Shawn Smith Says:

    I can’t remember the last actual CD I bought. It might have been either Bun B or Pimp C.

    I bought singles off of iTunes, but mainly older songs that I remembered and had cravings for.

    I copped Jay’s album through file sharing. It’s ok to me.

    As far as music today, I’m not feeling it. There aren’t many artists that I would just go out and buy just because.

    Anthony Hamilton
    Musiq

    Everyone else has to grow on me.

  10. Hey Shawnie! Thanks chica.

    “There’s a song for every mood & situation and I’m on one of those weird people where just about everyone and everything reminds me of a so”

    I’m like that too…. Also, if someone is saying something, I usually have a song to go with a word. lol

    “Im going to teach my child about the music that my grandama and momma and great grands used to listen t”

    @Mik… Me too. I want my kids to be able to KNOW about the good music… not Soldja Boy (not my taste. ) I am cracking up- Mary Mary has a song with David Banner??? And wow. I can appreciate what they are trying to do but I was never able to get into hip hip gospel.

  11. @Shawn: I love some Musiq Soulchild.. I think he doesn’t get the credit/ recognization he deserves.

  12. Dang Imma have to cop J..today. How is it doing number wise?

  13. @Comeback: Here’s what I found when I googled re: Numbers

    “The near-40 Jay-Z has something to prove with his latest release, The Blueprint 3. But how is this album selling? According to retail sources to Digital Music News, first-week sales will land in the low-300,000s in the US, based on early reaction. That projection was echoed by multiple sources, and separately, Hits Magazine is calling for something within the 300-350,000 range.

    Either way, Jay-Z probably has a number one on his hands, especially in the current sales climate. But the previous Kingdom Come (2006) scored a more robust 680,000 in its debut week, based on data shared by Nielsen Soundscan. “

  14. Shawnta` Says:

    @Mik: I love the Maxwell album. I’ll have to check out Mandisa’s album…I don’t think I’ve heard anything from it.

  15. Shawnta` Says:

    @Shawn: Love, love, love Anthony Hamilton. Musiq is great too.

    “I love some Musiq Soulchild.. I think he doesn’t get the credit/ recognization he deserves.”

    @Nicki: You’re right; he’s underrated, so is Anthony Hamilton.

    I forgot to add that I also purchased Chrisette Michele’s album and love it too.

  16. “@I forgot to add that I also purchased Chrisette Michele’s album and love it too”

    Shawnie: I cannot stop listening to Ephiphany.. I love that song. She makes great breakup/ aftermath songs- like that and “Be Ok”

  17. Eightys Baby Says:

    Good morning y’all…

    Last week I purchased Trey Songz and the weekend before that I purchased LeToya…. And I actually like both of those cd’s….

    I’m not a big rap fan so I never purchase any rap cd’s… But I’ll pretty much try my luck with a lot of random R&B music….

  18. 80s: I’ll have to go on imeem and listen to that Trey Songs.. I heard LeToya’s on there and I liked it.

    I preview EVERYTHING now, by the way. lol

  19. Shawnta` Says:

    “I cannot stop listening to Ephiphany.. I love that song. She makes great breakup/ aftermath songs- like that and “Be Ok””

    @Nicki: Yes, she does. “Blame It On Me” is another good break up song. Her first album is my favorite but I really like this 2nd one too. I’m happy I got to see her live. She has a great voice. I hope she does a live album. I think the first time I heard her voice was on Jay-Z’s “Lost One”.

  20. Eightys Baby Says:

    Her first album is my favorite but I really like this 2nd one too.

    @Shawnta… I loved the first one….I haven’t really given this 2nd one too much of a chance…. Let me go ahead and turn on the ipod now and listen to it. lol

  21. “. “Blame It On Me” is another good break up song. Her first album is my favorite but I really like this 2nd one too. I’m happy I got to see her live. She has a great voice. I hope she does a live album. I think the first time I heard her voice was on Jay-Z’s “Lost One”.”

