Single Sisters Speak Out

The Modern Life of the Single Sister

Tyler Perry Really Isn’t To Blame September 14, 2009

Over the course of the past week I have had mixed reactions about what it means to be an African-American.  We have been proud because we could stand behind our President as Congressman Joe Wilson shouted out “YOU LIE”.  The remainder of the week brought us an out burst from Serena Williams at the US Open immediately followed by Kanye embarrassing himself at the expense of a 19 year old.  If that all still wasn’t enough to shake up Black America we have to hear that Caster Semenya is on suicide watch because of how the media has treated her.

But on Friday, Tyler Perry released a Madea movie.  Throughout the past 7 years Tyler’s movies have amassed $320 million and have a huge following in Black and White America yet he continues to be named as being Chief Coon by many in the black media and the blog world.  I have an announcement about this…

TYLER PERRY IS NOT TO BLAME.

In fact, Tyler seeks to teach us all many valuable lessons.  I truly believe that somewhere somebody has been touched by his movies.  In fact, I believe a lot of people have been touched by his movies, but I am only going to choose two of them to prove my point.  And since this one is new I am going to go here first:

1. I Can Do Bad All By Myself- First off all, I think every woman’s grandmother has told her about how you don’t need a man to do anything for you.  In fact, SoWhatiff talked about this a little over on ThreeWaysToTakeIt yesterday, every woman needs to be able to do something on her own.  But anyways, back to the point, we have to learn how to make it without depending on other people or turning heartless.  Anyways, without giving away plot details, I’m just going to say we need to remember that we cannot love another unless we love ourselves.  And when we do find out how to do both we will transcend to higher levels.  I see nothing bad about this message…at least nothing as embarassing as threatening to shove a tennis ball down someone’s throat.

2. Why Did I Get Married?- If anything this movie shows us that marriage doesn’t always work out the way we want it.  In fact, there will be difficult days, it will be a bumpy ride, but this movie shows that you can persevere.  You might have to pray, you might have to separate…hell you may even be tempted to curse each other out, but you have to remember this person is supposed to be your life mate-you are partners.  This movie taught many valuable lessons about how to handle being married, having married friends AND holding yourselves and the people around you accountable for their actions…

So good people, what black movies have you learned lessons from?  What movies period?  What are your feelings on the events of the past week?  As a matter of fact, I’ve learned from lots of other movies too (but I am not sitting here all night to list them) so tell me some other good movie lessons?  Do you still feel Tyler is bringing down Black society or do you find he is helping?

 

62 Responses to “Tyler Perry Really Isn’t To Blame”

  1. the Vixen. Says:

    I really just feel like the entire world is crumbling. I don’t wanna just blame it on blacks, we just get the spotlight for it because I believe that’s how the media wants to perceive us and wants others to perceive us but there are many other races doing horrible things to others but it’s just not media-worthy. I just think blacks are more passionate about what they do and when they get mad they say what they feel. It’s just in the media they don’t want you to say what’s real, they don’t want you to have any emotions and it’s crazy. The real world is filled with many more crazy people, we should not be focused on stars getting mad b/c they didn’t win at something. These people have been SPOILED, they can throw tantrums now, they have the money for it.

    So, anyway, on to Tyler Perry, I think it’s a sad situation. People have been trying to tear this man down, do they know what he has been through?? He came from nothing and made a millionaire out of himself. He had an IDEA and he ran with it. People liked his idea, and now we’re sh*ttin’ on the same idea?? I don’t get it, and most of the ones that are hating are blacks. It’s a sad day when we are hating on our people for being famous and he is HELPING OTHERS THAT ARE UNFORTUNATE!! He’s giving us jobs and opportunities and we’re not appreciating it? I just don’t get it. Just because Medea is a loud mouth and she’s black? Would it have been better if she was white?? Would it be such an issue then? Are people mad about the fact that these people are church-based?? NO. Tyler deals with real issues and he has a moral at the end…is Batman doing that?? Is Friday the 13th doing that? My Bloody Valentine?? There are hardly any movies out with a good moral outcome and now we’re coming down on him. It just upsets me, sorry this was so long and I was ranting but i’ve been hearing about this for a while and just had to voice my opinions! Lol.

