Single Sisters Speak Out

The Modern Life of the Single Sister

What We Talkin Bout….. September 23, 2009

Filed under: Single Sisters On... — peyso @ 10:30 pm
What are they talkin bout?

What are they talkin bout?

During my daily perusing of CNN, I came across a very interesting video. Since I like to listen to music while I read, I had to pause the Blueprint 3 (If you’re a fan of Jay and not a fan of this album, I really implore you to print out the lyrics and read them. If you still don’t like them, I would argue that you my friend don’t like to see human and intellectual growth but that my friend is another argument for another day).

Here is a link to the video. http://www.cnn.com/2009/SHOWBIZ/Music/09/23/common.obama.hip.hop/index.html#cnnSTCVideo

 

It just so happened that I paused the iPod and a very interesting point of the song. It was right before verse 3 of “What We Talkin Bout” ft. Luke Steele. Jay raps:

“And now that that’s that Lets talk about the future
We have just seen the dream as predicted by Martin Luther
Now you could choose ta Sit in front of your computa
Posin’ with guns Shootin YouTube up
Or you could come with me to the White House get your suit up
You stuck on being hardcore I chuck the deuce up”

Listen for yourself here:

 

This was a bit profound for me. Where Jay goes, others follow and as for Common, he’s already cemented himself as one of hip hop’s premier social commentators.

Did Barak have an affect on our community beyond the short lived inspiration? Will he inspire those who really need it? Has hip hop already stepped their game up? Or are we “stuck on being hardcore”?

 

10 Responses to “What We Talkin Bout…..”

  1. Athena Nike Says:

    I have not heard the album but This article is interesting about can a Jay Z rap influence our generations (especially the brothers) attitude about marriage
    http://www.theroot.com/views/jay-z-should-rap-about-marriage
    But yanno, not everybody is going to be able to cuddle up to a Beyonce/Michelle or a baller like Jay/Barak til death do you part…and what about when they divorce…
    Those hip hop heads that believe everything out of Jay Z, 50 cent, Kanye’s mouth is from God will definitely follow whatever new trend the beautiful people throw at them, but I find it ironic that being married Jay Z is kind of bucking the trend. Well not really, cause he got a couple kids out of wedlock with some chicken head, but still went after the single career sista with her own, so he is still following the trend….But he got his and is moving on…
    The music industry will hang on to grungier artists as long as there is a market for it. While popular artists are getting older and refining themselves, there are still youngsters coming up talking about sex like its brand new to maintain the flow of booty bumpin music, and enough broken homes, families, and lives in hood – especially from this recession- to rap about hard times and fighting for yours.

  2. I think our people get inspired for the newest hottest thing for a while, but I can’t really seeing Barack or Jay having a huge influence over their lives.

    I think hip hop has always had some steady artists that were innovators- Jay Z, Common, Mos Def, Wale…. but some of them just don’t get the recognition they deserved.

    I am not so sure the younger kids are checking for any of these innovative, mature artists…. My little sisters ringtone kept going off yesterday and I heard Soldja Boy rapping about “kiss me through the phone while I lick you like some licorice.” lol

  3. in this song he says get your suit. In “Run This Town” he said he’s wearing black t’s and jeans for the rest of the year.

    I don’t hear anything that’s different from Jay-Z, or anyone else, that was different pre-Obama. He was on his “stop being hardcore” ever since he turned 35 or something. You can print out the lyrics from other songs on his last two releases where he was still talking about guns and getting rid of folks (non lyrically).

  4. Jaci Says:

    Some will be inspired, but not all.

  5. streetz Says:

    As a people we are fickle. We get hyped off short term inspiration then either run with it or get run over. I think the Barack effect will show 20 years from now. We are more into politics and the issues in our country. Hopefully we can use this and grow as a people

  6. Reecie Says:

    I agree with everything Nicki said. We’ve already had artists speaking of societal ills and nobody paid attention. now of course those artists aren’t Jay 😉 in terms of mass appeal, but I still don’t see the majority of youth focusing on these things…

  7. peyso Says:

    @undressingHER – he gotta wear a suit 24/7 for his song that mentions wearing a suit to be valid? Also, in terms of rapping about guns, he does still do it. However, I think the point he is trying to make is that this should not be the only thing that you’re doing. You should mature also and move on to other things. Violence has always been an undertone in rap even in some of our more conscious music.

    @ Reecie – There were artist talking about healing the world before MJ, then he came along and the world was trying to get healed for a quick minute. But maybe ppl are too fickle

  8. Reecie Says:

    @Peyso, you are right like I mentioned before mass appeal. Jay def has it now–he is beyond hip hop but maybe I’m just a pessimist in this regard. Too many folks are heavily influenced by gucci mane, soulja boy, lil boosie and whatnot for it to make an impact, IMO.

  9. @ peyso, I don’t care what he wears, as to me, that doesn’t make him the man he is. Jay-Z is an artists. I see him as a rapper and a businessman, but his opinions mean nothing to me. When he raps something I like, I rap along, when he doesn’t, I turn it off. The dude is 40, he better be talking about something other than guns, women, and jewels.

  10. i’m with peyso, i suit it up daily but dumb it down when i’m not on the gig. it’s a reflection of the diversity of my personality. Jigga’s music is a reflection of his personality the same. a reflection of where he’s been, where he’s at and where he’s headed. that recitation of his resume within his music gives him the connection with his audience that will permit him to be a pied piper of sort and perhaps lead his listeners to higher levels of though and accomplishment. he’s been where his listeners are from and tells them often that that life doesn’t have to be the norm for them . . .there’s a whole other world out there. we shouldn’t necessarilly knock him for that or because his album doesn’t sound like an arrested development track. lol


Leave a Reply