    @Shawnie: I agree- “Blame It on Me” was a good one.. she has such a unique voice… I really really felt her on the Roots “Rising Up”

  22. I listned to the first LeToya album… I liked the second better!

  23. Shawn Smith Says:

    I think Anthony is a great all around singer. In studio and in concert.

    Musiq (in my opinion) is only good in studio. I talked about in my blog the past two times I’ve seen him and he always lets the crowd do most of the singing.

    Chrisette Michele. Hmm. Seen her twice in concert and she’s over the top. The second time seemed like she was bashing her ext boyfriend.

    I find myself listening to more 80’s and 90’s stuff right now.

    Sade
    Renee and Angela

    Soul classics.

    The new Maxwell…..I can’t get into it. It’s too much. He’s doing too much.

    That reminds me, I need to get tickets to the Mint Condition concert that will be here later this year.

  24. The State of Music—far below it’s projected norm. I’mma music with a message junkie..it’s gotta be sayin something for me to like. In the car the I have Mint Condition (my ALL time favorite band in the world) rotating–last two albums; Livin’ the Luxury Brown & E-Life. Then there’s Rick Ross–Deeper than Rap which I bump on the way to work as loud as I can. It get’s me ready to face these crazy kids! MJB follows with the Mary album. Then Maxwell’s latest joints. Not sold on the album but three of the nine tracks got me hooked. And the sixth disc is Vashawn Mitchell…gospel artist that keeps me uplifted.

    I only buy CD’s of artist that I already have. I’m not diggin the new stuff. Sounds like basement music. You know, back in the day when you used to sit in the basement and watch everybody try to rap, sing, and dance. It was fun when you were ten but now….

  25. @Shawn: I saw Musiq once A LOOONG time ago, lol.. All I know is I loved it- but I don’t remember much about the performance.

    His cds are so good. The last one was AW-RIGHT but every other one is a classic to me.

  26. Welcome to the blog, TiffanyNicole… one of your names is my middle name, btw.

    Anywho, it’s like a lot of our music now is for a stupid dance (ie. Ricky Bobby) or something bubble gum (“we getting money like nah na nah na nah nah)… I mean seriously, what is the point? I just can’t get with it.

  27. Shawnta` Says:

    @TiffanyNicole: Welcome.

    @Nicki: Thanks for the video. I love her voice. She does a cover of No Doubt’s Don’t Speak for Pepsi Studios & I like it as well… http://new.music.yahoo.com/programs/pepsi-music/chrisette-michele/310/20090624/

  28. Shawnta` Says:

    Foreign Exchange has nice music too. I’m just now learning about FE but it’s nice.

  29. @shawnie: I love some Gwen also!!!!

    I like Chrisette’s take on it.

  30. I’m just now learning of them too… THey popped up on my Pandora once and I liked what I heard.

    Going to imeem. lol

  31. Jaci Says:

    Hmm…

    The last CD I bought…hmm…I think it was MJ’s #1s right after he died (the one @ WalMart)

    I like Musiq, Raheem, Raphael…that kinda neo-soulish vibe…I need to get I am…Sasha Fierce and B3…

    **off to listen to Ego**

  32. “that kinda neo-soulish vibe”

    I like that music too.

  33. Jaci Says:

    This is simply a beautiful song…

  34. Shawnta` Says:

    @Jaci: I know his Invincible album didn’t get a lot of attention (at least not prior to his death) but I like it. I like the “Speechless” & of course, “Butterflies” & “Heave Can Wait”. I also love Floetry’s cover of “Butterflies”.

    Speaking of Floetry…@Nicki: I agree; it’s a shame they broke up. LOVE their music. But Marsha Ambrosius is doing solo stuff & is all over the internet. I like her solo stuff too.

  35. “Nicki: I agree; it’s a shame they broke up. LOVE their music. But Marsha Ambrosius is doing solo stuff & is all over the internet. I like her solo stuff too.”