  2. Jaci Says:

    @theVixen

    Feel free to vent here as much as you want. You make several valid points in your argument that I didn’t touch on. With the opening of Tyler Perry Studios came jobs…in a time where the country is in economic peril. He definitely does his job to stimulate the economy and you’re right he came from sleeping in his car to having a mansion and all kinds of influence. he did not do this on his own. He had support from all races! What is sad is that his own people tear him down, yet some of us are willing to support stars who throw b!tchfits…

  3. Shawn Smith Says:

    What I think it is, is that people are tired of the same type of movies from Tyler.

    They all seem to (generally) have the same theme:

    Woman in a bad relationship.
    Man treats woman bad.
    Woman finally leaves.
    Meets Madea, she says some words. Laughs are had.
    Woman finds herself.
    Woman meets a new man. She’s hesitant.
    They fall in love.
    Movie ends.

    When you see an add for a Tyler Perry movie, you know what you are getting. Sure their might be variations of it……

    Now I’m not hating on the man’s shine. He did it. He made it. He is probably the only man that Oprah would probably seriously consider marrying, so that has to say a lot.

    I think (again, I don’t rep all the black people) that people just want to see something new and different from him.

  4. I really don’t have any thoughts about the events of the past week- I’m just happy there’s been no uproars about us shooting eachother in my city news.

    Hmmmm-black movies I’ve learned lessons from. “something new”- don’t be scared to try something different (including finding love online).

    I feel that Tyler is making his money and he’s giving back, so that’s good.. he’s a great businessman. I do not like the Madea movies because I don’t think she’s funny- simple as that. Plus I get annoyed by the angry BW-isms. As far as the other movies, as Shawn said, I do feel they are all pretty much the same. I’ve only seen two in theatres- Why DId I get Married and Madea Goes to Jail (lol. J wanted to see that one!)

    U know- my granny never had any quotes about life or anything for me growing up. I have learned everything I’ve learned from just observing her. My granny is a great woman.

  5. Shawn Smith Says:

    What I’ve learned from Black movies:

    Love Jones – It’s cool to be poetic and hang out with educated Black friends while listening to jazz.

    Mahogany – Success means nothing if you don’t have someone to share it with.

    Love and Basketball – Don’t let your passion blind you to real love (I guess).

    Not Easily Broken – Don’t let your mother(in-law) or family in general, interfere in your marriage.

    How To Be a Player – self explanatory.

    Friday – Don’t take boxes from your job on your day off and try not to get knocked the f out. Oh, and hide your chain when you hear a bike squeaking. Oh, and one more, When she wears short shorts and tied tops, Mrs. Parker IS trying to get it.

  6. I personally enjoy Tyler Perry’s movies. Now his tv shows….not so much, but his box office joints are good. I won’t front, I went to see his latest movie this weekend with a lady friend, and I damn near got teary eyed. Something about men molesting children makes me wanna kill somebody. Like I was actually mad at the actor. Of course the church stuff gets to those of us who believe in God and know we’re wrong…..

    ok, I’m off track here. Tyler Perry is helping people to EAT. Hundreds of minorities are clocking well over 6 figures because of his work ethic. I find his movies to be a direct reflection of SOME parts of the black community, not all, but some. Not to mention, his movies have been diverse…in the fact that they talk about black men and women on all levels of financial class.

    My personal favorites that taught me something….. Boys N The Hood and Crash.

  7. Jaci Says:

    @Nick

    Yes. My granny never quite said that…it was something about a piece of a man. I really think that’s why I noted that the non-Madea films really have better lessons. I don’t have anything against Madea but yes those are all pretty much the same.

    @Shawn

    I might have know you’d come through with the full list.

