Single Sisters Speak Out

The Modern Life of the Single Sister

The Great Divide March 9, 2010

Filed under: Single Sisters On... — FlawedBeauty @ 10:58 am

I wanna be the first to admit my first boyfriend was a brown haired/blue eyed white boy from a rival high school.  I’d gone to school with my “other” brother and sisters my entire life & I didn’t understand why I’d need to date within my own race.  After all, most of my peers were not African American. 

Anyways, when my freshman year of college came around I began to see one of our fair friends from South of the Border.   That was the worst mistake I could have made.  Even though, he was *ahem* Mexican, he felt that his fairer skin made him more superior to me despite what society might say. 

I was over it.  I immediately switched back and Black was all of a sudden the only way to go.  At this point, I still feel that way, but I am beginning to notice that my brown skin brothers are not so much looking for what I’m looking for… at least not with me and that’s okay. 

But do I really wanna switch back over to the other side?  Does anyone find there are more merits to dating outside the race box or is it just too much trouble with side-eyes and blank stares?

 

5 Responses to “The Great Divide”

  1. Peyso Says:

    I’m all for people dating whomever they please. I would date a white girl but I doubt it will ever happen. The characteristics that I am attracted to in women are so “black” that it would be hard for me to even find a white woman who possessed those characteristics. Plus there is something about a brown skin girl that looks good against my skin

  2. Tiffany Says:

    There is nothing wrong going back and forth. I think when you keep an open mind you keep yourself open to love. Do your thing and enjoy.

    Tiffany
    http://liferequiresmorechocolate.blogspot.com

  3. lapreghiera Says:

    Do what you want, but if I cut my eyes it is an unintentional response, sometimes. Outside of my celeb crushes I have found very few men of other races attractive. If anything I am partial to native americans, cubans, and puerto ricans cause I know some of them got some africa in them probably.

  4. jb Says:

    You need to do what your heart tells you to do. Its best to have the attitude of open heart, open mind. All I can say is why wait around for a brother who may or may not be waiting around for you.
    If you want to be happy, go after what makes you happy.

  5. kamakula Says:

    Merits to dating outside the race box?

    Umm, not really. Heck, in my family you get the side eye for dating someone of a different tribe even if they are the same race.

    At some point, you really just stop caring what other people think.


Leave a Reply