    @Shawnie: I’ve heard her sing on some hooks.. I dind’t know she was working on any solo projects.. I love her voice.

  36. The Lioness Says:

    I don’t (ahem) “buy” cds-lol. If I am buying someone’s cd then that really says something about the artist and the last one I actually felt inspired to go out and spend my money on was Chrisette Michelle’s Epiphany- worth every penny- and Electrik Red’s “How to Be a Lady”.

  37. @The Lioness: I get exactly what u are saying. lol. I only “buy” a select few.

  38. V Renee Says:

    Ummm yall know I’m coming out with an album right?!?!? something hot and fresh!!!

  39. Eightys Baby Says:

    ***Speaking as V’s manager***

    Holla at me we starting to book club appearances for the low 😉

  40. Can I be a background dancer?

    ***HAMMA-TIME***

  41. Reecie Says:

    Music gives me LIFE! (find out what I’m listening to by clicking on my name–shamless plug)

    but seriously new stuff:

    Blueprint 3–finally starting to grow on me
    Only built for cuban linx 2
    that new Eric Roberson!! the best of them all I’ve heard so far…seriously loves it.
    Whitney Houston’s new one
    The Tribute to Frankie Beverly & Maze

    in my car still but not so new anymore: Laura Izibor’s joint, love her voice and Maxwell’s joint

  42. Reecie Says:

    I forgot about Trey Songz–not really feeling Ready, and I just downloaded the Letoya Luckett and the new Kid Cudi–but haven’t given either proper listens yet…

  43. Rheecie: I didn’t know there was a OBFCL 2 out, but today I have been seeing people talking about it everywhere on the ‘net.

    I’mma have to get this!

  44. Hugh Jazz Says:

    Shawnta: “Y’all are right though; music just isn’t the same. When I listen to the radio I leave it on Heart & Soul and The Groove on XM to get the ‘old school’ r&b & hip hop.”

    Throw in Backspin and that’s pretty much what I listen to the majority of the time.

    I haven’t heard Jay’s new one yet. I figure it’s a safe buy but I didn’t care for his new single (don’t know the name of it). It sounds too Top 40.

    Also co-signing with TiffanyNicole and Shawn Smith on Mint Condition. I have to check to see if they are stopping in Milwaukee while on tour.

  45. V Renee Says:

    @ 80’s – THANK YA CHICA! We gotta spread the word. If wack Kim can get a song, than so can I!!!

  46. I think my favorite Mint Condition song EVER is ‘Pretty Brown Eyes,” but of course, I haven’t heard much.

    V- don’t be avoiding my background dancer question.

  47. V Renee Says:

    @ Nicki – Heck yea you can be a background dancer. Over in the treehouse, I asked if yall wanted to make up a dance….leading with the wop. LMAO

  48. I can do that… definitely….

    Let’s see, they have “Rickey BObby” “Kim Kardashian” “supaman dem ‘o’s”

    We need a catchy name.

  49. thecomebackgirl Says:

    test ing 123.
    Mic check.

  50. Jaci Says:

    @CBG

    you bout to sing?

  51. Reecie Says:

    oh yeah and The Foreign Exchange is definitely dope. The Marsha Ambrosius mixtape on my site, here’s the link…

    http://musicmakesmehigh.wordpress.com/2009/08/16/marsha-marsha-marsha-sunday-chill/

    I think that Zshare still works…

  52. Thanks chica. It works- I’m downloading when I get home!

  53. thecomebackgirl Says:

    No I was showing you how when i logged into WP.com it showed my pic. but i can sing if you want me to.

  54. Cynthia Says:

    Man I can;t even remember the last CD I purchased that is sad..wait it was the Dream’s 2nd CD. I played it so much til I got tired of it LOL

  55. Athena Nike Says:

    I dowloaded the Janelle Monet from amazon and burned it for the car, and a gospel group the Nevel Sisters out of Ohio. That and Israel One are rotating. But who started the fav Mint Condition song post??? Mine would have to be all of them, its too many.


Leave a Reply