    I haven’t seen Love Jones yet (blame it on Hugh), but I have learned that you should never give up in general on anything especially love and success regardless of color.

  8. peyso Says:

    I think the issue w/ Tyler Perry is that he presents himself as one of the foremost directors in modern cinema. If you wanna be that, expect to be held to the same standards. As written by Sis Toldja and featured on this site he does a lot of good sh!t. No one is knocking that. The commentary is that he would be doing the same thing, providing jobs and what not, if he made a movie that had a different story line or featured better character development or better writing. I think we have to realize that making better movies doesnt come at the expense of giving black folks jobs, they arent mutually exclusive, they can be done at the same time. I feel like so many people want to give him a pass, hold him to no artistic and intellectual standards, b/c he gives blk folk jobs.

    Furthermore, its problematic that the main characters of many of his films and his tv shows play on and utilize some of the most controversial types of figures in cinematic history. That cant be overlook.

    All in all, I’m proud of the brother but what I ask of him is some variance in his films. Can I get some madea and then something different? Does everything have to be the same thing?

    On to black movies I learned from

    Ink Well – Just a cool as movie
    Jason’s Lyric – At a young age I learned the difference between effing (treach and yo yo) and making love (jada and da bol)
    That’s it from blk movies.

    In terms of what happened over the past 2 weeks, lets start with Joe. Over look his respect for Barak (or lack thereof) and we see that he is what many in “Middle America” would call a bad American. No respect for the position of POTUS. Then you got MJ who gave a nutty HOF introduction speech. Doesnt diminish his legacy but it does give you more insight into his personality and it aint all nice. Then you got Serena who IMHO was the worst of all. The judge gets paid to judge not get threatened. Kanye made my weekend. I think what he did was wrong but it was absolutely hilarious. That shrug at the end? Classic. I’m glad he apologized and he said something that caught my ear in the convo w/ Jay Leno (which ppl say was too much – asking him abt his mom and sht, i think it was a valid and good question). He said that he allowed his vision of what an award show should be hurt someone. I think we have to realize that it wasnt personal, it was more of a knock on MTV and the awards power that be but I’m sure that will get over looked.

  9. I haven’t seen Love Jones either. 😉

  10. Jaci Says:

    @UndressingHER-Exactly…that’s what gets me …that one scene I was like omg…omg omg …And it definitely had some serious crying moments…not a whole lot of laughs

    @Nick I been waiting almost a year for Hugh to get me that d!amn love jones so i can no wha the hype is about…maybe I’ll get it this Xmas…

    @Peyso I cannot play your opposite counsel today…but anyways, all of TP’s movies do not feature Madea. In fact, this one just had her in there as a babysitter…she didn’t do a whole lot…(but we have to remember the play of the same name was her introduction) AND as time as gone on his cast has gotten more diverse as have the story lines…for example the Family that Preys was not a lot like anything I’ve ever seen before yet it still touched on valid points.

    As for Kanye-he let his vision of an awards show taint someone else’s moment…a moment that was voted on by the people! Kanye can’t knock MTV for what they allow fans to do. Fans made Kanye who he is…

  11. peyso Says:

    @ Jaci – I would argue that TP is changing b/c ppl are starting to call for change. IMHO of course

  12. “Nick I been waiting almost a year for Hugh to get me that d!amn love jones so i can no wha the hype is about…maybe I’ll get it this Xmas…”

    LOL!

  13. I’m feeling bad for Kanye.. I saw him on Jay Leno and when he asked him about his mama, he kinda broke.. U could see that.

  14. peyso Says:

    @ Nicki – i dont feel bad cuz he brought it on himself but he did kinda break and his performance afterwards wasnt his normal Ye performance. Jay out shined him on a stage (which has never happened). In my mind anyone who saw that interview should forgive him though

  15. I see what u are saying Peyso..

    My statement wasn’t clear. clear. I meant I just feel bad for him in general- I don’t think he has dealt with his mama’s passing. I couldn’t imagine being in that position. It’s like you want to grieve, but also the fear that if you stop, you’ll become irrelevent.
    But that is only speculation ,I could be totally over reading him… he just looked so sad when Jay mentioned his mom.

