Single Sisters Speak Out

The Modern Life of the Single Sister

It’s This One Thing… October 11, 2009

Filed under: Single Sisters On... — Sunny @ 9:00 pm

Vodpod videos no longer available.  

 

 

… about myself that I can’t stand.  It’s become either more prominent- or I’ve just started noticing it more.  And then again, I never noticed it was an issue until it was pointed out to me.   It’s eating at me and I’m so frustrated… I really don’t know what to do about it.

My “middle of the road”-ness.  Now I know this word was designed as a political term but it describes me in life, PERIOD.   I hate the way that I cannot make a decision or stand up and fight for an issue.   I don’t know if it has to do with indecisiveness, not trying to rock the boat, un-confidence, not being a great verbal communicator, disinterest- or what??? But it’s frustrating the hell out of me….   And oh, please don’t get to talking politics, I’ll zone out like **************** (<——— Like that).   

My girl and I were talking about taking J and her husband to Miami for their birthdays next year, last week… then she mentioned a cruise this week and I told her J had mentioned us going on a cruise, she said, oh ok, maybe she do that.   ARRRRGGGH, Sunny what do YOU want to do?

J, what would you like to eat for dinner?  ARRRGGGGGH, Sunny what do YOU want to eat?

Does anyone have any tips with getting over my issue? What’s the one thing you are disgusted with yourself about? 

****NOTE:  The only thing Amerie’s song has to do with the post is the words, “ONE THING….”  lol, but since I like the video and her, I’m posting it because that’s what “I” wanted to do.  *****

more about “It’s This One Thing… “, posted with vodpod
 

20 Responses to “It’s This One Thing…”

  1. Mikki Says:

    I have that same issue but I’m working on it. It’s always affected me and sometimes it can be a big henderance. I think once I get over that issue I will have reached my full maturity and hopefully it’s soon lol.

  2. andrea Says:

    I’m the same way and I hate it! Maybe it has to do with trying to please other people. Only thing is sometimes you don’t get pleased yourself.

  3. @Mikki: I hope so too, Mik! I’ve been trying to stop doing it, since it was brought to my attention.

    @andrea; that is very true.

  4. Mikki Says:

    Nic it’s hard when it’s something you have ALWAYS done, kinda comes naturally. For me it’s not about pleasing others, I just never want to be wrong in a choice like oh see mik picked this place and it sucks lol.

  5. “My “middle of the road”-ness. Now I know this word was designed as a political term but it describes me in life, PERIOD. I hate the way that I cannot make a decision or stand up and fight for an issue. I don’t know if it has to do with indecisiveness, not trying to rock the boat, un-confidence, not being a great verbal communicator, disinterest- or what??? But it’s frustrating the hell out of me…. And oh, please don’t get to talking politics, I’ll zone out like **************** (<——— Like that)."

    I honestly don't think its all THAT bad. I'm opinionated about a few things and then there are tons i really don't give a hoot about one way or another…dinner, lunch, where will i go in DEC for vacay, and to the movies next week being just a few..

    I think it also means you are pliable..and pliable people are enjoyable people cause they just go with the flow and don't need a big band and a orchestra to make them happy.

  6. @comeback: Pliable!!! I like that. I honestly didn’t think it was a big issue either until I was told!

    then I started thinking, do people think I am a pushover?

  7. Reecie Says:

    There’s a difference in being indecisive (which I am at times) sometimes and being someone thats always on the fence when it comes to issues and never has their own opinion about ANYTHING. I actually blogged about my indecisiveness–but I’m also very opinionated about some issues. ah, I don’t think there’s anything wrong with you…you shouldn’t care what other people think.

  8. Mikki Says:

    for me its not really about “pleasing people” I just never want to be wrong on certain issues like “mikki picked this place and it sucks” or see she went such n such place or made that choice and it didn’t work out. I just don’t want to be the blame for bad choices lol.

  9. @Reecie: Thanks girl! Can you post your link to i????

    @Mik: I am the same way. lol..

