Single Sisters Speak Out

The Modern Life of the Single Sister

Parenthood…. March 23, 2010

Filed under: Single Sisters On... — Sunny @ 9:00 pm

…. is not what scares me.  I’ve often heard people wax poetic about “the beauty of life,”  “this little one is trusting  me with his/ her life,”  etc.   I’m not that deep.  Matter of fact, the second one sounds completely ridiculous to me.  I just heard it today, while watching ” A Baby Story.”  I love that show.    I love kids. They make me tear up because they have the power to brighten my day with the smallest action. Ok, back to the point of the post.

Parenthood is not scary to me.  I’ve been in mommy training mode since I was seven (I am the oldest of four). 

What scares me is, the nine months leading up to the birth, and the actual process of bringing her/him into this world.

I have been reading the blog of  a young lady who has been through a miscarriage.   It’s like she has let the world (by way of internet) into her life.  She writes candidly of the highs and lows as she and her husband try to become parents again.  It’s an extremely scary and emotionally trying process.  I couldn’t imagine how it feels to be on cloud nine one minute and grieving the next. 

On the other hand, my good friend just had a baby.  I got to hear about the growing pains of pregnancy. The achy back, the screwed up sleep due to discomfort.  (SUNNY does not PLAY with her sleep.)  Don’t even get me started on the stretching of the belly!  And not even for vanity’s sake, it’s just scary to have my belly go from the size of a cantelope (SUNNY could use some crunches) to a prize watermelon!!!   And I got full details on contractions.  Aye dios mio, it’s enough to totally make me forget the  beauty of it. 

So I just worry… everytime I think of it.  Luckily, there  is no pregnancy plans for me in the near future (who am I kidding, who actually “plans” this? lol), so I still have time to mow this thing over in my head.  Hopefully God has mercy on me and pain during the process (PLEASE, Lawd!!!!!)

How about you guys?  Are any of you scared of becoming a parent?  For those of you who already have children, what were you scared about beforehand?  Did you find those fears to be unrealistic?

 

4 Responses to “Parenthood….”

  1. GinaMarie Says:

    We are def on the same page! LOL Giving birth is scares me to death!!!!!!!!! LOL…For that reason alone I am not sure if I even want kids…maybe I will adopt LOL

    http://myfingersarentbroken.com/
    http://twitter.com/GinaMarie314

  2. Sunny Says:

    Mannn. lol. Yes, I can definitely get with you on the thoughts of adoption. Let me help someone who’s already been through the process.

    Thanks for checking the blog out!

  3. GinaMarie Says:

    Right! Might as well help a child that is already in need. No problem! I like your blog!

    http://myfingersarentbroken.com/
    http://twitter.com/GinaMarie314

  4. Sunny Says:

    ^5! I know that’s right.

    Thanks so much!!!!!


Leave a Reply