  16. peyso Says:

    @ Nicki – that man looked like he was fittin to cry farreal

  17. peyso Says:

    Chris Brown’s PR ppl need to take lessons…..

  18. @Peyso: He really did. I wanted to hug him.

  19. I didn’t get to see the entire Chris Brown thing… my homegirl was telling me Chris came off really angry.

  20. I admire Tyler Perry for his example of success. Coming from nothing to something is major and we tend to act like his plight has been easy, but it hasn’t. It’s good to see someone make it and not forget how and why. Now I do thing he is one note. Like Shawn said, the same movie repackaged. I like the plays more than the movies because I tend to be more musically inclined. But Tyler Perry does not carry the weight of the Black population on his shoulders. Of course those in entertainment tend to get more limelight than others. But media in general has screwed us over or years. I think it all boils down to what my aunt always tells me, Tiffany don’t let your good be ill spoken of…Kanye, Serena, and others have let one moment or in Kanye’s case mutiple but a damper on the shine they have built for years. And sad to say, that one moment will always be remembered more than the positive.

    Now there have been some amazing films that have inspired me to be a better me:

    The Color Purple: Where do I begin??? You have been given the power to overcome all obstacles but it won’t work until you believe and see it yourself–“I may be poor, I may be black, I may be ugly, but thank God I’m here.”

    Jason’s Lyric: With love must exist reciprocity–“Jason I’m trying to love you, but I don’t want my heart broken. But that’s exactly what you’re gonna do if you keep trying to save a brother who don’t wanna be saved”

    The Pursit of Happyness: Anything is really possible–(don’t have a fav line for this one!)

    School Daze: We have been indoctrinated with the some of the most irrelevent ideas that hold us as a people back–“Waaaake upppppppp”

    Amistad: Freedom speaks one language–“Give us, us free.”

    And soooo many more…..

  21. Eightys Baby Says:

    I just do not get it…. I just don’t understand the big deal of Tyler Perry. I’ve said this time and time again. If you don’t like his movies or his WRITING then just don’t watch his stuff. I personally think it’s a slap in the face to him to criticize the same thing that made him successful. Mainly Madea and his writing. It’s obvious that he has fans so why should he change to please the people who don’t like his stuff. Only for them to turn around and find a problem with something else…… And so what if the issues are similars in some of the movies. I could see if they are unrelatable but they are not. I still don’t see how he’s bringing down black society????? Does people think like this because Madea is a man? Would it not be a problem if instead of being played by Tyler she was played by a woman? Furthermore, yes Madea is OVER THE TOP. But who doesn’t have someone in their family that is OVER THE TOP? And with this person you never know what you’re gonna expect but do you not claim them? No…. U just put up with their sheninigans and pray that don’t do something too bad that’s gonna embarrass the mess out of you…

    But again if you don’t like his stuff then just don’t watch it. He obviously has fans that have got him this far!!!!!!!!!!!!

    What was anybody saying about John Singleton?????? What movies did he have that had nonstereotypical roles????

  22. “But again if you don’t like his stuff then just don’t watch it. He obviously has fans that have got him this far!!!!!!!!!!!!”

    I agree!!!!

  23. Eightys Baby Says:

    @Nick…. Because I REFUSED to watch all those plays when they first came out… I was like what kind of bootlegged mess is this with the mics coming out the wigs… And then I was treated to one of the live plays. And I was surprised that I actually enjoyed it. I know that I’d rather see them LIVE. And that’s what I do.

  24. @80s: EXACTLY!!!!! My mama and my granny watch them and crack up but I thought they were bootlegged too. lol. I tried to watch it and couldn’t enjoy it bc I was critiquing in my head!!!

  25. as I’ve said before, Tyler Perry is the McDonald’s of black film.