  10. Mikki Says:

    Nic it happen this weekend too, my friends at church was like we should come back to apple bee’s for your birthday, i was like eh ok? lol

    i mean i had fun but that don’t mean i wanna go back necessarily lol.

  11. Reecie Says:

    @Micki, not wanting to be the blame, is the same as pleasing people, IMO. Well, its a similar aspect of caring what they think/will say. People make mistakes–how is it YOUR fault a place sucks? IMO, thats based on the service, which couldve been good before. You just never know. Maybe I’m too self absorbed but I never even think to take on that kinda thing, LOL.

    @Nicki, here’s the link: http://musicmakesmehigh.wordpress.com/2009/10/01/sometimes/

  12. I don’t know why thi is done, but (standing on my “guy” soapbox for all male kind) ladies please rectify. I know you may know a few guys who may be like this, but women are far and more abundantly repeaters of this crime. i have this conversation almost every night:

    “what do you want to eat?” – me
    “i don’t know, what do you want to eat?” – my wife
    “let’s get [INSERT MY SUGGESTION HERE].” – me
    “naw, i don’t want that.” – my wife
    “ok. what do YOU want to eat?” – me
    “I don’t know, what do you want to eat?” – my wife
    . . . .repeat.

    just yesterday we were on the road and decided to pull off to get something to eat, right before that, we’d seen a chik-fil-a sign and determined that i liked it and she didn’t. so as i pull off the exit, asking what she wants to eat, she says go left. now, i knew that the only thing to the left that i saw was a burger king and a arby’s. i asked which of those she wanted, she said neither. i said, “huh?” she said, i was looking for the chik-fil-a we saw on the sign a while back. arrrggggghhh!

    i can honestly say that I will find something to eat at just about anyplace we go. i really . . . and i mean really, dont’ care. and if i do i will flat out say it. but i do not like it when mine wife try’s to appease me in her choices when in actuallity, her being happy and satisfied would make me happy and satisfied even if i had to order a low fat, cottage cheese, tofu lettuce wrap with a diet water to drink.

    now I’ll admit, sometimes I’ll make a suggestion and she’ll be like sure. but usually that’s because I’ve gone through the “what do you want to eat? no, what do you want to eat” process in my own head and came up with a suggestion based on statistical probability of the fact that out of the last 10 times we’ve had this conversation, we’ve ended up at a Mexican restaurant on 8 occassions. 80% chance that Mexican will get approved and we won’t wait gas, time and more importantly my limited supply of patience trying to answer to the proverbial question “what do you want to eat for dinner” which is almost like asking a woman . . . “what’s the meaning of life?”

    please pardon the rant. lol

  13. Mikki Says:

    yes reecie it pretty much is the same thing but ask me WHY DO I CARE WHAT THEY THINK???

    i have no idea, especially when it comes to my own life, why am i letting other folks decide what to do in MY LIFE when it doesn’t even directly affect them.

    like the tootsie roll pop the world may never know!

  14. “i mean i had fun but that don’t mean i wanna go back necessarily lol.”

    @Mik: LMBO.. right- but prolly WILL go. ARGGGH.

    @Reecie: Thanks chic. I’m checking it out.

    No problem Robert. LOL. I dont’ know if I’ve been guilty of that one yet, but your story is not one that i have NOT heard before. I don’t know why we do that… indecisveness????

    As a matter of fact, I lie. I did it Friday.

    Point taken. lol

  15. Mikki Says:

    reecie i visited your spot i didn’t know you was a libra!!! wooot woot!

  16. Reecie Says:

    I just saw Mikki–my birthday was Friday. And Robert–that is SO ME. I can only laugh and shake my head. lol

  17. Mikki Says:

    happy birthday!!!!

  18. REIGN Says:

    I’m also very indecisive. Half the time I’m trying to please everyone else and the other half is just me not knowing what I really want. I kinda think as we grow more into who we really are and become more self assured, and possibly confident, then we’d become less indecisive.

  19. Mikki Says:

    reign I certainly hope thats true. I am trying to nip it now. but so far no good lol


Leave a Reply

