Single Sisters Speak Out

The Modern Life of the Single Sister

Mrs. Robinson, Still on the Prowl January 5, 2010

Filed under: Single Sisters On... — cuzzo @ 11:55 pm

My definition of a cougar is a woman in her 40’s who dates men in their 20’s.  Are there 50 and 60+ year old cougars? Possibly. Unlike the sugarmama, the relationship of a cougar is mostly sex-based with no cash reward. This woman has raised her kids, been married once or twice, and just wants to have fun…no strings attached.  There is no term for this type of relationship in the reverse – a man in his 40’s dating a woman in her 20’s with no cash rewards – it doesn’t exist.  Men usually have to pay their way into the bedrooms (sometimes) of a younger woman. But, when we think of the sugardaddy/sugarbaby relationship it’s like ewwwww….I guess because it’s legal prostitution. Whereas cougars have been receiving more kudos as of late instead of the previous “what-the-hell-are-you-thinking?”.

I think I could do the cougar thing if I’m single in my 40’s 😉

 

6 Responses to “Mrs. Robinson, Still on the Prowl”

  1. Peyso Says:

    “a man in his 40’s dating a woman in her 20’s with no cash rewards ” – I disagree. Sometime 40yo dudes just have game. Sometime they play on the weak minds of young and impressionable 20yo women. It happens more often than you think

  2. Skye Blue Says:

    I have to agree with Peyso and say that there are a lot of older man dating a younger woman who aren’t paying for the privilege. That said, I also know a few 40-something women who are throwin’ cash at young dudes to keep them coming back for more.

  3. Shawn Smith Says:

    I thought the term for men doing it would be “Lions”. Just a thought.

  4. LP Says:

    There is no term for this type of relationship in the reverse – a man in his 40’s dating a woman in her 20’s with no cash rewards – it doesn’t exist.

    There is no name for it, because it’s the norm. I have several friends in this configuration (ok so more than half of them are married but still)…

    I think the husband-wife being the same age is probably more prevalent in the US than anywhere else. I can personally say *with somewhat shame* that I didn’t even consider men that were not at least 5 years older than me when I was dating… so yeah, it does happen more often than you seem to think.

  5. As a man who in my 20s was aggresively pursued by a cougar in her 40s (yep those age brackets are on the money) there was no exchange of money. She wanted a drink and I was pouring. It was amusing and flattering all wrapped in one.

    Ahh it was the best of times, it was the [best] of times.

  6. raylc Says:

    I disagree with a lot of what you’ve written. Firstly, older men can date younger women without paying for it – that’s a completely sexist view to take. Also, cougars aren’t just looking for sex – recent surveys like the one taken on http://www.cougared.com show that cougars are actually looking for meaningful relationships as well as sex with younger men.


Leave a Reply