    I would personally like to see TP challenge himself to doing a REALLY good film. A movie like “higher learning” or “X” (yes, he’d have to hire writers) that might just inspire people…

    he has the power to do this, he just has to pull the trigger

    yso.

  26. Eightys Baby Says:

    I would personally like to see TP challenge himself to doing a REALLY good film. A movie like “higher learning” or “X” (yes, he’d have to hire writers) that might just inspire people…

    @yso…… I personally thought he has already made some REALLY good movies…… I just think it’s a situation where he’s never gonna be able to please everybody so why should he even try?????

  27. “Tyler Perry does not carry the weight of the Black population on his shoulders. ”

    @TiffanyNicole: I agree- sometimes I think we expect black stars to be too much. We expect them to represent all of us, all the time.. that’s a hard task.

  28. Reecie Says:

    Those that haven’t seen Love Jones need to get on some act right. Imejitly. LOL.

    ok so the topic at hand. Tyler Perry…good stories told, horrible character development and plot. I’ve seen the newest one and the biggest lesson I got is how abuse (it was aluded to) can cause women to distrust men, and life circumstances can cause you to distrust people in general–and for those that have been BROKEN, its very hard for them to know HOW to love. nobody taught them.

    In Why Did I Get Married–one of his better films, I agree with what you’ve said about the lessons there.

    There are too many movies to name that teach lessons, but I do think TP is good at that, I just hate the lack of depth. But I can admit I am a movie fanatic, and I also read a lot, used to write as well, so I’m very critical of film. I like a well fleshed out story.

  29. “Those that haven’t seen Love Jones need to get on some act right. Imejitly”

    LOL. I am, Reecie!

  30. peyso Says:

    @ 8o’s – “I personally thought he has already made some REALLY good movies” – Good Movies b/c you enjoyed them or artistically good movies?

    @ Nicki and Tiffany – ““Tyler Perry does not carry the weight of the Black population on his shoulders. ” I agree, however, when a person like TP claims that he is at the forefront of black film in both success and artistically (as he as done) THEN and only then should they be held to higher standards

  31. ” I agree, however, when a person like TP claims that he is at the forefront of black film in both success and artistically (as he as done) THEN and only then should they be held to higher standards”

    @Peyso: Oh wow.. I didn’t know he said that (I be slippin’ on my interviews.) lol

    In that case, u raise a good point..

  32. Ms. Sula Says:

    Well, art is made to be appraised, admired, loved…. and criticized.

    So every person who puts out a work of art will be one or any of those things at some point or the other. So people who want others to stop criticizing Tyler Perry will have to ask him to stop putting out films. It’s that simple.

    I like my entertainment to entertain me. Most Tyler Perry movies don’t. It’s my personal taste. I don’t get Madea, and consequently I don’t care for 90% of TP’s outputs. Again, it’s a personal opinion of a public work or art (term used loosely). I do not demand anything of Tyler Perry because mainly I don’t care enough about what he does to care. I am excited to see Precious that he has co-sponsored with Oprah. Because from what I have seen, the acting is brilliant and the story line interests me. So kudos for Mr. Perry on that.

    Public figures will always be held accountable for what they produce. That’s what makes them “public” figures in the first place. I will be damned if an elected mayor told his constituents that they don’t need to see/understand/debate the policies he wants to implement for the city. I may not have voted for him, but it’s still my right as a constituent to know what is going on. Similarly, I may not like Mr. Perry’s movies but it’s still my right as a citizen of, well Humanity, to give my point of view on a public piece of art (term used loosely).

    I am one of those die-hard Kanye fans. I like his rock star antics, his crazy outfits, his music, even have a girl crush on his girlfriend. I get him… BUT I was annoyed on Sunday. Why? Bad Timing and Irrelevance. Kanye has become a bigger star than a stupid MTV award show, and he should realize that… Unfortunately, he played into MTV hands like putty, and I am mad at him for that. I haven’t seen the Jay Leno interview. I will be heartbroken. I know the kid hasn’t dealth with his mother’s passing and the failure of his last relationship… but he’s so scrutinized that asking for help will be another much ado… Poor lost kid. He needs somebody in his corner (Jay Z needs to step up!)

