Single Sisters Speak Out

The Modern Life of the Single Sister

Prayer For New Beginnings…. October 16, 2009

Filed under: Single Sisters On... — Holly GoLightly @ 7:08 am

Really don’t have a subject to write on today…. mostly due to a lot of things going on at work. On Tuesday afternoon my company announced they would be moving from Atlanta to DC…. This wasnt a surprise to many of us due to past and ongoing situations. I was definitely in the not surprised group. I really had been proactively job search since July…. But on Wednesday afternoon I have a meeting with my boss who tells me that some people will be asked if they want to relocate to DC…. Then he says, “Are you ready to move to DC?” and as much as I am not really liking my company but wanna play the role I say, “Sure, beam me up Scottie!” Now just to let you all know that within the last week I have been getting responses to my resume and have been interviewing…. I even have an interview today! (Yippee) but if nothing jumps off I will be moving to DC…. it’s just so much to think about…. Last night I prayed about it and asked God to grant me a new beginning wherever he sees it. Whether it’s here or DC… just guide my decision….

What are you praying for right now? Do you have a possible new beginning?

 

21 Responses to “Prayer For New Beginnings….”

  1. I’m praying for you too, Hol!!!

    I’m praying that J finds the career that he needs in my city.

    I’m praying for Shawnie’s family, and esp. her sister.

    I’m praying for family and friends….

    I’m praying to say thank you. 😉

  2. Holly GoLightly Says:

    GOOD PRAYERS NICK! I am def praying for you and J & Shawnie!!! Jolie had a status message a couple of days ago that said most people pray when they are needing something but never pray when they arent……

  3. Thanks Hol!!!!

    That’s so true.. I try my best not to be one of those Christians because I know how it feels when people call you only when they want something… so I don’t want GOD to feel like I’m doing that to him.

  4. Nightfall Says:

    Damn there’s a lot of that going on right now. My company has been relocating in phases from CT to GA and I just found out when my last day of work will be. It’s a crazy economic climate out there.

  5. @Nightfall: Did they give you any kind of notice to find anything else? A severence?

  6. @Nightfall- It is! Did they offer for you to relocate??

  7. Reecie Says:

    I’m praying for a new job that would move me up there honestly! I want to be back closer to home.

    I’m always praying for the health and peace of mind for my friends and family, and those I don’t know.

    I’m sure everything will work out for you, Holly

  8. Thank you Reecie! Where are you located??

  9. Reecie Says:

    I’m in FL, but i’m from VA.

  10. FlawedBeauty Says:

    MY prayer is that 2010 finds everyone in a better spot.

    I hope J can make the career change and relocation.

    I also pray for strength within everyone’s relationships…that some will get stronger and others will mend.

    I am praying for health and stability for Shawnta’s sister.

    I hope everyone can find their dream job too. All of us are capable of doing so many things and it’s a blessing to have all these things on your mind….

    When I pray next time…trust each and every one of you are on my mind. 🙂

  11. Martin and Gina Says:

    I know exactly where you are at right now Holly. I made the leap to KY strictly on faith but I think it was a good decision because I did not start getting interviews until I actually moved. I think if you are supposed to go to DC, none of these jobs you are interviewing for will mature. But is DC is not the spot then you will most likely hear something before you have to make a final decision on DC.

    I will pray for everyone and their particular situations.

  12. FlawedBeauty Says:

    @Hol, M&G

    I think you made some good points there.

    My prayer is usually…”Order my steps…” for instances like this one.

  13. @Reecie- I say pray and definitely continue cranking out the resume submissions!!!

    @Jac- Thank you, Jaci!!!!

    @M&G- So you are in KY now?

    “I think if you are supposed to go to DC, none of these jobs you are interviewing for will mature. But is DC is not the spot then you will most likely hear something before you have to make a final decision on DC.”

    I totally agree with you! It’s just like everything is happening in whirl!!!

    To all my job seekers I have been applying to jobs on http://www.indeed.com and have been getting a lot of hits on my resume. The jobs are definitely legit! The site basically compiles all listings that are on every job board and puts them on one site. Also I am working with a recruiter and headhunter

  14. I heard about that indeed too Hol.. one of my girls has been using it.. I like it because it compiles all the searches!

  15. Reecie Says:

    I use Indeed also, preciate the well wishes. 🙂

  16. Me to Nick! I’ve been getting call backs too!

    If you guys are interested… this is the company I am on my way to interview with!

    http://www.theport.com

  17. FlawedBeauty Says:

    I have never used indeed, but Monster and CB are getting my last nerve so off to that….

    I can’t find anything in BHM…I’m thinking of relocating back to NOLA

  18. Martin and Gina Says:

    @Holly

    Yeah I am in KY now!!!

  19. @Jaci: Sometimes you have to relocate for better opportunities, Jac… go for it!!!!

  20. Congrats M&G on that move!

    Ladies and Gentlemen I have kilt my interview!!

  21. LaPreghiera Says:

    I am praying That you will take me to DC with you!! My cousin is following her civilian military career and they have taken her from VA, AL, KY, TX, now she is looking at houses in MD and she says jobs are superfluous, so I am hoping to visit her when she gets settled. I had an interview today too, but I got the impression they wanted to know about my last company more than me since they do business with them-can I call them on that when I send my thank yous??
    Indeed is an OK site
    So I’ve been praying Lord help me, my attitude, etc…I can only make me better so I can get the job I want, and to not kill anybody; and I’ve had to add praying against all the evil in the world as well, cause things are getting crazy!


Leave a Reply

