Single Sisters Speak Out

The Modern Life of the Single Sister

Gimme A Break! September 18, 2009

Filed under: Single Sisters On... — Holly GoLightly @ 8:57 am

Gimme a break I sure deserve it
It’s time I made it to the top.
Gimme a break I’m looking forward
Get behind me pull out every stop

I want a happy ending
I’m tried of pretending
Won’t let em get the best of me
Wo wo wo wo

Gimme a break the game is survival
Gimme a break and plan my arrival
Gimme a break for heaven’s sake
to my piece of the cake

Gimme a break
Gimme a break
Gimme a break

Oh how I remember hearing this song as the show  was coming on when I was a child. Of course I didn’t understand what the lyrics meant but after this fourth year in corporate america I am sure understanding what it means to actually and literally need a break. Fortunately for me my break spanned over 2 weeks!! I was in jury duty serving on a murder case (which was surprising interesting) for four days and then the following week I left for Puerto Rico!!! Talk about fun! I had the best time of my life!! More importantly I came back to work refreshed in with a  “go get ’em” attitude. I think if I didn’t have these breaks I would still be at wits ends. I am now a true believe in BREAKS! Preferably breaks where you escape a little bit from reality or everyday life!!

Do you have any breaks coming up? If you could take a break where would you go and what would you do?

 

21 Responses to “Gimme A Break!”

  1. I don’t have any breaks coming up.

    If I did, I’d be in Miami…. ahhhhhhh.

  2. HollyGoLightly Says:

    Take a break nick! Plan a trip for u and J!

  3. no breaks coming up, but if I could go somewhere, it would be to Miami for about 2 weeks. I REALLY need to see some beautiful exotic women.

  4. Holly GoLightly Says:

    Nick and undressingHER ya’ll need to make plans for Puerto Rico…. to me it was an elevated Miami! I had a really great time! I walked in every morning between 6-7 from the clubs which go on until 9 AM!

  5. @Hol: School’s in right now. BLAAAH. lol. WE could do a small little something though, like a weekend drive.

    Did you have a big language barrier in PR?????

  6. Holly GoLightly Says:

    Hows school??

    No language barrier at ALL! Plus one of my friends who went is from there! They speak english as well and I think they have to know it because they are a part of the US territories… We are planning to go back soon!!

  7. Lovely Paradox Says:

    I have a break coming up in about 10 days!!! Can.not.wait.

    I am going to LA and then do a drive around Southern California… to San Diego and possibly Sacramento. Take pictures and just relax. It’s going to be just a week though…. *sigh*

    I need a 2 month break to go on vacation back home (Abidjan, Cote d’Ivoire)… but I’ll have to wait until I graduate (hopefully next december) for that to happen!

  8. Peyso Says:

    I dont need no break, i cant lose. I simply refuse. Life is too easy, difficult takes a day, impossible takes a week. God put me here to win. I’ll rest when I’m dead….

  9. Holly GoLightly Says:

    LP that sounds like a reallllll good break!

    Get it Peyso… But I needed a break!

  10. @Hol: School is very good.. it’s easy and interesting this year. I just be tired. lol.

    re: Language barrier.. that’s great! How long was your flight?

  11. Holly GoLightly Says:

    You don’t have long Nick push through!!!

    The flight was 3.5 hours!

  12. “You don’t have long Nick push through!!!”

    U ain’t never lied!!!!!

    The flight was 3.5 hours!”

    Aw ok- that’s not so bad at all.

  13. I def see the value of breaks! My goal this year (i speak “teacher” so the year is August to July–I know weird) is to take one trip a month, even if it is just a Saturday away. So far I’ve been good! My next break is to the Circle City Classic in Indianapolis Alabama A&M vs Tuskegee with my girls! It’s on like hot buttered popcorn!

  14. V Renee Says:

    “I am going to LA and then do a drive around Southern California… to San Diego and possibly Sacramento. Take pictures and just relax. It’s going to be just a week though…. *sigh*”

    Sounds like fun!!!!!

    Ummmm yeah I was on a break or something. I came back to work still not wanting to be here. Ha!!

  15. Holly GoLightly Says:

    @TiffanyNicole- I agree! I usually do things but actually leaving the city is well worth it!! Even if I live in Atlanta!!

    @V- Where you go?

  16. The Comeback Girl Says:

    Hi Hollybery..

    I got back from San Diego..it wasn’t a break at all. It was for work. But i felt like I needed to shake things up. But on the plane I was thinking about Vegas.

    to see Cher. lol.

  17. Holly GoLightly Says:

    HEY CBG!!! I LOVE SAN DIEGO!! Did you get out and do anything at least???

    My friend is trying to plan a trip to Vegas in February. I am suppose to go in November!

  18. Lovely Paradox Says:

    @cbg,

    But on the plane I was thinking about Vegas.

    to see Cher. lol.

    You’re so funny! I can see the old white woman habits you mentionned you had… LoL!

  19. I wouldn’t mind going to PR with Nikki, having her fine ass around would only attract more women, lol.

  20. Athena Nike Says:

    Had to go to Tampa in July. Needed a reprieve from the job hunt, family, and life in general…

  21. Cynthia Says:

    No breaks. But every so often i make my way to vegas on a weekend.


Leave a Reply