    Serena is my girl. Athletes are competitive and aggressive by nature. She misspoke, she’s human, end of story. The world making it a parade show is just business as usual. She’s still going to be a GREAT tennis player, haters will die (Ha! I used haters… Lol!)

    Don’t even get me started on Semenya. I do not have the strength.

  33. Eightys Baby Says:

    Good Movies b/c you enjoyed them or artistically good movies?
    @Peyso……A good movie because I enjoyed it.

  34. peyso Says:

    @ 80’s – That’s exactly my point, its obvious that he can make enjoyable movies, now why cant he make a movie that is both enjoyable and artistically good?

  35. Do all movies have to have meaning???? They certainly don’t for me.

    I LOVE the Hangover, but it has no point or lesson whatsoever.

  36. peyso Says:

    @ Nicki – All movies have a meaning but they might not be but I dont understand your point tho

  37. @Pey: I was just asking everyone a question because we were talking about movies and meaning.

    I was asking if everyone looked for meaning in all the movies they watch, or if there needs to be a point.

  38. Eightys Baby Says:

    @Nicki…..That’s exactly what I was thinking earlier and I was gonna mention that about Hangover. But I refrained to do so because the topic was movies with messages.

    @ Peyso…. The thing with “artistically good” is that I’m not a writer so I don’t feel as I’m watching a movie from an artistic standpoint. It’s simply leisure for me. Furthermore, whose to say that I’m going to enjoy a movie that is supposedly “artisically good” ?????

  39. “@Nicki…..That’s exactly what I was thinking earlier and I was gonna mention that about Hangover. But I refrained to do so because the topic was movies with messages. ”

    @80s: I feel you. Girl, I am so random! I’ll take one word of the sentence and totally switch to another topic. (Is that ADD? lol)

  40. Eightys Baby Says:

    I feel you. Girl, I am so random! I’ll take one word of the sentence and totally switch to another topic. (Is that ADD? lol)

    @Nick……. Nah, that ain’t ADD…LOL But on this topic me and you are thinking along the same page…… For example, I am not a rap fan at all….I’ll listen to it on the radio but that’s about it… But just because I don’t like rap music I’m not out here criticizing the artists and asking them to change their style to appease ME. It’s simply I don’t buy any of their cd’s nor do I go to any of their concerts. I just think it’s that simple.

  41. “But just because I don’t like rap music I’m not out here criticizing the artists and asking them to change their style to appease ME. It’s simply I don’t buy any of their cd’s nor do I go to any of their concerts. I just think it’s that simple.”

    YES.. I agree- full heartedly (although I will critique Soldja Boy in a tear jerker MINUTE). lol..

    But yes, I think everybody can’t be EVERYTHING that sometimes black people want them to be. I don’t think everything someone has to do is wth being black.

    Kanye didn’t go off on the little girl bc he was black.

    Serena didn’t go hard because she was black. lol

    I think we kinda hit on this last week in Peyso’s post.

  42. peyso Says:

    @ Nicki & 80’s – Hangover had a “meaning” but it was exceptionally profound or deep. It basically that ya boys should be ride or die. Simple meaning.

    80’s – “Furthermore, whose to say that I’m going to enjoy a movie that is supposedly “artisically good” ?????” I’m willing to put money that at least one movie in your top 10 is consider artistically good.

    “It’s simply I don’t buy any of their cd’s nor do I go to any of their concerts. I just think it’s that simple.” – Just b/c you dont doesnt mean that you dont have the right too. No one (by no one i mean me and some others) arent asking TP to stop making Madea films. Ppl are asking him to make more than Madea run of the mill films b/c 1) he acts like he’s Oliver, Spike and Quentin all in one and 2) more importantly, he has the talent to really have a large filmography of good movies comprising of a diverse set of films. Should we not ask him to be “all that he can be”?

