Single Sisters Speak Out

The Modern Life of the Single Sister

Friends Through Thick & Thin? March 10, 2010

Filed under: Single Sisters On... — peyso @ 10:30 pm

Hello all!

The other day my girlfriend made the great point that I have many acquaintances. I think that anyone who knows me could easily see that about me. The thing that puzzled her was how I came to have all of these acquaintances. It puzzled her because she says that many of the people who are just acquaintances, I would define as once being friends. This sort of troubled me. What did these people do that was bad enough for them to be demoted to acquaintances but not bad enough for our friendship to end completely? By doing this was I missing out on the opportunity to create and build substantial friendships with my peers?

I came to the conclusion that it wasn’t the people that had done anything wrong. It was me. I was the one changing or abandoning “friends”. When I left my elementary/middle school I almost purposefully fell out of touch with the people there. The same happened in high school save for a few people. And this is starting to happen with my college friends now. Instead of trying to bring my old friends into my new world that could be advantageous to them, I felt like I was abandoning people at each stage of life. When I started to like fine dining and museums instead of video games, am I wrong when I don’t try to introduce my new found joys to them. Don’t get me wrong, I am more than comfortable cutting folks off when they aren’t a good friend. But this seems that I’m cutting people off when I’m not a good friend.

Is this something that I should be alarmed about? Am I doing something wrong?

 

3 Responses to “Friends Through Thick & Thin?”

  1. Kasey Says:

    The same thing I think happens to most people at some point. People “out grow” others and different crowds. Some people like to have those friends from kindergarten all the way to college and beyond. Now a days with the mobility of people, even with technology it is really hard to keep up with people. I reconnected with some friends from high school on facebook. One of the individuals we were thick as thieves in high school and freshman year in college, she and her husband live in the same neighborhood as my parents and I have YET to make it to her house…but we chat it up on that FB.

    People who you really feel are your friends that you can take through life you always will but like that old saying goes…everyone has a reason and a season. Those that fall back a little maybe their reason or season has come and gone but the are still good people so you stay acquainted with them just not as tight as before.

  2. Smiley Face Says:

    I wouldn’t look at it as cutting good people off though. People grow at different rates..some don’t at all, this is your season of growth.

  3. lapreghiera Says:

    I’ve drifted away from my HS/College friends, some partly because I didn’t feel the “ROI” in them was the same for me.
    I try to shake that mindset and just be a giver/helper/voice of reason when I can or cause its just in my nature.
    I agree with previous comments, there are some places you’re meant to go, things you’re meant to do that you can’t take everyone on the ride. Some will encourage, others will hate, but you keep moving. Then maybe you’ll find yourself at a point were you’re meant to help others along and reconnect. But they don’t make or break your everyday life.


Leave a Reply

