Single Sisters Speak Out

The Modern Life of the Single Sister

The Mind is Willing, But The Flesh Is Weak January 28, 2010

Filed under: Single Sisters On... — FlawedBeauty @ 11:37 pm

It’s said that men think about sex about every 7 seconds. Sure we may seem like oversexed teenage boys stuck in a man’s body at times, but we’re so much more than that. Wait. Yep. We are. I promise. For example, there are key times when a brother just doesn’t want to have sex. If we acted upon every sexual impulse our balls would look like a deflated balloons, our pelvises would have more glitches than Windows Vista and I would venture out to say that all human innovation would stop. Daunting huh? Yeah I know. So why so much grief when we say, “no” to sex?

Ladies you’ve got to admit, nothing can turn a sweet, wholesome young lady into a Gremlin quicker than rejection. And what’s worse is sexual denial. You would think you shut down her very soul.

Why is it that a man must always be ready to go? Ladies, I’ll be honest – every once and a blue moon, your man (or sex buddy) doesn’t want to have sex. I know, I know. You’re wonderful, amazing, and gorgeous even, so trust me for once – it’s not you, it’s us. Sure we’re supposed to, and usually are, ready to go at all times, but hey, rules are meant to be broken. After a 15 hr working day, my mind may be pumping like a piston but my body is temporarily paraplegic.

Plus, why can you say no and I always have to be ready to go? You want equality, well like a closet racist White man would tell you – it goes both ways. Don’t you come over here expecting me to be good to go when you can tell me you have a headache at your discretion. This is reverse sexual harassment. I have needs too. And sometimes one of them is a full night’s sleep after a hard day’s work. So baby, could you just rub my back?

Who gave y’all the option to determine the sex? It takes two and dammit this is America! I can drink, smoke (in some states), vote & say no to sex if I want to! Don’t expect me to exercise that right too often, but dammit it’s mine. So ladies, how come we can’t say no without you catching feelings? Is it the pure rejection? Or is it because you just always thought we’d be in the mood? Let me know, but in the meantime – could you just rub my head? No, the one on my neck. Thanks.

Seattle – OK, But Only If You Get On Top – Washington

 

8 Responses to “The Mind is Willing, But The Flesh Is Weak”

  1. Sunny Says:

    I don’t think there is anything wrong with saying no, then I wouldn’t feel so pressured to say yes all the time. (the whole what you won’t do, some other woman will is stuck in my psyche.)

  2. Peyso Says:

    Someone needs to scream this post to the mountain top!!!

  3. Smiley Face Says:

    LOL @Peyso

    @Sunny, I’m stubborn as hell and that phrase is my pet peeve and needs to be buried, lol.

    I don’t mind when he says no or just wants to lay his head in my lap. We all need re-charging but I think that if you know your SO well enough you can read the signs and not approach your mate with anything more than a hot cup of tea when they are fatigued or just not feeling it. I can tell if I kiss him and he doesn’t respond with his usual enthusiasm, it’s time for me to take a long shower and leave him be.

  4. @Sunny: Don’t listen to Smiley Face. Let it stay there. Your man will love ya for it.

    @Peyso: Thanks for the co-signage Moses!

  5. Smiley Face Says:

    Hush Seattle…

  6. Sunny Says:

    @Smiley: I hate the phrase too but it’s still a scary realization because although I know my man is faithful, some women will stop at nothing…. and hey, you never know.

    LOL Seattle.. you are reinforcing the behavior.

  7. Aurie Says:

    you definitely have a good point here Seattle

  8. jb Says:

    Had to comment! I love this blog! Love the comments! I would gladly give a guy a backrub 🙂
    I think more people need to be good to each other and work things out 🙂


Leave a Reply