  43. Eightys Baby Says:

    But yes, I think everybody can’t be EVERYTHING that sometimes black people want them to be.

    @Nick…. People are always gonna have something to SAY. Because if he were to get a writer then it will be issues if the writer possibly isn’t black…….. He is definitely NEVER gonna be able to please everybody….

  44. “@Nick…. People are always gonna have something to SAY. Because if he were to get a writer then it will be issues if the writer possibly isn’t black…….. He is definitely NEVER gonna be able to please everybody….”

    I agree chica….

    @Pey: I’m not saying you are making that up but I PROMISE I’ve never seen him acting like that.

  45. “more importantly, he has the talent to really have a large filmography of good movies comprising of a diverse set of films. ”

    @Peyso: Perhaps he’s happy with the movies he’s doing now? Should we expect people to go over what makes them happy to satisfy us (just a question)?

  46. Eightys Baby Says:

    Should we not ask him to be “all that he can be”?

    @Peyso… Being all that he can be to whose standards though? His or everyone else’s?

  47. Peyso on the BB Says:

    @ Nicki – if you’re happy don’t put yourself in the company of the aforementioned directors, don’t claim that you’re trying to push the fold in black art lastly, as he has the right to be happy with what he has done I can criticize and b*tch and moan all I want

  48. ” as he has the right to be happy with what he has done I can criticize and b*tch and moan all I want”

    @Peyso: I don’t think anything is wrong with critiquing.. opinions are like a$$holes, right? We all do it.

    I’m just saying- maybe his films are making him happy and we are asking a bit much by wanting him to make films just to satisfy us… SOMEone is liking them (albeit not me) but someone is causing him to sale those tickets.

  49. Peyso on the BB Says:

    @ Nicki – You think if we don’t push him he may rest on his laurels and not exceed?

  50. Jada Says:

    All I have to say is Jackie quit waiting for Jazzy to get you Love Jones and go pay the 7.50 and buy it from Wally World. You and Sunny both need to get on that STAT!

  51. “@ Nicki – You think if we don’t push him he may rest on his laurels and not exceed?”

    @Pey; hmmmm, that’s kinda hard for me to answer. Put it this way- my mama and my granny are die hard Tyler Perry fans.. they will watch those movies and watch those God Awful shows he has.

    If his followers are anything like them, I think they will always follow him, kinda like a blind faith… but I think us as a younger generation- it takes more to please us.

    If he’s trying to reach us, he’s gonna have to do more.

  52. @Jada: It’s on amazon starting at around $3. Buying it! 😉

  53. Jada Says:

    @ Sunny….you’ll enjoy it. I ADORE that movie. When I was younger and watched it I didn’t think it was all that. But when I got a bit older and revisited it…fell in love with it.

  54. Peyso on the BB Says:

    I will continue to ask artists for what I want to see from them, and I will continue to call it how I see it. A closed mouth don’t get fed

  55. “you’ll enjoy it. I ADORE that movie. When I was younger and watched it I didn’t think it was all that. But when I got a bit older and revisited it…fell in love with it.”

    @Jada: I can’t wait to watch. I’ve always heard good things about it though.

    “I will continue to ask artists for what I want to see from them, and I will continue to call it how I see it. A closed mouth don’t get fed”

    @Peyso: I feel you because I’m die hard about music like that.

  56. Jaci Says:

    @Jada

    I’m going I’m going…actually wasn’t able to find it @ WalMart or rent it @ BB…so I was mad…but if Amazon’s got it…

    I’ll run over soon as I start my black eyes!

  57. Jada Says:

    WOW I can’t believe Wally didn’t have it Jac. You can prolly find it at Target or Best Buy then.

  58. V Renee Says:

    I’m all kinds of tardy to this party. I’ll keep it short. TP’s movies are not the greatest. I think the only one of his that I liked was the one with Tariji and Morris Chestnut. But after typing that last sentence I think it was the Bishop (Don Juan, TD Jakes, Creflo Dollar…I get them confused) that put that one out. LMAO. Well I guess I don’t like any of his movies. Ha!!

