Single Sisters Speak Out

The Modern Life of the Single Sister

Unphased February 17, 2010

Filed under: Single Sisters On... — FlawedBeauty @ 9:00 am

Please welcome the new addition to the SSSO-  * U_Unadulterated*

Hello SSSO Family! I’m glad to be a new member of the sisterhood now that jaci finally reads my email. I’ve been a fan of the site for about a year and wanted to jump in on the conversations and hopfully start a few. I’m a 27 year old woman living in the Washington, DC Metro area, who like most women here have a lot to speak out about when it come to dating and life in the “Chocolate City.” After being single for…wait for it…ever, I’m now in a serious long-distance relationship. Advice on LD relationships is welcomed—help a sista out!

Snowmageddon part duex has finally ceased and this butterfly is about to break out the cocoon  and fly off to Jamaica to celebrate my first Valentine’s Day with a boo J I’ll share the scoop on how it goes next week. This last week, I’ve been holed up in my one-bedroom condo with my sister, her dog, and my cat. So I’m in dire need of sun and as Stephanie Mills sang “A Comfort of a Man,” lol.  Being a native of South Florida, this blizzard had me literally shaking in my boots, but now that it is over, I’m out here shoveling my car out and making sure my path to the airport is straight.  I ain’t studdin’ you winter!

My posts to come will be me unapologetic, uncensored, and a even a little uncanny. My name is Urrikka and I came up with the moniker U-Unadulterated because I live my life free of additives and true to myself. Unadulterated – to me means to be pure, free, complete, whole, and true to one’s self. Someone who embodies this description is a person not easily altered by another’s influences or experiences. They grow into the person they were destined to be organically and plant seeds into others to reap an even greater harvest.

Take a moment to ponder this concept and examine areas in your life where you can be authentically unadulterated. I look forward to your comments and discussion.

Follow me on Twitter @U_Unadulterated

My personal blog is www.u-unadulterated.blogspot.com

 

3 Responses to “Unphased”

  1. Sunny Says:

    Hey newcomer.. Welcome to the site.. I was in a long distance, beginning ’round bout last February- now he lives in the same city as me, so they do work out.

    All it takes is constant communication- overcommunication, as I read it, somewhere. Since you are far apart, it leaves a lot of room for wonder and doubt- as some others may put it in your head also, so you have to overcommunicate to assure yourself and him. Good luck!

  2. U_Unadulterated Says:

    Hey Sunny!
    Thanks for the welcome. *hugs* I agree with you totally about overcommunicating. It is necessary to secure that bond that can’t be broken by doubts and those insidious “what if” scenarios” often flamed by friends and family. I can happily say that my new beau (I always wanted to use that term, lol) and I communicate daily and often. One thing our weekend getaway proved to the both of us was how solid our relationship is even though we are a 3 hour flight away from each other. There truly is no distance in love when both partners earnestly commit to building a lasting relationship. To my sweet surprise after three month apart, once we saw each other again, it was like there was no space in time. Completely in sync beginning at baggage claim.

    Is your experience similar? How did you date LD before he made the move to your town? Thanks for the testimony that it can work. I’m keeping hope alive!

  3. Sunny Says:

    Yep, our experiences are pretty similar. I live in Kentucky and he was 5 hours away in Tennessee, and once we started getting serious, he came to visit quite often for the weekends. Now we’ve been together for 10 months. He moved here around month 6 or 7, I think. While we were long distance, I dated no one else- only concentrated on him (I suck at dating more than one person at a time)….

    When I say we talked constantly, lol, I am not kidding.. thank God for T-Mobile mobile to mobile. That’s pretty much what our LD dating consisted of- just constantly talking and getting to know eachother. I knew he was the one I was meant to be with by the time month 3 rolled around (I think!)

    “There truly is no distance in love when both partners earnestly commit to building a lasting relationship.”

    This is so true.. honestly, dating long distance was not hard for me, because I had trust in him and he had it in me. The hardest part was at teh end of our weekends, when he left or I had to come home!


Leave a Reply

