Single Sisters Speak Out

The Modern Life of the Single Sister

Changing March 17, 2010

 

On my way to work this morning, I’ve realized one big change that has come into my life.  

 I listen to Russ Parr in the Morning on my short commute and usually get to hear the morning’s spiritual song right as I cross over into the bridge headed into Kentucky from Indiana (where I reside). This morning, as the gospel song played, and I forget what it was, I realized that I missed my church.  I was just there Sunday (two days before) but as silly as it sounds, it still did not stop me from missing it.

When that gospel song came on, (and as Christian as I say I am, I usually don’t mess with gospel music outside of Sunday), I realized that I seriously love being there.  I love the music, the camaraderie, the preaching, the spirit, EVERYTHING.   I missed church so much that I passed up my usual “Lalah Hatahway” station for a “Marvin Sapp” station that I just programmed on Pandora at work right now. 

The best thing of all about my church is my Sunday School class.  My former class closed, forcing me and my beau to find a new class.  As I flipped down the list of classes (my church has a BOATLOAD of choices, yaw), I immediately wanted to try the one called “With this Ring…”  I didn’t know what to expect upon me and my beau’s first visit, but it now being our full month in, I’m truly blessed to have found it. It’s a huge class, me and beau being the youngest couple in there, and we talk about just about everything.  It’s truly a blessing to be around people that are married and are going where we’d like to go in the future.   There is no better person to learn something you are TRYING to do, than from someone who was successful at it.   

 I’m blessed to have my church, and I’m blessed to have a beau, who shares what I share.  I have never had this before and I’m truly happy…. I remember as a kid, I LOATHED going to church every morning… when my granny pulled up to pick me and my brother up (even though I did not DARE ask mama why she didn’t have to come to church), I would be HEATED that I had to miss out on rest,  to go.  Twenty seven years later (how long it took for me to realize go away from the family church and find somewhere where my spirit could grow), I now realized what my granny was trying to do.  And I’m thankful for her- for a praying, church-going granny.

I’m not trying to convert anyone; just expressing how happy I am at this moment and what change I realized I’ve made.  I’m far from perfect, I’m a work in progress, as all Christians are.  I know some would have you believe differently, and those are what give Christians a bad rep.  Whatever you chose to do, whatever you are, I hope you feel the degree of happiness that I do now!!!!  

 What changes have you realized about yourself lately?

 

8 Responses to “Changing”

  1. Peyso Says:

    Mark 5:15 “Go and tell them what the Lord has done for you!”

  2. Sunny Says:

    @Peyso: Amen!!!!

  3. I feel like coming finding a great Pastor can do wonders for your relationship with God, if you are open to It. I feel like my spirits has grown a lot over the past several months! I thank God for bringing me closer to him!

  4. Sunny Says:

    @booboo: Amen. I have to agree with you. Finding a good pastor makes it all worthwhile. U have no more of that clockwatching, dontcha? lol

  5. lapreghiera Says:

    Yes, you have to have a great pastor who will help you draw nigh to GOD, not to him and his agenda. I had an excellent pastor all my life who died recently, and now I am trying to get myself settled. But I am noticing a new energy about me some courageousness I did not have before. I’m gonna let God work it out.

  6. Sunny Says:

    @lapreghiera: I’m sorry to hear that!!!! I hope you find what you are looking for… stay encouraged. 😉

  7. Marinus Says:

    Hi there,

    I realy love this site and the great information.

  8. Joe Banks Says:

    Our Reverse Phone Lookup Search allows you to find information about the owner of any number: landline or cell. Results include name, address, phone provider, background info and more..


Leave a Reply