    On another note, Nicki and Jacki get an F for the day. HOW HAVE YALL NOT SEEN LOVE JONES?!?!?! Not saying it has to be your favorite movie, but to not see it at all. Oh No!!

  59. V Renee Says:

    “I am one of those die-hard Kanye fans. I like his rock star antics, his crazy outfits, his music, even have a girl crush on his girlfriend. I get him… BUT I was annoyed on Sunday.”

    Oh and I soooooo agree with this. I LOVE his rock star antics…except on Sunday. He took it to another level. And I like Amber Rose. There I said it.

  60. LastTrainToParis Says:

    “On another note, Nicki and Jacki get an F for the day. HOW HAVE YALL NOT SEEN LOVE JONES?!?!?! Not saying it has to be your favorite movie, but to not see it at all. Oh No!!”

    And F, dang an F????

    ***This is Nicki, posting under J’s thing bc I am too lazy to change the information. **** lol

  61. enyfilms Says:

    TP is opening up the doors to show that we as black film makers can put “fannies in seats”. He is no different than Michael Bay who would have explosions in “The Smurfs Movie” he’s considered one dimensional and typical (the transformer franchise, Pearl Harbor, Armmgeddon).

    I don’t support TP flicks just not my taste. But his movies helps our parents ( or who ever in the fam sees his films) understand that me and Cheekie wanna make movies-who could I point to? My moms liked spike but outside of X never felt compelled to see his films. Slight age gap she was ten yrs his senior. But TP’s plays then movies were to her liking she wasn’t hung go but hey if it was cable and say the Closer wasn’t she was all in. Speaking of spike lee how many of us even own a copy of X, did any one here go see the Battle at St Ann’s wit Derek Luke? Truth is blacks talk high and mighty about “intellectual art” but how many of yall have more that 2 Roots albums? How many of your friends have them or the “deep” films I named?

    For me I am an editor, if TP said cut this for me I am in like Errol Flynn!
    I also write and those themes are not the same as Perry’s. Born in the 70’s I don’t have his “black view” of the world. My themes are more on the manipulative ways materialism/greed and selfish ways have been embbeded into the “good fight”. Such as todays couples demand the Other be “on” when we meet. Be one piece short (no degree, car swanky pad, high class taste) you are a scrub. Worst is men and women then date some one who has these things yet the relationship winds up goin were it wouldn’t have had the couple not dated one another cause I got the condo in bklyn hieghts (what makes this theme dramatic is well we can’t socially go back-we were all told “you know how many blk ppl died so you can become a…)

    Were our parents courted, dated got married then moved in wit a mother in law or relative, or the newlyweds moved into their crappy one room shack our generation demands from day one for our relationships to enhance our lives materialistically. TP’s films therefore for me are too cliched. Todays women is not some deer in a headlights.

    I know Christian (raised in church) that got involved wit a man 14 yrs older but now things are dry so she this year has cheated on him several times and maybe pregnant wit the Other mans kid.

    I don’t need TP to make,I really think the Core of his audience really believes women esp blk wmn that are Christians wouldnt do this and if so it HAS to be some MAN that got her this way. However I aint getting that movie made unless TP has clocked the dough he’s amassed. But for me its really taste, Hollywood doesn’t make movies even for TP’s demo for whites well except indies. The family drama is really dead in Hollywood.

    As for films I learned from come on I gotta go wit Hollywood Shuffle!

  62. that’s the biggest problem with people in general. I just don’t……maybe it’s just me……if I don’t like something, I don’t deal with it. I don’t like the radio, so instead of calling in saying how much I hate the radio, I just listen to talk radio instead. I don’t like a lot of blogs, but instead of posting saying how wack the blog is, I just don’t go to it. So on and so forth. I guess that’s just human nature….a part that I missed out on.


Leave a Reply

