Single Sisters Speak Out

The Modern Life of the Single Sister

What you know about respect? November 4, 2009

Filed under: Single Sisters On... — cuzzo @ 12:13 am

Dictionary.com gives about 7 different definition for the term “respect”.

 

I’ve derived that I’m more interesgted in this one:

deference to a right, privilege, privileged position, or someone or something considered to have certain rights or privileges; proper acceptance or courtesy; acknowledgment: respect for a suspect’s right to counsel; to show respect for the flag; respect for the elderly

Do you believe that respect is indeed earned? Or should we initially give people our respect until they prove themselves unworthy?




 

20 Responses to “What you know about respect?”

  1. Cuzzo? are you into this blog anymore? or is this like an obligation to you? thats sorta my question?

  2. Peyso Says:

    #noshots hahahahahaha

    Is that respect? I dont know lolol

  3. inkognegro Says:

    I think respect is a manner of degrees.

    There should be a certain basic level of respect afforded all human beings.

    There is an additional level of respect afforded people based on the circumstances.

    This idea that I don’t have to respect you until you do something to warrant it is rather dangerous and represents a significant part of the problem people have dealing with other people.

  4. Peyso Says:

    I’m back. How ironic that the first comment on a blog about being respectful is so blatantly disrespectful lol? They had to have planned that….

  5. inkognegro Says:

    @peyso….are you saying this is a manufactured Beef designed to attract attention?

    I may be new here…but that seems rather cynical to me.

    now I am not sure whether to jump to defense, or grab some popcorn.

    I am so conflicted right now.

  6. Peyso Says:

    It is cynical but it could pop. Imagine, right a short quick post and a comment that is gonna make it pop. saves all the work lol

  7. inkognegro Says:

    really? wow. Microwaveable e-Beef. Gotta love it.

  8. Cheekie Says:

    lol @ Peyso. I’m sittin’ here wondering myself…

    Oh, in terms of the topic: Well, uh, what incognegro said –

    “There should be a certain basic level of respect afforded all human beings.

    There is an additional level of respect afforded people based on the circumstances.”

    This was my exact thoughts, only in my head, it was all convoluted and whatnot.

  9. Peyso Says:

    @ Cheekie – It probably isnt contrived. I think this is CBG’s way of feeling good about herself. hahahaha #shotsfired lol

  10. Peyso Says:

    O i wasnt joking, i just like to laugh though mwahahahaaha (dark Dr. Evil laugh)

  11. Reecie Says:

    well in regards to basic human level interaction, I just consider that cordiality. once I get to know you I decide if I respect you or not, but typically its there until you’ve proven you are no longer worthy. with that said, I am polite and cordial to all, if we have a relationship that involves frequent interaction I respect you always, until you do some bs then I pretty much ignore you, but I’ll go back to being cordial when/if the situation calls for it.

    I didn’t read the first post is disrespectful, btw… but maybe its implied and I just don’t know the background.

  12. “I’m back. How ironic that the first comment on a blog about being respectful is so blatantly disrespectful lol? They had to have planned that….”

    @ P…actually it looks like you got the comment stream rolling..that was an honest question. and Cuzzo answered it offline…and honestly.

  13. “but maybe its implied and I just don’t know the background.”

    Thank you Reecie..my intent was not disrespectful at all…Peyso is obviously really bored with himself.

  14. Peyso Says:

    Or maybe it was interpreted that way by the people who read, write and comment on this blog and your blog regularly? Maybe this was more of a comment on your whole body of work and not the particular comment? Its funny that I must have been bored b/c I interpreted something differently than you. It could have been alot of stuff. But hey (insert kanye shrug) I dont know, what do I know?

  15. “I dont know, what do I know?”

    I think people read what THEY WANT TO READ. you chose something else. Instead of saying…”hey what do you mean CBG??”

    I actually, as I just wrote in my reply to Cuzzo when she answered my question this morning, respect that she’s continued to write when others have bounced.

    This is the same honesty that I have on EVERYONE’s blog. And if I got something I wanna say. Im gonna say it.

    But you were looking for a co-sign choir..and Im glad that the independant thinkers didn’t join in your refrain.

    have a good one.

  16. Peyso Says:

    I didnt wanna read anything. I interpreted your comment. Did you mean it that way, probably not. From time to time, I’m rude to a person; that doesnt mean that I meant to be rude to that person. It just means that I didnt choose my words in a way that it could not be misinterpreted.

    The shots and subliminals arent necessary either.

    Furthermore, you could not have been further from the truth about choir members and singers. I comment and post not for any acceptance or so that my ideas are in accord with everyone elses. I blog/comment because I have something to say. if you have taken the other bloggers’ silence as a sign that they in fact disagree with me, you are mistaken also. You should take it as a sign that people are quite fed up of the snarky, holier than thou air that you comment and blog with. THey are tired of instead of you politely and tactfully questioning their opinion, you attempt to belittle people. I wont expand on this topic much more because we’ve been down this road before. You’ll probably call me young and immature now

  17. @ Pey..i honestly think..a) you’re already gunning for me from previous interaction with you on this blog. b) Cuzzo and I have interacted for more than 2 years…during that time span..honest things have been said, from people “finding pics of me” and needing clarification on the “fat ones” etc…

    too me its honest discourse thats been going on for a long time.

    So if you felt offended for my HONEST question to Cuzzo..i apologize for offending YOU.

    but with anything…you’ll find what you’re looking for..and indeed you were looking.

    maybe the next blog post should be about people who manufacture beef where there is none. And people who look for stuff..because they’re looking.

  18. “if you have taken the other bloggers’ silence as a sign that they in fact disagree with me”

    im sorry but this is a b@#ch move with toppings of cowardice. Name names since you’re defending the masses against me.

  19. Peyso Says:

    I’m not offended at all. I actually found it a bit funny, as noted in my convo with Jaci. Its a b!tch move to not name the people who didnt want to be name? I think its the contrary. However, I’m sure they have no problems with it if I chose to. All 5 people involved in the writing and maintenance of this blog found your comment disrespectful including the person that it was directed to. Your initial comment and the following comments are baseless and continue to perpetuate the viewpoints that many that write and visit this blog have of you. Trust me, I do not have to contrive a beef with the one and only CBG.

    Furthermore, you cannot deny the points that I’ve made about your whole body of work and this is a prime example of that.

    I’ve also directed people to this comment to gauge their reaction and they’ve felt the same way.

  20. Aurie Says:

    Whoa….what the heck did I walk into?

    In any case, I believe that respect is earned and not automatic. Instead of trying to figure out which comes first, I think that unconditional love is what affords you the ability to convey respect in the face of circumstances where it seems contrary to the actions of those who we may deem not worthy of it. Everyone has the ability to choose to think, act, and feel upon their own free will. However, respect is not a one way street and thus giving and receiving respect needs to be something that everyone strives to earn and not take for granted.

    P.S. By no means do I think that attempting to gain respect should compromise who you are as an individual.


Leave a Reply

